Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box (Palette) Review, Photos, Swatches

01/12

Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay - Nocturnal - Palette
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box
Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box

Nocturnal

Urban Decay Nocturnal Shadow Box ($29.00 for 0.12 oz.) includes twelve eyeshadows in a slim, cardboard palette with a dual-ended eye brush. The shades include “eight must-haves” from the permanent line along with “four exclusives from past sets.” I liked the palette overall; it was more consistent with the brand’s permanent range with respect to quality, though shades like Fireball (not as pigmented as the permanent version), Midnight Cowboy Rides Again (glitter fallout), and Heroine (sheer) could be better. The eyeshadows were, overall, pigmented, long-wearing (seven to eight hours), and blendable. It wasn’t hard to use them together, and I didn’t feel like it was a struggle to apply and blend them out.

If you’ve picked up any Urban Decay palettes in the last couple of years, this palette might be totally redundant. I think that this palette is most suitable for someone looking to try the brand’s formula or likes this specific color combination and would like it for traveling. It’s a smaller palette, though it is thicker than you’d expect as each eyeshadow only contains 0.01 oz. (a full-sized Urban Decay eyeshadow contains 0.05 oz.). It’s still a value-packed palette compared to purchasing individual shades, but it is not quite the deal that some of the larger palettes (like Afterdark, Naked, etc.) are. The palette is exclusive to Ulta and should launch today (if it hasn’t yet!) online, and it will be available in stores on January 22nd.

01/02

Urban Decay ABC Gum Eyeshadow
Urban Decay ABC Gum Eyeshadow
Urban Decay ABC Gum Eyeshadow
Urban Decay ABC Gum Eyeshadow
Urban Decay ABC Gum Eyeshadow
Urban Decay ABC Gum Eyeshadow

ABC Gum

ABC Gum is a light-medium peachy orange with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had good color payoff with a smooth, sliky texture that was a touch dusty in the pan but applied well and did not look dry or dusty on the lid. This shade lasted for seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. May contain: Ci 77491/77492/77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 75470 (Carmine).

01/02

Urban Decay Midnight Cowboy Rides Again Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Midnight Cowboy Rides Again Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Midnight Cowboy Rides Again Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Midnight Cowboy Rides Again Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Midnight Cowboy Rides Again Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Midnight Cowboy Rides Again Eyeshadow

Midnight Cowboy Rides Again

Midnight Cowboy Rides Again is a rosy champagne with warmer undertones and silver micro-glitter over a more metallic finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage with a looser consistency in the pan, so there was some fallout (both powder and glitter) during application and later on during wear (just glitter). The underlying color wore for nearly eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Polyurethane-11, Tin Oxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. May contain: Ci 77019 (Mica), Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77491/77492/77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77742 (Manganese Violet), Ci 75470 (Carmine).

01/02

Urban Decay Baby Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Baby Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Baby Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Baby Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Baby Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Baby Eyeshadow

Baby

Baby is a soft, medium brown with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. It had good pigmentation with a soft, blendable texture that was a touch dusty but was still easy to apply and did not look dry on the skin. It wore well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow

Half Baked

Half Baked is a light-medium golden copper with warm undertones and a metallic finish. The color payoff was fantastic, while the texture felt soft, lightly powdery (almost like it wasn’t pressed firmly enough in the pan) but blended out well and applied evenly to bare skin. This shade started to fade after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid. May contain: CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491/77499 (Iron Oxides).

01/02

Urban Decay Riff Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Riff Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Riff Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Riff Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Riff Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Riff Eyeshadow

Riff

Riff is a medium orange-brown with flecks of gold pearl over a matte finish. It had good color coverage with a soft, silky consistency that wasn’t too soft or too firm in the pan, so it applied evenly and smoothly to the skin while remaining blendable. The color started to fade after eight hours on me. The permanent version of this shade is better, though.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Alumina, Polyurethane-33, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Stearic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. [+/- (All shades may contain /Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green].

01/02

Urban Decay Delete Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Delete Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Delete Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Delete Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Delete Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Delete Eyeshadow

Delete

Delete is a deep, subtly red-tinted brown with neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It had intense color payoff paired with a soft, smooth texture that was finely-milled and easy to blend out on the skin. I noticed fading after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow

Fireball

Fireball is a light-medium peach with warm, orange undertones and a peach-to-pink, frosted shift. It had semi-opaque color coverage with a soft, lightly dusty texture. The eyeshadow applied well enough to the lid, but it did not go on as evenly as the permanent version has for me. This shade started to fade after seven hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Backfire Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Backfire Eyeshadow

Backfire

Backfire is a muted, medium-dark purple with more neutral undertones and a frosted sheen. The pigmentation was good–nearly opaque–and went on evenly without issue. The texture seemed a touch drier in the pan, but I did not notice this when I applied it to the lid. The color wore well for eight hours before fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/05

Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow

Lounge

Lounge is a deep, reddish brown with greenish teal pearl. It had a really smooth, cream-like texture–one of the richest and smoothest versions of Lounge I’ve tried–with intense, opaque pigmentation. The color lasted for eight hours before creasing on me.

