Pat McGrath Sublime Mini Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

01/08

Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime | Look Details
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime | Look Details
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette
Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette

Sublime

Pat McGrath Sublime Eye Ecstasy Mini Eyeshadow Palette ($28.00 for 0.18 oz.) is a new, five-pan eyeshadow palette with four metallic shades and one semi-matte shade (matte with fine shimmer/micro-sparkle). All five shades have been released previously, so those who have a lot of the brand’s past palette releases, this may be redundant. For those who have always wanted to try the formula but have held back due to the price point, it’s an excellent way to enjoy it. It’s a fantastic palette from a quality perspective, and I’m glad that the price point will make Pat McGrath more accessible to some.

The packaging is functional; it’s by no means luxe or weighty like the Mothership Palettes, but it seems like it would hold up for travel to me. The cover will give a little if you pushed firmly on the center, but it has a good click to stay shut. If you’re someone who would rather more of the cost go toward the actual product than the packaging, this is that–it contains $113.64 worth of eyeshadow! I would have liked to have seen something more in line with Natasha Denona’s mini palettes re: packaging — it doesn’t feel like a departure from the brand, though, and it’s more space-efficient!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sinful EYEdols Eyeshadow

Sinful

Sinful is a bright, light gold with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had nearly opaque color coverage in a single layer–enough that with a heavier hand, it was opaque. The texture was smooth, dense without being too firmly pressed in the pan, and felt creamy to the touch. The eyeshadow applied evenly to bare skin without falling out and blended out easily along the edges. It wore well for 10 hours on me before creasing noticeably.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Silica, Stearyl Dimethicone, Talc, Glyceryl Behenate, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylyl Glycol, Octadecene, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tin Oxide, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Poloxamer 338, Bronze Powder (Ci 77400), Aluminum Powder (Ci 77000), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491).

01/02

Pat McGrath Illicit EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Illicit EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Illicit EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Illicit EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Illicit EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Illicit EYEdols Eyeshadow

Illicit

Illicit is a deep brown with neutral-to-warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. It had very fine shimmer strewn throughout, and there was enough of it to keep it from appearing totally matte applied. It had nearly opaque color coverage in a single layer, which applied well to bare skin and diffused out well along the edges. The consistency was soft, slightly dusty in the pan but not prone to fallout or sheering out during application. It lasted well for nine and a half hours on me before fading a bit.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Talc, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ptfe, Zinc Stearate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Poloxamer 338, Silica, Iron Oxides (Ci 77499, Ci 77491, Ci 77492), Manganese Violet (Ci 77742), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Gold Nectar EYEdols Eyeshadow

Gold Nectar

Gold Nectar is a bright, golden copper with warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. The texture was soft, lightly creamy, and felt like silk to the touch. It had opaque pigmentation in a single layer, which applied evenly and smoothly to bare skin. The edges were easy to blend out without losing intensity on the lid. This shade stayed on nicely for 10 hours before creasing slightly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Dimethicone, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Zinc Stearate, Talc, Silica, Ptfe, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Tin Oxide, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Bronze Powder (Ci 77400).

01/03

Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Corruption EYEdols Eyeshadow

Corruption

Corruption is a medium-dark plum with warmer undertones and a shift that goes from pinkish-violet to copper to subtle green at the very edge and in the undertone. It actually left a slight bluish-teal stain behind when swatched (though I didn’t notice a stain from wearing it). It had rich pigmentation with a smooth, lightly creamy consistency that was dense without being too firmly pressed in the pan. The version in this palette was more yielding from the very first use compared to the original release. It wore well for ten hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Silica, Mica, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Boron Nitride, Talc, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Poloxamer 338, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Pat McGrath Sextrovert EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sextrovert EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sextrovert EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sextrovert EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sextrovert EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Sextrovert EYEdols Eyeshadow

Sextrovert

Sextrovert is a medium bronze with warm undertones and a soft, metallic sheen. The pigmentation was opaque in one stroke, while the consistency was smooth, creamy, and not too firmly nor too loosely pressed in the pan. I had no trouble picking up the product with a dry brush and applying it for an even lay down of color that looked “melted” after a couple of minutes. It lasted nicely for ten hours on me before creasing slightly.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Ptfe, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Poloxamer 338, Silica, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163).

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • Sephora
    • Receive a Grande Cosmetics GrandeLASH Enhancing Serum trial size with any $25 merchandise purchase. Use code LASHESFORDAYS. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 12/06.
    • Choose a Natasha Denona Eyeshadow trial sizes with any $25 merchandise purchase. Use code EYESHADE. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 12/07.
    • Receive a Drunk Elephant C-Tango Eye Cream trial size with any $25 merchandise purchase. Use code TANGO. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 12/08.
    • Choose a Clean trial size with any $25 merchandise purchase. Use code LOVECLEAN. Online only, exclusions apply, ends 12/09.
    • Most current list of available codes for samples here, ends 12/31.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

29 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

As much as I love this mini, I do have 2 of the shades in it, plus dupes for another shade. I did order the other jewel toned one instead, due to it having several shades from that one elusive LE Mothership….the one I let get away.

