Week in Review | February 24th through March 2nd

Happy Saturday! I always enjoy seeing what makes up the week’s top ten highest-reviewed products, so I hope you find it somewhat interesting as well! 🙂

What was your week in review like?

  • My skin tone/coloring:
  • Favorite look you wore:
  • Most used product of the week:
  • Any new beauty discoveries:

Week in Review

01.

01. Arrowroot Bite Beauty

Bite Beauty

DCDiscontinued. $24.00/0.25 oz.

A+
02.

02. Golden Gate (31) Sephora

Sephora

PPermanent. $8.00/0.14 oz.

A+
03.

03. Cassava Bite Beauty

Bite Beauty

DCDiscontinued. $24.00/0.25 oz.

A

Bite Beauty Cassava Amuse Bouche Liquified Lipstick ($24.00 for 0.25 oz.) is a deep, reddish plum with subtle, cool undertones and a creamy, glossy...

Bite Beauty Cassava Amuse Bouche Liquified Lipstick ($24.00 for 0.25 oz.) is a deep, reddish plum with subtle, cool undertones and a creamy, glossy...

04.

04. Chicory Bite Beauty

Bite Beauty

DCDiscontinued. $24.00/0.25 oz.

A

Bite Beauty Chicory Amuse Bouche Liquified Lipstick ($24.00 for 0.25 oz.) is a medium, rosy brown with warm undertones and a creamy, glossy finish. ...

Bite Beauty Chicory Amuse Bouche Liquified Lipstick ($24.00 for 0.25 oz.) is a medium, rosy brown with warm undertones and a creamy, glossy finish. ...

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
07.

07. Labyrinth City (09) Sephora

Sephora

PPermanent. $8.00/0.14 oz.

A
08.

08. Divine Kat Von D

Kat Von D

LELimited Edition. $19.00/0.12 oz.

A

Kat Von D Divine Studded Kiss Crème Lipstick ($19.00 for 0.12 oz.) is a muted, medium pink-beige with warm undertones and a satin finish. It had...

Kat Von D Divine Studded Kiss Crème Lipstick ($19.00 for 0.12 oz.) is a muted, medium pink-beige with warm undertones and a satin finish. It had...

09.

09. Champagne Physicians Formula

Physicians Formula

PPermanent. $10.99/0.17 oz.

A

Physicians Formula Champagne Butter Highlighter ($10.99 for 0.17 oz.) is a light-medium gold with warm undertones and a luminous sheen. It had...

Physicians Formula Champagne Butter Highlighter ($10.99 for 0.17 oz.) is a light-medium gold with warm undertones and a luminous sheen. It had...

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Breakdown |
Feb 24, 2018 — Mar 2, 2018

86%

Average Score
A
22
B
33
C
8
D
2
F
1

Total Reviews (66)
Brands Reviewed (13)

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

18 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

Skintone / coloring : light, MAC NC 15- 20, med brown hair and eyes

Favorite look worn : ABH Prism Palette. Pyramid on inner and outer corner of eye. Sphere on middle of eyelid. Eden increase. Unity as transition /blend. Tightlined upper waterline w MUFE Aqua Eyes XL Black Eyeliner. Wore MAC X Vibe Tribe Broque eyeliner on upper lash line. Trish McEvoy High Volume Mascara in Jet Black. Chanel Bronzer Soleil Tan. MAC Melba blush. Fenty Lightning Dust highlighter. Fenty Gloss Bomb lipgloss.

Most used: Trish McEvoy High Volume Mascara. Clinique Even Better Foundation. Chanel Bronzer Soleil Tan

New discoveries : I’ve never been much of a bronzer fan but I’m loving it lately. More than normal 🙂

My skin tone/coloring: Medium w/ olive undertones MAC NC37, Lancôme Teint Idole Foundation N360, Fenty ProFilt’r Foundation in 260 or 290, deep brunette, blue-green eyes w/ gold flecks.

Favorite look you worn: Yesterday, because my eyes have been so itchy and watery, I went with a simpler eye look using CP Truth SSS all over my lid as my primer, a little MAC Orb on the browbone to mute the shine, only did crease work blown up and out using MAC Soft Brown, Folie and Handwritten. My usual wings, tighline, mascara and used Sephora Contour Pencil in Diving In Malaysia on lower lashline. For cheeks: UD Jawbone, Essence Satin Love, and KVD Emerald from Alchemist. Lips: Nyx Earthtone Slim Lip Pencil, MAC Retro lipstick, Fenty Gloss Bomb. Simple, but so pretty!

