NARS Inferno Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

01/10

NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

Inferno

NARS Inferno NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette ($59.00 for 0.48 oz.) is a new, limited edition palette that is exclusive to Sephora. It contains three more matte shades, five glitter shades, and four shimmery shades. If you don’t like glitter, this is an easy skip, because five shades contain glitter (one uselessly) and only three of the non-glitter shades are actually good.

The glitter used is plastic, and I have not been able to find any information that has suggested there’s been a change on whether plastic glitter can be marketed for eye usage in the US. I’ve asked a few industry sources, and they weren’t aware of any changes. NARS’ palette has a symbol of an eye on the back of it (typically indicates usage area), it’s listed as an eyeshadow palette, and I couldn’t find any warnings on the packaging, so as far as NARS’ seems concerned, there appeared no warning to give. (They are not the only brand I’ve seen using PET glitter and marketing it for eyes. It has become more common in 2019.)

I also saw that Red 7 is used in Come to Me (not currently approved for usage on the eyes by FDA). I present the information to readers so that they can have it and make whatever decision they’re comfortable with. Both PET glitter and Red 7 seem to have no restrictions for cosmetic use that I could find in the EU via CosIng.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

NARS Keep on Dancing Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Keep on Dancing Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Keep on Dancing Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Keep on Dancing Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Keep on Dancing Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Keep on Dancing Eyeshadow (2018)

Keep on Dancing

Keep on Dancing is a pale yellow with warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. It had good color coverage but was moderately powdery, which resulted in the product sheering out and dropping fallout during application. The eyeshadow lasted decently for seven hours before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

TALC · ETHYLENE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER · ZINC STEARATE · ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT · GINKGO BILOBA LEAF EXTRACT · LAUROYL LYSINE · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · POLOXAMER 338 · SILICA · TOCOPHEROL · HYDROGENATED LECITHIN · C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE · TRIBEHENIN · CERAMIDE NG · PEG-10 PHYTOSTEROL · LACTIC ACID · PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): CARMINE (CI 75470) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77492) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77499) · MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742) · MICA] ·

01/02

NARS Let It Whip Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Let It Whip Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Let It Whip Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Let It Whip Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Let It Whip Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Let It Whip Eyeshadow (2018)

Let It Whip

Let It Whip is a light, peachy gold with warm undertones and a frosted finish. The eyeshadow had nearly opaque color payoff that applied evenly to bare skin and blended out well. The texture was a bit firmer in the pan, but it picked up well enough with a brush. It stayed on well for seven and a half hours on me before I noticed fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Zinc Stearate, Punica Granatum Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Lauroyl Lysine, Tin Oxide, Poloxamer 338, Silica, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Tribehenin, Ceramide Ng, Peg-10 Phytosterol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Dimyristate, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Lactic Acid, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-12, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, [+/- (MayContain/Peut Contenir): Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Iron Oxides (Ci 77492), Iron Oxides (Ci 77499), Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891)].

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

NARS Rock Freak Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Rock Freak Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Rock Freak Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Rock Freak Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Rock Freak Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Rock Freak Eyeshadow (2018)

Rock Freak

Rock Freak is a slightly muted, medium-dark copper with warm, rusty red undertones and a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation with a smooth, velvety texture that was a smidgen powdery in the pan. The eyeshadow applied evenly and blended out without difficulty. This shade wore nicely for eight hours on me before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

TALC · ETHYLENE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER · ZINC STEARATE · ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT · GINKGO BILOBA LEAF EXTRACT · LAUROYL LYSINE · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · POLOXAMER 338 · SILICA · TOCOPHEROL · HYDROGENATED LECITHIN · C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE · TRIBEHENIN · CERAMIDE NG · PEG-10 PHYTOSTEROL · LACTIC ACID · PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): CARMINE (CI 75470) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77492) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77499) · MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742) · MICA] ·

01/02

NARS I'm So Excited Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS I'm So Excited Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS I'm So Excited Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS I'm So Excited Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS I'm So Excited Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS I'm So Excited Eyeshadow (2018)

I'm So Excited

I’m So Excited is a light-medium copper with strong, warm undertones and a metallic sheen. The eyeshadow had opaque pigmentation in a single layer, which adhered well to bare skin with a smooth, even lay down of product. It lasted well for eight hours before I noticed signs of fading.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

