Temptalia Logo
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/13

Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Palette | Look Details
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Palette | Look Details
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette
Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette

Backtalk

Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Face Palette ($46.00 for 0.88 oz.) is a new, limited edition palette exclusive to Sephora. It’s a warm-toned palette with a pinker-leaning, but I don’t think that it resulted in quite the berry/mauve (read: cooler-toned) palette that readers expected when it was initially launched. I think that the palette may suffer from a lack of versatility, as I felt like a lot of potential looks looked rather similar, but for someone who is after a certain type of look, the color scheme might work just fine.

The eyeshadow quality was below the brand’s typical one (though I liked the two mattes in the palette quite a bit) from my experience, particularly for shimmery shades like Shade and Attitude (I find the brand shines with these types of finishes, usually), though I didn’t experience as bad of a palette as others, including some readers, have had. I didn’t have any trouble with the cheek colors, though Urban Decay markets their Afterglow blushes/highlighters as buildable in pigmentation and having eight-hour wear.

Reviews seem to be either “worst palette ever” or “it’s decent” (I’m not seeing tons of “best palette ever” kind of remarks). I try to avoid reading too many reviews about products before testing and reviewing them myself (when I know that I plan to review) to avoid any potential to be influenced. Even my best blogging friend, Muse, and I had very different experiences (and we tend to agree most of the time), where hers was one of the worst palettes she had ever used. I saw several customer reviews mention that there was “no pigmentation” even when used over primer or after three layers of product, which was definitely far worse (and different) than my experience – I also compared the press sample I received to one I purchased from Sephora (online) the day it launched but didn’t find any significant differences.

01/02

Urban Decay 3 Sheets Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 3 Sheets Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 3 Sheets Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 3 Sheets Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 3 Sheets Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 3 Sheets Eyeshadow

3 Sheets

3 Sheets is a pale pink with warm undertones and a matte finish. It was richly pigmented with a soft, velvety consistency that wasn’t too thin nor too powdery, so I felt like it retained good coverage on my skin tone when I blended it out–often, shades like this can get more powdery and sheer out tremendously or result in lots of fallout during application. It wore well for seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Alumina, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tetrasodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay Bare Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bare Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bare Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bare Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bare Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Bare Eyeshadow

Bare

Bare is a light-medium, peachy pink with warm undertones and a sparkling, frosted finish. The consistency was drier and a bit more loosely pressed together in the pan, so there was slight fallout during application, but I didn’t notice continued fallout during wear. It had good color payoff but would be the type of texture and finish that I’d prefer to apply with a dampened brush. I know that some readers have commented about Bare and Curve appearing too similar, but I did find that I could noticeably see differences in depth and undertone when applied and blended out in a look (I could use Bare on my brow bone, but I couldn’t use Curve). It stayed on well for seven hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Zinc Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Silica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aqua / Water, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 16035 / Red 40, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/02

Urban Decay Curve Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Curve Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Curve Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Curve Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Curve Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Curve Eyeshadow

Curve

Curve is a soft, medium pink with strong, warm undertones and a frosted finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation with a soft, slightly drier and more loosely-pressed consistency that had some excess product kicked up in the pan and slight fallout during application. It worked better over primer or applied with a dampened brush, both of which eliminated the fallout. The eyeshadow wore well for seven hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Zinc Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Silica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aqua / Water, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 16035 / Red 40, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/02

Urban Decay Backtalk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backtalk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backtalk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backtalk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backtalk Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backtalk Eyeshadow

Backtalk

Backtalk is a muted, medium pink with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-sheer coverage that was buildable to semi-opaque pigmentation when used over a primer. The texture was thinner and more dusty, which I imagine was part of why it didn’t perform that well over bare skin. It lasted for six and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Alumina, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tetrasodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay Shade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Shade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Shade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Shade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Shade Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Shade Eyeshadow

