Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

1 of 16
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette

Stoned Vibes

Urban Decay Stoned Vibes Eyeshadow Palette ($54.00 for 0.36 oz.) contains two matte eyeshadows (and Antidote is not the same as the Antidote released previously!), one semi-matte (Good Karma) eyeshadow, one satin eyeshadow (Third Eye), and then eight shimmery eyeshadows. The shimmery eyeshadows–that look speckled in the pans–have a very different application method ascribed to them than most UD eyeshadows.

Per the brand, you are supposed to “build up color payoff” by using your finger and you can use the “fluffy end” of the included-brush to “diffuse and blend” for a “seamless application.” They are similar to the kind of finish Huda Beauty New Nudes and Ciate Marbled Metals both have, which is effectively at least two different colors marbled together that mix to create a different shade than seen. Products like Hourglass Scattered Lights, Tarte Chrome Paints, Marc Jacobs See-quins, etc. have a similar feel and texture but are less distinctively mixed.

Urban Decay continues to release disappointing product after disappointing product with a launch of one of the worst marbleized formulas I’ve tried. The texture was drier for half the shades, and to mix these, you really need that extra slip and creaminess. They had a ton of fallout–used with fingertips!–and uneven coverage. They lacked dimension; I’ve seen better dimension and shift from Urban Decay’s standard, powder formula. I’d rather have seen eight regular duochrome eyeshadows, which would have been more versatile, easier to use, less problematic in application, and longer-wearing. Or I could just use Urban Decay’s own Moondusts with a dampened brush/tacky base and get more sparkle and dimension.

The only remarkable part about the new, marbleized formula is that they do have a wetter look applied with fingertips than most metallic eyeshadows have applied dry, though one could simply apply with fingertips and/or a dampened brush to achieve a wetter look. The more matte shades were thinner, powdery, and sheerer, which made them harder to incorporate with the thicker, chunkier shimmery eyeshadows. Third Eye was very stiff, difficult to blend, and thin and was just another dagger to the heart given how good Urban Decay’s eyeshadows used to be.

Don’t get me started on the absolute nonsense they’re peddling about the inclusion of “genuine tourmaline to block bad energy.” It’s such a shame that so many beauty industry leaders seem bound and determined to proliferate pseudo-science, fully embrace fear-mongering, and otherwise take a very anti-science stand.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Urban Decay Good Karma Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Good Karma Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Good Karma Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Good Karma Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Good Karma Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Good Karma Eyeshadow

Good Karma

Good Karma is a pale beige with subtle, warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation in a single layer but was paired with a very powdery, dry texture that sheered out instantly and had a ton of fallout.

It created a grayish cast when paired with Hexed and Third Eye, so I have no idea why it was included given it doesn’t work well with most of the shades and is very limited in use by skin tone. There was so much fallout that it resulted in muting/tamping down the finish of the shimmers on my lid, so I’d definitely recommend using it first. There were signs of fading present after six hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

MICA, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, SILICA, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, DIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, TALC, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, POLYHYDROXYSTEARIC ACID, TIN OXIDE, TOURMALINE. (D252165/1)

1 of 3
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Jade Eyeshadow

Jade

Jade is a light-medium green with moderate, warm undertones paired with warmer golden-green and emerald green flecks of sparkle over a metallic finish. It had semi-opaque coverage applied with fingertips, which could be built up slightly but came at the cost of a fair amount of fallout.

As instructed by the brand, I applied it with my fingertips, and that was accurate as the formula was terrible with brushes; I tried a slew of brushes in my personal arsenal as well as the included dual-ended brush. The included brush’s fluffier end tended to disperse the sparkle/shimmer far from where it was initially placed without really blending the edge.

The texture felt lightly creamy in the pan but needed a bit more glide, which would have made it easier to work with on the lid and likely would have minimized fallout during application. There was creasing after seven hours of wear and had light fallout over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, MICA, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, ZINC STEARATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, CI 77491, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE, SILICA, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, CI 42090 / BLUE 1 LAKE, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, TIN OXIDE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, PHENOXYETHANOL, PALMITIC ACID, ALUMINA, BENZOIC ACID, CI 16035 / RED 40, TOURMALINE. (D252237/1)

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 3
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Opal Aura Eyeshadow

Opal Aura

Opal Aura is a silvery white with an iridescent, metallic sheen. It had medium coverage, which didn’t build up much beyond that, as applied with fingertips. The base seemed more transparent, which I think made it easier to work with than a lot of other shades in the palette because it did not look as uneven and just looked more brightening. The product itself applied somewhat unevenly and thickly in places.