Subversive is a better pick for someone who already has a lot of neutrals or even a lot of past PMG palettes. Sublime is great quality, but it could easily be well-covered territory for some!

Same here, I only have metalmorphosis from Pat McGrath and I love it though not an every day palete. This one could be and I don’t think I have dupes!

I ordered these and I am excited as these are my first Pat McGrath eyeshadows. I am more into minimalism these days so I am fine with the packaging. Thanks for the great review as always!

The combination of shades here is lovely – you could do so much with these five, they are pretty perfect too. However I have really good dupes for most of them.

Beautiful shadows and great quality. I would expect no less from Mother!! I ordered the Subversive as these shades are pretty well covered in my palettes.

So pretty. I just received my first Pat McGrath palette within the past week. My eyes are a little wonky right now from migraine botox and awaiting approval for eyelid surgery dt blocked vision. My ability to play is reduce but soon…….
I’m impressed at the quality of mine and this one.

So excited PM has put these out, Have been lusting over her palettes for a long time but the price point was off putting. I’ve ordered both and can’t wait to try them out, Delighted this has performed so well. Now just if I should succumb to the Blitztrance Duo to finish it all off?

Fingers crossed you enjoy the formula! 🙂 Keep us posted.

Duos are definitely more attractive than before since they are pushing $40 a pop these days.

Eyeshadow singles are $25.00 each and contain 0.038 oz. I always use the value of the brand’s single eyeshadows to determine the palette value assuming that single eyeshadows exist (which they do).

For example, you can purchase: Sextrovert, Crimson Fire, Lapis Luxury, Gold Standard, and Synthetica individually (all shades between the two mini palettes).

$25.00/0.038 oz. = $657.89/oz. Each shade in the palette is 0.035 oz. and there are fine shades, so 0.175 oz. worth of product, which ends up being $115.13.

Our system rounds up to two decimal places, so it took 0.175 oz. and rounded to 0.18 oz., and I used what was written in my review (0.18 oz.) instead of recalculating the total weight again, so I had 0.18 oz. * $657.89 = $118.42.

Also interesting to note is that Sephora lists the weight for singles as 0.038 oz. but the actual EYEdols packaging lists them as 0.04 oz. (but 1.1g which actually converts to 0.0388 oz.). The mini palette contains 5x1g, which is actually 5 x 0.035274 oz. or 0.17637 oz. so the most accurate value is $113.64.

Thank you for the math! So you were being super precise. And I mistakenly thought these were the same size as the previous sampler palette release. It’s ironic that 5 come out to a value of $118 (or $116) or you could just buy 2 6-pans (12 colors) or 1 10-pan (10 colors) for essentially the same cost.
I think it’s because the singles cost double what they should. How do you pay $25 for 1 shadow 0.38oz but $28 for 0.35 but 5 shadows.. they may have literature graduates to confuse us with palette names but they definitely don’t have any math graduates to not confuse us with the cost of shadows!

The singles are priced where they should be for the brand – singles are always going to be substantially more expensive than palettes, but the actual size of the single eyeshadows is smaller than I would have expected (I expected 0.05 oz. to 0.07 oz.). Even on a mid-end brand like Urban Decay, two singles will run you $40.00 (0.10 oz. of product) and you can get a Naked palette for $44 (0.49 oz.) to $54 (0.60 oz.) – so same is true here; for the price of two eyeshadows, you can get nearly 5x the amount of product.

I would not expect $12.50 for a single PMG eyeshadow – that would make it one of the cheaper single eyeshadows on the market when they’re one of the more expensive brands on the market (lipstick at $40). Anastasia eyeshadows in just pan form run $12 but they’re not at all comparable in pricing in their product ranges – you’re just not going to see their singles at the same price point, especially given PMG’s singles include physical packaging around the pan of product. This is why the culture of palettes has made it harder for single eyeshadows to thrive; many brands are discontinuing or actively ignoring their single ranges because people buy palettes instead.

Some examples:

Pat McGrath EYEdols – $644.33/oz. (using 0.0388 oz.)
Tom Ford Private Shadow – $900/oz.
Chanel Ombre Premiere Powder Eyeshadow – $600/oz.
Burberry Wet & Dry Shadow – $483.33/oz.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow – $400/oz.
MAC Eyeshadow – $340/oz.
Natasha Denona Eyeshadow – $362.50/oz.
MAC Extra Dimension Eyeshadow – $500/oz.
NARS Hardwired Eyeshadow – $550/oz.
Bobbi Brown Eyeshadow – $350/oz.

This was my first Pat McGrath eyeshadow purchase, I’m really impressed with quality and quantity for this price. I was expecting super small based on her other palette prices but I’m pleasantly surprised at the size! I love the colors and how well they look together. I do need to find a good primer though

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!