Shade

Shade is a medium-dark berry with subtle, warm undertones and a satin finish. The eyeshadow was nicely pigmented, but the texture could have been slightly softer and more yielding to make it easier to apply to bare skin in a fluid motion. It applied best with pressing and pushing motions over sweeping or patting. It wore well for seven hours before I noticed signs of fading, though I felt like it lost some of its shine within a few hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Zinc Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Silica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aqua / Water, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 16035 / Red 40, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/02

Urban Decay Attitude Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Attitude Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Attitude Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Attitude Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Attitude Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Attitude Eyeshadow

Attitude

Attitude is a medium, coppery red with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. It had semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation with a firmer, denser consistency that took a heavier hand to pickup a moderate amount of product onto my brush. It applied best by patting and pressing rather than sweeping, and the edges didn’t blend out as nicely as other shimmers from the brand have for me. The eyeshadow lasted for seven and a half hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Hexylene Glycol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tin Oxide, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Aqua / Water, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin, Polyurethane-11. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay WTF Eyeshadow
Urban Decay WTF Eyeshadow
Urban Decay WTF Eyeshadow
Urban Decay WTF Eyeshadow
Urban Decay WTF Eyeshadow
Urban Decay WTF Eyeshadow

WTF

WTF is a slightly muted, medium-dark brown with warm, orange undertones and a matte finish. The color payoff was opaque in a single layer, while the texture was soft, smooth, and easy to blend out on my skin. It wore well for eight hours before it started to fade on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Alumina, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tetrasodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay 180 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 180 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 180 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 180 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 180 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 180 Eyeshadow

180

180 is a medium-dark brown with subtle, warm undertones and a satin sheen. It was richly pigmented with a smooth, soft, and blendable texture that wasn’t too firmly pressed nor too powdery in the pan. The eyeshadow blended out with ease on my skin and stayed on well for eight hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Alumina, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tetrasodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/03

Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Cheap Shot Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush

Cheap Shot

Cheap Shot is a medium, plummy pink with subtle, cool undertones and a satin sheen. The texture was firmer and a touch dry, but it applied beautifully to bare skin and blended out nicely. It seemed to darken just slightly within a few minutes of application, but it did not darken throughout the day. The finish was particularly luminous after I buffed and blended the powder on my cheeks. The pigmentation was semi-opaque but buildable and wore well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.23 oz. - $113.04 Per Ounce

Urban Decay’s describes their powder blush formula as having “buildable color” with a “blendable, finely milled” texture that will wear for “eight long hours.” A lot of the shades have semi-sheer to semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation but a few have been more pigmented than buildable, though a lighter hand is always one route to take to get sheerer coverage if that's a must-have.

The texture of the blushes is smooth, silky, and finely-milled with a thinness that gave me pause initially, but it translated to a beautiful, satiny finish on my skin that was natural and lightly luminous. The majority of shades I've tried in the range are blendable, easy to use, and wear for eight hours.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush swatches.

Ingredients

Isoeicosane, Silica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Polyisobutene, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Tin Oxide, Laureth-4. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 45410 / Red 28 Lake, CI 15850 / Red 6, CI 15850 / Red 7 Lake, CI 77120 / Barium Sulfate, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/03

Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Double Take Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush

Double Take

Double Take is a muted, medium-dark pink with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had medium, buildable coverage with a moderately powdery, thinner texture. The blush blended out fairly easily and did not seem to darken too much on its own (as thinner, matte blushes often do for me unless I powder prior to application). It lasted for eight ahours on me.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.23 oz. - $113.04 Per Ounce

Urban Decay’s describes their powder blush formula as having “buildable color” with a “blendable, finely milled” texture that will wear for “eight long hours.” A lot of the shades have semi-sheer to semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation but a few have been more pigmented than buildable, though a lighter hand is always one route to take to get sheerer coverage if that's a must-have.