The texture was lightly creamy, less dense and dry compared to most of the shimmer shades in the palette. It stayed on decently for eight hours before creasing but didn’t seem prone to fallout during wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, MICA, CI 77000 / ALUMINUM POWDER, ZINC STEARATE, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, SILICA, POLYETHYLENE, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, TIN OXIDE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, CI 77742 / MANGANESE VIOLET, CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE, TOURMALINE. (D252217/1)

1 of 3
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Tiger's Eye Eyeshadow

Tiger's Eye

Tiger’s Eye has a mix of darker, orange-copper base pigment and sparkle paired with lighter, whiter gold chunks that mixed to create a lighter, peachy copper with flecks of pink and gold sparkle over a metallic finish.

The texture was creamier and more yielding than most of the shimmer shades in the palette,which made it easier to apply and diffuse gently along the edges–I wouldn’t call it blendable because there wasn’t a lot you could do with the edge to combine it but rather just drag enough sparkles over the crease/matte shades to make it look less harsh. It had nearly opaque coverage that lasted for eight hours but had light fallout over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, SILICA, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, MICA, POLYETHYLENE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, TIN OXIDE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, TOURMALINE. (D252221/1)

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 3
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vibes Eyeshadow

Vibes

Vibes has a darker, rosy-mauve base pigment paired with larger chunks of iridescent pink-to-gold that mixed to create a light pink with a sparkling, metallic finish but didn’t have as much dimension from the multi-colored sparkle as I would have expected. It was very wet-looking, though, and it had full opacity in a single layer (applied with fingertips).

The texture was more emollient and had more glide, which helped it apply evenly and even made the edge slightly blendable with the fluffy end of the included brush. The color stayed on fairly well for eight hours and didn’t seem prone to fallout, which might have been due to the creamier texture that helped to mix and smooth out the larger chunks of sparkle.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, MICA, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, SILICA, CI 16035 / RED 40 LAKE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, CAESALPINIA SAPPAN BARK EXTRACT, TIN OXIDE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, PHENOXYETHANOL, PALMITIC ACID, BENZOIC ACID, TOURMALINE. (D252241/1)

1 of 2
Urban Decay Antidote (Stoned Vibes) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Antidote (Stoned Vibes) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Antidote (Stoned Vibes) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Antidote (Stoned Vibes) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Antidote (Stoned Vibes) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Antidote (Stoned Vibes) Eyeshadow

Antidote (Stoned Vibes)

Antidote (Stoned Vibes) is a light-medium coral-orange with strong, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-sheer to medium coverage, which did not build up well, with a very powdery texture that was prone to sheering out and had a ton of fallout.

It caused the two darker, more matte shades to turn grayish and effectively ruined the blend I was going for every time. The only way to use it was to apply it first and then layer one of the darker shades on top and barely blend, which mitigated some of that ashiness the shade would create otherwise. It lasted for six hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

MICA, TALC, SILICA, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, DIMETHICONE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, CI 77491, CI 77492 / IRON OXIDES, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, CI 16035 / RED 40 LAKE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, POLYHYDROXYSTEARIC ACID, TOURMALINE. (D252170/1

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Urban Decay Hexed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Hexed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Hexed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Hexed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Hexed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Hexed Eyeshadow

Hexed

Hexed is a medium, orange-toned brown with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had a drier, lightly powdery texture that was thin and had light fallout during application (even when I tapped off excess). It had good pigmentation that sheered out a bit during application but was blendable. It stayed on decently for seven hours before fading a bit.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

MICA, SILICA, CI 16035 / RED 40 LAKE, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, TALC, DIMETHICONE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, PHENOXYETHANOL, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, POLYHYDROXYSTEARIC ACID, TOURMALINE. (D252213/1)

1 of 3
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bloodstone Eyeshadow

Bloodstone

Bloodstone has a medium-dark, coppery-brown base with strong, warm orange undertones and a blue-to-green shift. It looked lightly metallic when applied with fingertips, but it was a firmer, stiffer consistency so it was hard to get an even layer of product–especially the shift–and it had a tendency to have fallout. Applied, I was hardly able to detect any shift (even in person), and it looked more like a washed-out shimmery brown.

