Anastasia Riviera Palette Review & Swatches

01/19

Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Palette | Look Details
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette
Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette

Riviera

Anastasia Riviera Eyeshadow Palette ($45.00 for 0.28 oz.) is a new, limited edition palette that features several pops of colors with warmer-toned neutrals. There are 14 shades, of which six are shimmers, seven are mattes, and one is a satin in finish. The quality of most shades was good: pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing without any being particularly fussy to work with. The richer metallics feel more loosely pressed, so they can be easy to pick up too much product on a dry brush and tend to apply best (with the least fallout and most instant opacity) with a wet brush or fingertip. A few of the mattes were more powdery in their respective pan but applied well with minimal fallout.

Worth noting, three shades are Pressed Pigments are “not intended for use around the immediate eye area,” and they are: Bahamas, Cannes, and Palm (the latter was a surprise, as typically this warning accompanies brighter reds, pinks, and purples… not browns). I didn’t notice any staining with Palm, but both Bahamas and Cannes stained significantly (still visible after my morning cleanse) both applied on bare skin as well as over primer (I tested staining over Smashbox 24HR). The Pressed Pigments “may contain” Red 7 Lake, Red 21 Lake, and Red 27 Lake (not approved for use on the eye area by FDA).


01/02

Anastasia Sails Eyeshadow
Anastasia Sails Eyeshadow
Anastasia Sails Eyeshadow
Anastasia Sails Eyeshadow
Anastasia Sails Eyeshadow
Anastasia Sails Eyeshadow

Sails

Sails is a pale white with cool undertones and a matte finish. It had opaque pigmentation with a moderately powdery texture, which resulted in some fallout if I wasn’t careful. I preferred to apply this as one of the first shades if using it on my brow bone to avoid it turning other shades ashy. This shade lasted well for seven and a half hours on me before it started to fade.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Yacht Eyeshadow
Anastasia Yacht Eyeshadow
Anastasia Yacht Eyeshadow
Anastasia Yacht Eyeshadow
Anastasia Yacht Eyeshadow
Anastasia Yacht Eyeshadow

Yacht

Yacht is a soft, golden bronze with warm undertones and a pearly sheen. It had rich color coverage with a smooth, lightly creamy texture that felt silky and had slight slip. The eyeshadow adhered well to bare skin and blended out with ease. It stayed on well for eight and a half hours on me before I noticed any fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Silica, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Tin Oxide, Bronze Powder (Ci 77400), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Seychelles Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seychelles Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seychelles Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seychelles Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seychelles Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seychelles Eyeshadow

Seychelles

Seychelles is a light-medium, bluish-teal with subtle, cool undertones and a metallic sheen. It had good pigmentation in a single layer, which easily built up to full coverage with less than half a layer. The consistency was smooth, lightly creamy, and not too dense, so it was easy to pick up and to apply to my lid. It wore beautifully for eight and a half hours on me before it creased faintly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Dimethicone, Silica, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Tin Oxide. May Contain (+/-): Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Green 5 (Ci 61570), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Palermo Eyeshadow

Palermo

Palermo is a bright, medium plum with warm undertones and cooler, violet shimmer and micro-sparkle. It had good color coverage but needed a second layer (or to be applied with a dampened brush) for full opacity. The consistency was drier to the touch and had slight fallout during application, though the edges were blendable and the color went on fairly evenly from the start. It lasted well for eight hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Dimethicone, Silica, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Tin Oxide. May Contain (+/-): Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Green 5 (Ci 61570), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow
Anastasia Seaside Eyeshadow

Seaside

Seaside is a pale, silvery lavender with cool undertones and warmer, golden sparkle and shimmer. It had opaque pigmentation paired with a slightly more loosely-pressed texture, which resulted in some fallout during application if I wasn’t careful to pat and press it into place (or use it with a dampened brush). I felt like this particularly shade seemed to lose some of its metallic finish within a few minutes of applying it, though. It stayed on well for eight hours on me before it started to crease.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Aluminum Calcium Sodium Silicate, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Tin Oxide, Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Iron Oxides (Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Inheritance Eyeshadow
Anastasia Inheritance Eyeshadow
Anastasia Inheritance Eyeshadow
Anastasia Inheritance Eyeshadow
Anastasia Inheritance Eyeshadow
Anastasia Inheritance Eyeshadow

