ColourPop That's Taupe Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

That's Taupe

ColourPop That’s Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette ($14.00 for 0.30 oz.) is a new, nine-pan palette that is taupe-themed. It includes five matte eyeshadows, three shimmer eyeshadows, and one Super Shock Shadow (Slated). The matte eyeshadows were fairly smooth and velvety, blendable, and easy to work with, while the shimmers were so-so. I found the shimmers to be drier and more prone to fallout and lacking shine unless applied with a dampened brush (which wasn’t always the case with ColourPop’s shimmer formula).

That's Taupe

$14.00.
B-
B-
7.5
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
80%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Boa

Boa is a light-medium, rosy beige with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had opaque pigmentation with a soft, moderately powdery consistency that was prone to light fallout and sheering out a touch when applied. It stayed on decently for seven and a half hours before fading a bit.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Boa

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B
B
8
Product
10
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
86%
Total

Pebble Beach

Pebble Beach is a very light, golden taupe with warm undertones and a matte finish. The eyeshadow had a soft, smooth texture that felt velvety and more substantial, though it was somewhat powdery in the pan. It had opaque color payoff that adhered well to bare skin and blended out nicely without sheering out too readily. It lasted well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Pebble Beach

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Python

Python is a light-medium taupe with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had nearly opaque pigmentation that applied evenly to bare skin and blended out well, but it did have light fallout and had a tendency to turn other shades grayish (like Bedrock). The texture was soft, moderately powdery but substantial enough to work over bare skin and not lose its intensity. It wore well for seven and a half hours before fading a bit.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Python

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B
B
8
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
84%
Total

Slated

Slated is a light-medium beige with moderate, warm undertones and a sparkling, shiny finish. It had larger, chunkier sparkle particles, though the ingredient list didn’t list plastic glitter. The texture was smooth to the touch, lightly emollient, and thin, but it was hard to apply with precision as it was sheer and chunky, so blending it out seemed to move the product around unevenly. It did not build up that well either. This shade stayed on for eight and a half hours with light fallout over time.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$6.00/0.07 oz. - $85.71 Per Ounce

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow is a cream-based formula that comes in a multitude of shades and finishes. The more metallic shades have the most slip to them (they have a “wetter” feel), while the more matte ones have a firmer, more clay-like consistency. Almost every shade I’ve tried from ColourPop has been exceptionally long-wearing (10+ hours of wear, usually there until I remove, even 14 hours later). The pigmentation can vary from shade to shade, but the average shade is quite pigmented.

From feedback I’ve seen from readers, many love them but some don’t like them at all. They aren’t a traditional cream eyeshadow, as they are denser (more sponge-like), and they apply best with flat, firm, synthetic brushes (I like the MAC 242 and 249) for me. The brand recommends using fingers for the most pigmented application, but I’ve only felt that fingers were necessary on a few shades (usually the super glittery ones).

The more matte shades can be on the drier side and vary from medium to opaque in coverage, though they're often buildable.  They can be a little hard to diffuse the edges of, though some are lovely to work with.

The more glittery shades have been the weakest to me, as they can be sheerer or harder to apply.  Sometimes, they are more pigmented and work like the other finishes in the formula, but often, they are sheerer and only function well patted on top of more pigmented eyeshadows to add glitter.  They do, however, tend to have little fallout over time with the occasional shade having a more moderate amount of fallout (but still less fallout than most powder eyeshadows with glitter).

Browse all of our ColourPop Super Shock Shadow swatches.

Slated

PPermanent. $6.00.
F
F
4
Product
4
Pigmentation
6
Texture
7
Longevity
3
Application
53%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Snake Eyes

Snake Eyes is a light-medium, golden taupe with moderate, warm undertones and a frosted finish. The consistency was drier, somewhat prone to fallout, and the color itself appeared cooler-toned (perhaps more sparkle/shimmer) compared to the original shade. It had full color payoff that adhered decently to bare skin and but was more prone to emphasizing lid texture. There were signs of fading present after eight hours of wear.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Stearate, Silica, Dimethiconol, Phenoxyethanol, Talc, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Tin Oxide, Aluminum Powder (CI 77000), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Snake Eyes

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8
Product
10
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
87%
Total

Cold Blooded

Cold Blooded is a light, dirty taupe with warmer undertones and fine pink and gold pearl. It had semi-sheer color coverage paired with a dry, dusty, and thin texture that was prone to fallout, difficult to work with, and had to be applied with a fingertip or a dampened brush for medium coverage that actually adhered to the lid. It did not perform better over primer–it had to be used wet. It wore decently for six hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Cold Blooded

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
F
F
4
Product
5
Pigmentation
4
Texture
6.5
Longevity
4
Application
52%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Rock Steady

Rock Steady is a muted, medium taupe with neutral-to-warm undertones–more olive than typically warm-toned, like yellow or red–paired with a matte finish. The consistency was fairly powdery, so one had to be careful to tap off the excess and using pressing/patting motions to avoid fallout. It had full opacity in a single layer, which lasted well for eight hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Rock Steady

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
89%
Total

Constrictor

Constrictor is a blackened olive with subtle, warmer undertones and flecks of gold and olive green micro-sparkle. The texture was somewhat drier, dustier to the touch, which resulted in a bit of fallout, and the shade lacked some depth and sheen when applied dry. For truer-to-pan color and finish, it needed to be applied with a dampened brush. It had opaque color payoff that lasted for eight hours before showing signs of fading.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Constrictor

