Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

01/16

Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia x Carli Bybel | Look Details
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia x Carli Bybel | Look Details
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia x Carli Bybel | Look Details
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia x Carli Bybel | Look Details
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette

Carli Bybel

Anastasia Carli Bybel Eyeshadow Palette ($45.00 for 0.392 oz.) is a new, limited edition 14-pan palette that features a mix of mattes, shimmers, and glitters. Most of the shimmers and matte shades performed well: they were pigmented, blendable, easy to work with, and lasted around eight hours on me. I was surprised that Mandala was stiffer to work with, while Aura had a bit too much slip for dry application. The matte shades were consistent with the formula generally; a little powdery but blendable and were best used with a lighter hand to avoid excess product on the brush.

The palette has two shades, Boli and OA, which include larger, plastic glitter (there was no warning with respect to these shades; they were both listed as “eyeshadow”). I haven’t seen any update/new information from FDA re: inclusion of polyethylene terephthalate (PET glitter/plastic glitter) and it being permitted for usage on the eye, but Anastasia joins an ever-growing list of major brands marketing eyeshadows with plastic glitter for eyes: Glossier, Marc Jacobs Beauty, NARS, Tarte, and Urban Decay. ColourPop continues to mark their Pressed Glitter shades with a warning. Cindy is listed as a Pressed Pigment and is listed as a “cheek” color (aka “not intended for use on the immediate eye area”).

The palette launches today (October 7th) on Anastasia’s website and October 10th at all other retailers.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boli Eyeshadow

Boli

Boli is a light, pinky-beige with warm undertones and a shiny, metallic finish with random flecks of silver micro-glitter. The glitter was an odd inclusion, as it was so scattered and sparse that it looked like I forgot to use clean brushes rather than an intentional effect. The underlying product was incredibly silky and smooth without being too powdery. It had opaque color payoff in a single layer that stayed on well for eight hours but there was fallout of the glitter over time.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000), Bismuth Oxycloride (Ci 77163), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Bybel Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bybel Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bybel Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bybel Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bybel Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bybel Eyeshadow

Bybel

Bybel is a muted, medium-dark mauve with subtle, warmer undertones and a matte finish. I felt like it warmed up a bit more when applied and blended out–definitely appeared a touch rosier in the pan than applied. The texture was soft, lightly powdery in the pan, but it applied evenly and wasn’t prone to sheering out yet remained blendable. It lasted nicely for eight hours on me before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Stearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Phenoxyethanol, Manganese Violet (Ci 77742), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mandala Eyeshadow

Mandala

Mandala is a light-medium, pinky-lavender with blue-to-pink shifting shimmer and micro-sparkle. The consistency was firmer, drier, and stiffer to work with, which was definitely unexpected. I’d recommend using a fingertip or a dampened brush to ensure better coverage and smoother application. It had good color coverage that could be built up but I had to jab my brush at the surface to dislodge product just to pick some up. The eyeshadow wore well for seven and a half hours on me before I noticed some fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Manganese Violet (Ci 77742), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow
Anastasia Libra Eyeshadow

Libra

Libra is a light-medium taupe with neutral-to-warm undertones and a metallic sheen. The eyeshadow had opaque color payoff that adhered evenly to my lid, blended out without issue, and was flattering on my skin as it “melted” slightly after application (in the sense of “becoming one” with my lid!). The consistency was creamy, smooth to the touch, and not too dense that it became thick. It lasted beautifully for eight hours on me before I noticed any fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow
Anastasia Jode Eyeshadow

Jode

Jode is an intense, purple-taupe with strong, cool undertones and a metallic sheen. It had rich pigmentation in a single layer, which applied well to bare skin with a smooth, even application of color that “melted” against my skin for a seamless finish. The texture was smooth, creamy, blendable, and picked up well with a dry brush. It stayed on well for eight and a half hours before creasing faintly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Alumina, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow
Anastasia OA Eyeshadow

OA

OA is a light-medium purple with cooler undertones and flecks of green, blue, and orange glitter over a more frosted finish. It had good color payoff, and it was buildable to full coverage with less than half of a layer more. It had a lightly emollient consistency that was dense without being heavy or too thick, and I was impressed by how smoothly it applied to my skin and how it didn’t have fallout. The glitter did migrate noticeably as I blended the edges, though, so it was hard to keep the glitter exactly in place. It wore well for eight hours and had slight fallout over time.

