Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

1 of 10
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette

Naked Cyber

Urban Decay Naked Cyber Eyeshadow Palette ($49.00 for 0.492 oz.) is the newest in the Naked range and is supposed to centered around duochrome eyeshadows, which are ones that have shimmer that shifts between two colors, but the majority of the included duochromes were weaker than what we’ve seen from Urban Decay in the past, let alone what other brands (indie and mainstream) are doing.

It’s also puzzling why the palette is so incredibly light-leaning, which has been an issue with more Naked palettes than not, but duochromes often sing over darker bases, so the lack of a matte black eyeshadow alone has me scratching my head. The quality was all over the place, but it was generally weaker with drier, flakier shimmers that had fallout, poorer coverage, and weak duochrome shifts, while the mattes were thin, somewhat powdery, and more prone to fading.

Despite not being surprised at all that this palette was a miss, I still am baffled by why the quality and consistent of Urban Decay’s eyeshadow has become what it has. There are lots of brands at similar price points putting out better quality products, and given how competitive and oversaturated the industry is, it doesn’t make sense to keep offering dud after dud products. How many of us are expecting a flop rather than a hit? The continuation of disappointing releases damages UD’s reputation and that can be hard to recover from.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Urban Decay AI 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay AI 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay AI 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay AI 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay AI 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay AI 24/7 Eyeshadow

AI

AI is a light, golden beige with moderate, warm undertones and a satin finish. It had a very powdery, thin texture that felt a little dry and was prone to sheering out to the point where the shimmer came away from the more matte, powdery base. It had semi-sheer coverage, which did not build up and did not improve over primer. It started to fade after six hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Talc, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ci 77007 / Ultramarines, Zinc Stearate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Boron Nitride, Ci 77492 / Iron Oxides, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Caffeine, Cellulose.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 2
Urban Decay Meta Data 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meta Data 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meta Data 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meta Data 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meta Data 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Meta Data 24/7 Eyeshadow

Meta Data

Meta Data is a light peach with warmer undertones and a metallic sheen. It seemed like it might have wanted to go slightly greenish in its shift, but I couldn’t really find it in person. The texture was more loosely-pressed, drier but had it was a little thicker and yielded opaque coverage. It applied evenly but had light fallout during application. This shade lasted well for seven hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Talc, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Zinc Stearate, Ci 77007 / Ultramarines, Ci 77742 / Manganese Violet, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Ci 77492 / Iron Oxides, Silica, Tin Oxide, Caffeine, Cellulose, Boron Nitride.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Urban Decay Virtual 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Virtual 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Virtual 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Virtual 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Virtual 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Virtual 24/7 Eyeshadow

Virtual

Virtual is a light orange with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage, which was prone to sheering out due to the drier, thin consistency that was moderately powdery. There were signs of fading after six hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Cellulose, Boron Nitride, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Ci 77492 / Iron Oxides, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 3
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Electrode 24/7 Eyeshadow

Electrode

Electrode is a light-medium orange with warmer, yellower undertones and flecks of purple and gold micro-sparkle over a frosted finish. It had opaque pigmentation in a single layer, but the texture was firmer, somewhat stiff, and harder to pick up evenly with a dry brush. I know what kind of shift this should have been… but it wasn’t there at all. It wore well for seven hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Zinc Stearate, Talc, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Ci 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Tin Oxide, Cellulose, Boron Nitride, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 3
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Cyberspace 24/7 Eyeshadow

Cyberspace

Cyberspace has a light, tangerine orange base with contrasting green-to-blue shifting pearl. It had opaque color coverage with a strong shift, which made it one of the better shades in the palette. The texture was thin, slightly dry, but it was blendable and didn’t sheer out too readily. It stayed on well for seven hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Zinc Stearate, Ci 77007 / Ultramarines, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Tin Oxide, Talc, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Cellulose, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 2
Urban Decay Gadget 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Gadget 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Gadget 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Gadget 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Gadget 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Gadget 24/7 Eyeshadow