Inheritance

Inheritance is a bright, sushine yeyllow gold with warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic sheen. It had a loosely-pressed consistency that felt soft, dense with a bit of slip. It applied best with a patting/pressing motion, and it worked just fine with a dry brush, though a wet brush applied it more smoothly initially and brought out the shine in its finish. It had opaque pigmentation that wore nicely for eight hours on me before creasing faintly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Mica, Alumina, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Quartz, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Tin Oxide, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/03

Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow
Anastasia Mediterranean Eyeshadow

Mediterranean

Mediterranean is a light, faded blue with cool undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The pigmentation was semi-opaque and buildable, though nearly opaque when applied with a dampened brush or a fingertip. The consistency was chunkier but still with noticeable creaminess, which helped the product combine and adhere to my lid. If using a dry brush, I highly recommend using a gentle press and pull motion (hold the brush to the lid, press, and then gently pull/sweep in a fluid motion across the space you want it on) to apply with minimal fallout. It lasted well for eight hours on me before fading a bit.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Aluminum Calcium Sodium Silicate, Dimethicone, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Silica, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Zinc Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Tin Oxide, Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Estate Eyeshadow
Anastasia Estate Eyeshadow
Anastasia Estate Eyeshadow
Anastasia Estate Eyeshadow
Anastasia Estate Eyeshadow
Anastasia Estate Eyeshadow

Estate

Estate is a light-medium peach with strong, warm orange undertones and a satin finish. The ultra-fine shimmer became more noticeably when applied and blended out, as it produced a soft sheen. The texture was lightly powdery in the pan but blended out nicely and held most of its pigmentation when I did so. It stayed on well for seven and a half hours on me before I noticed any fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Cabana Eyeshadow
Anastasia Cabana Eyeshadow
Anastasia Cabana Eyeshadow
Anastasia Cabana Eyeshadow
Anastasia Cabana Eyeshadow
Anastasia Cabana Eyeshadow

Cabana

Cabana is a muted, mustard yellow with warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. It had opaque color coverage with a soft, lightly powdery texture that had a bit of fallout during application but blended out beautifully. It wore well for eight hours on me before it started to fade noticeably.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Mineral Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol, Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Coastline Eyeshadow
Anastasia Coastline Eyeshadow
Anastasia Coastline Eyeshadow
Anastasia Coastline Eyeshadow
Anastasia Coastline Eyeshadow
Anastasia Coastline Eyeshadow

Coastline

Coastline is a medium-dark peach with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had nearly opaque pigmentation that adhered evenly and blended out easily on my skin. The texture was moderately powdery in the pan, so I had to be sure to tap off excess and avoid very fluffy brushes (or else it kicked up enough powder to get into other pans!). It lasted nicely for seven and a half hours on me before I noticed fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Bahamas Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Bahamas Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Bahamas Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Bahamas Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Bahamas Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Bahamas Pressed Pigment

Bahamas

Bahamas is a bright fuchsia pink with cool, blue undertones and a matte finish. It had good pigmentation that was buildable to opaque coverage with less than half of a layer on top. The texture was soft, thin without being too dry or difficult to apply, and lightly powdery in the pan. It blended out nicely and stayed on well for nine hours but did stain heavily and through the next day (I’d have to use concealer or wear full eye makeup to hide it), even when I tried it over primer.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Carmine (Ci 75470), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 21 Lake (Ci 45380), Red 27 Lake (Ci 45410), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Monte Carlo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Monte Carlo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Monte Carlo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Monte Carlo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Monte Carlo Eyeshadow
Anastasia Monte Carlo Eyeshadow

Monte Carlo

Monte Carlo is a medium pink with subtle, warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. There were very, very tiny golden shimmers strewn throughout but weren’t noticeable to my eye at all in person, so it looked like a matte finish in practice. It had excellent pigmentation with a smooth, soft, and blendable texture that was slightly powdery in the pan but not prone to fallout during application. It wore well eight hours on me before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Cannes Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cannes Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cannes Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cannes Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cannes Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Cannes Pressed Pigment

