Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette Review & Swatches

01/14

Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 | Look Details
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 | Look Details
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 | Look Details
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 | Look Details
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette
Anastasia Norvina Vol. 3 Pro Pigment Palette

Norvina Vol. 3

Anastasia Norvina Vol 3 Pro Pigment Palette ($60.00 for 1.575 oz.) is a new, limited edition 25-pan palette that features an array of hues from yellow to plum to emerald green paired with matte and shimmer finishes.

I don’t want to spend too much energy rehashing what I said previously in my Vol. 2 review, so I’ll merely summarize for convenience here but encourage interested parties to read that review first for a more detailed breakdown of issues I had with the formulas used in these palettes.

I encountered similar issues with the matte formula used in the palette as I did previously: it was drier, often quite powdery and prone to sheering out (or having fallout), and several shades did not layer on top of or blend well with other shades as they would erase or create bald patches where color used to be. A lot of the vibrancy seen in the pan and when initially applied doesn’t continue after a few minutes, even over primer (I used Smashbox 24HR to try with many shades after ruling out Anastasia’s own primer, which is terrible–very drying and emphasizes my skin texture like crazy before I even put anything on it!).

The shimmers were easier to work with in this palette, but they were still under-performing compared to the brand’s shimmers in the past, including their recent 14-pan palettes released within the last few months. Vol. 3 suffers the same issues as Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 where there are more overlapping shades than you’d think would exist, largely because they don’t retain their true-to-pan color in practice, so they end up losing the nuances in depth or undertone once applied.

There are some real duds in the palette, but there were eight (of 25) shades that performed at 87%+ (B+ or better), and several of the D/F-rated shades still had decent to good pigmentation and wear times, so those two areas lifted the entire palette’s average out of the realm of a real F rating. It’s one of those instances where the overall rating doesn’t feel like it reflects the emotional rating of the palette (which had me feeling like my dog applied my eyeshadow based on some of the terrifying results I had).

If you’re someone who uses a tackier primer, something more opaque, or possibly something hydrating, it might be better. I don’t find a lot of luck using richer, pigmented matte shades over those types of primers (you get the pigmentation but blending becomes a challenge!) so it didn’t lift the palette out of the depths of despair for me personally.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Anastasia A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

A1 (Norvina Vol. 3)

A1 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a bright, highlighter yellow that leans slightly green paired with a matte finish. In the pan, the green tint is more noticeable, but applied and blended out, it’s a deeper yellow with a bit of a dirtier vibe to it. Applied, blended out, and left to sit on skin for a few minutes, it looks darker and yellower as it lost its vibrancy in that short period of time.

The texture was moderately powdery, drier, and difficult to apply over bare skin or thin primer–it might work decently over a heavier, creamier (read: tackier) primer. I could use it on my brow bone, where my skin is smoother, but on my inner lid/tearduct, it was patchy and emphasized lid lines/texture significantly. It wore well for eight hours and left a stain behind.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Synthetic Wax, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140).

01/02

Anastasia A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

A2 (Norvina Vol. 3)

A2 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a rich, medium-dark orange with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. It was richly pigmented with a smooth, lightly powdery texture, but it was finely-milled and applied evenly to bare skin. I didn’t have issues blending this shade out, which has been consistent with my experience with the matte formula in the Norvina pigment palettes; orange/reds seem to be better than most other types of colors. It stayed on well for eight hours before fading visibly.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Anastasia A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

A3 (Norvina Vol. 3)

A3 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a muted, medium orange with warm, yellow-brown undertones and a matte finish. It was moderately powdery, which resulted in some fallout during application and the product sheering out a bit when blended out, but I was able to build it back up to full coverage. It had nearly opaque pigmentation in a single layer, at least initially. It lasted for eight hours on me before I noticed signs of fading.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Silica, Kaolin, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ptfe, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985).

