Temptalia Logo
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
  • Coloured RaineUp to 60% off, plus extra 10% off with code TEMPTALIA, ends 11/26.
  • Muse Beauty20% off sitewide, ends 11/29.
  • SephoraBenefit They're Real mascara for $12.50, ends 11/20.
  • UltaBlack Friday deals available for preview here, live 11/22 at 5PM CST, ends 11/23.

Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/16

Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Look | Look Details
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Look | Look Details
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Look | Look Details
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Look | Look Details
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette

Naked Heat

Urban Decay Naked Heat Eyeshadow Palette ($54.00 for 0.60 oz.) includes 12 eyeshadows with a mixture of shimmers and mattes in an array of warmer, more orange and red-based hues. The palette was good overall–not perfect–but a solid addition to the Naked range, and I suspect that for those who normally use primer, some of the issues I experienced would be resolved. The shimmers felt a little drier but thinner than the average shimmer eyeshadow from Urban Decay, while the mattes were dry but fairly pigmented, buildable, and blendable. It did not have the same luxurious, creamy consistency of the brand’s best mattes (I’m recalling something like Spike) but much more pigmented with more substantial texture (and therefore better application, even without primer) than the mattes in the Naked Smoky palette.

From a personal view, I did struggle to use this palette cohesively; I felt like I needed stronger shimmers or maybe a stronger yellow or lighter, brighter orange to add more contrast. The deeper browns ran together to the point where they could get lost next to each other in practice. The overall look and feel of the palette is a deeper, almost sultry warm smoky eye with more orange-brown and red-brown shades. It’s a lot less yellow and orange based compared to palettes like Viseart Warm Mattes and Natasha Denona Sunset, and it’s much darker and warmer than Anastasia Modern Renaissance. It actually reminded me of Too Faced Sweet Peach more than the aforementioned palettes.

01/02

Urban Decay Ounce Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ounce Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ounce Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ounce Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ounce Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ounce Eyeshadow

Ounce

Ounce is a light, golden beige with warm undertones and a soft, pearl shimmer. It had semi-opaque pigmentation with a soft, slightly dusty texture that applied and blended out well. It wore well for seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Chaser Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Chaser Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Chaser Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Chaser Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Chaser Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Chaser Eyeshadow

Chaser

Chaser is a very light brown with warm, peachy undertones and a matte finish. The consistency was smooth, firmer in the pan, so it seemed less dusty compared to some of the brand’s more recent mattes, so it adhered more smoothly to the lid and did not sheer out immediately. The eyeshadow blended out well and lasted for seven and a half hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Sauced Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sauced Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sauced Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sauced Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sauced Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sauced Eyeshadow

Sauced

Sauced is a medium, orange-brown with warm undertones and a matte finish. The color payoff was fully opaque, while the eyeshadow felt smooth to the touch, thin but not so thin that it was dusty or difficult to work with, and it retained its opacity on the lid. This shade lasted for eight hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Low Blow Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Low Blow Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Low Blow Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Low Blow Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Low Blow Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Low Blow Eyeshadow

Low Blow

Low Blow is a medium brown with warm, orange undertones and a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation that applied smoothly and evenly to bare skin. The eyeshadow felt soft without being dusty, smooth, and was easy to work with. The color stayed on nicely for eight hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Lumbre Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lumbre Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lumbre Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lumbre Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lumbre Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lumbre Eyeshadow

Lumbre

Lumbre is a medium, coral-red with warm undertones and a pearly sheen. The eyeshadow had good color payoff that applied fairly evenly to bare skin, but I noticed that this one seemed a bit drier and had to be really pressed and packed onto the lid to retain its intensity and smoothness–otherwise it looked a bit frosted and less even. It wore well for eight hours on me before fading slightly.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay He Devil Eyeshadow
Urban Decay He Devil Eyeshadow
Urban Decay He Devil Eyeshadow
Urban Decay He Devil Eyeshadow
Urban Decay He Devil Eyeshadow
Urban Decay He Devil Eyeshadow

He Devil

He Devil is a medium-dark, reddish-brown with warmer undertones and a matte finish. It had intense pigmentation in a single layer, but the soft, blendable texture made it easy to use and diffuse along the edges. I had no trouble blending this shade out or using it all over the lid at full coverage. The color started to fade on me after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Dirty Talk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Dirty Talk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Dirty Talk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Dirty Talk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Dirty Talk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Dirty Talk Eyeshadow

