Urban Decay x Jean-Michel Basquiat Tenant Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/09

Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Palette | Look Details
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Palette | Look Details
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Tenant Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette

Tenant

Urban Decay Tenant Eyeshadow Palette ($39.00 for 0.32 oz.) includes eight eyeshadows (0.04 oz. each) in various colorful hues. This is the type of palette that I think works best as a complementary palette to other eyeshadows one already owns, though there are looks that can be created solely with the shades in the palette–I just think it’ll be easier to incorporate some of the pops of color from this palette with transition shades and the like from your stash. There was one eyeshadow (Neo) which was a miss for me, but the other shades were fairly good. If you normally use an eyeshadow primer, I think this palette (with the exception of Neo) would work quite well.

Editor’s Note: While Basquiat’s state approached Urban Decay to create the collection, the collection is not without concerns from those who have been drawn in and inspired by Basquiat’s work. Some of the artist’s supporters have expressed concern over the commercialization of the artist’s work (generally) and the lack of a model of color in the collection’s campaign, both said to be inconsistent with some of the themes shown throughout Basquiat’s body of work. A third issue raised is with respect to Urban Decay’s usage of drug-related names (like Junkie, Druggie, Bump, etc.) when Basquiat died of a heroin overdose at 27 years old and how those two can be reconciled. Others who enjoy Basquiat’s work are excited for the collaboration and the acknowledgment of the artist’s influence, along with the possibility of making his work more widely known. As always, we invite thoughtful and critical discussion and debate but ask everyone to be respectful.

01/02

Urban Decay Studio Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Studio Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Studio Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Studio Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Studio Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Studio Eyeshadow

Studio

Studio is a pale pink with very subtle, warmer undertones and a matte finish. It had good pigmentation with a soft, velvety consistency that was just a touch dusty in the pan but applied fairly well to bare skin with just a bit of sheering out. This shade wore well for seven hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Tetrasodium EDTA, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All Shades May Contain/ Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir) : CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay 1960 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1960 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1960 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1960 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1960 Eyeshadow
Urban Decay 1960 Eyeshadow

1960

1960 is a bright, medium-dark pink with subtle, warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. There was visible shimmer in the pan, but I could barely tell that there was any on the eye and think it functions as a matte texture overall. It had good color payoff, which was buildable to full coverage by tapping just a touch more on top of the initial layer. It had a soft, velvety texture that wasn’t too thin or too stiff in the pan, which made it easier to work with. The eyeshadow sheered out a bit over bare skin but worked well nicely over primer. The color wore well for seven and a half hours before fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Tetrasodium EDTA, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All Shades May Contain/ Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir) : CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay Neo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Neo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Neo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Neo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Neo Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Neo Eyeshadow

Neo

Neo is a muted, medium-dark plummy-purple with subtle, warm undertones and fine pearl shimmer. It had sheer color payoff paired with a dustier texture (likely why it was so sheer). It was harder to build it up on bare skin–I was able to get to medium coverage–but it was more buildable to semi-opaque coverage over a primer. This shade started to fade on me after six and a half hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Tetrasodium EDTA, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All Shades May Contain/ Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir) : CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay Les Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Les Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Les Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Les Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Les Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Les Eyeshadow

Les

Les is a medium-dark black with cool undertones and a satin finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage that applied evenly and blended out easily. To me, black eyeshadow–especially pigmented ones–need to be very blendable or else they’re a total pain to work with. The eyeshadow was easily built up to opaque coverage if desired, especially if patted and packed on, rather than swept on. It had a smooth consistency that was a little firmer compared to some of the other more matte shades in the palette but not actually stiff or firm in the pan. The color wore well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Alumina, Aqua / Water, Polyurethane-11, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid.[+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir): Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 19140 / Yellow 5, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

01/02

Urban Decay Graffiti Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Graffiti Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Graffiti Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Graffiti Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Graffiti Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Graffiti Eyeshadow

Graffiti

Graffiti is a deep green with subtle, warmer undertones and gold and bluish-teal pearl. It had a more blackened base, so the more I blended this out, the darker and smokier it looked. The eyeshadow was soft, blendable, and had excellent pigmentation that applied evenly to bare skin. It lasted well for eight hours before fading on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Zinc Stearate. [+/- (All Shades May Contain/ Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir) : CI 77491, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77891 / TITANIUM Dioxide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide].