I was able to get opaque coverage when I used my fingertip–as marketed by the brand–on my arm but it was hard to get that level of pigmentation on my actual lid due to not being able to press down quite as hard to get product off my finger and onto the lid. It lasted for seven hours before creasing on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

MICA, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, SILICA, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TIN OXIDE, TOURMALINE. (D252225/1)

1 of 3
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Ojo Eyeshadow

Ojo

Ojo is a brighter, medium blue with cool undertones and iridescent pink sparkle over a metallic finish. It had good color coverage, but it was not opaque and could not be built up. The texture was chunky, thick, and difficult to work with as the color did not mix/combine well, so it looked like clumpy bits of blue when applied to my lid.

I used fingertips, as per the brand, but I also tried using different brushes and just couldn’t get the product to physically be an even layer. It did not blend at all along the edges–attempting to do so just dragged chunks elsewhere (but the edge was as ragged as ever) or dropped those chunks off my l id entirely. This shade lasted for seven hours but flaked off in larger chunks.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, SILICA, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, MICA, CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, TIN OXIDE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TOURMALINE. (D252229/1)

1 of 3
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Raw Energy Eyeshadow

Raw Energy

Raw Energy has a more mid-tone purple paired with iridescent, greenish-gold chunks that mixed to a medium, warmer lavender with flecks of gold and pink sparkle. The consistency was a real disappointment; it was dry, thin, and difficult to pick up, even with a fingertip. I was able to get semi-sheer coverage at BEST! using a fingertip, but it was somewhat buildable, which helped me pile it on for more semi-opaque coverage.

It seemed more forgiving when built up compared to other shades as it wasn’t as chunky. The color stayed on for eight hours and didn’t seem prone to creasing or fallout.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, MICA, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, ZINC STEARATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, SILICA, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE, CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, CAESALPINIA SAPPAN BARK EXTRACT, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, TIN OXIDE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TOURMALINE. (D252233/1)

1 of 3
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meditate Eyeshadow

Meditate

Meditate is a medium-dark, reddish-copper base iridescent pink and copper sparkle. It seemed like it had potential to be multidimensional, but it lost something when applied to my lid–it just didn’t have a lot of shift or iridescence but did appear metallic and slightly wet.

It had opaque color coverage when applied with fingertips but took a bit more pressure to get that level of coverage to translate my lid. When I tried to build it up, the product had a tendency to thicken and bunch up, which created a more uneven layer of product that was more prone to emphasizing lid texture/lines. The consistency was denser with only light creaminess, so it wasn’t as foolproof to use and sometimes did not mix the marbleized shades well. This shade lasted decently for seven and a half hours before creasing on me and had light fallout over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

MICA, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, CI 77491, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, ZINC STEARATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 TRIISOSTEARATE, DIMETHICONE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, POLYETHYLENE, SILICA, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE [NANO] / SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, CI 16035 / RED 40 LAKE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, TIN OXIDE, PHENOXYETHANOL, PALMITIC ACID, BENZOIC ACID, TOURMALINE. (D252245/1)

1 of 2
Urban Decay Third Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Third Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Third Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Third Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Third Eye Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Third Eye Eyeshadow

Third Eye

Third Eye was a darker plum with warmer undertones and a satin finish. It was dry, thin, and firm, which made it difficult to pick up with a brush without jabbing and pushing away product from the surface. When I worked with it in my crease, I had to pack it on and wasn’t able to blend out the edge that well.