The texture of the blushes is smooth, silky, and finely-milled with a thinness that gave me pause initially, but it translated to a beautiful, satiny finish on my skin that was natural and lightly luminous. The majority of shades I've tried in the range are blendable, easy to use, and wear for eight hours.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush swatches.

Ingredients

Isoeicosane, Silica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Polyisobutene, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Tin Oxide, Laureth-4. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 45410 / Red 28 Lake, CI 15850 / Red 6, CI 15850 / Red 7 Lake, CI 77120 / Barium Sulfate, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/03

Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush
Urban Decay Low Key Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush

Low Key

Low Key is a light-medium, pinky-coral with warm, golden shimmer. It had a strong, metallic sheen on the skin that didn’t emphasize my skin’s natural texture, but I suspect that it might ffor someone who finds themselves with more natural texture than me–it was just on that border to my eye. The powder was smooth, dense without being firm, and remained blendable on my skin. It had semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation (more than described, though). The highlighter wore well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.23 oz. - $113.04 Per Ounce

Urban Decay’s describes their powder blush formula as having “buildable color” with a “blendable, finely milled” texture that will wear for “eight long hours.” A lot of the shades have semi-sheer to semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation but a few have been more pigmented than buildable, though a lighter hand is always one route to take to get sheerer coverage if that's a must-have.

The texture of the blushes is smooth, silky, and finely-milled with a thinness that gave me pause initially, but it translated to a beautiful, satiny finish on my skin that was natural and lightly luminous. The majority of shades I've tried in the range are blendable, easy to use, and wear for eight hours.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Blush swatches.

Ingredients

Isoeicosane, Silica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Polyisobutene, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Tin Oxide, Laureth-4. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 45410 / Red 28 Lake, CI 15850 / Red 6, CI 15850 / Red 7 Lake, CI 77120 / Barium Sulfate, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/03

Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter
Urban Decay Party Foul Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter

Party Foul

Party Foul is a soft, light-medium peachy-pink with warm undertones and a metallic finish. The consistency was smooth, almost cream-like as it was denser and thicker (but not too thick!), and it blended out easily on my cheek bones to deliver an intense, high-shine finish. It was richly pigmented, though the texture was forgiving and I could use a lighter hand to get less coverage if preferred. This shade lasted for eight hours on me.

Ingredients

Isoeicosane, Silica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Polyisobutene, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Tin Oxide, Laureth-4. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 45410 / Red 28 Lake, CI 15850 / Red 6, CI 15850 / Red 7 Lake, CI 77120 / Barium Sulfate, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Makeup Look

On face:
  • Huda Beauty #FauxFilter Foundation
  • Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder
On eyes:
  • Urban Decay Backtalk Eye & Cheek Palette
On lips:
  • Urban Decay Rebel Vice Lipstick

Product Availability

Urban Decay Eye & Face Palette $46.00/0.88 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Get Updates by Email

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

52 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Comments on this post are closed.

Palette seems iffy, but OMG, your makeup looks stunning!!! What products did you use?? Sorry if it was posted here somewhere, but I can’t find it. I want to dupe it, thanks!

I like the idea of an eye and face palette, just not THIS ONE with all the pink toned shadows. UD needs (or maybe I would appreciate) a full face/eye palette because they don’t have a permanent one and several years ago, they had Naked on the Run which was LE but which was really nice. Something similar would be great as a permanent release.

I had a similar but not exact experience with this palette. I loved the blushes. I expected the eyeshadows to be neutral to cool toned, not warm. Shade faded on me like crazy. WTF had the best pigmentation in the palette for me. I ALWAYS love your reviews!

This is off-topic, but I’ve literally been reading both your blog and Muse’s religiously for at least six years and I had no clue you two were blog besties! That’s so awesome. It makes sense because you two are the best on the net, but it’s still a happy surprise to me.