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
B+
B+
8
Product
10
Pigmentation
8
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
87%
Total

Bedrock

Bedrock is a medium-dark, taupe-brown with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation with a soft, smooth texture that was blendable without being too powdery, though I’d recommend using a lighter touch to avoid too much product on the brush. It wore well for eight hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our ColourPop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Bedrock

LELimited Edition. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop That's Taupe 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

ColourPop Boa Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Boa Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Pebble Beach Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Pebble Beach Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Python Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Python Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Slated Super Shock Shadow

ColourPop Slated Super Shock Shadow

ColourPop Slated Super Shock Shadow

ColourPop Snake Eyes Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Snake Eyes Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Fall 2017 | Look Details

ColourPop Fall 2017 | Look Details

ColourPop Cold Blooded Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Cold Blooded Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Rock Steady Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Rock Steady Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Constrictor Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Constrictor Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Constrictor Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Bedrock Pressed Powder Shadow

ColourPop Bedrock Pressed Powder Shadow

About Reviewer
Review FAQ
Reviewer

Christine Mielke is the editor-in-chief and has been reviewing products for over 14 years.

She has normal-to-dry skin with occasional dryness on cheeks and nose. She has a light plus skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones (view her foundation matches here).

Learn more about her review process here.

Explore Temptalia

We're here to help you make better beauty purchases that you'll enjoy and love! We recommend signing up to take advantage of personalized features like tracking products you own, viewing dupes that you already have, and more!

Here are some useful resources for you:

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

18 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

At first sight I’ve found this quite interesting. A smaller size version of ND glam, much more focused on taupes and less warm neutral. But even just from the sneak peek posted yesterday I suspected weak pigmentation with the shimmers. Really, what is wrong with shimmers? Lately a lot of neutral shimmers in palette are so and so… I used to think that this kind of shades are the ‘most simple’ to produce…

Them: It’s a cool-toned palette!

You: Every single one of these colors has warm undertones.

Do they think we’re stupid? Do they think we can’t look at these colors and see that they are less warm than others, but still definitely not cool? Do they even know what Taupe is?

THANK you, dang. Come on Colourpop. This is the That’s Not Taupe palette, and we all know it. I’m so tired of them calling warm colors cool and taupe (and gurus falling for it). We have eyes, CP!

I have a lot of neutral shades and don’t need to settle for something that is subpar. I am also pretty sure that this isn’t going to work well for anyone deeper skin toned. This pale neutrals are likely going to look ashy on deeper skin tones. This is an easy pass for me.

I don’t know what happened to Colourpop! They used to be so good, and now every shadow is a repeat or way too similar to something they’ve released before, and the quality has dipped a lot too. I think their “fast fashion of makeup” mentality is catching up to them.

Yet again, ColourPop launches a warm toned “cool toned” palette. How hard is it to create actual cool toned shadows???

I cannot believe that CP has done such a shoddy job of their shimmer shades – that once upon a time were so spectacular. It’s hard to even see what shade Cold Blooded was even meant to be. Constrictor was the only one the brand did well. What a major disappointment this palette is.
And this is not really a cool toned palette at all.

Boo. I already bought this and I wouldn’t have had I saw the review first but I was on vacation at a cabin rental in the woods and didn’t have much internet time. Also, CP website totally didn’t list the Super Shock shadow. What the heck! I hate mixed mediums in a palette. Boo!!

Are they perhaps attempting toppers? I know in one of their more recent palettes, there were 2 icy shades that had almost, well not even almost, they just had no pigment and left skin glittery and wet looking, yet the formula confused me and I couldn’t decide if they were actually toppers, or a new formula that flopped… Maybe the wild nothing? Is that it’s name? Palette… Gah my palette hoarding must be showing since I can’t remember their names lol…

Xoxo,
You made this palette look amazing though just going off your eye look.

Your smoky mauve eye is beautiful, Christine and the kind of eye look I really love. You did a great job eeking this out of the palette.

I’m so not into CP these days. Brand fatigue and performance issues are my primary reasons. I seem to get excited about some of their palettes, purchase them and become ambivalent once I have them. I vastly prefer other formulas. Some of their colour stories are precisely my sweet spot. I’m attracted to this palette, but I wouldn’t want to deal with the shortcomings.

Did Colour Pop get sold/bought out? Or have they just fallen victim to the corporate mentality (“less quality for you means more money for me”) as they got richer and more successful? I sure hope the old shadows are still the old quality, as I just stocked up on backups of the ones I love most.

This would have been my ideal color palette, too (and like others here I saw a dupe for ND’s newest Glam palette, which I didn’t want to buy). Oh, well, not like I go anywhere, so I didn’t really need it!

I thought it was interesting that there is the color Snake Eyes in this palette. I have the single from a few years back and mine looks to be much more cool toned and taupe leaning than the current version. Disappointing that even the shimmer formulas did not perform in this palette. It’s weird how inconsistent the palettes have been lately.

I like how they clearly intended a snake theme, but then decided that it will sell better if people realize it had taupes, so they called it “That’s Taupe.” Least creative name in a while. But it explains why the palette has warm tones — they were looking to mimic snake skin, and changed the focus to taupes last minute.

Anyway, it still looks kind of nice, even with the bad shimmer shades.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!