Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz & Griselda Mattemoiselle Lipsticks Reviews, Photos, Swatches

1 of 6
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick

One of the Boyz

Fenty Beauty One of the Boyz Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick ($18.00 for 0.06 oz.) is a medium lavender with cool undertones and a semi-matte finish. The color payoff was opaque in a single stroke with a smooth, creamy consistency that glided across my lips with ease. The finish had a subtle sheen to it but worn down to matte within an hour of wear. The lipstick seemed to pull away along my deeper lip lines and showed very minimal color settled in them. This shade wore well for five hours and was neither drying nor hydrating on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$18.00/0.06 oz. - $300.00 Per Ounce

It's supposed to have a "petal-soft matte finish" with "mega rich color" that is long-wearing and will not bleed or feather. They are creamy, smooth, and velvety without being heavy. The majority of shades applied evenly across the lips, never skipped, and didn't get into my lip lines. I do not normally experience feathering/bleeding, and I did not experience either with this range. Most of the shades were very pigmented with true, one-stroke pigmentation, which was particularly impressive for some of the more non-traditional shades in the line-up. They're a soft matte--matte without being flat but not truly glossy or shiny--and have good wear time (four to eight hours, depending on the shade) and were mostly non-drying.

Worth noting is that these are in a slim-style bullet, which means that they don't contain as much as traditional lipsticks do--these contain 0.06 oz. and retail for $18.00, which yields a cost of $300.00/oz. If you're not someone who tends to finish their lipsticks, paying less is often a better "value" than paying more and not using what you paid for. A few comparisons: NARS Audacious Lipstick ($242.86 oz., $34.00/0.14 oz.), Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick ($173.33/oz., $26.00/0.15 oz.), Pat McGrath Matte/LuxeTrance Lipstick ($271.43/oz., $38.00/0.14 oz.), Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Creme ($250.00/oz., $30.00/0.12 oz.). Fenty's slimmer tube seems to contain less than the average slim-style tube, too (typically 0.07 oz. to 0.09 oz. but rarely below 0.07 oz.).

Browse all of our Fenty Beauty Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick swatches.

Ingredients

Octyldodecanol, Polyethylene, Candelilla Cera/Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax/Cire De Candelilla, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Silica, Microcrystalline Wax, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydrogenated Polycyclopentadiene, Isohexadecane, Isononyl Isononanoate, Mica, Lecithin, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl Ppg-20 Crosspolymer, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Cera Carnauba/Copernicia Cerifera Cera (Carnauba) Wax/Cire De Carnauba, Water, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Caprylyl Glycol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Acrylates Copolymer, Tin Oxide. May Contain (+/-): Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Iron Oxides (Ci 77499, Ci 77492, Ci 77491), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985).

One of the Boyz

PPermanent. $18.00.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
8
Texture
9
Longevity
4.5
Application
89%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

1 of 6
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick
Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick

Griselda

Fenty Beauty Griselda Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick ($18.00 for 0.06 oz.) is a deep burgundy with subtle, cool undertones and a semi-matte finish. The consistency was firmer and not as emollient as most shades in the range, and it seemed thinner and more matte, too. The pigmentation wass semi-opaque and applied fairly evenly, but there was room for improvement as there was a bit of color that pulled into my lip lines and the coverage wasn’t high enough to look fully smooth on my lips. The color stayed on well for six and a half hours, left a stain behind,a nd felt a touch drying over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$18.00/0.06 oz. - $300.00 Per Ounce

It's supposed to have a "petal-soft matte finish" with "mega rich color" that is long-wearing and will not bleed or feather. They are creamy, smooth, and velvety without being heavy. The majority of shades applied evenly across the lips, never skipped, and didn't get into my lip lines. I do not normally experience feathering/bleeding, and I did not experience either with this range. Most of the shades were very pigmented with true, one-stroke pigmentation, which was particularly impressive for some of the more non-traditional shades in the line-up. They're a soft matte--matte without being flat but not truly glossy or shiny--and have good wear time (four to eight hours, depending on the shade) and were mostly non-drying.

Worth noting is that these are in a slim-style bullet, which means that they don't contain as much as traditional lipsticks do--these contain 0.06 oz. and retail for $18.00, which yields a cost of $300.00/oz. If you're not someone who tends to finish their lipsticks, paying less is often a better "value" than paying more and not using what you paid for. A few comparisons: NARS Audacious Lipstick ($242.86 oz., $34.00/0.14 oz.), Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick ($173.33/oz., $26.00/0.15 oz.), Pat McGrath Matte/LuxeTrance Lipstick ($271.43/oz., $38.00/0.14 oz.), Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Creme ($250.00/oz., $30.00/0.12 oz.). Fenty's slimmer tube seems to contain less than the average slim-style tube, too (typically 0.07 oz. to 0.09 oz. but rarely below 0.07 oz.).