Most used product of the week: Anything neutral on my eyes due to the watering that’s been driving me bananas! Allergy eye drops have been a BFF, too!

Any new beauty discoveries: A few “Little Birdies” at MAC let me know during the course of our conversation that the simplicity of 90’s makeup will be coming back strong, red and super orange eyeshadow will be fading into the background very soon, as will the convoluted IG beauty. Let’s hope so! Although as I remember it, we *did* wear orangy browns and rust on our lids…plums and dusky purples, too.

90s makeup makes me very happy. It was such a great time in my life and I still adore the fashion and makeup from that decade. Brown and dark berry lips; smoky, smudgy eyes; Doc Martens… 🙂

Diving in Malaysia – one of my all time favourite liners; if Sephora decides to discontinue it (the way they did with Snakeskin Dress and Rooftop Party), I will be really ticked off!

I like what your MAC Birdies told you because I’m one of those who deplores all those deep orange, red-ly red and deep fuchsia pink eyeshadows and palettes. I remember having an orange/coppery toned e/s trio or maybe a quad from Mary Quant waaaay back in the 70’s but the shades were much more wearable than what’s floating around now. Yay for the return of neutrals (not that they ever left my collection) – I wonder if that’s in part what’s behind the re-release/permanent status of those MAC shadows (I got Goldbit last week and just adore it).

Mariella, I sure as heck hope they’re right! And I can and do wear ABH MR and CP Yes, Please. But I also realize that many people cannot or will not. Therefore, there have to be more options for TRUE neutrals and cool neutrals, as well, and not just a steady churning out of bright red based eyeshadow palettes.

Hate to break it to you but unless IG goes somewhere and as long as people like Kylie Jenner still have influence ,IG looks are here to say lol. Happy 90s looks are still in fashion. My favorite decade:)

I remember rusty and plum shades in the 90s, too. And red, blue-gray, and lavender-greige (like NARS Lhasa). It wasn’t all just browns. I’ll personally be glad to see the “Instagram Look” go.

My skin tone/coloring: fair, cool
Favorite look you wore: IT CC Cream, Dior Rosy Glow blush, MAC Capricious lipsick (which, for some reason, wore off to leave a really lovely shade), Smashbox Night Shoot trio, worn pretty traditionally (lightest shade on inner corners, med. shade on outer, deepest in crease)
Most used product of the week: Kiehls’ Daily Reviving Concentrate; IT Illuminating Bye Bye Under-Eye
Any new beauty discoveries: Pixi’s rose “serum”….not sure how much it changes my skin but, man oh man, does it ever smell lovely.

Skin tone: Very pale with cool undertones.

Favorite look this week: A very simple look using two shadows from Chanel. The first is Ombre Premier in shade 38 Titane over the mobile lid and then Ombre Premier in shade Silver Screen in the low crease and blended out with a grey shade from a Heimish Grey Eye Shadow palette that the shades do not have individual names. I used my Chosungah 22 foundation and used a Jill Stuart Blush in shade 03. For my lips I used the L’Oréal Colour Riche Shine in Map to Nirvana. The look was very simple but suited my mood as the eyes appeared very bright given the silvery shades.

Most used product: Benefit Bad Girl Bang Mascara and not in a good way. I used the mascara everyday trying to determine a way to make it work for me but have given up on it and I am just tossing it out. Clumpy, flakey and smears on me. After two coats I had one big eye lash. Just terrible but the girls at Ulta were raving about it so I figured it must be user error but I don’t think so, LOL.

Beauty discoveries: Nothing this week.

That Heimish Grey Eyeshadow palette is very pretty. Do you find some of the paler shades fairly similar to each other on the eye?
What a shocking mascara – no wonder you are tossing it. I think the Benefits mascaras are overrated. It is definitely not you Deborah.

I have two of the Heimish Dailism palettes, the grey and a mostly coral one. There are two different finishes in the grey palette so the lighter shades are a little different when it comes to actual use on the eye but you are right, in terms of tone, there is little difference. Because I like doing cool eye looks and mostly end up doing warm toned looks because those are the shades most prevalent to me, it is nice to have cooler toned greys to use as transition shades and brow bone highlights.