01/02

Anastasia A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

A4 (Norvina Vol. 3)

A4 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a bright, lime green with subtle, warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. There were barely-there shimmers throughout, but it appeared matte to my eye. It had good pigmentation, but it was hard to retain the opacity and vibrancy, as the texture was so powdery that it sheered out considerably in practice. I encountered issues applying this shade without it erasing others near it or creating bald patches where color used to be. It wore decently for eight hours and left a yellowish stain behind.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Anastasia A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

A5 (Norvina Vol. 3)

A5 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a neon orange-red with warm undertones and a matte finish. The texture was smoother, more finely-milled than other shades in the palette with less powderiness, though it had a dryness present at the touch. The color payoff was opaque in a single layer, and it applied well without issues blending it out or layering it with other shades. It stayed on nicely for eight and a half hours before fading noticeably.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/03

Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

B1 (Norvina Vol. 3)

B1 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a medium-dark, bluish-aqua with cool undertones and a metallic finish. The texture was smooth, dense, and more firmly-packed into the pan, which resulted in product that became harder to use after a few uses (the powder gets crammed in further) and worked better with fingertips or a dampened brush for smoother, more even application. It had good color payoff that lasted for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Synthetic Wax, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Magnesium Myristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ptfe, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Anastasia B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

B2 (Norvina Vol. 3)

B2 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a medium green with subtle, cool undertones and micro-sparkles over a matte finish. It had good pigmentation in a single layer, which was sort of buildable, but the issue I had was the powdery texture made it prone to sheering out so I’d have to build it up from medium (after applying and blending) to get to the original, more semi-opaque level of coverage. It showed signs of fading after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Talc, Kaolin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140).

01/02

Anastasia B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

B3 (Norvina Vol. 3)

B3 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a medium-dark raspberry red with cool undertones and a matte finish. It had nearly opaque pigmentation in one layer, which adhered well to bare skin and blended out nicely. The texture was slightly drier, a little chalky, but it was one of the easiest shades to work with in the palette. It stayed on well for eight and a half hours before fading noticeably.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/02

Anastasia B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

B4 (Norvina Vol. 3)

B4 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a deeper, pink-berry with cooler undertones and a matte finish. The color coverage was good, though it wasn’t buildable to full coverage without a primer. The texture was lightly powdery but significantly less powdery compared to most mattes in the palette, which made it easier to apply and blend out on my skin. It lasted well for eight hours before fading visibly.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/02

Anastasia B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

B5 (Norvina Vol. 3)

B5 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a light, muted orange with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque color payoff in a single layer, but it was difficult to retain the coverage as the product was quite powdery and sheered out too readily. There was also light to moderate fallout during application. This shade blended out fairly well and didn’t seem prone to erasing other shades. It wore nicely for seven and a half hours before I noticed fading.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/03

Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

C1 (Norvina Vol. 3)

C1 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a pale gold with warmer undertones and flecks of sparkle over a frosted finish. It had good pigmentation that was buildable to full coverage when patted and pressed into place. The texture wasn’t too firmly packed into the pan, so I was able to use it with a dry brush, but I imagine most will still want to reach for a dampened brush for smoothness in application. The color stayed on well for seven and a half hours and had light fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Polybutene, Synthetic Wax, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Magnesium Myristate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Ptfe, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491).

01/02

Anastasia C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

C2 (Norvina Vol. 3)

C2 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a bright, medium red with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had nearly opaque color payoff in a single layer, which applied evenly and blended out fairly well on bare skin. The texture was soft, less dry than I expected, and I appreciated that it was finely-milled instead of being grainy as some reds are prone to being. It lasted well for eight and a half hours before showing signs of fading.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/02

Anastasia C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

C3 (Norvina Vol. 3)

C3 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a muted, darker orange-brown with warm undertones and a matte finish. The texture was soft without being too powdery, so it retained most of its opacity when applied and blended out on my skin. The color payoff was opaque and wore nicely for eight hours before fading visibly.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/02

Anastasia C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

C4 (Norvina Vol. 3)

C4 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a muted, medium-dark plum with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had medium coverage that was buildable to semi-opaque coverage, but the texture was horrendous. It was incredibly powdery, which made it prone to sheering out and having fallout, but it also erased shades near to it and was awful for layering (completely lifted away color). It was patchy when blended out, so one would need to cheat the edges with a better-performing shade. The color stayed on decently for seven and a half hours before I noticed fading.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499).

01/03

Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

C5 (Norvina Vol. 3)

C5 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a medium, emerald green with cooler undertones and warmer, golden shimmer paired with a metallic finish. The color payoff was opaque, while the texture was smooth, lightly creamy, and blendable. It was one of the better shades across all three of these larger Norvina palettes. It lasted nicely for eight hours on me before creasing faintly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Talc, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Synthetic Wax, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Magnesium Myristate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Ptfe, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491).

