Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/05

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette

Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017)

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette ($80.00 for 0.29 oz.) contains two Ambient Lighting Powders, one Ambient Bronzing Powder, two Ambient Lighting Blushes, and one Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder. The palette should work well for someone who likes the Ambient formula, as I felt like the formulas were consistent with the standalone shades I’ve tried in the past.

I know in the past, the value of the Hourglass palettes has been an issue, so I did the math for these – each powder was listed as 0.049 oz. each, which is comparable in size to last year’s palette. The breakdown is: $12.88 worth of Ambient Lighting Powder, $6.28 worth of Ambient Bronzing Powder, $24.83 worth of Ambient Lighting Blush, and $11.64 worth of Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder for a total value of $55.63. It might still be worth it for someone who rarely finishes their products, would not buy these products individually, and/or travels often.

I’m not sure what the release date for this palette is at all retailers but imagine it will be in the next few weeks.

9
Product
9
Pigmentation
9
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
91%
Total

01/04

Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Diffused Light

Diffused Light is a pale, yellowed beige with a soft, natural matte finish. There were fine, micro-sparkles strewn throughout the very silky, finely-milled powder. The powder applied translucently to the skin but gave my skin a softer, smoother look without making it appear flat or totally matte. I like the Ambient Lighting Powders for setting and/or finishing makeup. The softness of the powder itself did result in some powderiness in the pan, which was its real “downside.” For a more in-depth review, please read my original review on this product.

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9.5
Longevity
5
Application
99%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder

Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder

Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder

Hypnotic Strobe Light

Hypnotic Strobe Light is a soft, peachy gold with warm undertones and a sparkling sheen. It had semi-sheer coverage, which wasn’t particularly buildable, with lighter sparkle and fine gold shimmer. If you loathe “glittery” highlights, I would stay away; while it did not have chunky glitter, the particles were noticeable. Keep in mind, the brand designed the formula to be sheerer dry and more intense damp. It blended right in with my skin tone and gave a soft sheen. The texture was on the dusty side–more so than usual with the formula–but very blendable. Used with a dampened brush, it was more metallic on the skin but the coverage did not increase by much. On me, it lasted for eight hours.

8
Product
8
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
82%
Total

01/04

Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Dim Light

Dim Light is a soft, peachy beige with warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. The powder was finely-milled, silky to the touch, and a bit powdery in the pan, but it blended out easily on the skin and sat well. It gave my skin a smoother, more brightened appearance, though the effect was subtle enough that I found it difficult to capture in photos. It seemed consistent with past iterations (palette and standalone) of this shade. It worked well as a setting powder (extended wear of my base by an hour or two) or finishing powder.

Dim Light
Dim Light
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
99%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer

Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer

Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer

Luminous Bronze Light

Luminous Bronze Light is a medium, golden brown with soft, pale gold and medium gold shimmer. The formula is supposed to have “buildable color and a radiant finish.” It had semi-opaque, buildable color coverage with a soft, lightly dusty texture that kicked up excess product in the pan but did not look dry or powdery on the skin. The bronzing powder blended out nicely on the skin and gave a luminous sheen. I found that the version in my palette appeared lighter than my standalone compact, though their undertones were very similar. It wore well for eight hours on me. You can read my original (more in-depth) review here.

9
Product
9
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
90%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush

Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush

Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush

Surreal Halo

Surreal Halo is a medium, rosy plum with subtle, warm undertones and a fine, sprinkling of gold pearl. It had semi-sheer coverage, which was buildable to medium coverage and in line with the brand’s description of the formula. The texture was soft to the touch but more powdery than anticipated based my past experience with their blush formula. I think that when applied, it looked beautiful–luminous, even–so it ended up working out but swatches were certainly concerning. The blush lasted for eight hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$35.00/0.15 oz. - $233.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have “depth and dimension” unlike traditional blush, be “lightweight and airy,” and have the “perfect balance of pigment and powder.” Hourglass says it uses “an advanced ‘miscelare’ technique,” which means to mix in Italian (per Sephora) and is how the marbled effect is achieved. The blush is also supposed to have “buildable color.” It does bring to mind the concept of a lot of baked formulas on the market, but I think the texture is softer and more finely-milled than most.

The texture is very soft and delicate; it feels exactly like the Ambient Lighting Powders. In an all-over powder, I don’t mind what can sometimes veer on powderiness, but in a blush, it can be easy to overload color onto the blush and then onto the skin. I wish it was slightly firmer or less powdery, which would minimize waste and make it more foolproof to apply. If you are really fair, I highly recommend using a light hand, perhaps a stippling brush, and feel out the process–a regular blush brush might prove dense and pack on too much color. I used Tom Ford’s Cheek Blush Brush to apply, which worked well, because I’m of a medium complexion, but I also used a lighter hand initially and found it applied a good amount of color from the get-go.

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush swatches.

8.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
88%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush

Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush

Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush

Pure Effect

Pure Effect is a brighter, medium pink with soft, warm undertones and a satin sheen. The finish was exceptionally lovely–probably one of the better finishes in the formula that I’ve come across thus far–with a very smooth, silky texture that wasn’t powdery or dusty in the pan. It was, however, opaque in a single layer (which was at odds with the brand’s “buildable color” description), but I felt like the softness of the texture and blendability of the formula made it easy to just use less and build up coverage if sheerer coverage was desired. This shade lasted for eight and a half hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$35.00/0.15 oz. - $233.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have “depth and dimension” unlike traditional blush, be “lightweight and airy,” and have the “perfect balance of pigment and powder.” Hourglass says it uses “an advanced ‘miscelare’ technique,” which means to mix in Italian (per Sephora) and is how the marbled effect is achieved. The blush is also supposed to have “buildable color.” It does bring to mind the concept of a lot of baked formulas on the market, but I think the texture is softer and more finely-milled than most.

The texture is very soft and delicate; it feels exactly like the Ambient Lighting Powders. In an all-over powder, I don’t mind what can sometimes veer on powderiness, but in a blush, it can be easy to overload color onto the blush and then onto the skin. I wish it was slightly firmer or less powdery, which would minimize waste and make it more foolproof to apply. If you are really fair, I highly recommend using a light hand, perhaps a stippling brush, and feel out the process–a regular blush brush might prove dense and pack on too much color. I used Tom Ford’s Cheek Blush Brush to apply, which worked well, because I’m of a medium complexion, but I also used a lighter hand initially and found it applied a good amount of color from the get-go.

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush swatches.

9
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total