As a result of having to really pick up a fair amount of product to get decent coverage, there was also some fallout as the product did not stick evenly to bare skin. There was noticeable fading after six and a half hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

MICA, CI 77491, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, TALC, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, CI 16035 / RED 40 LAKE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE, HYDROGENATED POLYDECENE, ZINC STEARATE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, DIPENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAHYDROXYSTEARATE/TETRAISOSTEARATE, PHENOXYETHANOL, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, DIMETHICONE, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, TIN OXIDE, POLYHYDROXYSTEARIC ACID, TOURMALINE. (D252174/1)

Explore Temptalia

We're here to help you make better beauty purchases that you'll enjoy and love! We recommend signing up to take advantage of personalized features like tracking products you own, viewing dupes that you already have, and more!

Here are some useful resources for you:

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

71 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This looks awful—more like it RADIATES bad vibes. Thank goodness for your review, especially now that shoppers can’t use testers even if they’re able to go to physical stores.

It’s a shame that the marbled eyeshadows don’t work well! I thought the palette was quite pretty and I like multidimensional, textured shimmers. It’s nice that mainstream brands are trying something new (minus the tourmaline nonsense), but I’ll stick to indies for sparkly eyeshadows!

Right? I admit I was starting to get sucked into the hype I’ve seen on IG (from a few people, at least!). Looking at the swatches now, I’m sure I own better versions of all these shades. I was really rooting for UD though!

Going off both yours and Mel Thompson’s reviews, it most definitely seems to be a palette that absolutely requires a primer to make it work. I believe that is exactly why she was able to get it to work as well as she did.
That aside, I’m not buying something that DIRECTLY advocates spiritistic pseudoscience nonsense! This is so NOT my thing. I’m not into “crystals” or occult magic.

I can’t stand the pseudoscience that seems to be going around beauty brands right now. Even if it was a good product, I would not want to buy it because of that. I have to wonder if they are doing that because that truly is the customer base, or they are expecting it to be the base… In any case, money saved for me. I love gemstones in general and this is an utter disappointment.

I hate how everything now seems to include CBD. Like really? Havving CBD in my lipstick is going to transform my life? It’s a stupid trend.

Oh wow! I totally missed that! See, I wasn’t looking at the names. I totally am not into that either, so I would have probably returned it. But having seen Christine’s review and someone mentioned Mel saying it needs work, well that’s a for sure NO GO.

Wow, I can’t believe UD is so desperate that they’re stooping to “block bad energy” levels. UD used to be my favorite brand, but I haven’t purchased anything from them since the Naked Cherry. I had high hopes for this palette, and I’m sorry to hear it didn’t perform well. I somehow missed the tourmaline part, so even if this palette swatched and performed amazingly, I would never buy it for the bogus claim alone.

What a shame. This is just the kind of release that people new to makeup will buy because it looks so cool in the pan, but then applies so terribly on (and for a $54 palette!). I really cringe at the whole “good vibes” crystal energy industry, especially given exposés about the human cost of these industries. On top of it all, the human consequence of an anti-science approach generally has been so hard to think about lately, so yeah, bad vibes 🙁

You’re so right — this would have been a good opportunity for Urban Decay to repromote their moondust shadows, which make beautiful, sparkling topper shades for multidimensional looks. I hope Urban Decay goes back to releasing palettes in the vein of their Vice series which had interesting color stories and had some truly quality shadows in them. I also love their media collaboration releases when done well.

I am SSOOOOOO glad I didn’t jump the gun on this one! Owwwie! I would be so disappointed waiting for it to arrive and seeing this rating. Thank you God! And thank you Christine!

Those are the 2 shades that are holding me back from picking it up, LOL! As pretty as they are, I just know myself well enough to know I won’t touch them…

What a mess. Combine the poor quality with the really nebulous claim about the tourmaline (I’m surprised they’re allowed to make this claim) and it’s bad but factor in their suggestion to use your fingers (and the oils and bacteria than can transfer to the surface of the product) and it seems like the perfect story of crap-ness! I have the feeling these will be put on sale at marked down prices before too long. Oh, and the colours I liked scored really poorly and UD should be more than capable of doing a beautiful purple and a pale beige! They’ve done it umpteen times before!

and with everyone worrying about hand hygiene and hands potentially passing along the virus, well – I just don’t think the protection from “bad vibes” would be enough to reassure me that I won’t be contaminating the shadow. I suppose I could sacrifice a chicken at midnight under a full moon, though. Together with the tourmaline, that will protect me and make me invincible!