P.S. — Please excuse that the first three images are from the Afterdark palette; we have everything set-up to pull images within a certain timeframe of when I upload them (I, unfortunately, can be very slow to review sometimes, so it isn’t a matter of days but weeks for that timeframe), and this is an unusual situation where a brand has released the same color in two products within a few weeks of each other. I did not want to hold back this entire review for that one glitch (since it launches today), and it’s something we’ll try to resolve next week.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Armor Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Armor Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Armor Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Armor Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Armor Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Armor Eyeshadow

Armor

Armor is a muted, medium-dark grayish taupe with subtle, brown undertones and a pearly sheen. The eyeshadow had good color payoff with a soft, lightly dusty consistency that kicked up a bit of excess product in the pan but was easy enough to blend out on the lid without losing its intensity. I noticed signs of fading after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Heroine Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Heroine Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Heroine Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Heroine Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Heroine Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Heroine Eyeshadow

Heroine

Heroine is a subdued, dark navy blue with fine lighter blue pearl. It had semi-sheer color payoff, which was buildable to semi-opaque coverage in two to three layers. The color would work best for someone who uses a primer or who would use it in the crease. The eyeshadow could have applied more evenly and blended out more easily. It lasted for seven hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

01/02

Urban Decay Blackout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blackout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blackout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blackout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blackout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blackout Eyeshadow

Blackout

Blackout is a deep black with neutral-to-cool undertones and a mostly matte finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, which was buildable to opaque coverage with just a touch more. It’s the type of pigmentation level that is only noticeably “under-pigmented” if patted onto the lid for an all-over lid color, but when I worked with it to darken and smoke out the crease, I didn’t really notice it lacking coverage. This shade wore well for eight hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Polyethylene, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Talc, Water [+/- (May Contain): CI 77499 / Iron Oxides].

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Urban Decay Shadow Box $29.00/0.12 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

30 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Comments on this post are closed.

Since this is exclusive to Ulta, I have no choice but to “leave” it! 😉 I take comfort in the fact that most of the shades I like in this palette are ones I already have and the LAST thing I want is yet another glitter-flurry of MCRA!!!

Oh, I know – it really is such a beautiful shade but (at least for me) totally unwearable because of the fallout throughout the wear period. I was so excited when the “new, improved” formula of Maui Wowie came out (it has to be at least 5 years now), so much so that I bought it. Well, it’s only marginally better than the original and still pretty much unwearable so now I have TWO pans of the stuff! GRRRR. Honestly, Halloween is about the only time I use it!

It looks like a pretty nice palette, although not one that I really need. This version of Lounge does look especially rich, this version of Backfire looks pretty good, and I think Armor is a beautiful color. Heroine looks like it would need a blue cream shadow underneath it in order to show up well, though. I like Delete a lot, but ABC Gum and Riff are warmer than I like on myself.

Well, I wasn’t going to get this originally, but $29 and much improved over the last Shadowbox, decent shade range, suitable for travel or vacay, and I am far more tempted to get it. Undecided on it, though.

Definitely better quality this time around – a solid palette to try the brand’s formula, but if you already have several UD palettes, not a must-have.

It’s a nice palette, but there are so many retreads. It’s probably best for UD newcomers who want to sample the colors. Several of these shades were just in the Afterdark. I have almost all of them, so I’ll be skipping.

I agree. I think it might be geared towards those new to the brand and/or aren’t able to regularly indulge in UD products.

This looks pretty dang similar to the original Shadow Box palette that was being clearanced out last year (you reviewed it on Sept 8, 2014).

There are some similar shades, some differences. The quality of this year’s is a lot better — and it’s cheaper, too.

I’m gad this is an Ulta Exclusive because my wallet is still recovering from the holiday spending! I’ll say that this is a pretty decent palette – not too many crazy colours and not too many repeats either (but then again my experience with UD shadows are highly limited to the Feminine palette from eons ago!)

This is a bit of redundant palette to me as most of the shades I like, I either have (Half baked) or lots of dupes of (Midnight Cowboy Rides Again, Armor, Heroine, Baby).
Seeing that it is exclusive to Ulta, makes it difficult for anyone living outside of the US to obtain this palette.
It’s sad that the only blue shade is such a poor one. Somehow, this palette reminds me of the Lorac Pro Metals palette – but that is much more cohesive and better.

Too many dupes for what I own already, but this palette reminds me of the feelings I had when I was just beginning to buy eyeshadow. This feels like a great starter palette for the UD fan (and I kinda wish it was around when I first got into makeup… I bought the deluxe shadow box and ammo palette once upon a time and it didn’t have this range). You got your nudes, some brights, and a double-ended brush! And $30… not bad. Willing to excuse the quality on 1 or 2 colors for so many other perks. Fun!

This is not for me as I already have several of these as singles; as it happens, I wore ABC Gum, Fireball and Riff just today. Glad to see some of the better performing UD in this set, as it could be a nice introduction to the brand for some (pity though that some are not up to the quality of the permanent ones, but still not too too bad)

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!