Dirty Talk

Dirty Talk is a muted, medium-dark coppery brown with warm, orange undertones and a frosted sheen. It had good color coverage that applied evenly to bare skin. The texture was slightly looser in the pan, so there was a bit of excess powder that kicked up in the pan when I dipped my brush into it, but it did not cause any application problems. It wore well for seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Scorched Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scorched Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scorched Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scorched Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scorched Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scorched Eyeshadow

Scorched

Scorched is muted, dark brown with warm, reddish undertones and a sparkling, metallic sheen. It had nearly opaque pigmentation with a looser, slightly dry texture that had larger sparkles in it and a touch of fallout during application. I could see this shade working best with a lightly dampened brush or patted on the lid with a fingertip as a result. On me, this eyeshadow stayed on for eight hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Cayenne Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cayenne Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cayenne Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cayenne Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cayenne Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cayenne Eyeshadow

Cayenne

Cayenne is a muted, dark brown with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation that applied fairly well. The texture was firmer and a little thinner compared to some of the other shades in the palette, but I had no trouble diffusing and blending out the edges when I tried it on the actual lid. It wore well for seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay En Fuego Eyeshadow
Urban Decay En Fuego Eyeshadow
Urban Decay En Fuego Eyeshadow
Urban Decay En Fuego Eyeshadow
Urban Decay En Fuego Eyeshadow
Urban Decay En Fuego Eyeshadow

En Fuego

En Fuego is a muted, medium-dark reddish plum with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had medium, buildable pigmentation (up to semi-opaque) that went on better than it swatched, as it seemed to be more forgiving as the color was built up. The texture was firmer, drier, and as a result, stiffer overall. I was able to blend out the edges, though, with a bit of extra effort. This shade lasted nicely on my lid for eight hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Ashes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ashes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ashes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ashes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ashes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ashes Eyeshadow

Ashes

Ashes is a muted, purpled plum with subtle, warm brown undertones and a matte finish. The consistency was very firm and stiff in the pan, which was what made this shade so difficult to apply evenly. It only was workable when applied over some of the better mattes to add darkness/depth rather than on its own, where the ragged, drier edges never diffused seamlessly for me. It did still last for a good seven and a half hours on me, though.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Ember Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ember Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ember Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ember Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ember Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ember Eyeshadow

Ember

Ember is a deep, almost plummy bronze with an olive undertone paired with a frosted sheen. It was intensely pigmented with a really smooth, creamy texture that was dense and so, so easy to work with. I felt like I barely needed any product on my brush to get enough coverage for my entire lid. This shade wore well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Palette $48.00/0.90 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

111 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Comments on this post are closed.

I agree the colors don’t seem to have much contrast, which is sad cause i had high hopes. Many of the tutorials I watched ended up with some muddy brown smokey eye even with good technique and i think that’s due to lack of contrast in shades. I think I’ll pass and pick up the modern renaissance instead. Thanks for comparing the palette to modern ren, sunset palette and peach palette.

The two “looks” I showed above, they still ended up looking very similar (especially with eyes open). I think some of the darker tones will be beautiful on medium and deeper complexions, though, but I do wish there were slightly more metallic/brighter shimmers or a richer gold/orange.

Hi- looking at this palette I think it would rock in deep complexions and maybe you’d see the variety more? I need to see it in person before I can decide. Thank you for the review!

Jackie Aina, who is a WOC, just reviewed it on Youtube and she loved it and the look she created was stunning. I’m currently a bit tanner than usual with neutral to olive undertones but pretty pasty compared to her, so as much as I want it I think all the colors will blur together on me especially when I’m paper white come fall lol

The Modern Renaissance is definitely a great palette. It does kick up a lot of product when you pick up the shadow, but I have not had one problem with them blending or performing in general! I always use eye shadow primer, so the shadows last forever!

It only kicks up a lot of product if you’re swirling your brush in the shadow. I tap my brush in slightly and fallout is never a problem for me. But yes, the pigmentation is great and it blends like a dream

I luuuuv the darker look you did. So sultry. I love a matte red-brown eye, and so I already have shades I love. I agree this is a nice addition to the Naked line, though. Too bad those darker mattes underperformed, they could have closed the deal.