Christine, Brit Clarke on youtube mentioned the texture of the marbled shadows got strange after the first use. “Not-really-hardpan” texture, sort of like ColourPop supershock shadows. Did you experience this?

What a pain in the butt. I’ve seen some youtubers really liking this on first impressions, but later on… Definitely not worth full price. Maybe a tacky base could make them work a bit better (like with Mel Thompson). So glad I spent my money on Clionadh instead, even with the long wait!

I think that they had spent much more time in design the package than formulating the shades inside. Unfortunately, I feel that a wide part of the beauty community is placing more attention ti the box than the formula. Really didn’t you notice how much time in most of the review is used to describe every insignificant detail of the pakaging, compared to the formula and swatches? Maybe the problem is that we have so many pallettes that we bought them only for collection or for the package? So brands like ud are focusing more on the box than the substance? Sadly… For my personal point if view, I do not care at all to package. My favourite one is a very compact cardboard pack (like old huba beauty’s obsession. Really why using that plastic? Cardboard is more eco friendly, lighter and p
Absirbs hurts much better than plastic. About the pseudo-science behind makeup, I’m very sick of this and the amount of disinformation that is spreading from the net.

The exterior packaging is fun – vivid, faceted, and raised (though fun to store), and I did have the thought that it looked better on the outside than in, LOL, but I do like my jewel-tones! Might as well buy a print or a piece of art to put on the wall if only buying for packaging!

Yes, cardboard is underrated for all the reasons you mentioned, though I see some people comment that it is “cheap” in feel/look (I think the pros outweight that!).

Christine, may I ask you a curiosity? When you were talking about trying different type of brushes to check if a formula works only with fingertips of no, did you try the sponge applicators? I know that they are not particulary loved by makeup community, but in my experience what works with fingers, works also with sponges. So, since I hate using my fingers, I keep a good storage of sponge applicators instead

Between this and Colourpop’s Wild Nothing collection I’m left with the distinct impression that either vegans are opposed to pigmented cosmetics and being colorful or companies at least think that vegans are. I’m not veg*n (though dietary-wise I used to be long ago) so it’s not necessarily one of my top concerns, but I know it is for a lot of people and it’s a shame that they are getting such lackluster products. If it’s impossible to get a decent vegan pigment (although I can’t believe that after all this time), then it would be nice to at least get a halfway decent formula.

Pass me that bone, my copper bracelet, and do you have anything for my throat chakra, Gwyneth? Tourmaline comes in a vast array of shades and looks pretty, nothing else. Watermelon tourmaline is my fave, but it has no impact on my cooking. Even tourmaline is embarrassed.

Thank goodness I didn’t have a weak moment and buy this. Besides the horrible review and pseudo-science, I’m still shocked that the palette is made in Korea. I don’t recall that of any other UD palette.

This looks nothing like Korean e/s. Though I’m sure UD gives very specific formulas and instructions. Odd to choose a country well known for washes, hints, suggestions. This is hit you between (on) the eyes with a spiked 2×4. If i were from the K mfg co, I’d want to take the origin off the package.

Only a couple of colours interested me – the blue one, Ojo, especially.

I wouldn’t want to use my fingers to apply the product. I am lazy at times, and I also do not want to keep washing my fingers to apply another colour and also risk my contaminating the package. Is there some sort of eyeshadow palette cleaner available (like the kind you see in the stores with something being sprayed on the makeup)?

For that kind of price, the quality should be a little better. $68 Canadian? Maybe when it shows up at Winners/Marshalls.

The pop spirituality tourmaline addition is an eye-rolling gimmick. Energy is energy and there is no good or bad energy. What would make the tourmaline addition more practical would be that the package was made from it and it could come in handy if someone is trying to snatch your bag.

I bought the Cinema Secrets spray, but I also found 91% isopropyl alcohol works as well. My makeup teacher in college suggested using alcohol on our kits in between shows, since sometimes months could pass, and it worked beautifully, even on creams.