TALC · ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · ETHYLENE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER · ZINC STEARATE · PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT · GINKGO BILOBA LEAF EXTRACT · LAUROYL LYSINE · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · POLOXAMER 338 · SILICA · TOCOPHEROL · HYDROGENATED LECITHIN · C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE · TRIBEHENIN · CERAMIDE NG · PEG-10 PHYTOSTEROL · LACTIC ACID · PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77499) · MICA] ·

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

NARS Do It Right Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Do It Right Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Do It Right Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Do It Right Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Do It Right Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Do It Right Eyeshadow (2018)

Do It Right

Do It Right is a soft, rosy copper with warm undertones and a pearly sheen. It was richly pigmented with a smooth, slightly thin consistency that applied evenly and blended out well. This shade stayed on nicely for eight hours before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

TALC · CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE · ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · DIMETHICONE · ZINC STEARATE · LAUROYL LYSINE · PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT · GINKGO BILOBA LEAF EXTRACT · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · TOCOPHEROL · HYDROGENATED LECITHIN · ETHYLENE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER · C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE · TRIBEHENIN · CERAMIDE NG · PEG-10 PHYTOSTEROL · LACTIC ACID · POLOXAMER 338 · SILICA · PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE (CI 77163) · CARMINE (CI 75470) · FERRIC FERROCYANIDE (CI 77510) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77492) · MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742) · MICA · TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891)] ·

01/03

NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter
NARS Can You Feel It Pressed Glitter

Can You Feel It

Can You Feel It is a glittering, medium-dark copper with moderate, warm undertones. It had opaque pigmentation with larger flecks of glitter throughout, so there was some fallout during application and movement of the glitter particles when blended out. The underlying base was smoother and sat well on bare skin. It wore well for eight hours but had moderate fallout over time.

This shade contains PET glitter. Please see the beginning of the post for a discussion on this ingredient!

Ingredients

ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE · POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE · SYNTHETIC WAX · SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE · TALC · POLYURETHANE-11 · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · TIN OXIDE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · NYLON-12 · LAUROYL LYSINE · BORON NITRIDE · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): ALUMINUM POWDER (CI 77000) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · MICA · RED 40 (CI 16035) · TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891) · YELLOW 5 (CI 19140)] ·

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter
NARS Come to Me Pressed Glitter

Come to Me

Come to Me is a darker, coppery-red base packed with lots of red glitter. Per the brand, this seems to be one of their glitter “toppers” that they say to layer over other shades You’d have to be quite careful working with this as a layering product as it had a stronger base color that would mix with anything it went over.

It had semi-opaque pigmentation with a warmer, browner base that felt very emollient and had a firmer feel in the pan. The product was rather textured, almost gritty, as it was mostly glitter. It had fairly good dispersion of the glitter without much fallout during application. I tested it below my lid, and it had some migration after eight hours of wear but definitely kept most of the glitter in place.

This shade contains PET glitter. Please see the beginning of the post for a discussion on this ingredient!

Ingredients

CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE · POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE · SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE · ISODODECANE · ISOSTEARYL NEOPENTANOATE · PHENYL TRIMETHICONE · ETHYLENE/PROPYLENE/STYRENE COPOLYMER · ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN · POLYURETHANE-11 · TIN OXIDE · BUTYLENE/ETHYLENE/STYRENE COPOLYMER · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): ALUMINUM POWDER (CI 77000) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · MICA · RED 7 (CI 15850) · YELLOW 5 (CI 19140)] ·

01/03

NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shake Your Body Eyeshadow (2018)

Shake Your Body

Shake Your Body is a pale, golden beige with a sparkling sheen. It had sheer coverage with a firmer, stiffer consistency that didn’t pick up well with a brush or even a fingertip. What little I could apply to my lid seemed to last for five to six hours — it was hard to tell.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

01/02

NARS Shame Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shame Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shame Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shame Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shame Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Shame Eyeshadow (2018)

Shame

Shame is deep brown with neutral undertones and flecks of multi-colored glitter. This shade might appear matte-ish in the swatch, but the photo of the pan shows all of the larger glitter particles that existed… but never translated. This occurred during practice as well, so I would take great care using this shade as most of the glitter ends up on lashes, below the lid, etc. and could more readily get in the eye than some of the other glitters in the palette (which have more adhesive ingredients to bind them better).

It had sheer coverage with a very powdery, drier texture, and as a result, lots of fallout. It seemed to show signs of fading after six hours of wear, and there was hardly any glitter to detect whether it had migrated or not but hard to imagine that it did not.