01/02

Anastasia D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

D1 (Norvina Vol. 3)

D1 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a muted, medium-dark orange with strong, warm yellow undertones and a matte finish. The consistency was soft, lightly powdery in the pan, but it applied evenly and blended out well without losing its coverage or intensity. The opaque pigmentation wore well for eight hours before fading visibly.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Silica, Kaolin, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Red 7 Lake (Ci15850), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/03

Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

D2 (Norvina Vol. 3)

D2 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a light-medium, peachy gold with warm undertones and a sparkling sheen. It had nearly opaque color coverage in a single layer, but it was drier and more prone to fallout when I worked with it, so I’d recommend using a dampened brush to minimize the fallout and improve the evenness of application. This shade stayed on well for eight hours but had light fallout over time.

Ingredients

Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Polybutene, Synthetic Wax, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Magnesium Myristate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Ptfe, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850).

01/02

Anastasia D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

D3 (Norvina Vol. 3)

D3 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a bright, lime green with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had medium coverage paired with a very powdery texture that was difficult to apply and blend out without losing a lot of the vibrancy. The base color, which reads warmer and yellower–more like a chartreuse than a lime green–is really what you end up seeing. The product applied unevenly, emphasized skin texture, and lifted up other shades near to it or if it was layered on top of other shades. It lasted decently for seven and a half hours and left a yellow stain behind.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140).

01/02

Anastasia D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

D4 (Norvina Vol. 3)

D4 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a rich, rusty orange with warm, red undertones and a peachy-orange sheen. It had opaque pigmentation in one pass, but it was difficult to get it to translate well on bare skin as it was a thinner, firmer texture that had to be really pressed and pushed into place (easier to do on my arm than on my lid!). I recommend working with this shade using a dampened brush. The color wore nicely for seven and a half hours before fading noticeably.

Ingredients

Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Synthetic Wax, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Magnesium Myristate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Ptfe, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Red 6 (Ci 15850).

01/03

Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

D5 (Norvina Vol. 3)

D5 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a peachy gold with warm undertones and a frosted finish. It had medium coverage that was difficult to apply evenly without using a fingertip or a dampened brush to do so. The consistency was drier, firmer, and stiffer in the pan, and it seemed to harden after a few uses, which made it even more of a challenge to work with. It stayed on well for seven hours before fading visibly.

Ingredients

Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Polybutene, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Magnesium Myristate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850).

01/02

Anastasia E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

E1 (Norvina Vol. 3)

E1 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a medium-dark grass green with neutral-to-cool undertones and a matte finish. This was a shade that really lost its magic as soon as it was applied–it just did not retain the vivid, green tone to it and instead, looked like a dirty, medium green (read: yellower, more olive) applied and blended out on my skin, even over primer. The texture was lightly powdery, though it didn’t seem quite as dry as other shades in the palette. It lasted decently for seven and a half hours and left a faint, yellowish stain behind.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Ptfe, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Chromium Hydroxide Green (Ci 77289), Yellow 10 Lake (Ci 47005).

01/02

Anastasia E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

E2 (Norvina Vol. 3)

E2 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a medium burgundy with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation that did not build up well. The texture was moderately powdery, which resulted in some fallout during application, and I did experience this shade erasing/lifting up products near-to and under it at times (though not consistently). This shade wore nicely for seven and a half hours before I noticed fading.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499).

01/02

Anastasia E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

E3 (Norvina Vol. 3)

E3 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a brighter, medium orange-coral with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had good color coverage in one layer, which did not build up too well on bare skin but managed opacity over primer. It had a drier, almost chalky consistency to it, as it was thin, dry but still more finely-milled. There was some powderiness, though I didn’t experience too much fallout. I didn’t have any issues applying or blending out this shade. It stayed on well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Methicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 6 (Ci 15850).

01/02

Anastasia E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow
Anastasia E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) Eyeshadow

E4 (Norvina Vol. 3)

E4 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a rich yellow with warmer undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation paired with a very powdery, drier texture that had tons of fallout and was difficult to apply evenly. The powder emphasized lid texture and made my skin appear drier than it was unless applied only to my brow bone (the smoothest area I use for eye products). The color blended out decently, and I didn’t have issues with it erasing or not layering well with other shades. It lasted decently for eight hours before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Kaolin, Synthetic Wax, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ptfe, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77492).