This review is so disappointing to hear. What happened to UD? For as much trouble as you had with it, you made it look good. Thanks for you honest thoughts. If I can find it on super sale, I might get it. Otherwise, I’m passing on yet another UD release.

I feel like I’m crazy but I love this palette! I’m using a primer and glitter glue and have been pairing the shiny shades with my Viseart mattes. No creasing after an 11 hour work day and minimal fallout. But I for the life of me can’t get PM’s special shades to work without creasing after 3 hours and a variety of application attempts. I feel like my lids must be weird. ???

I really like it too, although I did just use it for the first time! I understand the C rating — I had trouble getting certain shades to show up with a pencil brush, and I couldn’t get Bloodstone, which I was really excited about, to show up like it does in a finger swatch even after packing on layer after layer with my finger. It’s worth it for me though because they’re so sparkly and pretty, but I understand why others would pass!

(If you’ve been able to get Bloodstone to work though, please tell me your secret!)

I’m on the fence about this palette… I do use a tacky base, but I also sometimes like the idea of a soft wash of color… The main thing holding me back is I know I wouldn’t get any use out of the green & blue, and I haven’t been able to justify it if I won’t touch 2 shades… Perhaps if it goes on sale…

xamyx, I love the green! And it probably helps that I used my Ulta points to pay for half of it…essentially getting it on sale. :o) Surely, it will go on sale around the holidays!

Emily, I haven’t tried Bloodstone yet but have used all the other colors. I’ll have to try it. It does make such a lovely swatch. Totally with you, to have a glittery palette that works for my lids is so nice! But get why others would pass, too.

The white flakes honestly kinda look like the fat that will travel to the top of the pot when you’re making stew or something. UD really has completely jumped the shark!

I almost bought this in store at Ulta when it launched, because it’s so pretty in person—and the packaging is really neat! But of course you can’t swatch anything in store anymore so I decided to wait for reviews. And I thought it was weird that micro influencers were the first to review it. People that normally don’t get PR from Urban Decay are of course elated and therefore tend to give it a better review than maybe it deserves. I can’t believe they went back to their $54 price point with this palette! Luckily Natasha revealed her Glam palette and I knew I’d rather spend my money on that, so I never picked this up. Now that I’ve read your review, I know I have way better things in my collection already. I mean, it’s pretty hard to beat Terra Moons Iridescent Chameleons in my eyes! I am really rooting for Urban Decay to be the comeback kid I know they could be if they just did some research and focused more on the formula and less on the packaging.

Annoyed to see third eye as a satin when im pretty sure this palette was marketed as 4 mattes, 4 shimmers? Also raw energy is SO disgustingly disappointing. Its barely purple! I could maybe seeing a shimmery light look being a thing/mood for some people but marketing this as pigmented is ridicudlous and as you’ve stated above, the moondust shadows would have a much better effect. I was also weirded out at the antidote shade since the one from the elements palette was more of a brown tone than this coraly orange pastel just dismal UD, What are you doing?

This is such a shame. I was really excited for this palette. It looks very similar to the ones in the New Nudes palette from Huda Beauty. I really loved those and was hoping Huda Beauty would release it in more shades. But saw this UD one and was prepared to use my rewards card from Sephora. You can’t return or exchange anything on it and I am glad I saw this, too risky to buy it if it performed this badly.

Aside from the hocus pocus that’s now become a part of some makeup releases, the look of some of these colors in the initial photos made me think it had potential. I wanted to see your swatches and scores first though, and as per usual, UD is just not meeting expectations — especially not as a prestige brand! There’s sooo many other good choices out there now, it continues to surprise me that UD has yet to up their game. At this rate, I’m not sure how much longer they will be around. If not for their setting spray, they would be irrelevant to me.

Absolutely disgraceful – on all levels.
The choice of colours is quite good – but the formula is UD at its worst. Why create a palette that is so difficult to use and wear? What is the point? Wasn’t someone brave enough within their organization to say what a big mistake this is?
As for the pseudo scientific nonsense – get real UD. I echo your thoughts completely Christine.

Eeeeeshhh…..Not good, though those are some amazing pics you took. As for the tourmaline energy? What does that even mean? I know tourmaline has been used in skincare but that’s about it. That’s an unfortunate turn for Urban Decay. I never thought they’d get on the gravy boat and sell snake oil.

