ColourPop Sol Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

1 of 9
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol Eyeshadow Palette | Look Details
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol Eyeshadow Palette | Look Details
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Sol

ColourPop Sol 9-Pan Eyeshadow Palette ($12.00 for 0.36 oz.) is the brand’s newest release for summer that features nine vibrant, warm-toned hues across matte and shimmery finishes. Notably, three of the shades are Pressed Pigments, which is your tip off that they are not safe for eye usage. It’s a deeper, richer, and more red/coral-toned take compared to Yes, Please (see a comparison between Sol and Yes, Please here). The palette was full of pigmented, long-wearing, and easy-to-use eyeshadows; no complaints here with respect to quality. Whether this one captures your heart is really a matter of how deep your stash is at this point given the numerous warmer palettes we’ve seen over the last few years, but if you haven’t yet dipped your toes in, this might be a fun one to play with (assuming the Pressed Pigment warning doesn’t bother you).

Sol

LELimited Edition. $14.00.
A-
A-
9
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9
Texture
9
Longevity
4.5
Application
91%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

1 of 2
ColourPop New Digs Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop New Digs Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop New Digs Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop New Digs Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop New Digs Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop New Digs Pressed Powder Shadow

New Digs

New Digs is a soft, medium peach with strong, warm orange undertones and a matte finish. It had opaque pigmentation that applied evenly in a smooth layer. The eyeshadow felt somewhat powdery in the pan, so I had to be careful to tap off excess prior to applying it to my skin, especially when I applied it to the brow bone with a fluffier brush. It wore well for eight hours before it started to fade on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

New Digs

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
91%
Total
1 of 2
ColourPop Anthem Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Anthem Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Anthem Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Anthem Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Anthem Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Anthem Pressed Powder Shadow

Anthem

Anthem is a medium-dark, copper with warm, rosy brown undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The consistency was soft, slightly looser, but it applied better than anticipated so long as I pressed and patted it onto my lid (sweeping yielded fallout). It had opaque color coverage that stayed on well for eight hours. I felt that this was better applied with a dampened brush as it really brought out the shine in the finish.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Talc, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Anthem

PPermanent. $4.50.
A-
A-
8.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
90%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
ColourPop Dynamite Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Dynamite Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Dynamite Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Dynamite Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Dynamite Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Dynamite Pressed Powder Shadow

Dynamite

Dynamite is a bright, medium orange with warm undertones and a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation with a soft, velvety texture that was blendable without being too powdery in the pan. The color lasted well for eight and a half hours on me before it started to fade noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Dynamite

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A
A
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
98%
Total
1 of 2
ColourPop Hotel Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Hotel Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Hotel Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Hotel Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Hotel Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Hotel Pressed Powder Shadow

Hotel

Hotel is a medium-dark copper with warm, orange undertones and a frosted sheen. The color payoff was opaque in a single layer, while the consistency was soft, slightly dusty in the pan, but blendable and applied well to bare skin. It stayed on nicely for eight hours on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Hotel

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
ColourPop Motel Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop Motel Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop Motel Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop Motel Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop Motel Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop Motel Pressed Powder Pigment

Motel

Motel is a vibrant, medium-dark pink with warmer undertones and cooler, lavender pearl. It had good color coverage that was buildable to full coverage in two layers. The texture was drier and more prone to powderiness in the pan, but I didn’t have any trouble diffusing or blending out the product on my lid, though there was some fallout to contend with. Thie color wore well for eight and a half hours before I noticed any signs of fading.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing." The way the Pressed Pigments differ is that they're not intended for usage on the immediate eye area.

The majority of the shades are semi-opaque to opaque in coverage, blend out fairly well, and can sometimes be a bit drier/more powdery compared to typical matte shades. They often wear eight to nine hours on me before fading, but many shades in the Pressed Pigment family leave some staining behind.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Pigment swatches.

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Pigment" carry a warning in the US that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." Brands in the US typically market these products as "Pigments" (instead of "Eyeshadow"), and there is often a warning on the back of packaging or the label. The product includes color additives that are not approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. Some color additives in "Pigments" have no usage restrictions in the EU, per CosIng, and can be used on the eyes. We recommend checking ingredients to confirm current safety assessment/restrictions: FDA/CosIng.

