Week in Review | August 4th through August 10th

Happy Saturday! I always enjoy seeing what makes up the week’s top ten highest-reviewed products, so I hope you find it somewhat interesting as well! 🙂

What was your week in review like?

  • My skin tone/coloring:
  • Favorite look you wore:
  • Most used product of the week:
  • Any new beauty discoveries:

Best of the Week

01.

01. Flesh 5 Pat McGrath

Pat McGrath

PPermanent. $40.00/0.14 oz.

A+

Pat McGrath Flesh 5 MatteTrance Lipstick ($38.00 for 0.14 oz.) is a deep, reddened plum with warm undertones and a satin finish. It was intensely...

Pat McGrath Flesh 5 MatteTrance Lipstick ($38.00 for 0.14 oz.) is a deep, reddened plum with warm undertones and a satin finish. It was intensely...

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
06.

06. Sol Mate Dose of Colors

Dose of Colors

LELimited Edition. $28.00/0.41 oz.

A

Dose of Colors Sol Mate Highlighter ($28.00 for 0.41 oz.) is a medium-dark gold with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. The consistency was soft,...

Dose of Colors Sol Mate Highlighter ($28.00 for 0.41 oz.) is a medium-dark gold with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. The consistency was soft,...

07.

07. Fever Dream Pat McGrath

Pat McGrath

PPermanent. $40.00/0.14 oz.

A
08.

08. Elson 2 Pat McGrath

Pat McGrath

PPermanent. $40.00/0.14 oz.

A

Pat McGrath Elson 2 MatteTrance Lipstick ($38.00 for 0.14 oz.) is a bright, medium-dark orange-red with warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. The...

Pat McGrath Elson 2 MatteTrance Lipstick ($38.00 for 0.14 oz.) is a bright, medium-dark orange-red with warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. The...

09.

09. Aesthetic Dose of Colors

Dose of Colors

LELimited Edition. $18.00/0.16 oz.

A

Dose of Colors Aesthetic Matte Liquid Lipstick ($18.00 for 0.16 oz.) is a rich, medium-dark copper with warm, red undertones and a matte finish. The...

Dose of Colors Aesthetic Matte Liquid Lipstick ($18.00 for 0.16 oz.) is a rich, medium-dark copper with warm, red undertones and a matte finish. The...

10.

10. Forbidden Love Pat McGrath

Pat McGrath

PPermanent. $40.00/0.14 oz.

A
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Breakdown |
Aug 4, 2018 — Aug 10, 2018

89%

Average Score
A
48
B
35
C
6
D
2
F
2

Total Reviews (93)
Brands Reviewed (11)

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

27 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

Skin Tone/Coloring: Skin tone is EL Double Wear Ecru, hair is salt-and-pepper, and eye color is UD Chain and MAC Sumptuous Olive with little flecks of UD Riff close to the pupil.

Favorite Look Worn: No eyeshadow…this look was all about the lips. I used Marc Jacobs Highliner in Blacquer in the upper lash line, Clinique Brow Shaper in Charcoaled and Diorshow Brow Styler in 004 on brows, Tarte Lights Camera Lashes Mascara, Estée Lauder Double Wear in Ecru, Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, RCMA No Color Powder, ColourPop Super Shock Blush in Cruel Intentions, Wet n Wild Megaglo Highlighter in Precious Petals, and MUFE lipstick in the shade M301.

Most Used Product: RCMA No Color Powder, Clinique Brow Shaper, and Diorshow Brow Styler

New Beauty Discovery: This is a weird one. Many months ago I had found the Too Faced White Chocolate Chip palette for $8 in a store (can’t remember where). It was pretty awful and I quickly dismissed it to the back of a drawer. But I came across it recently and decided to experiment with it. Just…because. I found it has one shade I actually like—a grayish color called Guilt-Free. It works ok as a crease color on me (primer is a must!). So at least my $8 wasn’t *totally* wasted. (And it smells nice…though I still don’t understand the concept of scented eyes!)

Pretty clever, describing your eye color in terms of shadows, esp as you have what one of my former students described as ‘plaid’ (multicolored) irises! Always wanted a Guilt Free good dupe…all about gray shadow. I would have been all over that palette, had it only a few redeeming qualities.

“Plaid”…love it!!! I’ve been looking for a good gray, too. Guilt-Free isn’t bad, but I have to put a lot of it on to show up. It stays on ok when used over primer. Other shades in the palette are pretty useless.

Ooh, I love what you did there, Seraphine! Using eyeshadow shades to describe a more complex Iris color configuration is GENIUS. Because many of us regulars know how all the different eyeshadows look. Mine are UD Radio (or perhaps MAC Plumage?) outer rim, UD Big Sky middle striations, inner flecks by pupil are a mix of CP Telepathy and UD Blitz!