I was really surprised! Gemstones, rocks, crystals, etc. can be beautiful, so it could have been a beautiful theme… without the junk science lean-in.

Yeah…I’m pretty disappointed by the gimmick. If it doesn’t look good aesthetically, it really shouldn’t be in makeup

This was the first Urban Decay palette I seriously wanted in quite a long time…but between this review and the “magic crystals” nonsense I just can’t.

Oh how disappointing this palette is. I like the outside of it, and the look of the eye shadows, but it’s an easy pass.
UD, what’s happened to you?!

“Don’t get me started on the absolute nonsense they’re peddling about the inclusion of “genuine tourmaline to block bad energy.” It’s such a shame that so many beauty industry leaders seem bound and determined to proliferate pseudo-science, fully embrace fear-mongering, and otherwise take a very anti-science stand.”

Stands up and applauds.

I haven’t commented in ages, but thank you for this Christine.

Also, if IG pics on the brands’ own page look already underwhelming – well.

Considering that this is makeup, and not meant to be medicine, I don’t how it’s ridiculous or inappropriate for them to be using this theme. It’s not “pseudo-science,” it’s a fun theme that, last I checked, UD and many others commonly use as a hook to get you interested in their products. No matter what someone might think about that stuff, there’s really no harm in applying it to something as superficial and fun as makeup.

It’s not the theme, it’s saying that it includes “genuine tourmaline to block bad energy.” It’s listed as a product benefit. There is harm in pushing “crystal healing” because there is no scientific basis for it, so by peddling something that has no scientific basis, they uphold or endorse a practice that can genuinely cause harm if and when individuals pursue “crystal healing” to their detriment over alternatives that are backed by science.

Please be respectful of the community – calling makeup superficial is a gross reduction of what makeup means to a lot of readers… Makeup can be fun but doesn’t mean it isn’t rife with issues that make it less fun than it could be for some people. There is so much baggage attached to beauty/makeup just from societal pressure/norms/stereotypes, let alone a slew of other issues from racism to sexism.

What a disappointment 🙁 It looks like they discontinued the Moondust for this, and the chunky-looking formula gave me um, bad vibes. A lot of these colors also look too sheer, more like the “transformer” shades in some palettes. I hope they make another Moondust palette since I own the original, Party Favor, and a bunch of the singles – and I use all of them constantly. They should stick to that formula for the foils / glitters, it’s amazing!

Moondust is really versatile, too, since you can use it dry or wet, with fingertips or a brush, on its own, as a wash, or layered over another product! They are also very shiny/wet but also sparkling!

Can’t say I’m surprised to see this rating/review. It really breaks my heart to see the brand that got me into makeup and that I used to love falling off like this. I also don’t understand the logic of creating an eyeshadow formula that absolutely *must* be used with fingers to (only sort of) work and then including a brush in the palette. If the majority of the shadows are a formula that you can’t really use with a brush, don’t include one? Just seems like a recipe for disaster (or at least a lot of disappointment and returns). What an absolute shame!

I had the same thought re: the brush, like oh, dual-ended brush that technically is only needed for four of the 12 shades?!

I appreciate the review but I find the last sentence of your review to be a bit dramatic. How is the text about this palette’s release considered “fear-mongering”? What is the harm is being non-scientific when their furthest claim is to block “bad energy”? Compare that to the fear-mongering that the media has perpetuated over a virus which in actuality has a death rate lower than 1% that is costing people their own livelihoods.

If anything, it’s cheeky and new-age to the modern consumer. But the concept of good/bad vibrations and affiliation with crystals and stones can also be traced to quantum physics, the metaphysical, and nature-based belief systems.

I think this review would’ve been a lot better had it just stuck to the performance of the formulas like per usual.

If you re-read the sentence, I actually say that “so many beauty industry leaders” – that UD’s claim here is part of a larger trend that is embracing pseudo-science, fear-mongering, and effectively bolstering up anti-science sentiments. When we have influential individuals within the community who claim essentials oil cure this and that, we have brands that use debunked studies to pull long-studied, efficacious ingredients out of formulations (and big retailers further pressuring all brands to do so), we have brand owners that have taken anti-vaccine stands or have a long history of being anti-science/alarmist, and the rise of Goop, Goop being carried at Sephora… just… so much more.