Gadget

Gadget is a very light orange-leaning coral with a matte finish. The consistency was quite powdery with a thin, drier feel that resulted in fallout and the color sheering out from semi-opaque to semi-sheer. It wore decently for six hours before fading a bit.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Ci 77742 / Manganese Violet, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Ci 77007 / Ultramarines, Ci 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Cellulose.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 3
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Call IT 24/7 Eyeshadow

Call IT

Call IT has a medium-dark pink base with warmer undertones and cooler pink and gold shimmer that gave it a frosted finish. The texture was firmer, stiffer, and somewhat dry, which resulted in a more semi-opaque level of coverage that had some fallout during application. While applying with a fingertip improved coverage and adhesion, it further compacted the eyeshadow in the pan, which made it harder to use the next time. It lasted for seven hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Oryza Sativa Extract / Rice Extract, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Talc, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Nitride, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer. (D263683/1). Zinc Stearate, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Tin Oxide, Sorbic Acid, Caffeine, Cellulose, Boron.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 2
Urban Decay Not a Bot 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Not a Bot 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Not a Bot 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Not a Bot 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Not a Bot 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Not a Bot 24/7 Eyeshadow

Not a Bot

Not a Bot is a light, pinky-mauve with warmer undertones and a shiny, sparkling finish. It had sheer color coverage, which did not build up without using it pressed on a tacky base with a fingertip. The texture was dry, chunky, and very prone to fallout. There was very little that translated to my lid dry, and then most of it had dropped off my lid within a few hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Zinc Stearate, Ci 77000 / Aluminum Powder, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Silica, Ci 77492 / Iron Oxides, Tin Oxide, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Cellulose, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 2
Urban Decay Static 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Static 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Static 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Static 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Static 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Static 24/7 Eyeshadow

Static

Static is a silvery-blue base with dimensional shimmer that contrasted between pale blue and pale green, though it was less shifty as it was merely contrasting pearl/micro-sparkle. The texture was drier, almost chunky to the touch, and firmly-pressed into the pan, so I had to jab at the surface to dislodge product at all. I’d recommend using this with a dampened brush as a fingertip further compacted the powder into the pan, which made it more difficult to use the next use. It had sheer coverage, which did not build up well, that stayed on for five hours and had moderate fallout over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Stearate, Mica, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Tin Oxide, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Cellulose, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 3
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Y3K 24/7 Eyeshadow

Y3K

Y3K has a medium, reddish-plum base with warmer undertones and blue-to-purple shifting pearl. It had opaque pigmentation that adhered fairly well to bare skin, though the texture was somewhat thin, so it was better applied over a primer, which gave it better hold. This shade showed signs of fading after seven and a half hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Zinc Stearate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Talc, Ci 77000 / Aluminum Powder, Ci 77492 / Iron Oxides, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Silica, Tin Oxide, Sorbic Acid, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Cellulose, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 3
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Override 24/7 Eyeshadow

Override

Override is a darker, coral-red base with flecks of green, red, and gold sparkle throughout. It had semi-opaque color coverage with a drier, chunkier texture that would be best applied with a dampened brush (with an adhesive spray of some sort, ideally!) to ensure it kept its coverage, applied evenly, and didn’t have tons of fallout. It wore decently for seven hours but had moderate fallout over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Boron Nitride, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Cellulose.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

1 of 2
Urban Decay Byte 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Byte 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Byte 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Byte 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Byte 24/7 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Byte 24/7 Eyeshadow

Byte

Byte is a deeper, rich orange with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had opaque pigmentation with a smooth, blendable texture that was slightly thin but significantly improved over the other matte shades in the palette. It lasted for eight hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.06 oz. - $316.67 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "high-pigment" with "ultra-smooth color payoff with maximum blendability" while being long-wearing. The brand is confusing, as they claim "up to 12 hours."

The majority of the shades I tested were pigmented--semi-opaque to opaque--with the matte finish having the most variance. The lighter matte shades tended to be thinner, more powdery, and sheerer as a result of those texture differences. The more satin-to-pearl shimmer shades tended to be thinner, too, and they sometimes applied more unevenly or had to be built up. The higher-sheen shimmer shades tended to be pigmented, lightly creamy, and blendable with good adhesion.