Browse all of our Fenty Beauty Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick swatches.

Ingredients

Octyldodecanol, Polyethylene, Candelilla Cera/Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax/Cire De Candelilla, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Silica, Microcrystalline Wax, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydrogenated Polycyclopentadiene, Isohexadecane, Isononyl Isononanoate, Mica, Lecithin, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl Ppg-20 Crosspolymer, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Cera Carnauba/Copernicia Cerifera Cera (Carnauba) Wax/Cire De Carnauba, Water, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Caprylyl Glycol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Acrylates Copolymer, Tin Oxide. May Contain (+/-): Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Iron Oxides (Ci 77499, Ci 77492, Ci 77491), Red 6 (Ci 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985).

Griselda

PPermanent. $18.00.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
9
Longevity
4.5
Application
86%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • Sephora
    • Receive a Bumble & Bumble Post-Workout Dry Shampoo trial size with any $25 merchandise purchase. Use code WORKOUT. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 4/08.
    • Receive a Natasha Denona Sunrise Eyeshadow Palette trial size in Phlox with any $25 merchandise purchase. Use code SUNRISE. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 4/10.
    • Receive a La Mer The Eye Concentrate trial size with any $45 merchandise purchase. Use code LUXEYE. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 4/11.
    • Receive a Guerlain KissKiss Creamy Satin Finish Lipstick trial size with any $35 merchandise purchase. Use code KISSKISS. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 4/12.
    • Free shipping on all orders with code FREESHIP (will stack with other codes), ends 4/29.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Makeup Look

On face:
  • Guerlain Parure Gold Foundation
  • Laura Mercier Loose Translucent Powder
On eyes:
  • Coloured Raine Cheers to the Beauty Palette

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

15 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

I got a sample of Griselda from Sephora (it was either with a promo code or I used 100 points – I can’t fully remember). I have yet to use it, but it’s a really beautiful shade.

Having received the 100 pt. Perk at Sephora of a Griselda mini, I have to agree with your assessment of this one. Beautiful shade, but oh man, what a pain to get it to go on evenly! Plus, it did feel fairly drying.

I’ve been lusting over One Of The Boyz from first sight, but bought UD Cruz lipstick and pencil without making the mental connection that Cruz *could* potentially be a dupe. But they’re really not all that close, imho! So, maybe?

Cruz is such a pretty color; and, a nice dupe. On me, it goes from a light, purple-pink color to a true lavender, depending upon if I do more than one swipe. Also, I wear it under Mac’s “Model Behavior.” The color shift within the frost works so nicely with Cruz.

I agree with you, Sabrina! Cruz is a beautiful shade and about as bright and light of a lavender as I can go without looking ridiculous! I’ve got to look up Model Behavior to see what I thought of it at the time.

Glad I saved my 100 points on the Griselda mini! I was tempted because it’s a beautiful color and I want to try Fenty, but held out because you hadn’t reviewed it yet. I have more than enough lip colors of this type of shade anyway, including a 95% dupe (Rock With You), and those are much better quality than this seems to be.

Love your eye look! I have a Sephora 100 point perk sample of Griselda and was quite impressed with the lasting power. I may pick up one of these lipsticks soon.

-first time comment because this is sooo helpful- I was considering both these shades very strongly, ended up getting clapback and ya dig and waiting on these; now really glad I didn’t decide to grab griselda. it’s lovely, but that drying effect would drive me nuts! maybe I’ll go back for one of the boyz though, I’ve never seen a purple so light that I felt would suit me the way this might. I really have to use what I have more first, of course.
I’ve really been experimenting with makeup this year, your reviews have been an invaluable resource for my forays into the beauty world!

Both look great on you! I purchased 4 so far and Griselda is the biggest disappointment. The color is pretty, but I can’t get it on evenly! It’s much stickier than the other colors I picked up (spanked, ma-damn, and clap back). I’ve taken to applying it thinly with a brush to make it look more like a stain.

Ooh! Happy to see Griselda is so similar to Mamacita. I really wanted Mamacita, but Colourpop’s Ulta Mattes are sooooo dry on my poor desert lips. Griselda was a 100 point reward from Sephora earlier in the month (maybe still is?) and was a worthwhile pickup. It didn’t go on as creamy as I would’ve liked, but it was a nice way to try out the formula.

I LOVE that Fenty beauty has really brought attention to shade range in foundation, but honestly every thing I’ve tried has underwhelmed me, formulation-wise. I want to support the company, so hopefully this year I’ll find something to love….these lipsticks are not it (for me).

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!