Back on point: I’ve not tried this palette and have no plans to do so. I think it’s another palette which has ignored the obvious gaps in the current marketplace to try to capitalize on a certain trend; in this case, the ‘rosy nude’ trend which has dominated in the last year or two. The cosmetics market has no use for another warm-toned palette OR another “one size fits all” multifunctional palette which really only suits a certain percentage of consumers. I’ve all but completely stopped purchasing new cosmetics to test in the last six months because everything seems to be geared toward fleeting trends instead of reliable, high-quality staple products which feature trendy shades or finishes. It could be that it’s been like that for years and I’m just now seeing it, but I honestly think it’s gotten much more apparent/worse in recent years.
In short, I’m not surprised this palette has been getting a lot of bad press simply for the fact that (in my eyes) it’s completely unnecessary. It’s only a good value if it can be used a lot— otherwise it’s just another palette which is going to sit around and collect dust.

My guess is there are just more limited edition products now so there are more duds (but more successes), and any missteps are just a lot more obvious with social media and online reviews vs. five (or 10 or 15) years ago.

I’ve also noticed that the cosmetics industry is becoming more trend heavy in the last few years. My working theory is that it correlates to Instagram blowing up and changing the way beauty is consumed and viewed. I think that Pinterest and beauty blogs and communities have also played a part in allowing companies to track what looks are trending. I think in some ways it has helped to bring high end trends to the masses by making them more accessible faster, but I think it’s also shortening the trend cycle. More photos on our feeds and more access to affordable products means consumers are tiring more quickly. I remember looking for Modern Renaissance dupes in the summer of 2016 and finding very few pink and red shadows on the market. Today we’re up to our ears in dupes and sick of pink and red, and it’s less than two years later.

I’ve only had mine a few days, but so far I’m liking it. The cheek shades are really nice. I haven’t used all the shadows on my eyes, but yesterday I used 3 Sheets, Shade, 180, and Curve (over UDPP in Enigma), and the all worked wonderfully. I’m going to try some other shades today.

My only two gripes so far: 1) The shadows blend so easily, I have to watch I don’t overblend. 2) I hate the way the packaging is set up, and the removable mirror. I find it awkward. I may end up de-potting this palette.

The cheek shades were really lovely for me, too! They definitely helped boost the palette overall. I could see overblending happening with the first half of the eyeshadows since they are kind of that mid-tone family (and Bare/Curve being drier).

I’d love a few warm pinks in my stash, but this as a whole palette is not for me, too many C’s. This stirs my interest though, so I’ll look into the dupes. You got some beautiful looks out of this!

I really wanted to like this palette. The quality isn’t there, and even if it was, I know these eyeshadow shades wouldn’t get used very often. But there’s something in me that really wanted to like it. Money saved.

I am now thoroughly confuzzled as to whether I want this palette and would use it. Maybe if I could try it in-store (we have no local Sephora but are getting one soon) and if it was on sale. ???

Clearly, as I said on another post reply, there are reliability and validity issues rampant in current manufacturing. Mine is like Isabella’s, yeah, close to the worst palette ever. Maybe the crap palettes went to the east coast…. Ironically, the eponymous shade (backtalk) was the BEST in my palette, and yours is a D-. That proves my point. UD does not have the same quality across the board. (reliability, statistically speaking…one is not a duplicate of another.). It also is not as described (validity.). Won’t discourse at length, but I keep things if it was my fault, and it is…though not sure your review would have discouraged me. The blushes are better; the shadows actually unacceptable for a top selling brand. Thanks to you, Isabella, and Courtney for all your hard work. Big Boo Out to UD!

Even though I’m loving the cheek side of this palette, the eyeshadow end is not quite what I was hoping for. Crazy since my coloring veers warm, so I know these shades do look very nice on me, but I was really hoping to see a cooler cast to the eyeshadows. I’m disappointed with the iffy quality, too.

