ColourPop Aura & Out Palette Review & Swatches

1 of 5
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Aura and Out

Colour Pop Aura and Out 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette ($12.00 for 0.36 oz.) is a new eyeshadow palette with five more matte eyeshadows, three shimmer eyeshadows, and one pressed glitter. The mattes were actually better-performing, while the shimmers left a bit to be desired. The matte shades were more substantial, more velvety with greater pigmentation without sheering out too readily. New Age applied decently, while Soul Sister was hard to apply without it turning patchy or emphasizing skin texture. Healing Heart was the easiest of the shimmers to use.

Aura and Out

LELimited Edition. $12.00.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
84%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop Young Love Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Young Love Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Young Love Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Young Love Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Young Love Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Young Love Pressed Powder Shadow

Young Love

Young Love is a muted white with cool undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation with a slightly drier, firmer consistency that I had to use with a heavier hand to pick up with a brush, though there was no fallout. It wore well for seven and a half hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

Young Love

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
83%
Total
1 of 3
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop Energetics Pressed Glitter

Energetics

Energetics has a clear base with small, multi-colored glitter that seemed to shift between pink, peach, and silver to green and aqua. It contains plastic (PET) glitter, and it is not intended for the immediate eye area. It had medium coverage (in the form of glitter) that had good dispersion and spreadability with a more adhesive base. It stayed on my skin with minimal movement for awhile, though there were some stray particles that had migrated over an eight-hour period.

Ingredients

*Not intended for use in the immediate eye area. Polyethylene Terephthalate, Dimethicone, Polylactic Acid, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Myristate, Chlorphenesin, Dehydroacetic Acid.

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Glitter" contain Polyethylene Terephthalate, also known as plastic or PET glitter, and it is typically cosmetic grade glitter. Inclusion of this ingredient sometimes carries a warning (in the US) that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." This ingredient has not been approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. In recent years, some brands are including this product in their eyeshadows without any warning or callout and effectively marketing them as eyeshadows or including a symbol of an "eye" which suggests eye usage. Via CosIng for EU, PET glitter is permitted without any restrictions or limitations. For an in-depth look at whether cosmetic grade glitter is safe, please view this post.

Energetics

LELimited Edition.
B-
B-
7.5
Product
7.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
7.5
Longevity
5
Application
80%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop Vibez (Aura and Out) Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Vibez (Aura and Out) Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Vibez (Aura and Out) Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Vibez (Aura and Out) Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Vibez (Aura and Out) Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Vibez (Aura and Out) Pressed Powder Shadow

Vibez (Aura and Out)

Vibez (Aura and Out) is a bright, bluish-aqua with cool undertones and a matte finish with sparkles woven throughout. Some of the sparkles did translate during application, though they were more prone to diffusing and spreading further out than one might intend as they weren’t that well-bound with the base product. The consistency was soft, velvety, and more substantial but lightly powdery with mild fallout during application. It had nearly opaque pigmentation that could be built up. It lasted well for seven and a half hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Boron Nitride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl GlycolDimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Vibez (Aura and Out)

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
88%
Total
1 of 2
Colour Pop Ur a Vision Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Ur a Vision Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Ur a Vision Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Ur a Vision Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Ur a Vision Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Ur a Vision Pressed Powder Shadow

Ur a Vision

Ur a Vision is a medium-dark yellow with strong, warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. There were faint sparkles woven throughout the finish, which did not translate onto the eye area (seemed to get trapped in my brush rather than resulted in fallout). It had opaque pigmentation that applied well to bare skin with a smooth, even lay down of color that was easy to blend out along the edge. It wore well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Mica (CI 77019), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140).

Ur a Vision

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop Fresh Cut Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Fresh Cut Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Fresh Cut Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Fresh Cut Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Fresh Cut Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Fresh Cut Pressed Powder Shadow

Fresh Cut

Fresh Cut is a bright, light chartreuse green with warmer, yellower undertones at the edge and slightly less-warm overtone. The texture was soft, more substantial with a denser feel that wasn’t prone to being powdery but blended out with ease. It had nearly opaque pigmentation that didn’t sheer out too readily. It stayed on nicely for eight and a half hours before fading visibly and left a slight stain behind.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride , Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140).

Fresh Cut

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
1 of 2
Colour Pop New Age Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop New Age Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop New Age Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop New Age Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop New Age Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop New Age Pressed Powder Shadow

New Age

New Age is a bright, bluish-aqua with cool undertones and a warmer, green-gold shift paired with a metallic finish. It had nearly opaque color coverage in a single layer, but the more emollient texture made it harder to apply it evenly. I noticed the product would push around slightly, which resulted in thicker, more uneven areas of coverage. I tried applying it with my fingertips, which didn’t seem to improve it much, and I found application with a dampened brush to yield the best results. It lasted well for eight hours before fading a bit.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Magnesium Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Boron Nitride, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Dimethiconol, Phenoxyethanol, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Tin Oxide, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI77007).