01/03

Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment
Anastasia E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) Pressed Pigment

E5 (Norvina Vol. 3)

E5 (Norvina Vol. 3) is a bright, violet purple with warmer undertones and a sparkling finish. It had rich color coverage in a single layer, while the texture felt drier to the touch, it applied fairly well to bare skin. I had light fallout during application, but the eyeshadow actually adhered without trickery. It wore well for eight hours with light fallout over time.

Ingredients

Mica, Talc, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecanol, Synthetic Wax, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polybutene, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Decylene Glycol, Hydrated Silica, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Tin Oxide, Ptfe, Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • SephoraMost current list of available codes for samples here, ends 12/31. Free shipping on $50+ orders (free on any order for Rouge members), ends 12/31.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

35 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I still haven’t read the complete breakdown on 2 or 3, but if ABH ‘held off’ on the release of the 3 Norvinas for reasons of quality, they should have stayed back in the lab for a couple of years. New nadirs for 2019, and credibility lost. I read somewhere that the Norvina line was kind of a subdivision of ABH, the colorful side, under Norvina’s direction. I hope the main line does not slide down the tubes due to these poorly performing megas. After these get into people’s/YTers/blogger’s hands, this could turn out to be a bigger fracas than Subculture. Drama of the season. Glad I’m on the sidelines. These are a real blow to trust in color cosmetics. Users trust based on reputation, and most will feel totally used and exploited. I think ABH has gotten too far away from their core competency.

I’ve seen largely positive reviews/experiences with the Norvina palettes, though I have seen a few mention the formula of the mattes seems a bit drier, so I don’t know if it’s just me who had such an awful time with a lot of shades…

Hi Christine! Thanks for such a detailed review. I’ve recently gotten back into influencer makeup and have been astounded by the barrage of ABH product launches lately

Also, it’s been a few years since I’ve read your blog. I remember at the time how your go-to eyeshadow primer was NARS Smudgeproof. Is that still your favorite and what you use to test eyeshadow?

Thanks!

Hi Jo!

I don’t think I’ve used primer to test products since longevity was added to the rating rubric (around 2011), so I don’t recall using NARS’ primer in the past to test for wear in general! I will try products over primer if they’re particularly troublesome on their own to see/verify that primer helps/is enough (or isn’t). I have switched to using Smashbox/MAC 24HR if I do double check to see if primer helps/improves certain issues as I do prefer it slightly more over NARS (which is still good!). Hope that helps!

P.S. – Welcome back!

Quote of the day that broke the internet:

“It’s one of those instances where the overall rating doesn’t feel like it reflects the emotional rating of the palette (which had me feeling like my dog applied my eyeshadow based on some of the terrifying results I had)”
Interpretation: this is so gawdawful it’ll look like your pet did your makeup using their paws!

And yet one more reason why I’m worried for ABH. At least whenever Norvina takes the wheel, anyways.

I recently saw a tweet from Norvina saying that these palettes were the start of a new brand within the ABH brand. It makes me very curious to see the quality of the other offerings from the new line.

None of these “Vol.”s appealed to me anyway but wow, what a disappointment! Maybe playtime with Mommy’s makeup business should be over and Anastasia needs to get back at the helm . . . .

The Carli Bybel palette looks pretty and I’m interested to see how that reviews. I like the airiness of it.

Formula on the Carli palette is in line to their other 14-pan palettes (it’s definitely not what’s used in the Norvina Pros)!

Wow, can’t believe how poorly that palette performed. ABH’s eyeshadows are so admired, why did they change the formula? Makes so sense

I think they were trying to create a more pigmented, intense formula than what they have for their general range, and based on past experiences, pressed pigment kind of formulas can be drier but this was definitely on a different level.

Christine, no one knows how to save me money on makeup like you do. If any one of these silly palettes was going to break my will to not buy them it was this one. Thank you for definitively killing any pull this monster had on my wallet!

I guess the good think about the number of repeats in this palette is that I will only have to find dupes for maybe half of them to recreate the overall feel. This was my favorite of the three, but there are plenty of orange eyeshadows in the world. I am not supporting this mess with my hard earned money.

