ColourPop In a Trance Palette Review & Swatches

In a Trance

ColourPop In a Trance 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette ($12.00 for 0.36 oz.) is a new, pastel-themed palette with a mix of blues and lavenders. It contained five (mostly) matte shades, three shimmer shades, and one pressed glitter shade. The mattes performed better than I expected; they were pigmented, though lightly to moderately powdery, blendable, and had decent wear. The shimmers were more of a mixed bag, and I have been finding that ColourPop’s pushed more toward drier, more loosely-pressed shimmers that don’t work as well with dry brushes as past shades have.

In a Trance

LELimited Edition. $12.00.
B
B
8.5
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
86%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Clarity

Clarity is pale white base with iridescent blue pearl that gave it a pearly sheen. It had medium coverage, which did not build up well, and it seemed to have the Super Shock formula (cream-to-powder eyeshadow). The texture felt lightly emollient, almost wet to the touch, but it applied unevenly and had a tendency to look patchy. I tried applying it with a flat brush as well as fingertips but found both methods disappointing–fingers were “best.” The color stayed in place for 10 hours without creasing, though.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$6.00/0.07 oz. - $85.71 Per Ounce

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow is a cream-based formula that comes in a multitude of shades and finishes. The more metallic shades have the most slip to them (they have a “wetter” feel), while the more matte ones have a firmer, more clay-like consistency. Almost every shade I’ve tried from ColourPop has been exceptionally long-wearing (10+ hours of wear, usually there until I remove, even 14 hours later). The pigmentation can vary from shade to shade, but the average shade is quite pigmented.

From feedback I’ve seen from readers, many love them but some don’t like them at all. They aren’t a traditional cream eyeshadow, as they are denser (more sponge-like), and they apply best with flat, firm, synthetic brushes (I like the MAC 242 and 249) for me. The brand recommends using fingers for the most pigmented application, but I’ve only felt that fingers were necessary on a few shades (usually the super glittery ones).

The more matte shades can be on the drier side and vary from medium to opaque in coverage, though they're often buildable.  They can be a little hard to diffuse the edges of, though some are lovely to work with.

The more glittery shades have been the weakest to me, as they can be sheerer or harder to apply.  Sometimes, they are more pigmented and work like the other finishes in the formula, but often, they are sheerer and only function well patted on top of more pigmented eyeshadows to add glitter.  They do, however, tend to have little fallout over time with the occasional shade having a more moderate amount of fallout (but still less fallout than most powder eyeshadows with glitter).

Browse all of our Colour Pop Super Shock Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride,Silica,Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Isopropyl Myristate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Tin Oxide, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Ethylhexylglycerin, Propylene Carbonate, Mica (CI 77019), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Clarity

LELimited Edition. $6.00.
C
C
7
Product
7
Pigmentation
7
Texture
10
Longevity
3
Application
76%
Total

Mind's Eye

Mind’s Eye is a medium lavender with subtle, warm undertones and warmer, golden shimmer that gave it a nearly metallic finish. The eyeshadow had nearly opaque color payoff in a single layer, which applied evenly and blended out with ease, though there was light fallout during initial application. The texture was soft, more loosely-pressed with some excess that kicked up in the pan if I didn’t use it a lighter hand with the product. This shade lasted well for eight hours before showing signs of fading.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Magnesium Myristate, Lauroyl Lysine, Boron Nitride, Dimethiconol, Silica, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tin Oxide, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide, CI 77891, Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Mind's Eye

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
89%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Daydream Bby

Daydream Bby is a bright, cotton candy pink with cooler, blue undertones and a mostly matte finish, though there a few sparkles strewn throughout. I didn’t feel like most of the sparkles translated onto my eye area, though. The texture was soft, somewhat powdery but not prone to fallout and didn’t sheer out too readily, but it was blendable along the edges. It had opaque pigmentation that stayed on nicely for eight and a half hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing." The way the Pressed Pigments differ is that they're not intended for usage on the immediate eye area.

The majority of the shades are semi-opaque to opaque in coverage, blend out fairly well, and can sometimes be a bit drier/more powdery compared to typical matte shades. They often wear eight to nine hours on me before fading, but many shades in the Pressed Pigment family leave some staining behind.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Pigment swatches.