Cannes

Cannes is a bright, medium purple with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had a soft, lightly powdery texture but wasn’t prone to sheering out too readily and kept its richness on my lid, but it was a little thinner and seemed more prone to adhering to certain areas of my skin over others, which made blending more difficult. With enough effort, I was able to diffuse it fairly well, but it was easier to soften the edge with a shade like Bahamas or Monte Carlo on the edge. It lasted well for nine hours but left a faded, almost plum-hued stain on my lid that lingered into the next day (even after cleansing in the morning), even when I used it over primer.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Carmine (Ci 75470), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 21 Lake (Ci 45380), Red 27 Lake (Ci 45410), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

01/02

Anastasia Palm Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Palm Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Palm Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Palm Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Palm Pressed Pigment
Anastasia Palm Pressed Pigment

Palm

Palm is a deep, reddish-brown with neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It had opaque pigmentation with a soft, blendable texture that wasn’t too dense nor too loosely pressed in the pan. Though it was listed as a Pressed Pigment, I didn’t experience any staining with this one. It stayed on nicely for eight and a half hours on me before fading a bit.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Myristate, Glycerin, Silica, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Isopentyldiol, Lauroyl Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Polysilicone-11, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Carmine (Ci 75470), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 21 Lake (Ci 45380), Red 27 Lake (Ci 45410), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Bonus: Video Overview ♫

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Anastasia Eyeshadow Palette $45.00/0.28 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

30 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I really love the color scheme of this palette. I’m also not sure why people are saying it’s too neutral because 9 of the shades are most definitely not neutral.

See, to me, I’d say there are six pops of color for sure – Seychelles, Palermo, Mediterranean, Bahamas, Monte Carlo, and Cannes. Shades like Inheritance (gold) and Seaside (more lavender-taupe) don’t really scream “color” to me personally. I wouldn’t describe it as “too neutral,” as it’s definitely a brighter, more colorful palette that’s grounded by more neutral shades so that it is more cohesive than not.

Logan was talking about “non-neutral,” and you’re talking about “pops of color,” and since they’re not the same thing, I think you’re both right. Everybody’s definition of “neutral” varies somewhat, but by mine, there are only 3 colors in this palette that I’d call neutral (and the white isn’t one of them!).

To me, shades like Inheritance and Seaside straddle the line and would work in many difference looks in place of neutrals, but personally I wouldn’t call them neutrals. I’d still call them color shadows.

Just when I was thinking that this palette is too colourful for me to justify buying it! I’m wondering what their definition of a colourful palette is!

I didn’t know people are calling this palette “too neutral,'” but that’s ridiculous to me. Speaking as someone who wears blood red, hot teal, and blackened green eyeshadows regularly (not necessarily together), I’m starting to get really annoyed with the people who want everything to be “uber-OMG-coooooollllooooorrrrrr!!!” The plain fact is, the vast majority of makeup wearers are still going to gravitate toward wearable palettes, and wearable for most people means mostly neutrals. If your stash is so big that you need a completely over-the-top palette to kick you out of the jaded zone, then stop buying (and stop complaining that cosmetics companies aren’t deliberately reducing their potential market just to please you). Grrrrr…

BTW, the use of the word “you” in this response is entirely generic and not aimed at *you*. 🙂

I can see why people would want a brand like ABH to release more of a “rainbow” palette, but I also think that palettes are still, by and large, purchased with a desire for some cohesion – especially at this price point. Will a go-to neutral palette extend this one? YES, definitely! But this one is wearable on its own (aside from the typical issues where not all skin tones will have a brow bone/transition shade) while still being more colorful.

Right? This speaks to me as a colorful palette. Evan the more neutral shades are opaque, cool white, mustard, and the two peaches. They’re more interesting than the usual browns, taupes, and nudes we see rounding out colorful palettes. (Except Palm is brown, of course.)

Cannes looks amazing.

I’m kinda getting a Nabla Soul Blooming crossed with Lime Crime Venus XL kind of vibe and a big part of me wants to get it anyway because it is gorgeous and LE but the more sensible part of me is saying nope 🙁

Seaside is lovely!

I surpisingly love this. I don’t love the packaging so much but I definitely get the boat stripes as this is for sure an 80s yacht vibe and that part I definitely love. I don’t know if I would use it as much as I want though, and the eye warnings definitely concern me a bit – I wonder how much those should be heeded?

