Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/14

Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence | Look Details
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence | Look Details
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Palette | Look Details
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Palette | Look Details
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette

Decadence

Pat McGrath Decadence Mothership Eyeshadow Palette ($125.00 for 0.70 oz.) is a new, limited edition palette for spring that features 10 eyeshadows–nine are metallic and one is more of a satin-to-pearl. It is one of the best palettes I’ve had the pleasure of wearing, and it’s definitely the best/most consistent palette from Pat McGrath so far. Every single shade was pigmented, blendable, easy to work with, and long-wearing. They had an intensely shiny finish that looked like molten metal on the lid–and they didn’t need primer nor did they need to be applied using a dampened brush to achieve that effect.

That being said, there are no mattes, which I know can be something that some require in their palette. The shades are also richer in color and depth, so I think that the palette is ideal for someone who doesn’t mind pulling in a few shades from their stash to complement this palette.

This particular palette actually contained significantly more product (0.70 oz.) than her previous Mothership palettes (which were 0.47 oz.). There is slight fragrance (sweet vanilla) to a few of the shades, which I had originally attributed to Too Faced (I had one of their palettes right next to it) — you can check the ingredient list tabs below!

Decadence
9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
98%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow

Gold Standard

Gold Standard is a medium gold with warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The eyeshadow had fantastic color payoff that applied evenly to bare skin and did not need to be used with a dampened brush to get a really bright, intense, and shiny finish. It looked wet on the lid, despite having been applied dry. The texture was easy to work with as it was blendable and sat nicely on the lid. The color wore well for nine and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Silica, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Saccharin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vanillin, Tin Oxide, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Gold, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492).

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Inferno EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Inferno EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Inferno EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Inferno EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Inferno EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Inferno EYEdols Eyeshadow

Inferno

Inferno is a medium, rosy taupe with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. It had rich color coverage in a single layer that applied evenly and smoothly over bare skin. The texture was soft, blendable, and almost cream-like as it was a bit denser than typical powder eyeshadows but not stiff or too thick when I worked with it. It still looked nearly immaculate after 10 hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Boron Nitride, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Myristate, Silica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Stearic Acid, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Copper Powder (Ci 77400), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Carmine (Ci 75470).

Inferno
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Blue Blood EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Blue Blood EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Blue Blood EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Blue Blood EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Blue Blood EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Blue Blood EYEdols Eyeshadow

Blue Blood

Blue Blood is a deep plum with subtle, warm undertones and a metallic sheen. It had opaque pigmentation in a single layer–a little went a long way–with a smooth, almost cream-like texture that blended out easily on the lid and adhered evenly with little effort. It wore well for nine and a half hours on me before fading slightly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, Talc, Stearyl Dimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Octadecene, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, PTFE, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Poloxamer 338, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Blue Blood
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow

Sinful

Sinful is a light and bright, dirty gold with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The pigmentation was opaque in one layer, which applied evenly on my skin and blended out nicely along the edges and required little work to place. The consistency was smooth, dense and creamy without being thick or heavy on the lid. Sometimes, metallic finishes can emphasize lid texture, but the formula in the palette just melted and looked luxe. On me, it lasted for 10 hours with just a touch of fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Silica, Stearyl Dimethicone, Talc, Glyceryl Behenate, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Octadecene, Hexylene Glycol, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Poloxamer 338, Tin Oxide, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Bronze Powder (Ci 77400), Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491).

Sinful
9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9.5
Longevity
5
Application
98%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Underworld EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Underworld EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Underworld EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Underworld EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Underworld EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Underworld EYEdols Eyeshadow

Underworld

Underworld is a blackened navy blue with cool undertones and a pearly sheen. The texture was smooth to the touch, finely-milled, and almost velvety as it wasn’t as cream-like as the other shades (likely due to the less metallic finish), but it was still easy to blend and diffuse along the edges. It had opaque pigmentation that applied well to bare skin and stayed on well for nine and a half hours.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Stearyl Dimethicone, PTFE Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Octadecene, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Poloxamer 338, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510).

Underworld
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow

Sterling

Sterling is a bright, light-medium silver with neutral-to-cool undertones and a sparkling sheen. It had nearly opaque pigmentation in a single layer, and I found that on the lid, when I used it with a flat, synthetic brush, it seemed to be opaque in one layer. The texture was soft, smooth, and blendable with a slightly thicker, creamier feel overall compared to other shades in the palette. It wore well for almost 10 hours on me before fading slightly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Sodium Saccharin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vanillin, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Gold, Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000).

