Temptalia Logo
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
  • Giorgio Armani Beauty15% off sitewide, ends 10/16.
  • Lord & Taylor15% off beauty (30% off other categories) with code FRIENDS, ends 10/23.
  • Macy'sToo Faced Better than Sex mascara for $12, ends 10/16.
  • Ulta20% off orders (including prestige) codes out, check email/snail mail, ends 10/27.

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

01/05

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette
Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette

Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017)

Hourglass Vol. 3 (Holiday 2017) Ambient Lighting Edit Palette ($80.00 for 0.29 oz.) contains two Ambient Lighting Powders, one Ambient Bronzing Powder, two Ambient Lighting Blushes, and one Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder. The palette should work well for someone who likes the Ambient formula, as I felt like the formulas were consistent with the standalone shades I’ve tried in the past.

I know in the past, the value of the Hourglass palettes has been an issue, so I did the math for these – each powder was listed as 0.049 oz. each, which is comparable in size to last year’s palette. The breakdown is: $12.88 worth of Ambient Lighting Powder, $6.28 worth of Ambient Bronzing Powder, $24.83 worth of Ambient Lighting Blush, and $11.64 worth of Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder for a total value of $55.63. It might still be worth it for someone who rarely finishes their products, would not buy these products individually, and/or travels often.

I’m not sure what the release date for this palette is at all retailers but imagine it will be in the next few weeks.

9
Product
9
Pigmentation
9
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
91%
Total

01/04

Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Diffused Light

Diffused Light is a pale, yellowed beige with a soft, natural matte finish. There were fine, micro-sparkles strewn throughout the very silky, finely-milled powder. The powder applied translucently to the skin but gave my skin a softer, smoother look without making it appear flat or totally matte. I like the Ambient Lighting Powders for setting and/or finishing makeup. The softness of the powder itself did result in some powderiness in the pan, which was its real “downside.” For a more in-depth review, please read my original review on this product.

Formula Overview

$45.00/0.35 oz. - $128.57 Per Ounce

The Ambient Lighting Powders breathe life back into the skin after you’ve applied foundations and setting powders–especially if you have more mattifying base products on. They’re not full-on highlighters, but they’re not exactly setting powders (by Hourglass’ definition, they are finishing powders).

If you have very oily skin, you may still need your usual setting powder, but for my normal-to-dry skin, the Ambient Lighting Powders work as a setting and finishing powder in one for me. I get extended wear out of my base products, but the powders also smooths the skin’s appearance, minimizes pores and imperfections, and gives the skin a natural luminosity (not shiny, not shimmery). It is that something extra that someone won’t see and go, “Oh, nice lipstick!” but “Did you do something different with your skin?” When people start asking you about your skincare routine, that’s when you know a product is really delivering on its promises!

The only negative I have to say about the products is that the texture is very, very soft, so depending on the brush you use, excess powder can be kicked up (and wasted).

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Benzimidazole Diamond Amidoethyl Urea Carbamoyl Propyl Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Polyacrylamide, Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Potassium Sorbate, Dehydroacetic Acid, Laureth-7, Ethylhexylglycerin, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain: Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride),Ci 77491 (Iron Oxide),Ci 77492 (Iron Oxide), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxide),Ci 75470 (Carmine).

10
Product
10
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9.5
Longevity
5
Application
99%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder
Hourglass Hypnotic Strobe Light Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder

Hypnotic Strobe Light

Hypnotic Strobe Light is a soft, peachy gold with warm undertones and a sparkling sheen. It had semi-sheer coverage, which wasn’t particularly buildable, with lighter sparkle and fine gold shimmer. If you loathe “glittery” highlights, I would stay away; while it did not have chunky glitter, the particles were noticeable. Keep in mind, the brand designed the formula to be sheerer dry and more intense damp. It blended right in with my skin tone and gave a soft sheen. The texture was on the dusty side–more so than usual with the formula–but very blendable. Used with a dampened brush, it was more metallic on the skin but the coverage did not increase by much. On me, it lasted for eight hours.