New Age

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4
Application
83%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop Solar Hour Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solar Hour Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solar Hour Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solar Hour Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solar Hour Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solar Hour Pressed Powder Shadow

Solar Hour

Solar Hour is a deep yellow with strong, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had a firmer, stiffer texture that made it difficult to pick up product with a brush. I had the best luck using a subtle, jabbing motion to push product off of the surface of the pan and then picking it up with my brush. It had good color coverage that way, though building up was easiest, that blended out without too much effort. This shade wore well for eight hours before I noticed signs of fading.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492,CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Solar Hour

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B-
B-
7.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
7
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
81%
Total
1 of 2
Colour Pop Healing Heart Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Healing Heart Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Healing Heart Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Healing Heart Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Healing Heart Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Healing Heart Pressed Powder Shadow

Healing Heart

Healing Heart is a bright, light chartreuse green with strong, warm yellow undertones and a metallic sheen. It had opaque color coverage that adhered evenly to bare skin and blended out well along the edges. The consistency was dense without being overly firm, so it picked up well with a brush and wasn’t prone to fallout. It stayed on well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Magnesium Myristate, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Lauroyl Lysine, Talc, Silica, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Jojoba Esters, Phenoxyethanol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Tin Oxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Palmitic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol Dimethicone, Acacia Decurrens Extract, Polyglycerin-3, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019) Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) , Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140).

Healing Heart

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
1 of 3
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow
Colour Pop Soul Sister Super Shock Shadow

Soul Sister

Soul Sister is a light-medium, lime green with subtle, warmer undertones and cooler shimmer paired with a sparkling, frosted finish. It seemed like it was in the Super Shock formula, as it was a bit sponge-like to the touch and had moderate slip. It had semi-sheer coverage, which did not build up well, and it was patchy when applied no matter if I used a brush, wet brush, flat brush, or my fingertips. The formula seemed overly emollient, so the product seemed to push around and bunch up rather than spread or layer evenly. This shade lasted nicely for 10 hours without fading.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$6.00/0.07 oz. - $85.71 Per Ounce

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow is a cream-based formula that comes in a multitude of shades and finishes. The more metallic shades have the most slip to them (they have a “wetter” feel), while the more matte ones have a firmer, more clay-like consistency. Almost every shade I’ve tried from ColourPop has been exceptionally long-wearing (10+ hours of wear, usually there until I remove, even 14 hours later). The pigmentation can vary from shade to shade, but the average shade is quite pigmented.

From feedback I’ve seen from readers, many love them but some don’t like them at all. They aren’t a traditional cream eyeshadow, as they are denser (more sponge-like), and they apply best with flat, firm, synthetic brushes (I like the MAC 242 and 249) for me. The brand recommends using fingers for the most pigmented application, but I’ve only felt that fingers were necessary on a few shades (usually the super glittery ones).

The more matte shades can be on the drier side and vary from medium to opaque in coverage, though they're often buildable.  They can be a little hard to diffuse the edges of, though some are lovely to work with.

The more glittery shades have been the weakest to me, as they can be sheerer or harder to apply.  Sometimes, they are more pigmented and work like the other finishes in the formula, but often, they are sheerer and only function well patted on top of more pigmented eyeshadows to add glitter.  They do, however, tend to have little fallout over time with the occasional shade having a more moderate amount of fallout (but still less fallout than most powder eyeshadows with glitter).

Browse all of our Colour Pop Super Shock Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Isopropyl Myristate, Silica, Cetyl Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Tin Oxide, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Ethylhexylglycerin,Propylene Carbonate, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide, (CI 77891).

Soul Sister

LELimited Edition. $6.00.
D
D
5
Product
6
Pigmentation
6
Texture
10
Longevity
2.5
Application
66%
Total
About Reviewer
Review FAQ
Reviewer

Christine Mielke is the editor-in-chief and has been reviewing products for over 14 years.

She has normal-to-dry skin with occasional dryness on cheeks and nose. She has a light plus skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones (view her foundation matches here).

Learn more about her review process here.

Explore Temptalia

We're here to help you make better beauty purchases that you'll enjoy and love! We recommend signing up to take advantage of personalized features like tracking products you own, viewing dupes that you already have, and more!

Here are some useful resources for you:

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

6 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

As much as I really love this lime/aqua/yellow combo, I just don’t know about this little palette. There are quite a few shades I would love to use on my lids, the pressed glitter on my nails under a clear topcoat could even be fun, but the performance leaves something to be desired. 🙄

A very so so kind of palette from CP. Some of their releases are going the way Too Faced did a few years ago – their palettes contained a diverse range of ratings from very good to very poor.
I think there are quite a few pastel themed palettes out there to purchase instead of this one.

Eh, it’s kind of pretty, but I think too light and white-based for me. I think I look better in brighter pastels. I think I’m covered with my indie brand palettes and Huda Mercury Retrograde.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!