Sterling
9.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
97%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Lapis Luxury EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Lapis Luxury EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Lapis Luxury EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Lapis Luxury EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Lapis Luxury EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Lapis Luxury EYEdols Eyeshadow

Lapis Luxury

Lapis Luxury is a deep blue with subtle, cool undertones and a metallic finish. The eyeshadow was incredibly pigmented in a single layer–I don’t even think a full layer would be necessary for opaque coverage!–that applied evenly to bare skin and looked wet and shiny without having to apply it with a dampened brush (that was the most impressive part). I had no trouble applying or blending out the eyeshadow on my lid, and the color stayed on well for 10 hours before fading slightly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Stearyl Dimethicone, Glyceryl Behenate, Zinc Stearate, Honey Extract, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Octadecene, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Water, Talc, Silica, Tin Oxide, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Iron Oxides (Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510).

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Divine Mink EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Divine Mink EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Divine Mink EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Divine Mink EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Divine Mink EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Divine Mink EYEdols Eyeshadow

Divine Mink

Divine Mink is a deep, smoldering gray with cooler undertones and a subtle, warm overtone paired with a shiny, metallic finish. It was richly pigmented and had an incredibly smooth, cream-like texture that helped the product adhere evenly without losing its intensity on the lid, and it retained its shiny finish without having to apply it with a dampened brush. I found that there was a subtle warmth to it at times, particularly when applied next to warmer shades rather than a particular angle, but it looked predominantly gray and cooler applied to the skin than it did in the pan. It wore well for almost 10 hours on me.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Stearyl Dimethicone, Glyceryl Behenate, Zinc Stearate, Honey Extract, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Octadecene, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Water, Talc, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Copper Powder (Ci 77400), Iron Oxides (Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Carmine (Ci 75470).

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Hedonistic EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Hedonistic EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Hedonistic EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Hedonistic EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Hedonistic EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Hedonistic EYEdols Eyeshadow

Hedonistic

Hedonistic is a medium-dark, plummy red with warm, copper undertones and a metallic sheen. It was intensely pigmented with a soft, blendable consistency that was just a smidgen loose in the pan, so there was a touch of excess product kicked up in the pan if I wasn’t careful to use a lighter touch. It applied beautifully and lasted for 10 hours on me.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Silica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491).

9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
97%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Enigma EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Enigma EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Enigma EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Enigma EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Enigma EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Enigma EYEdols Eyeshadow

Enigma

Enigma is a soft, medium brown with warm, golden undertones and a metallic sheen. It appeared more pearly swatched, but after a couple of minutes on my lid, it looked shiny and “melted” (but not creased or anything like that!). It had rich color payoff in a single layer that applied evenly onto bare skin and stayed on well for 10 hours.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Talc, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Stearyl Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Powder, Punica Granatum Extract, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Tocopherol, Lactic Acid, Lauroyl Lysine, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Tribehenin, Ceramide NG, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-12, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Dimyristate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, PEG-10 Phytosterol, Poloxamer 338, Octadecene, Silica, Tin Oxide, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510).

Enigma
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Pat McGrath Mothership Eyeshadow Palette $125.00/0.47 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

63 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Comments on this post are closed.

I really like the colour scheme and the looks you did with it.
I’ve appreciated the interesting colour choices for the Mothership palettes in general, just wish they were more in my price range.

I adore this palette!!! I have only used Inferno so far. It applied so smoothly and was extremely pigmented. It felt creamy and buttery when I was putting it on my lid with my finger. I was extremely surprised that it was so soft because in the other palettes the really intense metallic shades are that dry pressed pigment formula of hers and they are stunning but they have to be wet to really unleash their full potential these do not๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ

Gosh, this is stunning. And so many A+s, I’m surprised the whole palette didn’t get an A+! Sadly the price is *prohibitive* for me. Maybe I’d spend more money than the typical $45-50 palette if the quality was there, but $125? I just can’t.

OMG! this has me ecstatic. I took a chance and purchased it yesterday because it had my favourite colour combination of all her palettes. This grade is amazing and I am beyond excited to use it.

I think this is shaping up to be the palette of the year! So, so stunning!
Although it is expensive, it is worth the money because every single shade is highly rated and beautiful.
It’s good to see a brand bring out a product as breathtaking as this.
Beautiful eye looks Christine.

