Urban Decay Spring 2017 Eyeshadows (Shimmers) Reviews, Photos, Swatches

01/06

Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow

1985

Urban Decay 1985 Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a brighter, medium-dark magenta purple with pink undertones and a pearly sheen. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, which was buildable to opaque coverage with a heavier hand or two layers patted on (not swept). The texture was firmer in the pan and a bit drier overall, though I had no issues blending and diffusing the shade on the lid. On me, the color lasted for just over eight hours before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Talc, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer. [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir) : Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide].

01/06

Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow

Blitz

Urban Decay Blitz Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a brilliant gold with subtle, warm undertones and a metallic sheen with subtle, gold micro-glitter. As far as gold can go, it wasn’t as warm-toned as a lot of Urban Decay golds, as it was less orange and more yellow in its base. The eyeshadow had a very smooth, blendable texture that was dense enough that it felt cream-like but worked and applied like a powder still. It had rich, opaque color coverage that lasted for eight hours on me. I did have a bit of fallout from the micro-glitter, though. This shade is exclusive to Urban Decay’s website.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Silica, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Tin Oxide, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer. [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir) : CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491 / Iron Oxides].

01/06

Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow
Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow

C-Note

Urban Decay C-Note Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a muted, medium green with neutral-to-cool undertones paired with a metallic finish. The more I blended out the eyesahdow, the more yellow the undertone appeared, but the reflective sheen seemed almost cool-toned at times. I found that it looked cooler when paired with cooler eyeshadows (blues) than warmer ones (golds). The pigmentation was fantastic, while the texture was soft, a little looser in the pan so it had a touch of fallout during application if I wasn’t careful, but it was blendable and fairly easy to use. It wore well for eight hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Talc, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Tin Oxide, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer. [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77491, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide].

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/06

Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow

Thunderbird

Urban Decay Thunderbird Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a deep brown with a smoldering, black base and a metallic finish. It was intensely pigmented and yielded full coverage with the barest touch of a brush. The consistency was smooth, dense without being too firm in the pan but had no fallout during application. It blended out easily on my lid and lasted for eight and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Talc, PTFE, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer. [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir) : CI 77400 / Copper Powder, Mica, CI 77491, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide].

01/06

Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow

Smokeout

Urban Decay Smokeout Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a deep, purple-leaning taupe with hints of brown in the underneath–the single version appeared deeper and cooler overall compared to the last time I tried it (in a palette). It had a smooth, blendable texture that wasn’t too soft or too firm in the pan. The pigmentation was incredible, and the eyeshadow wore well for eight hours before fading on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer . [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir) : CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77400 / Copper Powder].

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/07

Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow

Blonde

Urban Decay Blonde Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a light ivory with warm, yellowish undertones and a gold-to-pink shift in its pearly sheen. It had good color coverage with a soft, lightly dusty texture that applied without any trouble at all, but it could look a little dry on my lids at times (which are a bit drier at the moment). I noticed signs of fading after seven and a half hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer. [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir) : Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492 / Iron Oxides, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet].

01/04

Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Eyeshadows | Look Breakdown
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Eyeshadows | Look Breakdown
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow

Vice

Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow ($19.00 for 0.05 oz.) is a medium-dark purple with cooler undertones and a pearly sheen. The texture was slightly drier, so the edges didn’t look as seamless or as diffused when blended without some extra effort (but totally doable). It had semi-opaque, buildable pigmentation that lasted for just over seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Stearate, PTFE, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Alumina, Polyurethane-33, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Stearic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. All Shades May Contain (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Manganese Violet (Ci 77742), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Bronze Powder (Ci 77400), Copper Powder (Ci 77400), Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Yellow 5 (Ci 19140), Chromium Hydroxide Green (Ci 77289).