OMG Christine, how you must shudder when you see those humungous palettes rolling out and knowing that at least half of them are going to be straight out duds, based on previous experience with this kind of palette.
It is awful, no other words to describe it. The only shade I liked was that lovely green C5.
Thank you for your patience in reviewing this one.

“It’s one of those instances where the overall rating doesn’t feel like it reflects the emotional rating of the palette (which had me feeling like my dog applied my eyeshadow based on some of the terrifying results I had).”

“…didn’t lift the palette out of the depths of despair for me personally.”

What an appropriately scathing review. Thank you, Christine!!

I think this is such a good example of what’s happening in the make up industry as of late, where the market mammon’s are taking over creativity more and more and stressing for profit becomes everything. This iteration is yet a sad attempt at making quantity win over quality. Instead of taking their time at:
1: Finding or making the formula they actually want that works.
2: Taking the time to actually choose 25 brights that actually both look good and blend well together
3: Make one palette that can become a success also beyond the initial stress purchases of make up hoarders.

But instead they hurry through the processes, settles for a mostly bad formula that is made I China instead of close to the creators and then being unable to even choose which of the 15 orange shades that is actually good just take them all and call out: let’s make three palettes which no doubtly will make the finance people almost pee their pants of joy, since making these three palettes are probably a lot cheaper than making one 14 pan US made palette and also leans on stressful buyers which gives profits fast…

The saddest part imo is that most influencers get stressed too since their profits also depend largely on being among the first to “review” which really almost none of the do anymore. Most settle for a lame first impression which also just helps push the products off the store shelves quickly, since most viewers still trust their influencer… I think this is the reason most “reviews” of this palette is mostly positive. Not because it actually is.
If one ask oneself and really thinks about it. How could a product like this really be any good? It would have to be a fluke. Now the old Modern Renaissance – that was a true work of creativity and art. And because of it, it is still sold world wide despite it nowadays drowning in the avalanche of stressful launches…

This was a particularly insightful comment about FOMO and overwhelmed YouTubers driving fast profits and inadvertently promoting releases like the Norvina trifecta of dog makeup (thanks Christine for the visual, this is how it will remain in my memory). It’s sad that she’s riding customers’ good will like that.

I must say I don’t really get the three volumes of Norvina palettes. It’s probably just me but they look like they are arranged by a very young child picking up the crayons and putting them into their container without any thoughts. Give the challenge to a slightly older child and they might have tried to arrange the colours in some kind of order.
I find my imagination disappear looking at these palettes, I wouldn’t know where to start and I’m no stranger to colourful makeup, at least that was what I thought until seeing these palettes. I’m not a fan of the huge palettes but if I were to buy one I would much prefer one arranged in a colour-depth order.
I think it would have been better, at least for my brain to make a cool, a warm and maybe a neutral palette and have the E/Ss in order.
I don’t know what pro makeup artists think, I’d lover to hear though.
Not for me, these palettes, but I really liked reading the reviews, and I feel for you , Christine making such lovely looks working with these palettes. Very good job!

“they look like they are arranged by a very young child picking up the crayons and putting them into their container without any thoughts”

This is the best description of the layout I’ve heard yet. Spot on! (From someone who as a child re-arranged her 64-box of crayola from lightest to darkest, in rainbow order.)

Thank you!
I enjoyed sorting through and arranging my crayons.
These days I really like it when I buy a new single or two from MAC and have to re-arrange all of the singles once more.

Thank you Christine for persuading me that I don’t need any of the Norvina palettes. I was so excited to see ABH do colourful mattes and had they been singles I would have probably already bought them. 🤷 Oh well, money saved, I don’t need this.

I love ABH but…for the non-ingredient-nerds, this formula is ENTIRELY different from any of the 14-pans and a lot cheaper and easier, essentially. (Cheaper and easier for ABH to maker and churn out a million colors without having to play with the formula for each shade.) If you’re looking for typical ABH quality, please avoid this. Oh, and the excuse that “pressed pigments need a different technique” is a myth. What determines a “pigment” is if they used FDA approved dyes or not. Nothing to do with quality, nothing to do with performance. (Although dyes are newer than standard oxides for pigmentation do companies don’t have it down pat like they do with oxides.)

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!