Temptalia Logo
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
  • Bite BeautyEarly access -- 20% off exclusive sets & sale with code TEMPTALIA20BB, ends 12/14.
  • Coloured Raine25% off Vivid Pigments Palette, plus extra 10% off with code TEMPTALIA, ends 12/20.
  • Pat McGrath LabsEarly access -- 25% off sitewide with code VIP25, ends 12/13.

Urban Decay Afterdark Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/16

Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Afterdark 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette

Afterdark

Urban Decay Afterdark Eyeshadow Palette ($49.00 for 0.60 oz.) contains ten shimmery eyeshadows from white gold to deep navy. There are three “cult favorites” and seven “new” shades, and if you have a few palettes and singles from the brand, “new” might very well be “old.” I definitely noticed a few shades shared more than a few similarities to past releases! This palette is limited and edition and exclusive to Sephora with an online release date of December 20th and an in-store release date of January 27th.

The quality of the palette is good, and it is one of the better pre-made palettes from the brand in the last year. This is likely due to that their shimmers are often where they shine, and these are all very shimmery. All ten shades had good pigmentation, longer-wear (seven to eight hours), were easy to blend and apply to bare skin, and worked well with each other. You may find yourself reaching for other palettes or singles in order to get more variety in finishes and for highlighting/transitioning shades. The other downside is that the shift in some shades is quite subtle and definitely not noticeable on the lid. I’d also like to reiterate that Backfire looks completely different in this palette than the single I have from its initial release.

01/03

Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Alter Eyeshadow

Alter

Alter is a bright, light gold with a strong, white base and a metallic finish. The color payoff was fantastic, while the eyeshadow had a denser, cream-like texture that applied well to bare skin and was easy to diffuse the edges without the color losing its intensity or opacity on the lid. It wore well for eight hours on me before creasing.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/03

Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Scene Eyeshadow

Scene

Scene is a light-medium pink-coral with a warm undertone and warmer, golden copper shimmer. It had opaque color coverage that was true-to-pan, but the consistency was looser and seemed to have larger shimmer particles, so it was messier to use and didn’t apply as evenly as other shades in the palette did. This shade started to crease after seven and a half hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Supersonic Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Supersonic Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Supersonic Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Supersonic Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Supersonic Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Supersonic Eyeshadow

Supersonic

Supersonic is a medium-dark coppery red with warm, orange undertones and a metallic finish. It had intense pigmentation with a cream-like, denser texture that worked best with a firm, flat synthetic brush. The color applied beautifully to the lid with even coverage and lasted for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Sinful Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sinful Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sinful Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sinful Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sinful Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Sinful Eyeshadow

Sinful

Sinful is a bright, medium-dark gold with strong, warm yellow undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The color payoff was fully opaque, and it had a soft, dense texture that was smooth on the skin but had some sparkle to it, so there was a bit of fallout during application as a result. Otherwise, the eyeshadow applied smoothly and evenly to bare skin and didn’t crease until after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Off Duty Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Off Duty Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Off Duty Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Off Duty Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Off Duty Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Off Duty Eyeshadow

Off Duty

Off Duty is a medium-dark brown with warm, red undertones and a pearly sheen. This was one of the least shimmery shades in the palette, but it was still far from being matte. It had rich, opaque pigmentation with a smooth, cream-like texture that was denser but not too thick or dense in the pan, so I didn’t have any issues getting color onto my brush. This shade started to crease on me after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/03

Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Druggie Eyeshadow

Druggie

Druggie is a brighter, light-medium violet purple with subtle, cool undertones and a frost finish. It had good color payoff with a fairly smooth consistency, but it was a little denser and firmer in the pan, so it took more pressure to get the product to transfer onto a brush. This shade wore well for seven and a half hours before creasing on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/03

Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire (Afterdark) Eyeshadow

Backfire (Afterdark)

Backfire (Afterdark) is a muted, medium-dark plummy purple with warm undertones and a frosted finish. The eyeshadow was nicely pigmented and had a soft, looser texture in the pan, so it did have some fallout during application but blended out easily. This shade started to fade noticeably on me after seven hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/03

Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow

Lounge

Lounge is a rich, reddish-brown base with green-to-blue shimmer. It had good color payoff, while the texture was smooth, slightly dense but not stiff to work with. It did not feel as creamy or as thick compared to some of the other metallic shades in the palette. This shade is available on its own, and I think the color is comparable to the single, but it seemed to be a touch lighter/more shimmery. It lasted for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Fringe Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fringe Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fringe Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fringe Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fringe Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fringe Eyeshadow

Fringe

Fringe is a medium-dark blue-teal with subtle, cool undertones and a metallic sheen. (It is almost like “warm” teal.) It was intensely pigmented with a cream-like, somewhat dense texture that applied really well to bare skin. The blending could have been a touch easier, as this shade seemed more prone to staining and adhering strongly to the skin, so it took some extra effort to diffuse the color. I found the best way was to use a fluffy brush, pick up a bit more product, and then use that to diffuse rather than pulling and diffusing the initial laydown of color. It lasted for eight and a half hours, and without primer, it stained just slightly (but was gone by morning).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Paralyzed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Paralyzed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Paralyzed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Paralyzed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Paralyzed Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Paralyzed Eyeshadow

Paralyzed

Paralyzed is a deep navy blue with strong, cool undertones and a pearly sheen. It was so cool-toned that it almost looked purplish at times. It had a firmer, denser texture that was best applied using a flat, synthetic brush for true-to-pan, opaque coverage. I was able to pick up product with a fluffy, natural brush for using it in the crease, but it definitely required some building to get the shimmer to really become apparent (I got more of the blackened navy base). It lasted well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Urban Decay 10-Pan Eyeshadow Palette $49.00/0.60 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

90 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Comments on this post are closed.