Thanks, Ginny!

Yeah, they could have been better, and I really wish Ashes was at least medium coverage initially.

I’ve wanted to get ABH Modern Renaissance for a long time now, and I thought I’d better get this because I expected them to be similar and UD is a lot more easily available in The Netherlands. However, I kinda feel like this is more suitable for basic looks and the Modern Renaissanceis more versatile and offers a lot more space for creativity. Would you agree with that?

I think that you can get more differentiated looks with Modern Renaissance without adding other products. The tonality of Naked Heat is certainly in line with the theme, but I think there may be more of a challenge getting distinct looks out of it compared to MR.

When it comes to palettes, I think that trying to figure out which palette has the shades you’d use most often, which ones screams to you “there’s a look! and there’s another look I could do…”, and which one fits your needs/preferences/style. Are you someone who wants to ONLY use what’s in the palette? Which one contains all the shades you’d want/need for the looks you want to do with it?

I’m still starting my make-up collection and the only non-drugstore palettes I own are UD Vice ltd reloaded and their Ultimate Basics palette so I have to use them together because of the lack of mattes in the Vice palette, so that wouldn’t be a problem. However, I really like red shades and I really miss those in my collection, so I feel like MR would be more of an addition because of shades like Loveletter and Venetian Red. The Ultimate Basics palette is al I need for everyday looks (and I don’t really wear eyeshadow to school anyways) so I feel like MR would be nice to play around and experiment. I also really prefer mattes over shimmers, as I need at least 4 mattes and only 1 shimmer for most looks I’d do. I kinda think I’ve already made my mind up about this, having written all of it down… Thanks a lot! πŸ™‚

I don’t really like the Modern Renaissance palette. It doesn’t have enough shimmers and one of the three shimmers is really light (too light for a lid shade unless you are pale) and one is a bit too dark for me for a daily kind of lid shade. I don’t like completely matte eye looks so it was just ok for me.

I’m really into the all-matte look with just a very shiny innercorner highlight so I do prefer a palette with more mattes than shimmers so I guess I’ll like it then πŸ™‚

Hi Linde,

I noticed you said ABH is hard to get if you live in the NL. I do too (Nijmegen) and I order ABH products very often. Since recently, from cultbeauty.co.uk, however the UK website of ABH now ships to us too. If you order above 25 pounds the shipping is free and you get your order literally the day they have been dispatched. Good luck building your makeup collection! Hope this was helpful!

Cheers,

Mariam

Wish Sauced was sold as a single, I’m on the hunt for a shade like that but I don’t enjoy reds around my eyes, so finding a single deep peachy brown outside of a super-warm reds/berries palette is proving a challenge!

Here’s hoping UD makes some of these singles! They have in the past, though they’ve taken their sweet time to do so, lol!

I was happy to see Blonde from the Gwen Stefani palette made permanent. It doesn’t last on me as an eyeshadow but makes a really cool, wearable duochrome cheekbone highlighter!

I was dying for a brighter gold/orange/copper, lol. I thought Lumbre would be my “brightening” shade, but it wasn’t quite shimmery/reflective enough for that, I think.

I agree – tonally and hue wise the shadows seem to all run together. All the looks I’ve seen on YT with this palette look like they were done with only a few colours even if the person used 5 or 6. Still it looks nice enough to add to the collection! Nice that it’s permanent and I can just wait until the fall/winter VIB sale, or whenever UD does F&F. LOL

The upside — less blending since you can get a really nice gradient using actual shades — but the downside is they can muddy together pretty quickly, too, and then it’s all just sort of this warm, plummy brown lid!

First time I am tempted by a UD palette in a long time. I looooove the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette (it is my favorite palette of all time and I have a lot of palettes) and I am meh on the ABH Modern Renaissance Palette so I think I would really like this. Sweet Peach colors are fantastic and the ratio of shimmers to mattes is perfect. The ABH Modern Renaissance palette has too many mattes, not enough shimmers and is missing a mid-toned shimmer. Because of my medium skintone, I feel limited to one lid shade when I use that palette. It was definitely overhyped (IMHO).

Well, this scored better than expected! I have enough dupes and orange isn’t my most flattering lid color, so will skip, but I’ve been enjoying all your eye looks!