Formula Overview

$38.00 -

According to Hourglass, the Strobe Lighting Powders have a “sheer base” paired with “ultra-fine pearl particles” that give a “naturally luminescent highlight … without a heavy metallic finish.” They are wet/dry powders with dry application for less of a highlight and damp application for a stronger highlight. If you find most highlighters “too much” for your tastes but find the Ambient Lighting Powders not enough, then you may enjoy the Strobe Lighting Powders.

Hourglass also launched a slanted, sponge applicator designed to be used with this product, which is what I used to apply the highlight in the photos below, but I prefer regular brushes for more even application and easier blending. The powder definitely intensifies with damp application–you can see how it gets brighter, lighter, and more shimmery.

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Dimethicone, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Water/Aqua, Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dehydroacetic Acid, Diamond Powder, Ethylhexylglycerin, Laureth-7, Polyacrylamide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tin Oxide, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain (+/-): Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

8
Product
8
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
82%
Total

01/04

Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder
Hourglass Dim Light Ambient Lighting Powder

Dim Light

Dim Light is a soft, peachy beige with warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. The powder was finely-milled, silky to the touch, and a bit powdery in the pan, but it blended out easily on the skin and sat well. It gave my skin a smoother, more brightened appearance, though the effect was subtle enough that I found it difficult to capture in photos. It seemed consistent with past iterations (palette and standalone) of this shade. It worked well as a setting powder (extended wear of my base by an hour or two) or finishing powder.

Formula Overview

$45.00/0.35 oz. - $128.57 Per Ounce

The Ambient Lighting Powders breathe life back into the skin after you’ve applied foundations and setting powders–especially if you have more mattifying base products on. They’re not full-on highlighters, but they’re not exactly setting powders (by Hourglass’ definition, they are finishing powders).

If you have very oily skin, you may still need your usual setting powder, but for my normal-to-dry skin, the Ambient Lighting Powders work as a setting and finishing powder in one for me. I get extended wear out of my base products, but the powders also smooths the skin’s appearance, minimizes pores and imperfections, and gives the skin a natural luminosity (not shiny, not shimmery). It is that something extra that someone won’t see and go, “Oh, nice lipstick!” but “Did you do something different with your skin?” When people start asking you about your skincare routine, that’s when you know a product is really delivering on its promises!

The only negative I have to say about the products is that the texture is very, very soft, so depending on the brush you use, excess powder can be kicked up (and wasted).

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Benzimidazole Diamond Amidoethyl Urea Carbamoyl Propyl Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Polyacrylamide, Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Potassium Sorbate, Dehydroacetic Acid, Laureth-7, Ethylhexylglycerin, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain: Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride),Ci 77491 (Iron Oxide),Ci 77492 (Iron Oxide), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxide),Ci 75470 (Carmine).

Dim Light
Dim Light
10
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
10
Longevity
5
Application
99%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer
Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light Ambient Lighting Bronzer

Luminous Bronze Light

Luminous Bronze Light is a medium, golden brown with soft, pale gold and medium gold shimmer. The formula is supposed to have “buildable color and a radiant finish.” It had semi-opaque, buildable color coverage with a soft, lightly dusty texture that kicked up excess product in the pan but did not look dry or powdery on the skin. The bronzing powder blended out nicely on the skin and gave a luminous sheen. I found that the version in my palette appeared lighter than my standalone compact, though their undertones were very similar. It wore well for eight hours on me. You can read my original (more in-depth) review here.

Formula Overview

$50.00/0.39 oz. - $128.21 Per Ounce

The Ambient Lighting Bronzer formula is supposed have a “sheer, airy” feel (sheer as in texture) that give a “natural, sun-kissed glow” with the “illuminating effects of Ambient Lighting Powder” with “bronze pigments” that give it “buildable color.” The formula tends to be more pigmented (usually semi-opaque), but the textures are always soft enough that a less dense brush or lighter hand is an option for picking up less product and getting less coverage. I find that the bronzer formula tends to be less powdery compared to the original Ambient Lighting Powders, which is nice. The wear is typically around eight hours on me.