They wore between eight and nine hours on average, which is solid wear time but similar to a lot of other powder eyeshadows for me, so it wasn't extra long-wearing in context.

In comparison to the last iteration of the brand's eyeshadow formula, it did not feel vastly different. The mattes seemed a little thinner and a touch more powdery, while the shimmers were a touch thicker on average with some of the more pearl-like finishes having weaker coverage and felt too firmly-pressed into the pan and looked thinner on, so they weren't as flattering to wear.

Browse all of our Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Ci 77491 / Iron Oxides, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Silica, Ci 77007 / Ultramarines, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Sorbic Acid, Ci 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, Caffeine, Cellulose, Boron Nitride.

Disclaimer: Ingredient lists are as available by the brand (or retailer) at the time of publishing. Please always check product packaging, if it exists, for the ingredient list applicable to the product you're purchasing, or the brand or retailer's website for the most up-to-date ingredient list.

60 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Sad to say, but I’m going to call it; what we are seeing is the death of a once great brand. This palette seals that for me, as it is utter crap. And that’s me putting it in as mild of terms as possible.

Mariella, if I can get up to the Nordstrom Rack by me at the beginning of next week, I’m going to see if I can find some favorites, like Naked 2 and Born To Run. Maybe even a blush, if there’s any to be had. Truth is, I don’t believe that I will find anything, though.

I’m prepared to pay full price for a few of the 24/7 liners (or wait for the VIB Rouge 20% that should be coming along soon). I’m not entirely crazy about those pencils but there are a few I’d like to have if they’re going to vanish from the face of the earth – Mildew and especially Stash. Mind you, if I don’t get them, I’ll content myself with the Sephora dupes I have.

Yikes. I knew it was going to be bad based on the swatches, but this is just embarrassing. UD was my first big love in makeup, and a part of me keeps clinging to what they used to be. Breaking up is hard to do, but it looks like (except for eyeliners) I am done. 🙁

Oh, dear. Well, it does remind one of the eyeshadows that were around in the early 2000’s, in both quality and color range. So at least a successful throwback to something better forgotten?

I’m so confused by this palette. Who is it for? The color story skews super light, but also all of the mattes are orange. There’s creamsicle orange, pale coral orange, and dark orange. Who is that going to both show up on and look good on? I think it’s a very tiny percentage of people.

This choice of matte shades is actually baffling to me.

That is what I was thinking, but the poor quality won’t compare to the stuff they already have with these shades. I wanted this when I first saw it but waited for reviews and changed my mind.

I think it’s time for Urban Decay to either improve its quality or pack it up as a brand. Every single makeup company out there can make a decent orange eyeshadow. There’s no reason for them to be releasing such terrible palettes. If Wet n Wild makes better mattes than you it’s not a good sign. They’ve also done the Naked concept to death.

That’s so disappointing! This was the first Urban Decay release that’s piqued my interest in years so it’s a shame that the quality isn’t there.

They used to have such a strong identity, but they’ve completely lost it

Well, I’ll say pretty much what I said back when they released Wild West…Not a Bot reminds me of Cowboy Rick and the older shade Provocateur. Did they learn nothing from the first four times they released that icy, glittery mess?
Why do they keep trying to make silvery shimmers with coppery chunks happen and fail every time?

This is sad. Cyberspace and Static (as well as the other shades) could be really pretty and unique. I’ve been hoping they’d do a palette similar to Born on the Run and the Ultraviolet one, with several deeper shades of purple, indigo, gunmetal gray, a few transitions, and really unique duochromes.

Their eye pencils and palettes used to be very good quality, with great color stories. It seems many drugstore brands now have better quality that UD, at a much better price.

Aww. That’s a bummer. I really liked the color scheme and was planning on getting this palette. I don’t want to struggle to pick up shadow.

The color story didn’t interest me in this palette but I sure didn’t expect it to review so badly, it seems like they can’t do anything right lately. I haven’t bought much from this brand for so long, it used to be my number 1. It’s in the trash now! UD what happened?