Thanks for the quick review! I’m sure I have enough dupes, but I’ve already decided on buying this one… these are some of my favorite types of shades. To your point, though, I can definitely see myself bringing in a couple of my Full Spectrum faves (like Jones and Calavera) to add some variety.

One thing I’m looking forward to is hearing from more skin tones on how the palette as a whole works for them. I think they were almost deliberately steering away from gold/yellow here, even though those were the shades I longed for.

I’m not surprised that I have many of the dupes; warm neutrals are core to my eyeshadow collection. I was hoping that more of the shades would be like Lumbre — red coral — or peach-y. Money saved!

Overall this did much better than I anticipated. I have Modern Ren and Two Faced Peach so probably don’t need this but it is a pretty palette and there are a couple of shades I could get use out of. Since I always use primer I can probably make even the poorer shades work. I am pretty pale, like NW5-10 so not sure how these will look on me. Sounds like I am trying to talk myself into it. Probably won’t purchase on first round and then see how I feel after the initial rush is over!

You could definitely skip these – or like you said, check it out later on when it’s out but no rush at all!

Skip for me as well for now. Phyrra has swatches and she is in the 05 MAC range as well. They all look very warm/monotone on pale skin and feel like the Naked 3 palette in that regard with the shades bleeding into one another.

I think these colours look awesome on pale girls with blue/gray eyes because of the contrast. I am a warm toned Snowflake (mac nc15 is dark in the winter on me but yellow enough) and these are my kind of shades. I like warm reddish/coppery tones on blue eyes and very pale skin or dark skinned black women,no in between lol. I don’t have the palette but I tried it on and 1. The colours are way too close to each other 2. Not that much pigmentation 3.ABH MR is million ways better! More pigmented, easier to blend and so on

I’ll probably end up buying this palette eventually because I love the colors. Naked 1&3 palettes are a favorite for me. I already have some pretty golds,oranges and red shadows to add if I want to increase the versatilely of this one. In truth I own all of the palettes you mentioned above so I don’t need to rush out buy this right away.

Why is it so difficult for everyone to nail darker colors? I do like the colors on this palette and, if they put it on a nice sale, like they did the Smoky or the Full Spectrum, I might get it. Otherwise, this is definitely not up to par with their usual palettes! I feel that UD has dropped the ball with all their latest releases.

This is exactly how I felt when I saw your swatches: lots of orange, not much contrast in there. I think that better quality dark mattes would have helped make this palette more usable for a variety of looks, especially if they also included at least one more lighter shimmer.
Anyways, I don’t like red-based colors around my eyes so it was never going to be for me. I can’t wait for this trend to die down to be honest, although I’ve been saving a lot of money from not buying any of the recent palette launches! (except for UD x JM Basquiat’s Gold Griot but it only has one strong red-based shade).

Huge kudos to you for getting this review up so quickly! You did a marvelous job! πŸ™Œ

Now I really have to think long and hard about this one. Pretty solid quality, with few exceptions! My only worry is that at least half the shades within this palette have corresponding dupes within my stash. Yet, I do love the *idea* of having everything in one spot instead of spread out through a gazillion other palettes! Torn!!! As per my usual of late!

The looks you did probably are what I like most about this palette.
When I first saw it I really wanted it so much, I saw some swatches that looked good. After I saw your swatches I became very undecided. I think a lot of the colours will look the same on my lids. I have light skin, but my lids are quite dark, so I’d have to lighten them to get the shades to show up, I think.
I’ll probably end up buing it, but I’ll not be the first one at the store getting it. I have all the other Naked palettes and I guess I’ll want to keep the collection complete.

Tempted to get this Naked Heat but doubting wherher too warm and too much of the same fire repetitive sort of) for a cool/ghost skinned one? They are hot beautiful though. Wondering what are some close dupes out here to compare. But I am drooling for these! They are just fierce colors but I’m too dam pale! Lol! Buahhh! πŸ˜”

I suspect with so many influencers with this palette, you’ll be able to find at least a few looks on someone fairer & cooler than me to see! πŸ™‚

After thinking real hard about them it’ll be a NO for me too many repeats and looking for a cool palette instead. It will look gorgeous though on darker skin tones so jealous! But it is nice! I’d love to imagine as when I saw this gorgeous I think it was NARS a reddish blush for much darker skin how fun! Such beautiful pop of color! Awww!