Thanks!! I looked up the shades you mentioned, and wow, you have gorgeous eyes! And very interesting to work with, eyeshadow-wise. The warmer toned shades must look amazing on you…?

I love how you described your eye color! (I have heterochromia, too.) The lip color you used looks gorgeous, no wonder you chose it to be the focus.

I thought heterochromia had to do with having two different color eyes, not different colors within an iris. So I learned something new today! 🙂 I bought M301 as a less drying dupe of MAC’s Relentlessly Red. It is so pretty!

Skin tone: Very fair with cool undertones, brown eyes and grey hair.

Favorite look: If I am being honest I really didn’t like any of the looks I wore this week. I used the Huda Beauty Rose Gold (re-formulated) eye shadow palette all week long, trying to make it work. A few of the shades are nice but it definitely isn’t my favorite palette. I also wore Guerlain Glowing BB cream all week. I don’t know about this one. At first I thought it was too light of coverage for me but decided it was just the shade which is the lightest they make and still maybe 2-3 shades too dark for me. So, I tried adding L. A. Girl White Foundation. That got the shade into the ball park as far as matching went but then I couldn’t get it to look dewy or luminous on me at all. I have tried adding several different types of facial oils including those recommended by Tammy and still looks matte on me. I do have very dry skin and I am not done trying. I really want to like it! The hit of the week is the 4 shades of Pat McGrath Matte Luxe Lipsticks that I purchased earlier in the week. Sephora was on the ball and I ordered one day and they were here the next which was awesome. I was worried the lipsticks would arrive melted because of our heat up here and everything comes from the closest post office hub which is 3 hours away. Christine had told me that hers arrived to Arizona without a problem so I took my chances. The tube felt very warm, almost hot when I got them but I didn’t open them and put them directly into the refrigerator and they are perfect. I am so in love with this formula and the four shades I picked up were all stunning with my current favorite being Beautiful Stranger. So surprised I love this shade so much. So, that is my positive for the week.

Most used products: All of the aforementioned above.

Beauty discoveries: The Becca UnderEye Primer. I know that isn’t the official name but can’t remember the name. It is the blue appearing primer. It is suppose to fight the signs of fatigue and also lesson fine lines. It is suppose to be moisturizing. I have to say, I am really loving it. I would not suggest if you have oily skin or things slip around in the under eye area. For my super dry under eyes it has been really great.

My skin tone/coloring: Medium w/ olive undertones, MAC NC37, Lancome Teint Idole 24H Foundation N360, deep brunette, blue-green eyes w/ gold flecks.

Favorite look you worn: Monday’s look using Dominique Lemonade Palette! Nude Tea all over browbone and wherever I was going to do my crease work, Mango as my transition, Sweet Tea crease, Chai Tea to deepen up outer V, Lemon Soda on inner 2/3 of mobile lid, tried to use Peach on outer 1/3 of mobile lid, but it required some Sweet Tea to intensify it. Lined lower lashline with Sephora Contour Pencil in Fairytale, upper lashline just my usual black winged liner and then mascara. Cheeks: Becca Malibu Soleil bronzer, Fenty Chili Mango Match Stix, ABH Amrezy Highlighter. Lips: UD Wired 24/7 Lip Pencil, MAC Vegas Volt lipstick. VERRRY citrus infused look!

Most used product of the week: Easy, Dominique Lemonade Palette!

Any new beauty discoveries: For future colorful looks such as described above, I’m going to try Tarababyz method of applying the deepest crease shade first, before the transition or lighter crease work. This, because I believe I need to bring the crease work up higher. She and I have the same eye shape and even eye color!

Nancy T, that’s very interesting about applying the deepest crease color first. I have been struggling to get my crease higher. That might help; I’ll give it a try. (Hooded eyes can be so challenging!)

Genevieve, I know what you mean! But I’m about to give Tara’s method a go, and hope for the best. Her YT videos where she applies her eyeshadow almost in a tutorial fashion is a great place to start, I’d say.

My skin tone/coloring:
Currently in my summer shade of NC30! I have neutral olive/yellow undertones and some slightly uneven texture due to being a new user of Retin-A. That said, tone is slightly uneven as well due to acne scarring remaining from a bout of misdiagnosed hormonal imbalances for a number of year.

Favorite look you worn:
Casual radiance is what I’d call the look =) For a base, I used the Charlotte Tilbury Hollywood Filter with a few stroked of my Tom Ford stick foundation. I then finished my face using the Nordstrom 2018 Anniversary Charlotte Tilbury palette. I used the setting powder in the palette, in addition to the blushes for cheeks and contour shade for the eyes. To add a little glow, I used the shimmer/highlight shade along the base of the lash line and smudged upwards lightly.

Most used product of the week:
Charlotte Tilbury’s Hollywood Flawless Filter

Any new beauty discoveries?
Kate Somerville’s D-Scar serum! Amazing in helping resurface skin to fade pigmentation from scarring.