Honestly… I think it may be time to stop reviewing Urban Decay altogether. For the past few years they are consistently poor quality and do not deserve to be given chance after chance anymore.

I bought this palette during UD text list access because I just couldn’t resist the look of the duochromes. So far I’ve only had a chance to use 4 of the shades-Virtual, Gadget, AI and Static-due to my makeup randomizing (more Cyber shades or a more involved Cyber look just haven’t had their turn yet) but I didn’t notice any major problems with any of the shades. It’s bringing back up questions that I’ve found myself asking several times before when a poorly-reviewed product’s worked well for me: Do less-saturated formulas (in this case, made by UD) work better with my pale, cool, combination skin than with other people’s skin colors and textures? Do I just have really good luck with getting high-quality items from most brands? Do my skin tone/undertone and eyelid condition combine to make me insanely lucky with most eye products? Do I just have more patience with finicky formulas than most? Or is it some combination of all of the above?

No, it’s not just you. I think it’s just that Christine’s rating system has a “type”, and subtle makeup often rates poorly on that scale. I’m not saying it’s intentional, but it’s like when someone buys a sheer finish nail polish and then rates it on the same scale as a nail polish that’s meant to have full opacity in one coat. You can’t really measure them on the same scale.

What bothers me more though is the feeding frenzy that often results in the comments by the regulars whenever a product rates poorly. They seem personally offended when a product isn’t for them and start predicting the end of the world or laughing at people who may like the product in question. “If you like xyz then this is for you l0lz!”

I rate based on what it’s supposed to be – if these were supposed to be sheer, then they’d be rated on whether they lived up to being sheer or not… so it wouldn’t be rated on the same scale as your nail polish example at all! The system doesn’t have a “type” – products are rated based on what the brand claims, not what I want or what the system “wants” since it is totally based on what the brand markets the product as.

I agree with you. For me, (pale skin, blonde, blue eyes) the less pigmented eyeshadow formulas are just easier to work with and I get good results without having to try too hard. Naked Cyber is really good for my everyday life and I’m happy with my purchase.

Sheerer eyeshadows, especially ones that are buildable, work best for my pale skin and crepey middle-aged eyelids. So, something like this that has a subtle shift and would not contrast much will work well for a one-and-done for someone like me. However, orange-based tones don’t look great on olive skin, so it would be more flattering for my particular complexion if the bases were more gray, green, or neutral brown. But I strongly suspect that the sheerer formulations that larger mainstream mid-tier brands do are intentional – their customer base is largely middled aged and on the lighter portion of the skintone specturm and the term “pigmented” sounds good in marketing terms, but a lot of their non-makeup-enthusiast customers in this demographic would struggle with a very pigmented shadow due to the color skipping on crepey lids. The downside is that these formulas are less accessible for other portions of the customer base, such as folks with deeper skin tones, on which these shadows fail to show up at all.

L’Oréal really need to decide what to do with this brand. Its current strategy seems to be to milk it for all that it can, while it can. However that isn’t a viable idea in the long run. Wouldn’t be surprised if they offload the brand to someone else.

Ouch. This is just pathetic, and for such an established brand (and one that should know better!), a real embarrassment. Where is quality control??

People calling for the “death of the brand” what they seem to forget is that the average customer is not reading Temptalia or any beauty blog for that matter. Urban Decay is pretty much at every airport, and in a lot of stores, with nice displays, and they will sell to the average woman, who goes in and looking for something once a year or even less often.

Sorting by “best selling” on etailers is really revealing – stuff that is of less interest to enthusiasts is often at the top of sales and stays there for a LONG time!

I bough this palette just because of the cool packaging, and while I didn’t expect it to be the greatest palette ever… it’s certainly so awful that I’m wondering if I got one from the worst batch ever made lol

I was really hoping that this would be good. I really want more duochromes and multichromes in my collection, but living in Asia makes ordering from indie brands a lot less attractive.

I’m just not that keen on paying in excess of 20USD for shipping when I could just be paying for actual product with that money instead. Maybe if I could just make a big order and get all the shades I want it would be a better proposition but something is always out of stock.