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Pigment" carry a warning in the US that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." Brands in the US typically market these products as "Pigments" (instead of "Eyeshadow"), and there is often a warning on the back of packaging or the label. The product includes color additives that are not approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. Some color additives in "Pigments" have no usage restrictions in the EU, per CosIng, and can be used on the eyes. We recommend checking ingredients to confirm current safety assessment/restrictions: FDA/CosIng.

Ingredients

*Not intended for use in the immediate eye area. Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Daydream Bby

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A
A
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
93%
Total

Future Self

Future Self is a pale, bluish-aqua with subtle, cool undertones and a matte finish. The texture was moderately powdery with light fallout during application, though it built up well and had way better coverage than I thought it would have. It had medium, buildable coverage that wore well for seven and a half hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium, Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Future Self

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B-
B-
8
Product
8
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
81%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

All Aura Again

All Aura Again has a clear base packed with small and medium-sized, multi-color glitter particles that shifted from warmer, gold, orange, and purple to almost lavender and green. It had a semi-sheer amount of coverage (in the form of glitter) that dispersed and spread easily across my skin. It had a more adhesive formula, as there was minimal migration over an eight-hour time period, but it did come with a warning that it was not intended for the eye area (and it contains plastic glitter).

Ingredients

*Not intended for use in the immediate eye area. Polyethylene Terephthalate, Dimethicone, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Acrylate Copolymer, Ethylene/va Copolymer, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Myristate, Dehydroacetic Acid, Chlorphenesin.

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Glitter" contain Polyethylene Terephthalate, also known as plastic or PET glitter, and it is typically cosmetic grade glitter. Inclusion of this ingredient sometimes carries a warning (in the US) that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." This ingredient has not been approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. In recent years, some brands are including this product in their eyeshadows without any warning or callout and effectively marketing them as eyeshadows or including a symbol of an "eye" which suggests eye usage. Via CosIng for EU, PET glitter is permitted without any restrictions or limitations. For an in-depth look at whether cosmetic grade glitter is safe, please view this post.

All Aura Again

LELimited Edition.
B
B
8.5
Product
7
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8
Longevity
5
Application
83%
Total

Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra is a light-medium pink with subtle, cool undertones and a frosted finish. It had good color coverage in a single layer, but the texture was slightly drier and more loosely-pressed in the pan so it had light fallout. It applied more evenly and smoothly to the lid with a fingertip than with a dry or dampened brush. It lasted well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Magnesium Myristate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Lauroyl Lysine, Boron Nitride, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Dimethiconol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tin Oxide, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Crown Chakra

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
84%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Transcend Dance

Transcend Dance is a bright, light-medium sky blue with cool undertones and a mostly matte finish. There were those faint sparkles strewn throughout the product, which didn’t add a lot to the actual application as they seemed to disappear. The consistency was moderately powdery, which yielded more semi-opaque coverage and light fallout. I was able to build up the color to mostly opaque coverage with a second layer. It stayed on nicely for seven and a half hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Transcend Dance

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B-
B-
8
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8
Longevity
5
Application
82%
Total

Own Ur Power

Own Ur Power is a medium lavender with strong, cool blue undertones and a matte finish. It had nearly opaque pigmentation that applied evenly to bare skin and blended out well along the edges without losing its intensity. The texture was lightly powdery but didn’t seem prone to fallout or sheering out too readily. The color showed signs of fading after seven and a half hours on me.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Own Ur Power

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8
Longevity
5
Application
90%
Total

Uplevel

Uplevel is a medium lavender with warmer, pink undertones and a matte finish. The consistency felt slightly firmer initially but seemed to soften after a couple of uses as it was lightly powdery once I applied it to my eye for testing. It had good color payoff that adhered evenly to bare skin and blended out without difficulty. It lasted well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing." The way the Pressed Pigments differ is that they're not intended for usage on the immediate eye area.