I only have Naked 3 and I love it. I’m very fair w/ cool undertones and I don’t think Heat will work for me. So far the only recent palette that has my interest is Pur Cosmetics SoirΓ©e Diaries. It looks like it has more browns and golds than orange and plums.

Maybe UD will do a Naked inspired by cool tones- Naked Frost (or Frostbite)! Lol

Thanks for reviewing this so quickly, Christine! I think I will be getting this. The colors are right up my alley, and it is quite different for ABH MR. I think these would be great shades on me.

Hmm I probably will pick this up using Ulta points or when it’s on sale. I do love some good terra-cotta/clay type shades- they tend to look good on my neutral skin. I think they dropped the ball on not including a few plummy purples or cool toned reds. I’m officially ready for the warm toned bandwagon to be over! πŸ™‚

As predicted by many, the dud shades were Ashes and En Fuego and I do agree their does seem to be a need for a couple of contrasting shades there. A few of them look a bit similar to each other. Overall it’s a better palette than the Smoky one (which should have been way better for all the cool toned beauty lovers out there).

Thank you so much Christine for getting the review out so quickly, it’s a giant effort and much appreciated.

Weird/sad that Ashes and En Fuego have almost the exact same list of dupes despite looking quite different in the pan. They are so bad it’s hard to tell what color they are meant to be just looking at the swatches.

Though kudos for UD FINALLY making a palette that looks better on dark skin than light. All the nude=pinko beige stuff is getting to me and I am pretty close to white-person band-aid colored.

I don’t own the Modern Renaissance or the Sweet Peach palette, so this palette will join my collection. I own the Relish mono from UD and I think that would look amazing in combination with this palette πŸ™‚

This is going to be gorgeous on dark skin. I’m going to avoid it like the plague as I cannot go anywhere near orange. I love the other Naked palettes though.

You know what this reminds me of? The new shades added to the Carli Bybel deluxe palette, which launched a while ago. I don’t own it but these almost look like dupes! Would you agree Christine?

Am I the only one who thought, “Been there, done that,” about this pallete? Don’t get me wrong, I love warm colors, but I’ve already got, like, six of these palletes in my collection. Urban Decay was late to the party. I’m ready for something fresh, and this isn’t it.

If this is basically a darker, smokier Sweet Peach Palette I don’t need it, I can darken and smoke out the Sweet Peach tones with other colors I already have if that’s what I’m aiming for.

I had such high hopes for this palette, it’s the first time I’ve even thought about buying a naked palette. The abundance of mattes really is what makes me consider it a stand out from the previous ones…..However it’s so monotone and feels like a subtitle variations of one shade palette.
This needs a purple based red/burgundy wine shade and is just missing something …..
The upcoming tartelette scorched ( I’m thinking it was called) looks like it has more variation so I’m holding out for those reviews.

I was never hyped for the naked palettes. Their colours would not go well with my skin tone, but then I can’t really use eyeshadows. But this? Wow! If I could use eyeshadows, I’d buy it in a heart beat. The only other palette I’ve forever want was ABH’s modern renaissance

Is it just me or is the packaging color that surrounds the eyeshadow distracting. It’s so similar that it takes away from the product color. IMO I think inside packaging should stay neutral – white or black – or slight variations of either.

Is this permanent or Limited Edition? I thought Urban Decay mentioned somewhere that it is Limited Edition, but you have it tagged as permanent, so I wanted to be sure!

I wasn’t sure whether to get this palette or not since I own *ALL* the Urban Decay Naked palettes and I also have Too Faced Sweet Peach and ABH Modern Renaissance (that I haven’t even touched yet!) palettes. I think now that I’ve seen the swatches (and we’re close in color), I can’t justify buying this, even with a discount. I have enough burnt orange/copper/burgundy/warm brown hues to last me 25 years at this point. So, this will be money saved!

I do wonder if some of the shades might be intensified using water or maybe a setting spray like Fix+, Smashbox Primer Water, UD All Nighter, etc.