Urban Decay on the other hand, is very accessible. I can pop down to a store or get it delivered with free shipping. Too bad these supposed duochromes don’t actually show up as such.

This is the first palette in the Naked series I passed on for a plethora of reasons, beginning with the color story which has no appeal to me. While I’m glad I did skip it, it is a sad story for Urban Decay. I have such a soft spot for UD since the brand — and specifically the Naked palettes — was my first foray into “high end” makeup. Oh, how the mighty have fallen!

Urban Decay was once my favorite brand. The only things I have bought from them were a few backups of my favorite things when they were being discontinued. Since L’O’real purchased them, they are just over priced L’O’real products, even the single eye shadows come in the same packaging as the old L’O’real singles from the holographic collection from a few years ago. I have lost all hope that Urban Decay is going to get back to it’s former glory of edgy, beautiful, excellent performing products. Most of my favorites have been discontinued, and now, Wendy Zomnir has started a new makeup company called Caliray. She appears to have given up as well. I have enough backups now, so I am just going to move on, and just never look back. It’s just far too disappointing at this point, and I see L’O’real letting the brand die, just as they have so many other brands they have purchased, made the money back, and just let it free fall into oblivion. They once were an amazing brand, and now, they just aren’t even the same caliber of some drug store brands. It’s a death knell for sure at this point.

Wow! I have a totally different opinion about this palette!!! Naked Cyber is just as lovely as I thought it would be and I’m using it daily since I bought it. I prefer a delicate, light look with my eye makeup and need a subtle look for work and this palette is perfect.
The colours show exactly as in the pans on my skin. I love the delicate “special effects” and duochromes these shadows provide. And they are totally visible! In fact, I prefer these to some more garish “can be seen from the Moon”-style duochromes! I’m pale, so maybe that’s the reason?
I used to be a professional makeup artist and I remember what my teacher once said. I asked for the right technique to make blending the dark eyeshadow easier and he replied “next time, just take a lighter shade! It’s easier than trying to blend a dark shade to almost nothing!” So with my light skin and preferences for a subtle look these shadows are great for me! This palette is just so easy to work with!!
I use Virtual and / or Gadget as my crease shade and Byte if I’m doing a bold look. The only shade this palette is missing is something really light for my inner corner! A.I., Meta Data and Not a Bot are not light enough.
The staying power is definitely above average – I have oily lids and hooded eyes and always use a primer and these shadows last 10+ hours on me.

Poor UD!
I mean, of course they shouldn’t release a palette like this, with all the problems it has, but once upon a time it was a great brand, innovative, fun, interesting, and now they don’t seem to be able to make eyeshadows at all. It saddens me, seeing the palettes of late.
I still love my original Naked palette as well as Naked 2 and 3, I still love Perversion eyeliner pencil, and the lipsticks. I want to continue loving this brand, but they do make it very hard. I think I’ll break up with the eyeshadows but continue my love affair with the lipsticks.

I’m really surprised they keep creating such mediocre products. Like you said, there’s just too many quality brands and products out there to not even try to improve. It’s odd to considering this is a prestige brand, which clearly defines more as a mass brand given the consistent quality misses, which also means the price point is way too high. You would think they would stop coming out with new products until they got it right. Surely someone that works there has pointed out their quality as it compares to other brands. It’s really baffling in a line of business that isn’t deemed a necessity that they would waste money on new drops without first ensuring it won’t be a flop. Born to Run is the only palette they’ve had in the past 10 years that was a solid win to me.

Your candor is always so helpful. Hope some readers benefitted from this review! My friend was looking into this palette, and I warned her it may have frustrating texture and longevity issues when compared with her beloved Born to Run palette.

I’m just tired of the Naked schtick altogether. I just find this palette unappealing all around even though I’m pale and duochrome would ordinarily make my pitter-pat, but this was just not a palette that needed to exist. The color story is boring and shadows inconsistent. They should have just made a mini-Cyber themed release with three or four actually decent shadows, a couple of liners, and maybe a lipstick and gloss. This didn’t need to be a 12-pan palette, but they seem so committed to making the “Naked” thing work and just manhandling a theme to fit into that “Naked” box.

