Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad Review & Swatches

Iconic Illumination

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad ($65.00 for 0.2 oz.) is a new, limited edition foursome that features four warmer-toned shades across sparkling and metallic finishes. All of the shades performed in line with expectations with only Astral Gold Allure being a bit less pigmented than otherwise indicated by the brand (more pigmented than some Astral shades have been, though).

The other three shades were very pigmented and worked well dry as well as wet; those also had a slightly creamier, denser (but not heavy or thick) feel to them, which did feel creamier than past shades I’ve seen in the same finishes.

For more insight into the finishes, check out my post here.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Astral Gold Allure

Astral Gold Allure is a light-medium gold with strong, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had a twinkling, high-shine–almost wet-looking–effect on my skin. It had semi-opaque pigmentation applied dry with a brush or opaque coverage applied with a fingertip or a dampened brush (you can see how the coverage is higher than it looks at a glance based on the angled swatch). I preferred a dampened brush myself as I felt it yielded high coverage, minimized fallout, and ensured that the most sparkle transferred to my lid (rather than some getting stuck to my fingertip).

I didn’t see any note to use this shade with fingertips (over brushes) in the “how to” instructions, so it wasn’t noted as being sheer or buildable. I thought it had a fair amount of coverage on its own and could be built up (even dry with minimal fallout), but it could definitely be used to layer over another shade to add sparkle, too. It wore well for nine hours with slight fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Titanium Borosilicate, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Glycerin, Squalane, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Mica, Polysorbate 20, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tin Oxide, Carrageenan, 1,2-Hexanediol, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Xanthan Gum, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491).

Blitz Bordeaux

Blitz Bordeaux is a deep, muted red with subtle, warm undertones and a pearly sheen. There was the smattering of pink and gold micro-sparkle scattered throughout/ It had opaque pigmentation applied dry as well as wet, though application with a dampened brush (which is the suggested usage, but it didn’t indicate its relation to coverage) gave it a slightly shinier finish with a touch more depth.

The consistency was smooth to the touch, but it seemed to be a little more like a cream-powder after the initial use. It had excellent adhesion to bare skin and blended out seamlessly. The color lasted well for nine and a half hours before fading a bit.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Titanium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Mica, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Alumina, Glycerin, Squalane, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Polysorbate 20, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Carrageenan, 1,2-Hexanediol, Tin Oxide, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Xanthan Gum, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Carmine (Ci 75470), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Blitz Brown

Blitz Brown is a deep, chocolaty bronze with subtle, warm undertones and a strong, pearly sheen. The color coverage was opaque in a single layer, regardless of whether it was applied with a dry or dampened brush. I didn’t feel like it was better or worse based on application method, so it was very easy to work with.

The texture was smooth, blendable, and picked up well with a brush, though it felt more cream-like compared to past Blitz finish shades the brand has released. It stayed on nicely for nine and a half hours before fading noticeably on me.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Myristyl Trisiloxane, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate, Polyglyceryl-3 Polyricinoleate, Hydrogenated Polycyclopentadiene, Glycerin, Trehalose, Isododecane, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Carrageenan, Xanthan Gum, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Citric Acid, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Bronze Gold 003

Bronze Gold 003 is a bright, rich copper with strong, warm undertones and an intense, metallic finish. The eyeshadow had a smooth, almost cream-like texture that felt soft, yielding, and melted against my lid when applied.

It had a bit more slip (but not in a silicone way… really more like a cream-powder that was 70% powder) compared to some other shades in this finish family. The pigmentation was opaque in one pass, which adhered evenly on my lid and wore well for nine and a half hours before creasing faintly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Squalane, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Polysorbate 20, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Carrageenan, 1,2-Hexanediol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Xanthan Gum, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination | Look Details

Pat McGrath Iconic Illumination | Look Details

Pat McGrath Astral Gold Allure EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Astral Gold Allure EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Astral Gold Allure EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Blitz Bordeaux EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Blitz Bordeaux EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Blitz Bordeaux EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Blitz Brown EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Blitz Brown EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Blitz Brown EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Bronze Gold 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Bronze Gold 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow

Pat McGrath Bronze Gold 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • Pat McGrath Labs
    • BlitzTrance Mini available now, ends 12/15.
    • 10% off Star Wars collection (shop here) with code VIP10, ends 12/15.
    • 10% Off Your First Order with promo code PMGFRIENDX10, ends 12/31.
  • SephoraReceive a Tatcha Water Cream Moisturizer trial size with any $35 merchandise purchase. Use code RICHSKIN. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 12/13. Receive a Tatcha Water Cream Moisturizer trial size with any $35 merchandise purchase. Use code RICHSKIN. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 12/13.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

8 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I totally love Blitz Brown but have an embarrassing # of dupes for it; I also like Astral Gold Allure, but that red is a colour I just don’t wear and Bronze Gold isn’t a shade I need so I’ll be passing on this one (but still staring lovingly at Blitz Brown!

The quality of this is darn near phenomenal in its resultant eye look you did with it! Looks downright molton and liquid!
If I didn’t have dupes up the wazoo, I would absolutely snap up this gem of a quad in a hot minute.

I really love this quad, the only shade that puts me off is the red one – now if it were a green (say emerald) I would be all over it.
It is a stunning quad and your eye look does it justice Christine.

We have such similar tastes, Genevieve – I’ve said this often in past. That red, while rich and gorgeous (though even as a blush, it might be too intense for me), is not a good shade for me either. Fortunately, I’ve dupes for the other 3 but this is so beautiful and I’m really trying to convince myself that I don’t need it….

Both of these quads are amazingly gorgeous, and your looks for each were stunning. As always, the dupes at all levels, often great shadows, give opportunities to have the shades without bank robbery. You and this blog are exceptionally important to those building their stashes. That is nowhere more evident than when you review Pat, ND, and other virtually UHE brands.

Genevieve, I agree with you that the red shade puts me off, if it was an olive golden green or even a plum/mauve I would’ve totally grabbed this! I might still do if I find a great promotion later on though ๐Ÿ™‚

I love the color story of this palette, in spite of being sick of warm palettes, but I’m covered by the Bronze Seduction and the little plastic palettes.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!