Because I use shimmery shades very sparingly, this is not the palette for me (though I may look into Supersonic or Sinful as singles). It’s great though that UD improved the quality on this one; a relief, as I do generally like the brand including several single eyeshadows I’ve bought over the last months.

Unfortunately, neither Supersonic or Sinful are available as singles! 🙁 Backfire and Lounge are the ones that are available individually!

They do suck a good gob with their shimmer/pearl shades I kind of wish they included more of the LE shades in the permanent range. Junkie from the first Spectrum palette I would LOVE as a single!

This is going on my wishlist as well.

Heads up, though– Backfire in the palette is different from the version sold as a single. I don’t know if it’s a formula difference, but the single is more vibrant and slightly creamier.

I have to say I love the palette even if I have to use additional singles to create a look. I stopped at my Sephora on Friday and they had just got the palettes in. They got 6. I got one. I won’t say where my store is. I’d hate to get the girls in trouble.

My palette swatches pretty much the same as yours Christine. My Backfire looks a little more purple, but that could be due to lighting. I did get a UD palette with some of my points that also has Backfire in it. That one looks spot on to your swatch today. I haven’t used mine yet, but I am anxious to. 🙂

I really like the look of this palette, and the fact that it looks like it’ll be great for darker skintones too – no shades look like they’d turn ashy, really.
Hoping to get it unless it sells out stupidly fast or something, I can never tell what’s going to.

First of all, thank you so much for getting this review up well before this palette releases, Christine!
Now for my thoughts afterwards. I have a very strong feeling that I’m well covered with dupes. Except for Druggie! But there is Hoodoo and Omen in my stash, I could perhaps mix those together? But for the rest, I’ve got for:
Alter-UD Snow, Scene- UD X and Maybelline Pink Wink, Supersonic- UD Sonic and Gash, Fringe- KVD Watt and UD Deep End, Paralyzed- UD Evidence, plus CP School Bus looks very similar. I’d even venture to say that KVD Volt looks quite enough like Backfire and KVD Flash for Sinful. I probably don’t need this palette at all if my hunches are correct!

I was impressed by how many dupes there were within UD’s shade catalog!

Druggie’s cooler bent makes it a bit different than the usual, but I think Omen is a good substitute!

Loving Alter! But, I definitely have all of these shades in my collection. I’ll probably pick this one up later on if it ever shows up at Nordstrom Rack (As UD’s palettes have been as of late…).

Hmmm, interesting. I have fewer dupes than expected! I have 3 close dupes from UD Spectrum, but nothing close for the other 7, and given the good quality, still a good deal, so this is a maybe for me.

I understand, Aneiren! While I can’t remember numbers at all, sometimes I think numbers might be better at ensuring there aren’t problematic or offensive names.

The brand is called “Urban Decay”; the shade names are reflective of that… We won’t be seeing names like “Fairy Wings” or “Unicorn Fluff” anytime soon.

Although I prefer mattes, I do love UD and I will have to get this as soon as it’s available. Thanks for the lovely swatches and informed review!

I love all the bright and shiny shades, even if only two of them (Druggie and Paralyzed — yucky names!) are shades I’m dying to get, I would love to have the palette anyway, to experiment with the shades I wear less often — I have a feeling this will work well with other palettes from UD that I have, plus basic base and contour/blending shades.

There aren’t any real dupes with Full Spectrum, but enough “close enoughs,” and what isn’t “close enough” can actually be blended (the mixing potential is one of the big reasons I got the Full Spectrum palette).

Supersonic is practically Warning
Fringe is almost Blindsided
Goldmine + Bump IS Alter
Jones + Goldmine is close to Sinful
Sketch + Gossip is very close to Druggie (both applied over a thin layer of Bump IS Druggie)
Alchemy + Paranoia is close enough to Backfire
(some of these get closer by adding a touch of a third shade from UD FS)

The only one you really can’t get close on is Lounge, but I bet a lot of us alread have a dupe of that (I have CP Partridge).

This is a lovely palette. I will have to look closer at the dupes, but I think I’ll get this if I can.
Lovely eyelooks. as always.