Christine, you always look beautiful. I am going to pass on this particular Naked, though. I do love Urban Decay; but, I already have the Naked Smoky palette, as well as the Basquiat palette in Tenant (for the fun pops of color). These colors would just be a bit much on me to want to invest my money in. Also, again, I have noticed you have given poor marks to the purple shades. What is happening with purple??? It is my favorite color; but, most palettes let me down in the purple department. Could it be the eyes used? But, for anyone getting this palette, rock on and out.

I think I’m going to pass on this one, considering I have so many great Makeup Geek singles that are close to these colors, but I’ve seen some gorgeous looks created with this palette (including yours!) and I think it’s a worthy addition to the Naked lineup. I would like to see Urban Decay release similar palettes with more colorful options, though. A collection of pinks, one of purples, blues (I don’t care for blue shadow, but UD makes some great-quality ones), and greens. I would love a purple palette with various takes, from dusty mauves to eggplants to bright royal purple. Especially with several matte shades! I noticed this Naked palette has more matte shades than the previous iterations, and I’m so glad to see that shift!
I must say, I know the Naked line is more about everyday, neutral looks, but a nice pop of bright red, or even a yellow, would have been a nice addition.

Hi Christine!
When I first saw this palette I thought that would be a good aquisition for me because I really like oranges and warmer browns. But after I read your review I donΒ΄t know if it’s a good purchase because I already have Modern Renaissance. And a lot of the eyeshadows are very similar.
So do you think that this palette could complement MR or I can skipped it?

Thank you so much, I really like to read your reviews!!

I think it could complement MR but there are more versatile palettes if you’re looking for a complementing one!

So I just got an email about this from Urban Decay about super limited quantities yesterday and I just bought it. After reading this today now I feel a little better about my purchase.I saw this and I was on the fence about it becasue I had just gotten the StoryBook Cosmetics and also the BH Cosmetic Carli Bybel palette. I have ABH MR palette as well but, I don’t reach for it as much because I like my warm tones yes but I guess it wasn’t warm enough for me if that makes sense? I’m a hardcore Original Naked palette fan have been using it since it came out. Hopefully this doesn’t let me down.

The only shadow in the palette that is beautiful to me is Ember. All the rest are too similar to each other. Not worth $54

If you’re in love with these shades, it would be a great addition to your collection – as mentioned above, you would still need to reach for other shades to provide contrast.
It’s surprising that UD, with all their palette experience, made this basic error.
Thank you so much for the fast review Christine and your comparisons to other palettes.

I’m very fair and tend to lean pink. I can usually pull off a coppery look, but very red-based shades can look pretty harsh on my skintone, so I don’t think this palette will work for me. Christine (or anyone), I know this might not be the place to post this, but do you have a recommendation for a peachy eyeshadow single that would allow me to experiment with a peach shade without committing to a full palette (like the Sweet Peach or UD Naked Heat)? And preferably one that would look good on fair skin πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

I don’t kmow for the pink,but I am a very pale yellow toned blonde with blue eyes and these are my colours. I don’t understand why now people are acting as if these shades look good only on dark skin when it’s a fact reddish tones make blue eyes pop the most. I think you should try it on, light hand and some hardcore blending skills will do the job. I like these colours on pale girls with blue /gray eyes or dark skinned black women

I think I’ll skip this time, I ended up never using Smoky at all. I don’t own any other Naked palettes but since I’ve got both Too Faced Chocolate Bar and Peach I feel like I’ve got enough spectrum of color. I’m a little sad though because I’d love a new palette to drool over lol but I’ve learned over the last year especially with the help of this site what I will use and what is just more of the same. By the way I really really like the new layout of the page, especially the dupes list. It’s much cleaner to the eye, great work to whoever did it! πŸ˜€

I have been “collecting” makeup for years and kept trying to figure out what this collection reminded me of, and then it came to me: Mac’s 2012 Styleseeker collection! I was absolutely gaga over the reddish/orangish/purpley shades, and I bought nearly the entire collection! It was fun tonight pulling them all out again and thinking about whether or not I could mix some in with UD Heat.

Oh another overrated palette of Urban decay,all the colours are so similar as usual. Even though I think pale girls with blue eyes will look stunning with these colours because they make blue/gray eyes pop. You created lovely looks and the shades look good on you but still the palette is not worth it to people with actual make up skills (aa yourself) who would want to create different looks

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!