Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

01/11

Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Palettes | Look Details
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Palettes | Look Details
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis Palette | Look Details
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis Palette | Look Details
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis Palette | Look Details
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis Palette | Look Details
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette

Subversive Metalmorphosis

Pat McGrath Subversive Metalmorphosis MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette ($55.00 for 0.42 oz.) is a new, limited edition six-pan palette that includes four new shades and two repeated from last year’s limited edition Decadence palette. I think that Pat McGrath’s metallic eyeshadow formula may be one of the best on the market, if not the best, that I have tried myself. It is incredibly luxe; finely-milled, creamy without being heavy or thick, intensely pigmented but just as easily blended out for diffused edges. The eyeshadows retain such a high-shine finish without having to apply them with fingertips or a dampened brush; they are that rich and bright applied with a dry brush. The metallics just melt on my lids giving them a glow, and all that creaminess and shine doesn’t come with shorter wear or a specific application method.


01/02

Pat McGrath Metallurgy EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Metallurgy EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Metallurgy EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Metallurgy EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Metallurgy EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Metallurgy EYEdols Eyeshadow

Metallurgy

Metallurgy is a bright, medium-dark antique gold with subtle, warm undertones and a bright, metallic sheen. It was intensely pigmented that applied evenly to bare skin. The consistency was lightly creamy, smooth, and blendable with the slip of more silicone-heavy formulations but without the thickness, so it was incredibly easy to blend out and diffuse along the edges. It lasted well on my lids for almost 10 hours before creasing faintly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Copper EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Copper EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Copper EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Copper EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Copper EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Copper EYEdols Eyeshadow

Copper

Copper is a medium-dark, rosy copper with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had excellent pigmentation with a more loosely-pressed, slightly more sparkly texture (so it wasn’t as smooth as the other shades in the palette). I thought it was going to have major problems with fallout during application, but it adhered well to bare skin when I pressed and patted it on with just slight fallout as the creamier base seemed to really keep the sparkles in place. It wore well for nine and a half hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Copper
9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
98%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sterling EYEdols Eyeshadow

Sterling

Sterling is a bright silver with subtle, cool undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The eyeshadow was very nearly opaque in one layer, while the texture was soft, smooth, and lightly creamy but not quite as finely-milled and superb as some of the other shades in the palette. The eyeshadow applied well to bare skin, and I didn’t have any issues diffusing the edges. It wore well for almost 10 hours before I noticed a bit of fading.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Sodium Saccharin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vanillin, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Gold, Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000).

Sterling
9.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
97%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Smoked Amethyst EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Smoked Amethyst EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Smoked Amethyst EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Smoked Amethyst EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Smoked Amethyst EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Smoked Amethyst EYEdols Eyeshadow

Smoked Amethyst

Smoked Amethyst is a blackened purple with a pearly sheen and a few larger sparkles. The color payoff was opaque in a single layer–a little went a long way–with a soft, blendable consistency that was slightly creamier and denser but not thick. It applied well to bare skin, blended out easily along the edges, and lasted nicely for nine and a half hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Bronze EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Bronze EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Bronze EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Bronze EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Bronze EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Bronze EYEdols Eyeshadow

Bronze

Bronze is a medium-dark, golden copper with warm undertones and a metallic finish. It was richly pigmented with a smooth, lightly creamy texture that applied evenly and blended out easily along the edges with almost no effort. It wore well for nine and a half hours on me before fading slightly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Bronze
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

01/02

Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Standard EYEdols Eyeshadow

Gold Standard

Gold Standard is a rich gold with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. The texture was smooth, lightly creamy, and blendable without being too thick or too thin–it was denser but not thick or heavy, so it had the intensity and high-shine finish of a dampened eyeshadow without having to wet a brush. The eyeshadow had opaque color payoff that stayed on nicely for almost 10 hours on me.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Silica, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Saccharin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Vanillin, Tin Oxide, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Gold, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492).

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
100%
Total

Bonus: MTHRSHP Video Overview ♫

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Pat McGrath MTHRSHP Eyeshadow Palette $55.00/0.42 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

44 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

That smoked amethyst is so pretty. I’m on a no-buy for shadows; but, this palette is lovely. I purchased a bronze collection earlier this year for my older sister for Mother’s Day; and, she uses it every day. So, I would say that Pat McGrath delivers the goods yet again.

So. Of course I had to enlarge the ingredients pic to see whether sodium saccharin was still an ingredient in Gold Standard and Sterling. Pleased to see that it has been removed from Gold Standard, however it is still in Sterling. Which is fine with me, as I hate how silver eyeshadow looks on me anyway! Other than Sterling, I’m in love with the other 5 shades. 20% off may just make this one worth it, eh?

Weird indeed! Honestly, I really do wish all these cosmetic companies would quit using that ingredient, because not everyone reads the ingredients listed on cosmetics intentionally looking for an artificial sweetener.

I have to look it up thinking of Sorbitol is a preservative used in gelatin prosthetics.

I could only assume they use sodium saccharin as a binder or a preservative but that is a strange one for powder product that doesn’t need flavour or scent.

Farewell, farewell, sweet paycheck of mine.

Y’know, at this point I should just cut out the middle man and have my salary sent straight to Pat McGrath.

I think I died a little when I got this in my sephora box yesterday, then again when I saw these swatches! I remember last week I was looking at your swatches and watching the ratings A B C etc.. i wondered what kind of products you would actually give and A+ to and here it is!!!

You’ll usually find the A+ ratings on single products… usually where brands make reasonable wear-time claims and/or colors that don’t seem to be hard to do (like a good red lipstick!). It is pretty hard on a palette as perfect score means there can’t be any flubs, so even if the average rating is 4.8/5, it rounds down in that instance as IMO, you can’t say it’s 5/5 if something was at all wrong!