Iโ€™m so happy I purchased this one! Iโ€™ve been loving it ever since Iโ€™ve received it! Love the looks you created Christine! ๐Ÿงœโ€โ™€๏ธ

Oh Christine…don’t do this to me…..an A rating, recommended to boot…
I never stood a chance! The minute this came out I was a goner!

Thank you for such a gorgeous review ๐Ÿ™‚

I was really, really hesitant to label it as recommended because of the price ๐Ÿ™ It is just too good, though, that it really was a rare find that I’d say is “worth” the splurge if one has the budget and would use the shades.

Wow the swatches look incredible. Lapis luxury was my favorite. They are definitely beautiful and I imagine people who really experiment with their makeup will find this a true gem and wonโ€™t mind spending that kind of money on it. Even just reading your review was quite the pleasure.

Oh man…A+

Let me prepare my wallet for the onslaught. Maybe it will still be here in April for the sale?! One can hope one can hope.

I’ve been dying to buy this since I first saw it, but I was making myself wait for your review first. That settles it! These jewel colors are seriously calling my name. Thanks for reviewing this so quickly, I always trust your opinions!

If this palette is still available when Sephora does their Spring sale, I’m going for it! This Mothership is SPECTACULAR. It blows every other one away with it’s noticeably molton liquid metal sheen!

That was my first thought! It’s absolutely STUNNING. Colorful, yet I think the shades are deep enough to pull off, and flawless performance!

I’m waiting for mine to get here. I wasn’t going to buy it, but did on the early access first day. I tried to sit on my hands and to distract myself, but it didn’t work.
I’m so happy it got such good grades as it cost me $150 with shipping, and I will have to pay taxes for it.
I so look forward to it getting here.

Lapis is just WOW..
This would definitely be a lid only palette for me, but thatโ€™s not necessarily a deal breaker.. Iโ€™ve been debating a PMcG palette purchase for awhile. They are all very unique… and very expensive.

I find this to be my fave of her palettes – perhaps partially because it lends itself more as a companion palette than a standalone one.

I have a dupe for every shade but 1, but I still want this palette. I really like Pat’s palette. Making smokey eyes with her palette is super easy. I just want this palette. I’m going to have to see if Sephora will ship me one to the store b/c the stores closest to me don’t carry PML. I’d buy it online, but the Sephora store credit cards can’t be used on their website, which is trash.

I want these SO BAD! I love almost all the PMG palates. They can really pinpoint a concept with such dexterity. Alas, they’re not remotely in my Colourpop level budget. (Wish they’d knock out a palate with these colors.)

$125 is prohibitively expensive for a pre-made palette unless one’s an MUA and could make good use of the colors. Spending $100+ on an eye palette is a justifiable luxury if you can customize the colors to your liking. I dunno, but I just don’t like how limiting this is. That’s the main drawback for me. It doesn’t matter how effortless and pigmented a shadow is if it’s a color I don’t love.

Thank you for your thoughtful review, Christine! I really appreciate the time you take with items like this that cost so much. I wish the color scheme in this one spoke to me more since it seems she has improved the formula from the first three. I had been considering buying the first one since I like cool toned colors, but now I almost wonder if I should wait and see if she produces any more palettes that speak to me more than that one does.

I love the colour selection and the finish of the eyeshadows ๐Ÿ’“. Plus the looks you created are so lovely ๐Ÿ˜…

I can only get this through PM’s website… If I add the shipping and the possible customs… Few. That really gets too pricy for me haha. Here’s hope that this palette will set a trend (finish wise) and if I ever come across this palette during a travel… Well I know I would pick it up! Haha

SO pleased you liked this so much. I took the risk and ordered it and was praying it was amazing. Iโ€™m so excited to get my hands on it now!

I love this – there are 3 or 4 colours that really grab me (no surprise – I’ve got 4 or 5 dupes for Sinful, and that’s just for starters! But these are $170 here in Canada (even with our dollar having rallied somewhat) and it’s not available in store anywhere near me (not within a 150 km radius! – insert sad face here!) so those 2 factors combine to make this a “no” for me….I’ll struggle by with my dupes (insert another sad face)

God, I want this palette. Is it practical? No. Do I even wear metallic eyeshadow? NO. But I want it. Christine, between you and TaraBaby on YT, I don’t think I’ll be able to resist lol. The look you did is FABULOUS ๐Ÿ™‚

This is a really amazing palette, both in quality and colors. I’m in love with both the eye looks you created Christine!
I’m inspired to pull out similar shades and try out some looks without pulling in at least one other color. If I were to get this palette, it’d be fine if there weren’t any mattes, I do looks sometimes without using any mattes since in my opinion, they really aren’t always needed to complete a look.