The last part you said resonates with me so much! I just feel like they need a new series? Like they just shoehorn any 12-pan palette into “Naked,” when I feel like 1) revamping the Naked range using better formulas and improving diversity (e.g. instead of Naked, Naked 2, Naked 3, it could be Naked Light, Naked Medium, Naked Rich), and 2) a NEW series that complements Naked palettes.

I got Cyber as a sponsored review sample, and my word. MY WORD. M Y W O R D

I am with you 100%. Well, technically I had a far worse experience with Y3K, but it was ultimately a “don’t buy at any cost.” And yet the idea and color story was perfectly sound, and kind of within the bounds of the (diluted) Naked branding, I could see CT rolling this out if they ever got into duochromes.

This is so weird to me. Urban Decay has been doing duochromes before they were big. Like, I remember ages ago buying an eyeshadow single that was a dark green that shifted purple because it was the first time I had seen such a thing. It was UD. What is this mess? How do you make a duo chrome palette with maybe two strong shifts, when you were one of the OGs in the field?

That sounds like excellent analysis, polishedhippie. Perhaps UD marketing calls it “pigmented” (Christine’s “sheer”) because they know pigmented sounds good (if anyone even bothers to read the claim!) but their customers actually need sheerness and ease of use. This discrepancy would account for the “poor” performance here.

The sheerness is deliberate if their primary demographic is, indeed, one with textured lids (over 30/35). That makes sense because it’s the originally-20/30 year old demographic that’s been following them for over a decade.

When there’s a mismatch between performance and brand claim, palettes tend to rate “poorly” on Christine’s system. Some of my favorite palettes and products (eg OG ND Star, Benefit’s Dandelion, PMGs shiny white special shade in Midnight Sun) rated poorly but were so easy to make nice, easy looks with, before I really got into makeup. My favorite e/s brand, Suqqu, would probably rate rather poorly, with sheer shadows and occasional lack of color saturation. But it’s absolutely stunning on a textured lid, and looks progressively better across the day.

I think once you go pigmented (PMG, ND, indie brands), it’s hard to go back to sheer. There’s a learning curve to working with pigments and pigmented shadows, where palettes like this you can smear on your lids and go. It will give you a shimmer and won’t make you look like a rabbit, a raccoon, or like a black eye. It’s safe.

And for dryness – a lot of us oily lid girls don’t mind that. Also, that’s what primer is for.

As for the orange tones – it wouldn’t have been immediately obvious to me that I cannot use those tones, if I didn’t read Temptalia and follow a few bloggers and MUAs religiously. I would naturally gravitate towards a few shadows and ignore the rest that don’t suit me. I’ve panned UD and Too Faced shadows and left most of the other shades untouched, content with the use I did get out of the palette. How many of us use every single shadow in a palette, anyway?

For some reason This palette in the concept reminds me of K-beauty’s makeup, that are more sheer, more wearable on a daily basis, and more oriented towards fair skin tone. That being said, I have to disagree with this line: ‘the continuation of disappointing releases damages UD’s reputation and that can be hard to recover from’.
If you look at the European market, and Asian market, on Sephora, UD’s website, and other retailer’s webstores, you’ll find thousands or 5 stars positive comments. The palette is rated 4,5/5 stars so far. People are raving about this palette, are being introduced to the wonderful world of duochromes, and they love it. The average consumer has different expectations than a consumer which is a makeup enthusiast. UD’s palettes are still best sellers for a reason. When I ask a vendor at Douglas for example, they say that Too Faced and Urban Decay are what sells the most (and the modern renaissance of ABH). That’s the reason why indie brands with the crazy multichromes like Clionadh are still making small batches, there isn’t enough demand to make 100k units, and they are only represented by a niche community in a way.
Overall, I find this to be a very interesting topic. And don’t hesitate to correct me if I am wrong, but this is what I could witness overall, I think these palettes aren’t targeted towards makeup enthusiast, but more the average day to day consumer ^^

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!