This shade contains PET glitter. Please see the beginning of the post for a discussion on this ingredient!

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

TALC · CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE · ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · SYNTHETIC WAX · NYLON-12 · POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE · PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · TIN OXIDE · POLYURETHANE-11 · LAUROYL LYSINE · TOCOPHEROL · HYDROGENATED LECITHIN · BORON NITRIDE · C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE · TRIBEHENIN · CERAMIDE NG · PEG-10 PHYTOSTEROL · LACTIC ACID · PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): ALUMINUM POWDER (CI 77000) · CARMINE (CI 75470) · FERRIC AMMONIUM FERROCYANIDE (CI 77510) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77491) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77492) · IRON OXIDES (CI 77499) · MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742) · MICA · RED 7 (CI 15850) · ULTRAMARINES (CI 77007) · YELLOW 5 (CI 19140)] ·

01/03

NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter
NARS Turn the Beat Around Pressed Glitter

Turn the Beat Around

Turn the Beat Around contains smaller and larger, hexagon-shaped multi-colored glitter suspended in a clear base. It had a more emollient consistency that I could push around slightly with the end of a brush in the pan itself. It had good dispersion of the glitter without it resulting in a lot of fallout. It had medium to semi-opaque coverage, but if patted over something else with a fingertip, it worked as a topper–which was how it was marketed–but the glitter definitely dominated. I tested wear below my lid, and it seemed to stay mostly intact for eight hours with light glitter migration.

This shade contains PET glitter. Please see the beginning of the post for a discussion on this ingredient!

Ingredients

POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE · JOJOBA ESTERS · ETHYLHEXYL ISONONANOATE · SILICA SILYLATE · POLYURETHANE-11 · SILICA · GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE · HYDROGENATED STYRENE/ISOPRENE COPOLYMER · TOCOPHEROL · C12-20 ALKYL GLUCOSIDE · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): ALUMINUM POWDER (CI 77000) · BLUE 1 (CI 42090) · CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN (CI 77289) · FERRIC AMMONIUM FERROCYANIDE (CI 77510) · RED 40 (CI 16035) · YELLOW 5 (CI 19140) · YELLOW 5 LAKE (CI 19140)] ·

01/03

NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter
NARS Wishing on a Star Pressed Glitter

Wishing on a Star

Wishing on a Star contains medium-dark purple and plum glitter particles in an assortment of sizes, but it ran a bit finer, all suspended in a translucent base. It had a more emollient quality to it, and I could push the glitter around slightly in the pan with the end of my brush. The glitter applied evenly and spread out well without bunching up, and there was very minimal fallout during application. I tested wear below my lid, and it had light glitter migration/travel over an eight-hour period. It was more semi-opaque, so I’d use a small dab if using it as a topper was your aim (which is how it was marketed).

This shade contains PET glitter. Please see the beginning of the post for a discussion on this ingredient!

Ingredients

POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE · JOJOBA ESTERS · ETHYLHEXYL ISONONANOATE · SILICA SILYLATE · POLYURETHANE-11 · SILICA · GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE · HYDROGENATED STYRENE/ISOPRENE COPOLYMER · TOCOPHEROL · C12-20 ALKYL GLUCOSIDE · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): ALUMINUM POWDER (CI 77000) · BLUE 1 (CI 42090) · CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN (CI 77289) · FERRIC AMMONIUM FERROCYANIDE (CI 77510) · RED 40 (CI 16035) · YELLOW 5 (CI 19140) · YELLOW 5 LAKE (CI 19140)] ·

01/02

NARS Love and Desire Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Love and Desire Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Love and Desire Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Love and Desire Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Love and Desire Eyeshadow (2018)
NARS Love and Desire Eyeshadow (2018)

Love and Desire

Love and Desire is a medium-dark black with a satin sheen. It had opaque pigmentation but was very firmly-pressed into the pan, which meant I had to really jab my brush at the pan’s surface to get product to come off of the surface. It blended out decently but took extra effort to diffuse overall. It wore well for eight hours on me before fading visibly.