Looks like it’s good quality but these colors and the duochrome don’t appeal to me at all. Just my personal opinion, of course, but for me it’s hard to figure out what trend these speak to, so I don’t feel inspired by this palette. I think this tends to be Urban Decay’s biggest problem in the non-neutrals arena — they are not as in tune as they think they are with alternative fashion trends (the demographic they purport to market to). I think their Moondust palette hit the mark better with the ’70s disco trend 🙂

I think it’s an answer for jewel-tones/duochromes in general, but the duochromes are still weaker that I don’t think it’s a real answer for that request.

This is a very shimmery palette, a finish that UD does so well. But if you own the Spectrum palette, there is actually a wider range of shimmers. The only difference is that this palette contains golds and Lounge.
However it is beautiful and your eye looks are lovely Christine.

Considering my love for duochromes and metallics, I feel like this palette is made for me. I’ll absolutely be picking it up. Thank you so much for the review, Christine! It sounds like I’m going to love this one.

I need that Sinful shade in my life! I already have the first Urban Decay Spectrum palette and the blue and purple shades here are very similar so I am still contemplating if I should buy this as well. Such a gorgeous palette!

I was hesitant at first, but after seeing your colorful eye look and review, I want it!! Which shadows did you use for the colorful look? It’s so pretty!!

I think I have the dupes for the blues from MUFE and I may have another dupe for another shade, I’m pleased with the quality overall but it’s not worth a purchase in my case.

Looks like this is the new Electric palette–they even kept Fringe.
I’m getting a little tired of that same incarnation of purple UD has in every palette (just because it’s Wende’s favorite color doesn’t mean we need it in every palette, imo) and I wish UD packaging was less bulky. But I’m really happy to see the quality has improved over some palette releases in recent years which seemed way more dry than they should be, and just overall inconsistent in quality.
I have to say Scene looks like how the UD shade X used to look (X seems to have gotten sheer/dilute in pigmentation over the years) which I’m really pumped about.
While I’m definitely not offended by the name “Druggie” I think it is a little too on-the-nose. They’ve had shades like Junkie and Clinic in the past which were equally “eh” for me. I like the ones that are a little more subtle (Kush, Yeyo, Blunt, Vapor, Bordello, etc., come to mind) but on the other hand their shade names have never been subtle lol.
I’ll buy this. As always thanks for this post Christine

Thank you so much for your indepth review! I am a longtime fan of Urban decay and this palette actually excites me! (the first in over a year) – It appears more metallic/shimmer than glitter and that is better for me. I skipped moondust entirely. I am also happy to see the good rating…I see fringe is a repeat from the electric one, but that’s ok by me because I was a fan of that color. I happen to own backfire which, again, is ok because it’s beautiful. I think this is a well thought out palette..I love those warm tones vs cooler ones…it appeals to a broad audience while being able to mix and match. I definitely want this one. On my list!

Love your reviews and your website. I just discovered your website recently and I especially love your Dupe List. There are some websites out there with dupe list, but I find yours to contain most eyeshadow colors and user-friendly.

As for this UD Afterdark palette (as beautiful as it is), the only color interested me is Scene, but from your swatched I find the color very similar to Makeup Geek pigments Hologram or Wildfire. If you have Makeup Geek Hologram/Wildfire, which color is more similar to Scene?

If I have the full spectrum and moon dust, should I get this?? I loooove it, but curious about whether you think I would need it?
Looooove your reviews. Please keep them up!

normally i am all for urban decay being edgy and having unique names but druggie really? thats just tacky also a bad influence on their teen and young adult consumers and sad since there is already such a big drug problem/epidemic this is an easy skip just too tacky for my taste.

Honestly, when I first saw this palette I wanted it immediately b/c the colors are right up my alley, and it’s even better that you gave it a good review b/c I believe you are one of the more trustworthy with your reviews! I’m definitely buying it next month b/c I don’t have any Urban Decay eyeshadows except for the Electric Palette (which is sadly almost going out, and Afterdark is also Limited Edition!)

Do you have a page where you explain how to recreate the looks you made with this palette? I am LOVING them but I always seem to miss something when trying to recreate from an imagine alone.

Thank you for this review! I have been trying to decide on a jewel toned palette and keep almost buying Serpentina. This had a much higher rating, maybe I will invest my money here instead.

I opened this review hoping you gave it a bad review because I’m not suppose to be buying more makeup lol. I don’t own any palettes with color. I think it’s time to step out of my comfort zone with this palette. The colors are beautiful.

I wonder if I could use fix plus spray with all of the shades to get a sheen or, if it will harden the surface of the shadow pans? Thinking I won’t have to use another shadow as a base that way and simultaneously get a foil effect?

Agreed! lol my wet brush makes surfaces hard… I’m too nervous to scrape any shadow off separately and mix it so I dab with the wet brush. Thanks Christine, hoping fix plus works with all these formulas!

Is it just me or is half of this a repeat of their old Deluxe shadow line? I feel like that’s what I’m seeing here with the blues and purples, and that Roach-y looking dupe. Maybe I’m just older than their target demographic, who are too young to have known about the early UD years…. I still have almost the entire line of Face Cases…
That yellow is kinda cool though, and I don’t even like yellow. Has UD ever done a yellow?

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!