This shade has actual glitter in it, so those who are more concerned (whether for eye safety or environmental impact) about the increase in glitter in eye products will want to keep that in mind.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Silica, Alumina, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Bronze Powder (Ci 77400), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Anastasia Boie Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boie Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boie Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boie Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boie Eyeshadow
Anastasia Boie Eyeshadow

Boie

Boie is a muted, medium-dark brown with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation with a soft, blendable consistency that felt a bit firmer in the pan but it wasn’t stiff or difficult to work with. This shade lasted well for eight hours on me before I noticed any fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Zinc Stearate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, May Contain/Peut Contenir (+/-): Bismuth Oxycloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Bear Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bear Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bear Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bear Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bear Eyeshadow
Anastasia Bear Eyeshadow

Bear

Bear is a pale yellow with subtle, warm undertones and a satin sheen. It had nearly opaque color coverage with a soft, finely-milled texture that was slightly powdery and prone to dropping powder below, so be careful with the order you apply it! For example, to use it on the brow bone, it might be easier to apply it first and then go back to blend out/add more as necessary later on to avoid adding an ashy tone to shades in the crease. It stayed on nicely for seven and a half hours before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Zinc Stearate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, May Contain/Peut Contenir (+/-): Bismuth Oxycloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Moo Eyeshadow

Moo

Moo is a light-medium gold with strong, warm undertones and a bright, metallic finish. The consistency was soft, lightly creamy, and felt like it had a looser press compared to the other shimmers in the pan, but I didn’t find it difficult to apply or blend out. It had rich color coverage that wore well for eight and a half hours before creasing faintly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Chai (Carli) Eyeshadow
Anastasia Chai (Carli) Eyeshadow
Anastasia Chai (Carli) Eyeshadow
Anastasia Chai (Carli) Eyeshadow
Anastasia Chai (Carli) Eyeshadow
Anastasia Chai (Carli) Eyeshadow

Chai (Carli)

Chai is a light, peachy brown with warm undertones and a matte finish. The color payoff was opaque, while the eyeshadow had a smooth, silky consistency that was finely-milled and a smidgen powdery in the pan. It applied well to bare skin; the powder blended out well along the edges but didn’t sheer out too readily. It lasted well for eight hours on me before I noticed any fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Zinc Stearate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, May Contain/Peut Contenir (+/-): Bismuth Oxycloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Cindy Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cindy Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cindy Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cindy Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cindy Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cindy Pressed Pigment

Cindy

Cindy is a light-medium, pink-coral with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had good color coverage that adhered evenly to bare skin and blended out nicely along the edges. The pigmentation could be built up to opaque coverage with a second layer. The consistency was soft, a little dusty in the pan, but it didn’t sheer out too readily on my skin and wasn’t prone to fallout. It stayed on well for eight hours before fading a bit.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Zinc Stearate, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Red 21 Lake (Ci 45380), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Stev Eyeshadow
Anastasia Stev Eyeshadow
Anastasia Stev Eyeshadow
Anastasia Stev Eyeshadow
Anastasia Stev Eyeshadow
Anastasia Stev Eyeshadow

Stev

Stev is a deep red with neutral-to-cool undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque color payoff that was buildable to full coverage with two layers or when applied over an eyeshadow primer. The texture was soft, a little powdery in the pan, so I’d recommend using a lighter hand and building up to avoid unnecessary fallout. The eyeshadow lasted nicely for eight hours on me before showing signs of fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow
Anastasia Aura Eyeshadow

Aura

Aura is a medium-dark, rosy copper with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation with a smooth, lightly emollient texture–it felt packed with silicones, so it had slip that made it harder to apply with typical packing brushes but worked better with flat, synthetic brushes, fingertips, or with a dampened brush. Those tools ensured a smoother laydown of product and improved the coverage. It wore well for eight hours on me with very slight fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Aluminum Calcium Sodium Silicate, Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow
Anastasia My Angels Eyeshadow