Just because they aren’t making the most extreme claim doesn’t mean it isn’t worthy of being noted and pushed back on… so that it doesn’t get worse. I don’t want to see UD go this route. Sure, carrying a crystal to black bad vibes doesn’t necessarily cause a lot of harm on its face, but UD is still endorsing crystal healing as working (when there’s no evidence it does, other than a placebo effect) and some people could end up favoring crystal healing instead of proven methods for healing (or more related to a lot of how crystal healing is used, e.g. not seeking mental health help from say, a therapist or psychiatrist). From a brand that hasn’t been doing that, I was surprised and disappointed because now it’s just one more brand to add to a pile of growing brands going full-in on “clean beauty.”

I don’t really see how those two sentences make the review part any different — I certainly didn’t rate anything downward because it didn’t block bad energy.

As one who makes my living as a psychic medium, I am a bit disappointed in the reactions to this palette and to the “pseudo science” aspect. (although I also would not block bad energies with eye shadow.) As someone whose husband is a doctor (twice over) I also highly believe in science as well. (You don’t have to pick one or the other.)
I’m still kind of interested in this palette though because I really like the shimmers. I wouldn’t use Hexed or Third Eye as they are just too dark for me to work with. I do have the New Nudes palette and love it. I wish it compared more closely to that one. I may just grab this when it goes on sale as I already have too much stuff and my husband is starting to complain. *lol*

Hate to see UD jump on this train of not only using pseudo-science but, playing on spiritual practices for profit, like it’d come off different if a brand was a part of a had a knowledge of Hinduism ( and Ayurveda), Buddism or Pagan beliefs, but to use things for a “trend” without understanding it rubs me the wrong way ( like “third eye”) . I also really hate to see comments here being like “the names are why I wouldn’t buy it”, because its “occult” is dismissive of other people’s culture/religion. Pseudo-science has no place in the beauty industry and they should not be making claims that are not backed up by fact, yes, but lets be careful not to rudely dismiss the spiritual/cultural practices of other people in the process of critiquing pseudo-science, which is often ingrained in religion.

Ouch, yet another flop from UD… such a shame, they used to come out with some great palettes. I think it might be time for some changes there, not really sure who is in charge of their strategic direction but they aren’t doing any favors to their brand reputation with the last few releases. I also don’t appreciate the whole crystal nonsense, it feels like something GOOP would try and push and that is not a positive. Yikes…

I was going to get this when it went on sale for the neutral textured shadows, since I have a Sephora gift card burning a hole in my pocket, and most of my indies don’t have the neutrals I wanted- seeing this, however, makes me feel like I was right in my assumption of waiting it out and picking up two of the Moondust singles (since I historically have liked the formula) in Space Cowboy and Cosmic- sad because I was so excited to see what I thought could be a comeback for Urban Decay

So glad you do HONEST reviews! I used to be able to just sign up for an UD launch, I remember excitedly sitting up all night to get my hands on something like Afterdark or Heavy Metals (their last good quality palette IMHO) with zero swatch check, you could just trust it was good. Now their quality is so down I have to vet every product. It’s so disappointing as they were my favorite brand by a landslide and I loved the vibe. The good vibes additives and “stoned” name are extra turnoffs. Read the room, Wende!

It makes me sick that so many Youtubers will give it an awesome review because they got PR, and want to keep getting PR, likes, subscribers, and attention. We’re over it.

this looks like someone saw shots from an optical mineralogy class and decided to make it into a shadow palette. That being said, I’m a geologist and I’ll be buying this simply because that’s exactly what it looks like.

Urban Decay has fallen off so hard over the past 5 years (with the exception of Naked Heat and the Beached palette, which I liked and use a lot). Release after release it’s like… what are they doing over there? As a fan going back to around 2003 it’s been hard to watch. Now whenever comes out I *expect* to be like “hard pass”. And they just won’t stop with the bulky packaging. They’re driving me into ColourPop’s arms here.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!