Product Availability

Urban Decay Eyeshadow $19.00/0.05 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

42 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

I was ready to rush out to get 1985 too, when I saw I already had it in my Vice 4 palette! I was obsessing about Cake in the Alice collection, but I think I like 1985 better now. It’s a cooler tone magenta and seems to go on better. Both are great colors though. One color I wish they’d put in a single is Paradox though. Freelove and Fireball don’t even compare to that color! They look washed out on me compared to Paradox.

Teal, purple UD, omg! Never saw a more beautiful look, seriously. Virtually every one of these singles is from a Vice palette, so might not be as atttractive to longtime UD collectors. Very nice, though.

It will be if it’s a shade you’ve used up! I’ve been praying they would release Blitz as a single for years! Now if only they’d revive Honey and the other deluxe eyeshadows.

I really like all of these, except that 1985 would not look especially well on me, but have good dupes (MUFE or Viseart) for all of them except Smokeout!

Definitely considering Smokeout. I recently realized I don’t really have a deep dark gray to smoke out (lol) my eye looks and one with a purplish undertone would be perfect. I don’t normally buy in-package singles but in this case it might be quite handy.

Christine, knowing there can sometimes be a marked difference between one release of a shadow and a repromote or how it was in a palette, would you say Smokeout is the same as a single as it was in the Vice 2 palette (I think it was Vice 2, though it could have been #1…I need to go and check!). I love how this shadow looks (love C-Note and Blitz also) but if it’s no better than the one in the palette, this is one I can skip.

Oops – I missed that! I was in such a frenzy, seeing these products, that I skipped right over your mention of the earlier one. I may have “no choice” but to get this in addition to the others I’m craving.

Christine, I have Smokeout in a Sephora 500 point reward mini palette (4 shades plus Smokeout eyeliner). Similar enough that I don’t need to get the single, or significantly different?

Smokeout is very cool! I imagine it’s perfect for exactly that, smoking out liner. Plus, not a ton of dupes! I’ll definitely pick that one up.

Blown away!!! These are swoon worthy both in shade and quality! While I do already have Blitz and Smokeout, this particular version of Smokeout looks utterly amazing with that slight purplish undertone. C-Note, Vice, Thunderbird and Blonde all may be coming home to this Mama! Possilby Smokeout, too…

Your eye look is stunning. These all look quite nice. I know I have a couple of dupes but overall I like these a lot and will pick up several of them. When I first saw C-Note in the pan I thought it was going to be another Lounge, Blue Brown situation and I have plenty of those but it is not and it is really stunning.

I was just checking for these at Sephora. They do have C Note and Thunderbird (and Blonde) but no Smokeout and they’ve got 1985 classified as “Matte”. I sure hope they get Blitz in the next week or so. They never got 24Kt Stilletos, which was one of the Buxom shadows I really wanted to buy, so I don’t even have that as a dupe. I might pick up C Note this week (though looking at the dupes, I have far too many of them but that doesn’t always stop me) and perhaps Thunderbird as well. Is it any surprise that my e/s glut overwhelms me???

As soon as I saw 1985, I knew I had to have it! Ordered it yesterday with 20% off at Ulta. Love the color, and the year 1985 brings back quite a few memories of brightly colored lipstick and clothes 😉

Hi Christine! Did you happen to pick up Shellshock as well? I saw that they also added Frostbite and Chains to the permanent line but I think those were released as part of the Vintage XX collection so you already reviewed them – but Shellshock appears to be new!

Also forgot to ask – I own the Vice 4 palette and was wondering how the single versions of C-Note & 1985 compare to the ones in the Vice 4? I want to try to avoid buying things I already have if they aren’t markedly different in quality! Thank you as always 🙂

All of them are really quite good. Some of them made it to my wishlist. I” on a low-buy, so I’ll see if I get more than one, and then it’ll be hard to decide. 1985 is lovely, Smokeout would get a lot of use, and I also added Thunderbird to the list.
Interesting and beautiful look, Christine. I love how you manage to incooperate so many vivid colours in one gorgeous look.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!