My Angels

My Angels is a deep, olive gold with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It was intensely pigmented with a smooth, denser consistency that was a little thick compared to other shimmers in the palette, but it applied evenly and didn’t emphasize my lid texture. It stayed on nicely for eight hours before fading a bit, and I didn’t notice fallout during wear, though it had some during application.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Aluminum Calcium Sodium Silicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Boron Nitride, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil/Paraffinum Liquidum/Huile Minerale, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D'abeille, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Bronze Powder (Ci 77400), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • BeautylishFree shipping on $35+ orders, ends 12/31.
  • NordstromCurrent gifts with purchases viewable here, ends 12/31.
  • Sephora
    • Choose 4 foundation trial sizes with any $60 merchandise purchase. Use code FOURFAVES. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 10/14.
    • Receive a FREE Tory Burch Fret Pochette with purchase of select fragrances. Use code TBPOUCH. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 10/15.
    • Receive a FREE Drunk Elephant A-Passioni + B-Hydra trial size with any $35 merchandise purchase. Use code BESTDUO. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 10/17.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

24 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I wish that these companies would be more clear about which products are intended for which body part so that consumers could make a more informed decision about where they put their glitter. Until Christine pointed it out, I had no idea there was plastic glitter pieces in some of these products being marketed for the eyes.

At some point, someone is going to put the glitter on their waterline and end up with an eye injury. Then they are going to sue the cosmetic company and we will be subjected to tabloid news articles about the “horrors” of cosmetics. Which will rapidly progress to shaming people for their love of color cosmetics. It is like watching a train wreck.

That’s the interesting part – they’re not calling it out, so presumably they are intended for eyes then, and that’s the part that I find confusing since I’ve not yet been able to get anyone to confirm that it’s been approved as a color additive! Phyrra had correspondence with the FDA back in 2012 (I believe) that said they were effectively in non-enforcement but there’s been no update since – and still, brands were still using warnings for glitter products (MAC changed theirs on the finer glitters to be for eyes WITH Duo, an adhesive, while ColourPop lists all the Pressed Glitters with the not for use for eye area warning).

CIR did a study on it in cosmetics in 2013, which was a final report, and they were not concerned about eye safety with glitter – but this was in 2013 so why is 2018/2019 such a big change in how brands are treating the ingredient? https://www.cir-safety.org/sites/default/files/ModTer_032013_rep.pdf

Thanks for posting that link. I finally had time to read it. Basically, they seem to have concluded that 6 polymers are safe for glitter use because they are used in other surgical/medical materials (such as stitches). They also seem to have done a few small studies with only between a few dozen and about a hundred women enrolled. Considering the vast number of men and women using cosmetics those numbers seem underwhelming. At any rate, they concluded that since the women they had enrolled had no eye injuries that the particles are safe. They did also mention that the ophthalmologists (eye doctors) were concerned.

I would think that each company would have a vested interest in ensuring their products were safe for eye use if that is what they are being marketed towards. I wonder if maybe they just are not releasing whatever research they privately conduct on their own products. I also wonder if they are using these same 6 polymers cited in the CIR report.

For me personally, I will avoid the glitters on the eyes for now. Maybe that’s just me being a nervous nelly, but I don’t want to risk having to go see a doctor :).

That’s my question as well, Christine. What changed in the past 1-2 years to spur the heavier use of eye-intended glitters and the specific avoidance of labeling glitter as such?

I keep asking and nobody has an answer other than “nothing has changed!” but something must have changed for these major brands (you know, with MASSIVE! legal teams!) to actively market for eyes – I’m not talking about forgetting a warning or burying it somewhere – but products like Glossier Play’s are FOR eyes, Urban Decay’s Heavy Metal Glitters say EYE! on the tubes, etc.

First of all, not sure where I stand on the plastic glitter e/s trend. I always use a primer and a fairly grippy one anyway, so probably not a problem for me but could be potentially very uncomfortable for some.
Second I have the two previous palettes that Carli did with BH Cosmetics and she definitely has a shade preference and all of the shadows are very soft, in terms of shades. Nothing super deep or pigmented. Having said that, I love the two eye looks you did Christine and the palette appears to be a good one. This is a definite maybe for me. I haven’t purchased any e/s from Anastasia since the Subculture debacle and also because nothing has really caught my eye. This looks like it would make a really nice understated eye look.
Congratulations to Carli for the collab.

