ColourPop Proceed with Caution Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

01/09

Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Proceed with Caution | Look Details
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
ColourPop Proceed with Caution | Look Details
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Proceed with Caution

Colour Pop Proceed with Caution 9-Pan Eyeshadow Palette ($12.00 for 0.36 oz.) includes an array of neutrals with a pop of yellow. There is a mix of shimmers and mattes and a good range of depth, so it should be a versatile palette. The shimmers were more loosely-pressed, which can give them a drier feel and need to be pressed and patted onto the lid or else applied with a fingertip or wet brush to maximize coverage and minimize fallout. The mattes performed well, except for the yellow shade which was decent but as most matte yellow eyeshadows, it did need a primer to perform well.

Proceed with Caution
A-

Limited Edition

9
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
90%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Proceed Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Proceed Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Proceed Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Proceed Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Proceed Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Proceed Pressed Powder Shadow

Proceed

Proceed is a soft, pale yellow with warm undertones and a matte finish. The pigmentation was opaque in a single layer, while the eyeshadow had a smooth, velvety texture that blendable and easy to work with. There was a touch of powderiness in the pan, but it applied evenly and didn’t sheer out too quickly. It lasted well for eight hours before showing signs of fading on me.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Myristate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Proceed
Proceed
A-

Limited Edition

9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Maintenance Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Maintenance Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Maintenance Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Maintenance Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Maintenance Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Maintenance Pressed Powder Shadow

Maintenance

Maintenance is a medium-dark burgundy with strong, warm undertones and a matte finish. It was richly pigmented with a soft, velvety texture that was a smidgen powdery in the pan but applied well to bare skin without sheering out. It stayed on nicely for eight and a half hours before fading a bit.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Boron Nitride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035).

Maintenance
A

Limited Edition

9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
96%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Dead End Pressed Powder Shadow

Dead End

Dead End is a medium gold with strong, warm undertones and a sparkling, frosted finish. It had good color coverage in a single layer but was best applied with fingertips or a dampened brush in order to get maximum sparkle, shine, and depth. On its own with a dry brush, there was some fallout during application and took longer to get it to adhere evenly to my lid. The consistency was more softly pressed and felt a touch dry to me (which may have owed to the amount of larger sparkles in it). The color wore well for eight hours on me but had slight fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Magnesium Myristate, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Lauroyl Lysine, Talc, Jojoba Esters, Phenoxyethanol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Dimethicone, Acacia Decurrens Extract, Polyglycerin-3, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Dead End
B

Limited Edition

8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
83%
Total

01/03

Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment
Colour Pop Warning Pressed Powder Pigment

Warning

Warning is a medium orange with warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The color payoff was nearly opaque in one layer, while the texture was softer but more textured from the sparkles, so there was a little bit of fallout during application. I would recommend applying this shade with a fingertip or a wet brush to help the product adhere smoothly and avoid fallout, though. It lasted for just over eight hours on me before I noticed any fading.

Ingredients

*Not intended for use in the immediate eye area. Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Magnesium Myristate, Aluminum Calcium Sodium Silicate, Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Boron Nitride, Tin Oxide, Dimethiconol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow 6 (CI 15985).

Warning
Warning
B+

Limited Edition

8.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
88%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Colour Pop HZRD Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop HZRD Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop HZRD Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop HZRD Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop HZRD Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop HZRD Pressed Powder Shadow

HZRD

HZRD is a deep, taupe brown with subtle, cool undertones and warmer flecks of shimmer. It had semi-opaque pigmentation with a more softly pressed texture that felt drier and worked best when applied with fingertips or a wet brush. The skin on my arm is drier, and I had trouble with the product adhering as well, whereas my lid is more normal and the product applied better there. It stayed on well for eight hours on me before I noticed fading.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Magnesium Myristate, Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Boron Nitride, Dimethiconol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tin Oxide, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

HZRD
HZRD
B

Limited Edition

8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
84%
Total

01/09

Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Caution Pressed Powder Shadow

Caution

Caution is a rich, medium-dark yellow with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had good pigmentation but had a more powdery, slightly chalky consistency that caused it to sheer out to more semi-opaque coverage on bare skin. Over more silicone-based primer, it performed decently and was buildable, but for a real pop of yellow, I’d recommend a slightly tacky base or a white base. It wore well for eight hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Boron Nitride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Mica (CI 77019), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140).

Caution
Caution
B-

Limited Edition

7.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4
Application
82%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Drill Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Drill Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Drill Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Drill Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Drill Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Drill Pressed Powder Shadow

Drill

Drill is a medium-dark copper with warm undertones and a pearly sheen. The color payoff was fantastic, while the eyeshadow had a smooth, lightly creamy texture that wasn’t too softly nor too firmly pressed. It lasted well for eight and a half hours before showing signs of fading.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Magnesium Myristate, Lauroyl Lysine, Boron Nitride, Dimethiconol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Alumina, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Drill
Drill
A

Limited Edition

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
98%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Culture Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Culture Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Culture Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Culture Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Culture Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Culture Pressed Powder Shadow

Culture

Culture is a soft brown with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had good color coverage that adhered evenly to bare skin and blended out nicely. The consistency was soft, silky, and a smidgen powdery in the pan but not prone to sheering out or having fallout during application. It stayed on well for eight hours before fading a bit on me.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Culture
Culture
A

Limited Edition

9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
94%
Total

01/02

Colour Pop Gloves On Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Gloves On Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Gloves On Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Gloves On Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Gloves On Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Gloves On Pressed Powder Shadow

Gloves On

Gloves On is a blackened brown with subtle, warm undertones and flecks of red micro-shimmer strewn throughout. It appeared more matte in person than satiny, but the fine shimmer seemed to ensure blendability. It was intensely pigmented where a little went a very long way, so I highly recommend using a lighter hand with this shade to avoid over-application. The consistency soft and silky, but if I wasn’t careful to pick up less, there was some fallout (again, almost “too” pigmented in that way!). It wore nicely for eight hours before fading slightly on my skin.

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours. The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Zinc Stearate, Boron Nitride, Lauroyl Lysine, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Caprylyl Glycol, Magnesium Stearate, Silica, Talc, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Dimethiconol, Tin Oxide, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Gloves On
A

Limited Edition

9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
94%
Total

Product Availability

Colour Pop 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette $12.00/0.36 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

6 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A very interesting and fun take on the “warm neutral” palette train, I think! Back in my Punk heyday of the 80’s, I would use vivid yellow with black, white gold duochrome and warm gold e/s’s in a very specific look I loved doing. It was more of a special event/hitting the club look. It got loads of compliments, too. So, I’m going to probably buy this and do a far less graphic artsy look using the same shades of yesteryear!

Wow. This is better than what I expected. I need to get on the colourpop bandwagon. I’ve only tried their liquid lipsticks. This, along with their purple palette (I forgot the name), are calling me.

This is a beautiful set that is really tempting. The theme and color story work really well. It’s a nice neutral with some bold yellow and red. Although I wouldn’t have put Night Clubbing as the dupe for Gloves On… that has a gold glitter, not copper.

Thanks for doing a review. I saw it and was like ooohhhh that’s so different or maybe not? Don’t have anything like that. Want to buy it but not sure if I will. I do like that colourpop is affordable so it’s not a ton of money but kind of want to use what I have.

It’s a nice palette, but still leans far too orangey for me. The shades are a good mix, but I am feeling a little underwhelmed as this palette looks very similar to many others that Colour Pop has released in recent years. Stunning eye look Christine.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!