Hi Cjay,

From my understanding, the color additives used are allowed on eyes by EU but not in the US (by FDA), so it doesn’t seem to uniformly agreed upon as safe/unsafe. They are allowed in cosmetics, just in cheek/lip products typically (the link above to the FDA will give you a full chart of what and where!).

I’m also getting an 80’s feel. I think tie-dye or neon splashes would have totally hooked me on this palette, but the nautical theme is lost on me.

There’s a link right under the photo “Look Details” that will give you a breakdown of everything used!

Because I have Viseart Coy, UD Electric and Nyx Ultimate Brights, I have to talk myself out of getting this one somehow. Not that easy though due to this palette receiving so many glowing reviews and high grades, plus being an absolutely stunning assortment of shades to boot!

It’s really surprising when a brand chooses ingredients for an eyeshadow palette that are dangerous to use around the eye area. It is most common with purple, pink and red dyes, however this is a major failing of the palette.
That said, I love the names of the shades and overall I think this is a really bright, summery palette. But not for me.
Thank you for reviewing this so quickly Christine. It is greatly appreciated.

They’re not dangerous though, just not “approved for use” on the eye in the USA ONLY. Fine in Canada, Australia, EU, etc. They are Red Lake specific pigments, they are not harmful or even considered irritants (though some individuals may have specific sensitivities) but under certain circumstances, they may cause temporary superficial skin staining.

Colourpop, Urban Decay, MAC, etc virtually every major brand uses these same pigments for deep pink/red/purple shades and it is a disclaimer pretty much only to comply with bureaucratic rules in America. That doesn’t mean that they are unsafe.

I hate (hate hate hate) the packaging and the idea of the packaging (preppy yacht life, better-than-you bs), but quite like the actual palette. It’s bright and mustard (both the color and the condiment) rule my world.

I do agree with those who were hoping for a navy blue instead of yet another dark warm brown. I’m also not a fan of brands replacing “crass” yellow with “tasteful” gold. I think, in the end, I’m not going to spend money on something I would need to depot and edit in order to live with, but it’s definitely a step in the right (bright!) direction for a major brand that tends to stick to neutrals.

Agreed. The theme leaves me with a bad taste, as it speaks to a culture where ultra-wealth is a celebrated aspiration as opposed to a troublesome and glaring symptom of inequality.

I used my Ultra points to buy this palette. Glad to see it reviewed well. I’ll be copying those eye looks, yass! Thank you!

When I really look at this palette I see some colours I’d probably never wear, and I only really, really want three of the shades in it. I love Seaside, Mediterranean and Cannes. I’m not going to buy a palette for just three shades.
I am glad it performed well for all who are getting it.
I love the looks you did, and the lipstick combo is so gorgeous!

Wore yesterday for the first time. U had MAC Painterly as a base and set with Estate. With both Bahamas and Cannes, I was able to take off both using micellar water (I use Bioderma) with zero staining. YMMV, of course.

Excited to see your review, swatches and look ideas, Christine! I just purchased this palette as I thought it looked so pretty. Wonderful to see such a colourful palette. I’ve noticed a few brands have released colourful palettes recently (the new MAC It’s Designer Palette, mini NYX Brights, this one) and it made it hard for me to choose which one to get! This one seemed the most different from what I already have in my collection.

Seaside and Mediterranean are really nice, but without really being able to explain, this palette just seems too brightly bizarre to me. I just don’t feel it. I think it’s because I’m not a pink, fuchsia person for eyeshadows.

I kind of wish you had the bh weekend festival palette swatches in the database… I own it and feel like it would dupe out so many palettes includ8mg this one!

I’m a neutral woman! And my demographic is “Over 60” but after seeing this palette I had to go out of my comfort zone and make the purchase! I’m so happy I did! I’ve used Bahamas to line my lids and although a pressed pigment, it didn’t bother my eyes nor did it stain. I also used Seychelles to line my eyes but it needed to be built up a bit! I’ve used the warmer shades as neutrals an I’m absolutely in love. The shadows blend well. Not much fallout and they stay put all day!

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!