01/02

Urban Decay Exu Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Exu Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Exu Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Exu Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Exu Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Exu Eyeshadow

Exu

Exu is a bright, chartreuse green with warm, yellow undertones and a pearly sheen. It had nearly opaque pigmentatoin that applied evenly and smoothly to bare skin, but it popped even more over primer. The consistency was smooth, a little dense but in a creamier way, and blendable on the skin. I noticed slight fading after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Alumina, Dimethicone, Diisostearyl Malate, Silica, Polyethylene, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Tin Oxide, Hexylene Glycol, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate. [+/- (May Contain/Peut contenir): CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake].

01/02

Urban Decay Boom Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Boom Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Boom Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Boom Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Boom Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Boom Eyeshadow

Boom

Boom is a brighter, medium bluish-teal with cool undertones and a matte finish. The pigmentation was surprisingly good–totally opaque–but the texture was slightly dusty, so it sheered out a bit initially. Over primer, I could pat it on and not feel like I needed more product to get true-to-pan intensity, but on bare skin, it faded and sheered out slightly that I needed to pat a little more on top for vibrancy. It was very blendable, though, and lasted for seven and a half hours.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Zinc Stearate. [+/- (All Shades May Contain/ Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir) : CI 77491, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77891 / TITANIUM Dioxide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide].

01/02

Urban Decay Untitled Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Untitled Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Untitled Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Untitled Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Untitled Eyeshadow
Urban Decay Untitled Eyeshadow

Untitled

Untitled is a vibrant, deep blue with cool undertones and flecks of barely-there pearl over a matte finish. I think that the finish ends up functioning as a true matte in practice as the shimmer/sparkle gets lost when applied. The eyeshadow was soft, a touch dusty but had little fallout when I worked with it on the eye, and blendable. It had good color payoff, which was buildable to full coverage with two layers. This shade wore well for eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.05 oz. - $380.00 Per Ounce

The formula is typically described as "high-pigment" that "stays on your lids" and goes on "seamlessly." Their permanent range has a lot of fantastic shades in it, and many of them are pigmented, blendable, and long-wearing. Some of their matte are real workhorse kind of shades with soft, smooth, silky, and blendable textures, while their shimmers and pearly shades are very rich in payoff and apply beautifully to the lid. They wear between seven and nine hours on me, depending on the shade and finish.

Browse all of our Urban Decay Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Talc, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Hexylene Glycol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Tetrasodium EDTA, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Aqua / Water, Palmitic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Polylactic Acid, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin. [+/- (All Shades May Contain/ Toutes les couleurs peuvent contenir) : CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder].

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Urban Decay Jean-Michel Basquiat Eyeshadow Palette $39.00/0.32 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

53 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

Your eye look is soooo gorgeous it makes me want to buy this. But the purple doesn’t sound great and that’s my fave color….:/

I see nothing special about this collection. The colors all look like UD have done in some format in the past. The packaging looks like the usual UD grunge. I already own an Adddiction by Ayako- Basquiat eyeshadow set. So I passed not because of the names. I am patiently waiting for Christine to review Vulgar Cosmetics.

I’m supposed to be on an eyeshadow no-buy this year so I should never have even looked into this palette, but I was hoping to see shadows I own in your dupe list so I couldn’t talk myself into thinking I needed it. Unfortunately, that teal reviewed well and I (astoundingly) don’t have dupes for any shades I like.
(I mean, MUFE Azure Blue has been on my wishlist for years, but for $20 more I can get a few other gorgeous shades, including THAT CHARTREUSE!)
WELP.

The quality is not as good as this palette. I really loved the idea of the Full Spectrum palette (not the original Spectrum palette which is great quality wise!), but some of the shade where subpar for UD and similar to other 120 or 88 palettes I’ve tried for the $80Can I paid for it, it was disappointing.