Motel

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
9
Longevity
4.5
Application
89%
Total
1 of 2
ColourPop B and B Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop B and B Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop B and B Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop B and B Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop B and B Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop B and B Pressed Powder Shadow

B and B

B and B is a soft, peachy gold with strong, warm undertones and a metallic sheen. It had good pigmentation with a soft, slightly looser consistency that had a bit of powderiness in the pan. The eyeshadow applied evenly and smoothly to my lid but was the type of texture that applied even better with a dampened brush or patted on top of a primer. This shade lasted well for eight hours before fading slightly on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

B and B

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
89%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
ColourPop Floaties Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Floaties Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Floaties Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Floaties Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Floaties Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Floaties Pressed Powder Shadow

Floaties

Floaties is a vibrant, medium orange with warm, reddish undertones and warmer, golden shimmer. The eyeshadow was richly pigmented and applied evenly and smoothly to bare skin. The texture was soft, smooth, and lightly creamy without being too dense or too firmly pressed in the pan, which made it easy to blend out on my lid. It wore well for nine hours on me before fading a touch.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Floaties

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A+
A+
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9.5
Longevity
5
Application
99%
Total
1 of 2
ColourPop OOO Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop OOO Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop OOO Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop OOO Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop OOO Pressed Powder Pigment
ColourPop OOO Pressed Powder Pigment

OOO

OOO is a rich orange with warm, red undertones and a mostly matte finish. It had intense, opaque pigmentation that applied evenly to bare skin. The texture was soft, velvety, and blendable without being too softly or too firmly pressed in the pan. I noticed that despite the matte finish, it seemed more prone to absorbing my skin’s natural oils (compared to the other mattes in the palette). The color stayed on well for eight and a half hours on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing." The way the Pressed Pigments differ is that they're not intended for usage on the immediate eye area.

The majority of the shades are semi-opaque to opaque in coverage, blend out fairly well, and can sometimes be a bit drier/more powdery compared to typical matte shades. They often wear eight to nine hours on me before fading, but many shades in the Pressed Pigment family leave some staining behind.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Pigment swatches.

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Pigment" carry a warning in the US that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." Brands in the US typically market these products as "Pigments" (instead of "Eyeshadow"), and there is often a warning on the back of packaging or the label. The product includes color additives that are not approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. Some color additives in "Pigments" have no usage restrictions in the EU, per CosIng, and can be used on the eyes. We recommend checking ingredients to confirm current safety assessment/restrictions: FDA/CosIng.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Lauroyl Lysine, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140)

OOO

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A
A
9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
96%
Total
1 of 2
ColourPop Unwind Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Unwind Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Unwind Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Unwind Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Unwind Pressed Powder Shadow
ColourPop Unwind Pressed Powder Shadow

Unwind

Unwind is a soft, medium brown with warm undertones and a matte finish. The eyeshadow had a soft, lightly dusty texture that had a bit of excess product kicked up in the pan but not enough to create fallout problems during application. It had nearly opaque color coverage that adhered well to bare skin and wore well for eight hours before fading noticeably on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Unwind

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
About Reviewer
Review FAQ
Reviewer

Christine Mielke is the editor-in-chief and has been reviewing products for over 14 years.

She has normal-to-dry skin with occasional dryness on cheeks and nose. She has a light plus skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones (view her foundation matches here).

Learn more about her review process here.

Explore Temptalia

We're here to help you make better beauty purchases that you'll enjoy and love! We recommend signing up to take advantage of personalized features like tracking products you own, viewing dupes that you already have, and more!

Here are some useful resources for you:

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

18 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

For anyone who cares, the red lake/carmine ingredient in the pressed pigments is approved as safe for use on eyes EVERYWHERE except the USA. Some FDA thing, I don’t know.

But your eyes will be just fine if you use them 🙂

I can’t remember if it was a YouTube video or an article I read, but the FDA is backlogged – and I mean, it will take decades to play catch up – on what is and is not still considered safe. So while the rest of the world considers these pigments to be eye safe due to having the resources available to them to test, the FDA does not. A lot of what the FDA considers unsafe is stuck in the backlogs, awaiting reclassification. Which makes me worry about what they classify safe when it should be classified as unsafe…

But like you said. Totally fine to use. 🙂

I’m warm toned, and love warm browns and warm shades. But man! Am I *personally* tired of all these bright orange, red, shades in eye shadow.

This palette is remmarkably similar to a number of others that the brand has released in recent times. The fact that they have used non eye safe pigments is a concern. I think the brand can do better than this.

If you take away the three pressed pigments, you’re just left with a handful of bronzy browns in different finishes. That’s definitely an…interesting palette.

I was just thinking that one brown and two coppers was good for a colour pop palette (I seriously hate brown)!

I don’t hate it! In fact, I’d say that I really love several of the shades very much, like; Motel, Floaties, and B & B. My only concern is that I would buy it, and have dupes coming to the surface of my stash from the depths of my crammed sock drawer!

I’m very impressed with the quality of these shadows! My collection is overrun with warm tones, or I would pick it up myself!

I really want to get into ColourPop (I was going to try these palettes and maybe a couple of quads) but I’m just not attracted to their color stories. 🙁

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!