I love her metallics but sadly, they don’t love the textured skin on my eyelids. I can use a little on my lid but not the crease or browbone. Born too soon.

Interesting to hear that they don’t work on the brow bone! I’m aware of lid/crease issues with some shimmers but didn’t occur to me that brow bone could be an issue!

PMG’s eyeshadows just keep getting better and better. This palette is stunning. Your eye look is sensational.
The combination of Metallurgy and Smoked Amethyst would be incredibly beautiful.

Mine hasn’t shipped out yet, but so long as it does no regrets here.

I’ve been on a mostly Limited Edition no buy but I’ve been craving a shimmer formula palette from one of the higher end brands for years because all palette comes with shades of brown for blending purpose and I’m drowning in them. lol

Love Metallurgy (but I’ve got Nars Kauai and a few other dupes) and Smoked Amethyst; the other shades don’t really excite me which is why I said I wish I could choose 1 or 2 shadows from each of the palettes to make one of my own filled with shades I really love (mind you, I think most would be the light shades in almost all of them that are quite similar to Metallurgy).

I’d love to see PMG do singles, mostly because I think she has some really complex shades but not all of them are as interesting/unique/worth it from a $$$ perspective relative to all the other great eyeshadows on the market… but would you realistically pay $28-34 for a single? I’m sure some will (hello, Tom Ford singles, some shades sold out!), but I’m curious if those who haven’t bought the palettes would drop a good bit on a single.

Depends on the packaging, I think – if it’s very barebones, I could see $22 but with eyeliners at $25, it’s hard to see the eyeshadows going for much less! I’d expect the domed shades to cost more, though. I see PMG’s price points competing with brands like Natasha Denona and Tom Ford more than UD!

I guess my hope would be that, like ABH, MUFE and, at one time, Buxom, Pat McGrath would offer a “value” pricing if you purchase 4, 6 or 8 single shadows to sort of offset the pricing. I’d rather that – get 4 or 6 shades I really like – than have to pay $70 for a palette where I only really want 2 of the colours (and then have to do it again for 2 or 3 other palettes!)

Oh wow! I wish I hadn’t clicked to see the all the swatches. I was resisting – I have plenty of antique gold, bronze, and copper shadows and I do not need more eye shadow at all. But that smoked amethyst may be my downfall. That is gorgeous and making me seriously reconsider my eyeshadow no-buy.

Smoked Amethyst is real special for its pigmentation level given it’s… purple… also that it retains that purpleness despite being quite dark. BUT it is a lot for one shade!

This palette was in my “so pretty, super tempted, but not buying category.” Knowing that it has 2 repeat shades from the Decadence palettes just solidified it being in that category even though that purple is to die for! The good thing is I do have dupes, while the quality isn’t the best of those dupes, I know how to make them work.

Thank for you for these swatches!

Do you think this pallete could be suitable for everyday/corporate workplace looks? I’ve been thinking about PM palletes for quite sometime but never commit since it seems like there’s 1-2 shades that might Never be used given my more toned down eye make up routine. Would love your/anyone’s thoughts on versatility 🙂

I’m assuming you mean conservative workplace, e.g. very neutral/subtle makeup… and you can but if you’re looking for a workhorse for work (ha, ha), I would opt for a different palette.

I really appreciate the response, Christine! And yes—subtle, neutral, and something that would be good for someone who is intermediate-level at eye shadow. Is there another Pat McGrath palette you’d think might fit the bill as a more “workhorse” palette? 🙂

The closest are going to be Sublime Bronze Ambition and Subliminal Platinum Bronze. The thing is, as much as I enjoy the formula, the palettes are not as cohesive as a typical palette, and as a result, none of them scream “workhorse” to me for someone who is looking for subtle, neutral looks. You’d be better off buying a Viseart palette (they have a few neutral ones) or a Chanel quad (like Tisse Rivoli). You CAN get softer looks out of PMG palettes but don’t feel like that’s the easiest route.

I work for a Fortune 500 company in the top 20, and I have used PM palettes for the past 5 weeks. If anything, doing my face in the morning, went from 15 min to 10. I do have to say this is achieved with mostly using a brush with a matte on my crease and fingers with the glossier shades but I’ve been super thrilled. I like using a liner brush dampened with their darker shades instead of actual eyeliner with these…saves steps instead of smudging the line with a darker shadow like I like.

I would recommend one of the six pans to try…the bronze one with the green…I got that one for nights out and found it super versatile. I’d try one from Sephora when they have a sale because of their return policy, just to see.

I just bought the Mothership Subversive palette, and I’m on the fence about whether I like it or not. I just read your review on that one, and it was spot on, I definitely think it’s B+ as well. Not sure it was worth all that $
I was curious on how you rated her other palettes, and saw your A on this one. Do you think her formula has improved over time? Are the quality of her shadows better in this palette?
Also, how do the two golds in this palette compare to the gold in the Subversive palette?

I don’t think the formula has changed in general, e.g. her matte eyeshadows feel the same in the just-released six-pan palettes compared to the original Mothership palettes. These are a different finish compared to the Subversive palette – and this particular palette is all metallic and has no mattes.

I’m assuming you’re asking about Gigabyte? The formula of that compared to the two gold eyeshadows in this palette is different but intentionally so (they’re just different – Gigabyte has more of a baked formula). The shades in Metalmorphosis are going to be a little more comparable to the traditional shimmers in the Subversive palette but a bit creamier. The formula in Metalmorphosis was introduced in the Decadence palette from last year!

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!