Formula Overview

$19.00/0.04 oz. - $475.00 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "rich, high-impact color" that is "lightweight" and has "increased blendability." Like most larger ranges, there are winners and losers, and some of how they perform can be related to the type of finish. The mattes are soft, slightly dusty in the pans (or not at all) with medium to opaque, often buildable, color coverage. The satin and metallics tend to be smoother, more blendable, and more pigmented with less effort; NARS does the these lower shimmer finishes particularly well, which just looks "melted" on the skin as they lay down so smoothly and have a great shine.

Most shades applied better on my lid than swatched on my arm, which has been something seen across NARS' eyeshadows for years and didn't change with the recent update to their powder eyeshadow formula. On average, they lasted between seven and nine hours on me without primer. They did apply well over primer and stayed on well for 14 hours with minimal fading.

Worth noting: the updated formula and packaging resulted in a product decrease from 0.07 oz. per pan to 0.04 oz. The single eyeshadows received a more noticeable price drop (from $24 to $19) but the duo eyeshadows could be priced better (from $36 to $35).

Browse all of our NARS Eyeshadow (2018) swatches.

Ingredients

CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE · TALC · ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT · STEARYL DIMETHICONE · ZINC STEARATE · PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT · GINKGO BILOBA LEAF EXTRACT · LAUROYL LYSINE · OCTADECENE · TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE · ALUMINUM DIMYRISTATE · DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE · TOCOPHEROL · HYDROGENATED LECITHIN · ETHYLENE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER · C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE · TRIBEHENIN · CERAMIDE NG · PEG-10 PHYTOSTEROL · LACTIC ACID · POLOXAMER 338 · SILICA · PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 · SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE · PHENOXYETHANOL · SORBIC ACID · [+/- (MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR): IRON OXIDES (CI 77499) · MICA · TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891)]

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • Neiman Marcus
    • 25% off regular-priced purchases with code FRIENDME (excludes beauty, vendor/category exclusions apply), ends 12/10.
    • Free shipping + free returns every day, ends 12/31.
    • 15% off your first order when you sign up to receive Neiman Marcus emails, exclusions apply, ends 8/30.
  • Nordstrom15% off select beauty brands/products (price-matching Macy's) (shop here), ends 12/09. Current gifts with purchases viewable here, ends 12/31.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

15 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

As the nostalgia factor actually only brings back some very painful memories along with it, plus the glitter being PET, I’m good over here just using my Fenty Galaxy Palette and similar such. At least Fenty’s doesn’t have PET glitter as far as I know. No eye irritation, either. I only own one questionable e/s that does have the plastic glitter. Had a bad enough experience one night removing it, that from now on I will only use my MJ Topaz Flash with glitter primer, and sweep UPWARDS away from my eyeball when removing!

It’s downright scary and irresponsible on Nars part! It will sadly and tragically involve some poor soul losing their eyesight or even their actual eye before these brands stop this incredibly foolish course they’ve taken using PET in eye products.

It’s weird that a US-based company would leave off the eye safety warnings! Definitely seems a bit sketchy. I’m guessing they know whatever regulatory body supposed to protect consumers from unsafe products will not concerned with glitter in an eyeshadow palette (for better or worse, since Europe doesn’t have the same restrictions).

I will definitely not be getting this palette, since I don’t do glitters. I’m still waiting for that perfect Nars palette to buy. Hasn’t come out yet, but one day I’m sure it will!

I am not a fan of Nars shadow’s in the best of times so this is an easy pass for me. I am also not a pressed glitter fan, regardless of what they are made of, but I do have to say, I like the combinations of glitter shades within the pressed glitters. I would use them in my mixed media work, LOL!

Well, the name of that brown shadow, Shame, sort of says it all. I cling to my sentimental love of Nars shadows but it’s getting harder and harder not to feel real sadness. Turn the Beat Around looks so interesting. It’s not an eye product for me but my late mom was a fabulous seamstress and made hand beaded evening wear and the closeup of that shadow reminds me of her trays of mixed sequins.

I haven’t purchased NARS e/s’s in a very long time and seems like that’s not going to change. Makes me a bit sad. I was a huge fan in the late 90’s and early 2000’s. At that point, they were quite edgy and unique.

How awful is this? With the high number of shades that contain the plastic glitter and shades that the brand could have/should have done well, but didn’t.
Thank you Christine for this review as many unsuspecting buyers could end up with a stack of glitter on their faces.

Is it me or is Nars stuck in the late 80’s-90’s? I like the look, but I am so disinterested by their latest palettes, so since the reviews aren’t grate that makes it easy to avoid.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!