A lot of the shades do seem indistinguishable from each other and there definitely needs some contrast here. It’s a shame that UD didn’t get the quality right, didn’t use other finishes (other than matte or frosted/shimmer) and didn’t make it cool toned…..
The blushes are pretty.

thanks for the review christine!
very pretty look you did with the palette! i’m a bit sad the palette isn’t better quality because the look turned out really well and would have convinced me to buy if not for the lukewarm review. 🙂
do you think the blushes would work on a deeper skin tone?

My daughter swatched this yesterday at Sephora and I ended up purchasing for her. She used it this morning and only used a couple of shades but seemed to like it and had good success with it. I successfully resisted the temptation to pick one up for myself as I have a lot of these shades and always seem to end up with looks that are pretty much interchangeable. I think my daughter can pull it off as she is much warmer toned than I am. The cheek products are really beautiful.
Off topic but I swatched the Too Faced Festival Eye Shadow palette and was blown away! I didn’t buy it yesterday because I didn’t think I would ever use the shades but went back today and picked it up. I don’t have anything like several of the shades, although there are several that remind me of KVD Alchemist palette. I am going to enjoy playing with this and they all swatched lovely. I haven’t worn it yet but they feel like they will work for me. My first Too Faced purchase in so long I can’t remember when I last purchased. I have also been looking at my Natural Eye palette and Natural Matte palette and seeing the new iterations and wondering if I should pick up both as the previous iterations have been favorites for a long time. I have had them since before I moved to Montana so before 2011. They didn’t have it on the shelves yet so couldn’t swatch anything and I am leery about purchasing without seeing reviews or swatching myself. I do use the older palettes a lot and they travel nicely. Anyway, I am thinking about it.

Thank you. It looks so different on you than it does on me! Mine is super shimmery, warmer and less pink! I still like it, but I’m trying to find a shade that looks like your lips in these pictures. I thought maybe Backtalk could be it.

I just went to your original review of Rebel. Your description and close up photos are spot on to mine, but when I look at your full face pictures it looks different. In both that review and this review of the Backtalk palette you’re wearing warm, rosy, reddish pinks on your eyes, maybe that’s why it’s coming up rosier, and with the distance of the full face picture, the shimmers don’t show up as much. Mystery solved?

I have been ride or die UD since day 1. I own almost every palette. But I am just so disappointed. A lot of the colors seem very very similar without a lot of range for a palette. And like Christine said, the shimmery shades didn’t swatch out like “normal” UD shadows do. SUCKS SO BAD!

“I also compared the press sample I received to one I purchased from Sephora (online) the day it launched but didn’t find any significant differences.”
This right there is why you I consider you to be a peerless beauty reviewer.

Having seen how gorgeous you look with the whole backtalk colourway, I am seriously having second thoughts about buying this palette. I have similar colouring, tho my hair is not so dark. The blushes and highlighters are really beautiful too.

The vibrant eye look is well suited to the blushes reviewed here and the lipsticks worn. I found in other reviews the bright pink/maroon eyelook jarring.

These are not shades that would look good on me, so it’s a pass for me.

I swatched this in Sephora and found the pigmentation just pitiful! Easy skip for me, but I’m hoping to see more warm rosy palettes. I like the warm trend, but I’m getting pretty sick of all the orange browns. Soft Glam seems like it’s leaning slightly in the direction I’m looking for!

Well, I’m going to pass on this one. I’m a huge Urban Decay fan, especially of their eyeshadows, and I was expecting better quality on this palette. What a pity, because I’ve been dreaming of a pink palette for a long time and this could have been my Holy Grail.
Thanks for your super detailed reviews! In Europe it’s hard to return makeup products, and your reviews save us Euro gals a lot of money (other times they make us spend more, so everything is balanced in the end).

Thanks for talking me out of this! I love the look you did but with so many low scores I can’t spend my $$$ on it rn. Sorry I’ve been away so much. I’ve been trying not get tempted by anything until I know where my bills are shaking out with the move!

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!