These shades also speak to me. 😉

I’m with you, I had SUCH high hopes for the Full Spectrum palette, but the payoff is so poor on many of those shades. Warning is a favorite though, so I didn’t return it. Not sure I’m going to get this one where I have so many bright palettes and also felt strongly about the choices they made with this campaign. Probably a pass.

This is the more interesting of the eye palettes but every shade needed to knock it out of the park to make it a buy for me and that purple ruined it. I could see this working for someone who wants a little color in a mostly-neutral collection but not for someone like me with ALL THE COLORS ha. The eye look is gorgeous but it’s a bad sign when I’m instantly thinking about the ways I could recreate it with MUFE, other UD palettes, indies, etc. Though that eye look is stunning! It’s horrid they included a bad purple since really every color should be a hit here.

Christine, the eye look you did using this palette sells it! And I already was basically sold on it even before, because other than that awful looking purple, it is one very beautiful palette. Whether or not I actually *need* it, I don’t know, but I sure do want it!

I’m a bit torn when it comes to this palette. The purple is bad, I rarely use blue, and have what blues I need, but the greens are lovely, as are the pink.
I will most likely not get this one, as I’d use only half or it, I’ll try to find one of the dupes for the dark green instead.
Love the look you did. Just gorgeous.

Stunning eye look Christine! Can’t stop staring! .. this Eyeshadow Palette looks like a concise version of the urban decay full spectrum Palette.. Don’t you think?

It didn’t remind me of Full Spectrum – to me that is basically a rainbow, but this is missing core shades that would give the effect of rainbow eyes.

A pretty good palette, apart from Neo (lots of brands have trouble with the purple shades). Love Graffiti – but I do have Damaged from Vice 2, which is a perfect dupe.

I’m really surprised not to see a red shade represented in this palette! Of all the colors Basquiat was most famous for using, pinks and greens weren’t really as prevalent as bold reds or oranges

It seems like the colors were also inspired by the specific prints that they licensed, as the palette’s print has a lot of pink on it.

Your eye look is honestly breathtaking. I’m going to try to recreate it with UD Electric! Thank you for the inspiration.

I picked this palette up with the Epigram lipstick. I had a feeling it wouldn’t be the best on performance but a B is pretty good however I did only buy it because it’s Basquiat.

I normally do not buy LE types but I loved the packaging and the artist. I haven’t used it yet and not sure I will as this may be one I own purely for decoration. I may pick up the other two lipsticks in the set as well, again for decoration because the packaging is pretty.

I think I will hang it. I like the dual use of this palette and the eye look you created is fabulous!! I’m def going to recreate this look with my other UD palettes.

Glad to see the issues I had with Neo are par for the course. It always irks me when UD puts out a cruddy purple, it’s their signature color and it’s not like they can’t make great purples – they have plenty in their line of singles. But then again, I have plenty of their purple singles plus Jilted and Urban in the Electric palette so one bad shade out of eight isn’t so intolerable.

For real! The “iconic UD eye” is purple, get it right! My favorite brand, I’m very loyal to UD and have been for years, but I’m starting to stray with their erratic quality lately. I haven’t bought off of their website in ages because I now test all palettes in the store. Used to be an automatic purchase at release online.

I’ve only used Neo, Les, and Exu so far, but I agree, Neo might be the worst purple I’ve ever used! When I tried to build it up, it just kind of dusted right off, and it was so hard to get it looking even. Didn’t blend well in the crease either. Yet, it still managed to stain my eyelids… grr…. Not sure what the story is there, as UD’s clearly put out a number of great purples over the years. At least it seems like I won’t have the same bad luck with the other shades I haven’t played with yet!

The face is a blank canvas, and on it you can paint any picture you want. With this interesting collab you can certainly bring out the ‘artist’ in you 🙂

Christine, this is one of your most stunning eye looks EVER! (And that’s saying something, considering you always have gorgeous eye looks.) I’ve been very excited for this palette. I was afraid I’d have dupes for those stunning blues and greens, but I don’t! Color me surprised and very pleased. Big thumbs down to UD for screwing up the purple. UD used to do such fantastic purples, but it seems like the last few releases haven’t been up to snuff.