My skin tone/coloring: Light med, yellow undertones.

Favorite look worn: I didn’t really wear much makeup this week, being on vacay at the beach (despite it being winter!) but I wore a coral, rose and gold eye with copper liner, Colourpop Martian SSC as blush with Fine Line and On the Loose from the In-nude-endo palette blended over and Jordana Terra Crave Twist & Shine balm stain on lips out to dinner last night.

Most used product of the week: Sunscreen.

Any new beauty discoveries: I bought a Natio (Australian brand) face oil because it was on sale (and the Drunk Elephant Littles set I bought to test out and take on holiday dehydrated my face something chronic) and it’s actually really lovely. The lid has a rather nifty automatic dropper thing built in, so it’s not messy at all. It’s a blend of shea, jojoba, apricot kernel and other oils, plus lavender, benzion and myrrh and something faintly citrus-y (all those essential oils DE says to be “suspicious” of, ha ha) and my skin LOVES it. It’s a quarter of the price of my Korres Black Pine active oil and I much prefer the Natio, so I’m happy about that! 🙂

I really like Natio products too CeeBee. Their hand creams are sensational and their skincare range is pretty good too. I like that it’s often on sale at either Myers or Priceline.

My skin tone/coloring: Very fair with neutral undertones; magenta/red hair; hazel/green eyes.

Favorite look you’ve worn this week: EYES — Too Faced Shadow Insurance. Tarte Tartelette Palette: Natural Beauty (crease), Best Friend (outer 1/3 of crease and swept around under the eye); Caregiver (brow bone), and Bombshell (lower lashline). NYX Prismatic Shadow in Punked (lid). UD Moondust in Element (patted on the center of the lid). Physician’s Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin Mascara topped with Hard Candy Be Bold Mascara in Daredevil. LIPS — NARS Full Vinyl Lip Lacquer in Abruzzo CHEEKS — NARS Blissful. FACE — NYX Angel Veil Perfecting Face Primer; Lancome Teint Idole 24H Long Wear Foundation 140 (N) Ivoire mixed with Manic Panic White; Ben Nye Neutral Set; Sephora Tranquil (contour); e.l.f. Original Mist & Set.

Most used product of the week: Most of the week was too hot to wear much makeup. Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 100+; Frankenstein mix of powder foundations; RCMA No Color Powder; theBalm Balm Desert; Physician’s Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin Mascara; e.l.f. Original Mist & Set.

Any new beauty discoveries: 1) Too Faced Metallic Sparkle Lipstick in TF20 is the fuchsia lipstick of my dreams. 2) My husband loves me in NARS Abruzzo.

My skin tone/coloring: light-medium

Favorite look you worn: Used Butter London’s Glazen skin luminizer (sample), nice subtle glow (I usually use Dew Drops by MJ)

Most used product of the week: Marc Jacobs new nail Fantastic. Darker than BL’s Trout Pout but stunning in an not-unpleasant orange blue toned shade

Any new beauty discoveries: Jane Iredale Color Sampler 2. Nice palette, looks very plain in case, but colors blend beautifully and naturally. Probably going to be my go-to average daily palette

My skin tone/colouring: Porcelain, with pink undertones

Favourite look you worn: I used a soft pearl shade from the Maybelline’s Burgundy Bar all over the lid, with the plum shade from my Mecca Cosmetica palette on the lower lid, with a touch of the taupe shade from the Burgundy Bar in the crease and paired it with a Clarins Joli Rouge Soft Plum lipstick to wear to the Vingtage Fair last Friday. I was really happy with the result.

Most used product of the week: Maybelline’s Burgundy Bar palette. I am really surprised at how good this is and how versatile the neutral shades are.

Any new beauty discoveries: Not really this week.

Skintone / coloring : light, MAC NC 15 – 20, med brown hair and eyes

Favorite look worn : ABH Norvina palette. Incense and Love in the crease. Celestial on my eyelid. UD Vice 24/7 eyeliner on top lashline. MUFE Excessive Lash Mascara. NARS Madly Blush. Bare Minerals Gen Nude Gloss in Sugar

Most used product : ABH Norvina palette. Loreal Glam Bronzer. MUFE Excessive Lash Mascara. Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in fair / light. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal.

Any new beauty discoveries : Not really

Skin tone medium neutral with tan

I don’t own Modern Renaissance though my daughter does. I love the warm tones in it and will probably buy an ABH palette when I visit the US in October. I had pulled a NYX blusher called Wanderlust out to use but I can’t see it on my cheeks very much because of my tan. It does however look gorgeous on my eyelids. I’ve been pairing it with NARS Orgasm, MAC Brave and Buxom White Russian.

Most used product are all of the above. Trying to pan the lipstick but think the gloss will be finished first. Also been wearing Jo Malone Dark Amber and Ginger Lily in an attempt to pan this.

I’d consider the above to be a new discovery. Am on strict no buy this month.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!