I’m so glad you loved this, too, although I haven’t played with all the colors. I’m one of those people who prefer mattes, but the colors here and the quality warrant a purchase and I don’t mind pulling in another palette if the spirit moves me. When I think of all the OK to good quality stuff I have bought in the $50 range, an excellent rave review that this palette earns makes the $125 seem more reasonable (although of course $125 is not reasonable but just add up all those so-so purchases — quality over quantity)!

Darn ! The one that gets the best grade and a recommendation, just happens to be the one that will look better on warmer-darker skin tones. I just feel with my mature, eyes and pale skin, these would be too dark. It also seems more of a night time palette.
I would love for her to do a palette in similar shades of Too Faced, newest Peach palette or for lighter skin.

This is GORGEOUS but that price…I can’t. I think I’m just going to have to get the ABH dupe of Sinful. I don’t think I have a gold like that and it’s gorgeous.

This looks amazing! It definitely seems to be Pat’s best performance yet with regard to pressed eyeshadow.

I just hope that she releases either smaller palettes (such as quads or duos) or singles because I want to try her formula and colors but I know that there are several shades in this palette that I would use rarely if ever. Because of that, I can’t justify purchasing it, but I will be keeping a close eye on new releases! I would happily pay Tom Ford (or more) pricing for a quad or duo if it was made with this outstanding formula!

This is unbearably beautiful. Maybe I should be relieved that right now, canโ€™t wear eyeshadow! Your looks are incredible, but I suspect would be too molten for a person my age. But, the level of refinement makes such a difference. Viseart and old mufe shimmers were fine, maybe with the exception of the first frosty row in bridal satin, and these scream refinement. No doubt, Pat is killing it with the palettes and lipsticks.

Ugh, after your review I caved and ordered it. I can’t wait to play with this! I’ve been following her instagram for looks and inspiration and it has some nice versatility to it. I feel like I’ll get a lot of use out of it, at least, that’s what I’m telling myself lol.

Wow Iโ€™ve resisted pretty much all the other Pat McGrath releases (save for 2 Luxetrance lipsticks Bc I HAD to try the formula lol) but now I donโ€™t think Iโ€™ll be able to resist this eyeshadow palette because of your review!!

After your review of the previous Mothership palettes, I actually tried to keep an eye out for specific application techniques because you pointed them out!

I was confused when there weren’t any (like, apply this wet or with your finger, etc.) but as your review shows, there was no need. I wonder if there is a benefit, though, to the other kinds of textures that use the other techniques? Or if this, being the best so far in quality, will be how the other palettes will be moving forward?

Per PMG’s site, some say you can use wet or dry or to use with a dampened brush for greater intensity, but it definitely did not seem imperative to use them in particular way to achieve a certain effect!

For sure! (I may try it wet, though, now that I see that.) Just interesting that like, not each individual shadow had its own instructions.

Also, sidenote, highly respect that you followed those individualized instructions for the eyeshadows last time and judge them by that metric.

Hello, first Pat McGrath purchase! I decided to make this my annual bonus present to myself. I have never pulled the trigger on one of these large, expensive palettes from Pat or Natasha Denona, but this thing is painfully gorgeous. I really appreciate that you put so much thought into declaring this worth it, Christine, and making it recommended. That’s what pushed it over the edge for me, because I know you’ll rate things highly but not recommend them if they don’t match the price. Counting the seconds til Monday when it gets here!

OMG… Reading it was one of the best you’ve had the pleasure of working with got me soooo excited… God is it beautiful! Definitely ordering this in the very near future.

I โค๏ธ Pretty packaging! But I donโ€™t purchase because of it. This has it all as far as quality product AND the packaging! That taupe looks extrodinary!

The 2 cons are the dark colors (I just donโ€™t wear them really) and having to add colors from a palette( nit picking really).

Sadly Iโ€™ve been working tons 60-70 hr weeks to catch up on debt not make more. This does look like a collectors item.

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!