I love this palette more than I want to. And definitely more than I *should*. Looking through the different shades, I can see that I can dupe almost every single shade closely enough, with the lone exceptions of Libra and My Angels. Both of which have excellent dupes within Sydney Grace’s line in Reindeer Fur and Worth The Wait. I think I’m going to back off this one, even though I’m so happy for ABH that they haven’t completely lost their ability to put out excellent palettes. They just need to keep Norvina away from the wheel and all will be fine again!

Carli said in her reveal video that she wanted to make a palette that you wouldn’t need any other palettes. Perhaps she intended for some of these shades being multi-purpose like Cindy doubling as a cheek color and an eyeshadow. Regardless, it seems a bit disingenuous to market the palette as an eyeshadow palette when some of the shades aren’t eye-safe.

I appreciate you pulled a cool and warm look from this palette. I would have picked it up except for the bottom row. Great for someone who likes to wear both.

This palette has turned out to be far better than the Norvina offerings, but the inclusion of the plastic glitter is a turn off. I think it would be much better if brands did not include this in their products.
The shade choices are interesting, not quite sure what the colour story is here. But I do like it.

I don’t mind having glitter close to my eyes, but I do mind that some of it will find its way down the drain and out into the lakes/oceans to be ate by fish who’s ate by a fish and eventually I might eat my glittery eye shadow.
I think having plastic in makeup should be banned to be honest.

Boli looks like a half-assed UD Midnight Cowboy, but some of the other dishes are actually interesting. Unexpected that Cindy, not Stev, is the pressed pigment.

There’s just something about this palette. I’m finding myself wanting it more every time I see it. It’s kind of a non-neutral neutral palette to me, if that makes any kind of sense. It still reads neutral, even though it definitely has colors in it. I’m thinking this would make a great everyday, I-don’t-feel-like-thinking palette that would still have some zing to it.

Frankly I’m surprised at a lot of the hate I’ve read as comments previous to the actual review . The names of the shades are of her animals and her family members. This palette is really beautiful and it’s really the only anastasia palette and only holiday eyeshadow palette I’ve seen that I actually am going to buy. I’m not into influencers and I haven’t seen any of her videos in years so that is not why I am buying it. It’s well presented and I see it received a decent rating and the colors are beautiful. I like glitter too….that’s all.

I’m a bit confused about glitter, hoping someone can clarify. I’ve been using glittery eyeshadows for as long as I can remember from more brands that I can list. I’ve never had an issue as I’ve never given it a second thought but I notice there is more chatter about it of late. Are there different kinds of glitter or is it all bad? I notice a reference here to “plastic glitter”, is that different than other glitter? Thanks for the clarification.

You’d have to be specific about what you mean by glitter – it’s not listed in the ingredient list of “glitter” as far as I’m aware, so the question is whether you’re referring to PET glitter, which is most commonly used and listed, which is different than shimmer/sparkle that is also used.

The brand has released so much lately that it’s turned me off from them. This palette isn’t enough to sway me. I’m disappointed that they didn’t put an eye safety warning for the shades containing glitter.

Waited too long to pick up Carli’s previous BH collabs and missed out, so when I got the email from ABH this morning with a Carli collab I was excited, had no idea they were working together on a palette. I was expecting something soft and universally flattering for daytime, unfortunately I was disappointed. Half the palette is shine and glitter – I definitely don’t have the same definition as Carli of ‘the only palette you need’. I’ll never wear that dark red shade that sticks out like a sore thumb, and it’s missing some good neutral base shades to build upon. It’s not speaking to me at all, I much prefer the ABH palettes I already own (the original Norvina and Sultry, love them both) thank you for the terrific review!

I love that she named shades after her cats!I’m an animal lover and have several cats myself.I really like this palette the packaging, the shades, the names etc.I can tell she put a lot of thought into it.I ordered it directly from the ABH website like I do with most of their releases that grab my attention.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!