The majority of the shades are semi-opaque to opaque in coverage, blend out fairly well, and can sometimes be a bit drier/more powdery compared to typical matte shades. They often wear eight to nine hours on me before fading, but many shades in the Pressed Pigment family leave some staining behind.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Pigment swatches.

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Pigment" carry a warning in the US that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." Brands in the US typically market these products as "Pigments" (instead of "Eyeshadow"), and there is often a warning on the back of packaging or the label. The product includes color additives that are not approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. Some color additives in "Pigments" have no usage restrictions in the EU, per CosIng, and can be used on the eyes. We recommend checking ingredients to confirm current safety assessment/restrictions: FDA/CosIng.

Ingredients

*Not intended for use in the immediate eye area. Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Manganese Violet (CI 77742) , Mica (CI 77019), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Uplevel

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
9
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
90%
Total

Colour Pop In a Trance 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Colour Pop In a Trance 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Colour Pop In a Trance 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Colour Pop In a Trance 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Colour Pop In a Trance 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Colour Pop Clarity Super Shock Shadow

Colour Pop Clarity Super Shock Shadow

Colour Pop Mind's Eye Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Mind's Eye Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Mind's Eye Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Daydream Bby Pressed Powder Pigment

Colour Pop Daydream Bby Pressed Powder Pigment

Colour Pop Future Self Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Future Self Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop All Aura Again Pressed Glitter

Colour Pop All Aura Again Pressed Glitter

Colour Pop All Aura Again Pressed Glitter

Colour Pop Crown Chakra Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Crown Chakra Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Transcend Dance Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Transcend Dance Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Own Ur Power Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Own Ur Power Pressed Powder Shadow

Colour Pop Uplevel Pressed Powder Pigment

Colour Pop Uplevel Pressed Powder Pigment

About Reviewer
Review FAQ
Reviewer

Christine Mielke is the editor-in-chief and has been reviewing products for over 14 years.

She has normal-to-dry skin with occasional dryness on cheeks and nose. She has a light plus skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones (view her foundation matches here).

Learn more about her review process here.

Explore Temptalia

We're here to help you make better beauty purchases that you'll enjoy and love! We recommend signing up to take advantage of personalized features like tracking products you own, viewing dupes that you already have, and more!

Here are some useful resources for you:

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

11 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Since I already know that these sorts of icy pastel tones, especially the blues, would look awful on me, I’m giving this a hard pass. I imagine this would be ash city on me.
But hey, it could work for a 60’s retro costume look!

Before the reviews I was almost certain I would get one if not all of these. Now I am (thankfully) more restrained in my enthusiasm. This one in particular I think I could satisfactorily dupe many shades with Blue Moon and other parts of my collection, potentially with the exception of Uplevel.

I wish ColourPop would just sell the plastic glitter as singles. For me, there are more cons than pros to using them, and I’ve passed on all the palettes that contain one. It might be time for me to switch my eyeshadow habit to Sydney Grace…

Sydney Grace’s eyeshadows are stunning – absolutely top notch quality. Once you get yourself a Z palette (or something like it) you can buy just the shades you love. Christine has reviewed most of them and they are worth it.

genevieve, i wanted to ask you if you had ever tried klara? i seem to understand you’re in australia, and klara is an australian brand. i have seen some here in our tj maxx and marshalls… but there are two palettes they have i cannot find here. what do you think / know of them?

I love this palette but since I have been staying home I rarely wear makeup and can’t really justify the purchase right now! Hopefully I can pick it up once I am wearing makeup more often!

I wish that CP, if they are going to do some pastel palettes – make them really good. Because there is a lot of competition out there and these, whilst they are inexpensive, are heading into DS territory in terms of quality.

You’re so right about Colourpop changing their shimmer formulation. Thank you for mentioning it because I couldn’t figure out what was going on… The last CP palette I bought was Making Mauves, and I couldn’t get anywhere with the shimmers on a brush. As someone who greatly prefers applying eyeshadow with a brush vs fingers, I was seriously bummed out. Because if this I’m unsure I’ll be buying more of their palettes in the future (unless they revert to their previous shimmer formula)

Glad I’m not the only one who has noticed! I think their mattes have gotten denser, a bit more pigmented, though a little more powdery, but the shimmers have not improved overall!

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!