My skin tone/coloring: Light neutral skin tone, green eyes, dark hair

Favorite look worn: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Vol. 1 Eyeshadow Palette (Cave in crease, Starfish on lid, Sand on brow bone, Mermaid on inside corners), Clinique Brow Shaper in Charcoaled, Cover Girl Clump Crusher Mascara, Bare Minerals BarePro Performance Wear Liquid Foundation in Sateen 05, Tarte Shape Tape concealer, RCMA No Color Powder, NARS Orgasm powder blush, MAC Ladybug lipstick

Most used product of the week: Everything listed in the last question with the exception of the Ladybug lipstick. I wore a different lip color every day.

Any new beauty discoveries: I’ve discovered how amazing the Clarisonic Mia is. Why did it take me so long to get one?

What do you like most about the Clarisonic Mia? What makes it so special and now a must-have? I’ve thought of getting one…

I had been reluctant to spend so much money on a Clarisonic and had been using an Olay ProX brush for the past couple years. I finally decided to take the plunge, and then had to decide which Mia to get. I chose the much less expensive Mia 1 (in hot pink!) because it seemed to have everything I need. In comparison to the Olay brush, the Mia is extremely soft, gentle, and luxurious, and it doesn’t tug on my pores the way the Olay brush did. My face feels super clean and a lot smoother than it ever did before. The way I use it is to wet it, pump some Clinique Mild Liquid Facial Soap directly onto the brush, then move it in small circular motions all over my face until it times out. I’m still getting used to the vibration it has, especially on my nose, but I’m so glad I bought it.

My skin tone/coloring: MAC NC20 / NW20.

Favorite look you wore: not much, am working on some crazy skin issues at the moment.

Most used product of the week: Cosmetics Warrior mask by Lush. Also Dr Jart’s Ceramidin gel-cream.

Any new beauty discoveries: Got several items from the WnW MegaGlo collection from wetnwildbeauty.com after seeing a try-on / demo by jeffreestar on youtube. It’s various iridescent shimmer products with a goth theme. I’m not into goth, but I love shimmers and am curious to try more iridescents. Got the loose powder, the highlighter stick, and the highlighter compacts. Lots of fun, and some very nice products here!

My skin tone/colouring: Porcelain with pink undertones

Favourite look you worn: I used the L’Oreal Golden Emerald on my lids, Darkhorse from UD Naked 1 in the crease and Half Baked in the corners. Very pretty.

Most used product of the week: Apart from my staples, I have been using a variety of eyeshadow palettes (Nakeds 1 & 2, Golden Emerald, Les Gris from Guerlain and Vice 2) and lipsticks too.

Any new beauty discoveries: Yes, when I was shopping my stash I found the perfect green eyeshadow: L’Oreal’s Infalliable’s Golden Emerald. Just a beautiful shimmery green shade

My skin tone/coloring: Very fair with neutral undertones; magenta/red hair; hazel/green eyes.

Favorite look you worn: EYES — UD Primer Potion in Enigma; Igneous Cosmetics (etsy) pressed Matte Eyeshadows in Lilac (crease and lower lid) and Crocus (outer corners) and pressed Shimmer Eyeshadow in African Amethyst (mobile lid); ABH e/s single in Enchanted (outer 1/3 of mobile lid); MUG Highlighter in Celestial (brow bone, inner corner). UD 24/7 Eye Pencil in Perversion (upper waterline) and Psychedelic Sister (lower waterline); UD Troublemaker Mascara. MUG e/s single in Bitten (brows). LIPS — Ciate Glitter Flip in Iconic lined with Nyx Suede Matte Liner in Oh, Put It On. CHEEKS — Apocalyptic Beauty Blush in Till the End (LE) and MUG Celestial. FACE — Nyx Angel Veil Perfecting Primer; e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain (now called “Natural”); e.l.f. HD Powder in Sheer; Sephora Tranquil (contour); e.l.f. Mist & Set.

Most used product of the week: Ciate Glitter Flip in Iconic; e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain (my horrible cystic acne attack on the left side of my face finally healed); my usual dailies.

Any new beauty discoveries: Apocalyptic Beauty Blush in Till the End (LE) that came in their Valentine’s Mystery Box. It’s a mauve similar to UD Sheer Rapture, but a bit lighter, more luminous, and the golden shift is a little stronger. It’s stunning and really flattering on me. I told the owner she needs to make it permanent.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!