That eye look is amazing and makes me want to buy this palette, but realistically, I know that I find blues and greens very challenging to pull off. Love the colour and finish of Exu!

Thank you for comparing Exu to the Full Spectrum Mean, I was wondering how much they matched when I first saw it. Also, curious how it compares to Acid Rain? Brighter? I’m hoping it applies better than Mean for me. Mine doesn’t want to leave the pan.

Love love love the look you created with this palette. I purchased almost the entire collection except for this palette, one of the lipsticks and one of the liners. Now I think I need to bite the bullet and get the rest of the collection.

Christina, first off, you always look stellar, regardless of brand. Now, I did by the Tenant palette because i did not have a bold color palette. I am disappointed that Neo was given such a low grade. I have not yet used the palette; but, purple is my favorite color. So, that is a bit of a bummer. Maybe it can be used as a wet liner. We’ll see. Exu and Boom look like a lot of fun. I have the Naked Smoky palette; and, that has never disappointed me. I also picked up both Epigram and Exhibition from the new collection. I was a little worried about how Epigram would look ( in store it reminded me of Mac’s Whirl). But, at home, it definitely looked like a Terracotta color. I don’t have a color like this in my collection; so, I can see wearing this a lot.

I always appreciate your thoughtful editors’ notes when there’s a controversial product! Generally I feel that making Basquiat’s work more widely known isn’t worth decontextualizing his art which was always critical of capitalism, so overall I find the whole thing ironic lol.

Anyway

That green look is amazing! I really need a small palette with a few bright colors but I’m sure I could find a better one elsewhere.

It’s a pretty vibrant cool toned palette for Spring in a beautiful case. if you like cool tones…apart from the dismay over the marketing, it’s easy to like. I don’t own any other UD palettes so for me it’s not duping any other previous UD release. The purple shadow is without a doubt the worst. On my fair olive skin,I have to try NOT to wear purple, lavender, or mauve every day of my life. Do I already have ample palettes in those colors? Of course. I’ve been wearing this palette using different shades since it arrived and I haven’t gone through them all yet. I first prime my eyelids with the UD lavender color corrector. It corrects pigmentation and makes the colors pop. The look resembles the KVD Pastel Goth but better if you prefer cool tones. The yellow, orange, and green in the KVD are much warmer toned than the colors in UD. The lime green is much more awesome than the KVD yellow. The deep green is so much prettier than the KVD green. And I personally cannot wear orange. And there is very few palettes in the cool range this season. So bravo!

I just bought this one online. I’m waiting for it to come in. ow, is it just me or has Graffiti been in another UD palette (maybe a Vice palette)? I think I may have it in another palette I own of Urban Decay. This will now bother me until I check. The others are definitely overall new and I’m super excited to see them, but I know I’ve seen Graffiti before.

I really love the prints on these boxes. Does anyone remember the Pony Shadow box palette? That’s the last time I remember seeing the artwork and nice tough cardboard palettes. I really missed the old artwork on the palettes! I can’t wait to get mine so I can do a dance for holding the nostalgic thick cardboard and artwork because while I love my Naked palette (I’ll be needing a new one soon with how much travel that thing sees. Horse shows, man, it sees a lot of them.), I secretly love my Pony palette so much. The artwork is precious to me, although I’m still figuring out how on earth to use the bright 70s blue.

UD did used to have a shade called graffiti in their old Deluxe formula, but it was a much brighter, st. paddy’s day sort of green, the one in the tenant palette, is MUCH darker, but of a similar tone.

For those of you who bought this palette: has anyone else been experiencing some irritation, especially with the blue shades? I wore it a couple of times when I first bought it, and thought I was having a bad contact day, but I pulled it out again today, and it’s the same thing; randomly watery eyes, and a slight warm feeling on my eyelids. :/ I’m kind of bummed, because I really like this palette, but I’m not sure it’s worth the pain.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!