ColourPop Butterfly Pressed Shadows Reviews & Swatches (Part 1 of 2)

01/02

Colour Pop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow

Friendly

ColourPop Friendly Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a light-medium lavender with subtle, cool undertones and a matte finish.  It had nearly opaque pigmentation in a single layer, which applied well to bare skin and blended out easily without sheering out too readily.  The texture was soft, lightly powdery in the pan, so I’d recommend using a lighter hand to avoid too much product on one’s brush.  It wore nicely for eight hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Friendly
A-

Limited Edition

9
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
91%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow

Nectar

ColourPop Nectar Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a light pink with warmer undertones and iridescent, bluish shimmer that gave it a metallic finish.  The consistency was soft, smooth, and blendable without being too firmly nor too softly pressed into the pan.  The eyeshadow was richly pigmented and lasted well for eight hours before fading a bit.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Nectar
Nectar
A

Limited Edition

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
98%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow

Call U Mine

ColourPop Call U Mine Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a medium-dark, reddish-copper with subtle, warm undertones and a frosted finish with faint micro-sparkle.  It had opaque pigmentation with a slightly drier consistency that some powderiness and fallout during application if I wasn’t careful to press it into place. I’d recommend using it with a dampened brush to minimize fallout and improve the overall adhesion of the product.  It stayed on well for eight hours before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Call U Mine
B+

Limited Edition

8
Product
10
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
87%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Colour Pop KK Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop KK Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop KK Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop KK Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop KK Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop KK Pressed Powder Shadow

KK

ColourPop KK Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a brighter, medium -dark pink with cool undertones and a matte finish.  It had medium, buildable pigmentation with a drier texture that had light fallout when I tried to build it up.  The product could have been more finely-milled with a bit more substance to it.  This shade wore well for seven and a half hours on me before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

KK
KK
C+

Limited Edition

7
Product
8
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
78%
Total

01/03

Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow

Pick Me

ColourPop Pick Me Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a deep pink with subtle, cool undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish.  It was intensely pigmented with a smooth, dense texture that was thicker but managed to apply evenly without much effort and blended out well along the edges.  It lasted nicely for eight hours before fading a bit on me.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Pick Me
Pick Me
A-

Limited Edition

9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cuteness Pressed Glitter

Cuteness

ColourPop Cuteness Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a mix of darker peach and gold micro-glitter with larger, hexagon-shaped iridescent glitter pieces, which were all suspended in a transparent base.  It had nearly opaque “coverage” from all of the glitter particles and pieces.  The product does contain plastic glitter, and it was listed as not intended for use on the eye area.

The texture was emollient, very textured by touch (not a surprise based on the glitter!), but it had great spreadability and remained “even” in its coverage.  The larger pieces could separate from the rest of the glitter particles and migrated more often than the finer pieces over an eight-hour period.

Cuteness
B+

Limited Edition

8.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8
Longevity
5
Application
87%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow

Mariposa

ColourPop Mariposa Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a muted, medium-dark mauve with warmer undertones and flecks of sparkle over a matte finish.  It had good pigmentation with a soft, lightly powdery texture that sheered out slightly when applied to bare skin.  (This shade was also in the pre-made palette for the collection.)  It lasted well for eight hours before fading on me.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Mariposa
Mariposa
B+

Limited Edition

8.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
88%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop IYKYK Pressed Glitter

IYKYK

ColourPop IYKYK Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) contains a mix of small-sized glitter particles that seemed to read mostly pink but also had flashes of green, blue, and lavender throughout.  It appeared to shift green-ish when the light reflected off of it.  The texture was lightly emollient to the touch, but it was textured as it did contain quite a bit of glittery bits.

It applied best with a fingertip but also worked with a flat, synthetic brush, as the majority of the product spread evenly over my skin.  It does contain plastic glitter, and it is listed as not intended for use on the eye area.  On me, the majority of the product applied without migrating/falling out and there was light movement and fallout over an eight-hour period.

IYKYK
IYKYK
B

Limited Edition

8.5
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8
Longevity
5
Application
86%
Total

01/03

Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow

Sugar Sugar

ColourPop Sugar Sugar Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a soft, taupe-brown with subtle, warmer undertones and a sparkling finish.  The consistency was incredibly dry and powdery, which resulted in sheerness and fallout, so it was unpleasant to work with.  I’d recommend using it with a dampened brush or with a fingertip over a tacky base.  It had medium coverage on its own, so it really needed something extra to give it greater opacity and improved application.  This shade lasted for seven hours but had fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Sugar Sugar
D

Limited Edition

6
Product
8
Pigmentation
5
Texture
7.5
Longevity
3
Application
66%
Total

01/05

Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Cloudy Pressed Glitter

Cloudy

ColourPop Cloudy Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) had a lighter, white gold glitter base with flecks of larger pink and gold, hexagon-shaped glitter.  It had a mix of glitter sizes (and it did include plastic glitter, which was listed as not safe for use on the eye area) from finer micro-glitter to larger, hexagon-shaped pieces.

The glitter seemed suspended in a transparent base, but it still had semi-opaque “coverage” from the amount of glitter in it.  The product dispersed evenly with a brush or with fingertips with minimal fallout during application.  During wear, it had some travel/migration but a lot of it stayed in place.

Cloudy
Cloudy
B+

Limited Edition

8.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8
Longevity
5
Application
87%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Shadow

Luv That 4 U

ColourPop Luv That 4 U Pressed Powder Pigment ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a medium purple with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling finish.  It had a dense, firmer texture that was packed into the pan and felt drier to the touch, though it could have been from the larger sparkles throughout.  The pigmentation was opaque, but the first couple of layers had to be worked through before it became easier to pick up with a brush.  It stayed on well for eight hours but had some fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Luv That 4 U
C+

Limited Edition

7
Product
10
Pigmentation
6.5
Texture
8
Longevity
4
Application
79%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow

Humble Brag

ColourPop Humble Brag Pressed Powder Shadow ($4.50 for 0.04 oz.) is a rich, deeper orange with warm undertones and flecks of gold micro-sparkle over a matte finish.  The consistency was soft, velvety, and blendable.  The gold sparkles migrated and/or disappeared after the product was applied and blended out in practice.  The underlying color had opaque coverage that applied evenly, blended out well, and wore well for eight and a half hours before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Humble Brag
A

Limited Edition

9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
93%
Total

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • ColourPop
    • $5 off $15+ order with code COLOURPOPPIN, ends 12/31.
    • 15% off $20+ order when you sign up for ColourPop's email newsletter, ends 12/31.
    • 10% off with code TEMPTALIA, ends 12/31.
  • Ulta20% off (includes prestige) coupons out; check email/mail (plus, activate any bonus offers here), ends 12/24. Free shipping on $50+ orders, ends 12/31.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

2 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Well dang, but I do wish that Sugar Sugar had performed as beautiful as it looks swatched. What a shame it didn’t. That was one of a handful I really liked the looks of. Mariposa is quite nice, thank goodness.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!