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Bronzer swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol, Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dehydroacetic Acid, Diamond Powder, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Laureth-7, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Potassium Sorbate, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tin Oxide, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain (+/-): Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

9
Product
9
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
90%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Surreal Halo Ambient Lighting Blush

Surreal Halo

Surreal Halo is a medium, rosy plum with subtle, warm undertones and a fine, sprinkling of gold pearl. It had semi-sheer coverage, which was buildable to medium coverage and in line with the brand’s description of the formula. The texture was soft to the touch but more powdery than anticipated based my past experience with their blush formula. I think that when applied, it looked beautiful–luminous, even–so it ended up working out but swatches were certainly concerning. The blush lasted for eight hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$35.00/0.15 oz. - $233.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have “depth and dimension” unlike traditional blush, be “lightweight and airy,” and have the “perfect balance of pigment and powder.” Hourglass says it uses “an advanced ‘miscelare’ technique,” which means to mix in Italian (per Sephora) and is how the marbled effect is achieved. The blush is also supposed to have “buildable color.” It does bring to mind the concept of a lot of baked formulas on the market, but I think the texture is softer and more finely-milled than most.

The texture is very soft and delicate; it feels exactly like the Ambient Lighting Powders. In an all-over powder, I don’t mind what can sometimes veer on powderiness, but in a blush, it can be easy to overload color onto the blush and then onto the skin. I wish it was slightly firmer or less powdery, which would minimize waste and make it more foolproof to apply.

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol; Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dehydroacetic Acid, Diamond Powder, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Laureth-7, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Potassium Sorbate, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tin Oxide, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, May Contain: (+/-): Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Carmine (CI 75470), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

8.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
88%
Total

01/03

Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush
Hourglass Pure Effect Ambient Lighting Blush

Pure Effect

Pure Effect is a brighter, medium pink with soft, warm undertones and a satin sheen. The finish was exceptionally lovely–probably one of the better finishes in the formula that I’ve come across thus far–with a very smooth, silky texture that wasn’t powdery or dusty in the pan. It was, however, opaque in a single layer (which was at odds with the brand’s “buildable color” description), but I felt like the softness of the texture and blendability of the formula made it easy to just use less and build up coverage if sheerer coverage was desired. This shade lasted for eight and a half hours on me before fading noticeably.

Formula Overview

$35.00/0.15 oz. - $233.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have “depth and dimension” unlike traditional blush, be “lightweight and airy,” and have the “perfect balance of pigment and powder.” Hourglass says it uses “an advanced ‘miscelare’ technique,” which means to mix in Italian (per Sephora) and is how the marbled effect is achieved. The blush is also supposed to have “buildable color.” It does bring to mind the concept of a lot of baked formulas on the market, but I think the texture is softer and more finely-milled than most.

The texture is very soft and delicate; it feels exactly like the Ambient Lighting Powders. In an all-over powder, I don’t mind what can sometimes veer on powderiness, but in a blush, it can be easy to overload color onto the blush and then onto the skin. I wish it was slightly firmer or less powdery, which would minimize waste and make it more foolproof to apply.

Browse all of our Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush swatches.

Ingredients

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol; Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dehydroacetic Acid, Diamond Powder, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Laureth-7, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Potassium Sorbate, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tin Oxide, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, May Contain: (+/-): Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Carmine (CI 75470), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

9
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
10
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Makeup Look

On face:
  • Guerlain Lingerie Peau Foundation
On eyes:
  • Huda Beauty Desert Dusk Eyeshadow Palette
  • Marc Jacobs Beauty Grapevine Highliner
On lips:
  • Hourglass I Dream Confession Lipstick

Product Availability

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit Palette $80.00/0.29 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). (For more information, please check the FAQ.)

Get Updates by Email

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

54 Comments

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the post above for information regarding pricing, availability, dupes, and availability, and keep discussion on-topic.

Please do not ask if/when a review will be posted as we cannot review everything and often change priorities from day-to-day. If you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us. Thank you!

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Comments on this post are closed.

“It might still be worth it for someone who rarely finishes their products” – that’s me, but I refuse to pay $80 in $55 worth products.
Christine, are you aware that there’s a “Temptalia make-up” store at [redacted]

Questions to ask oneself (and myself!) are:
1.) Does the yearly HG ripoff bother so much that I would turn down a palette this well put together?
2.) When is the last time I used up an entire cheek or face powder?
3.) Okay, so I’ve determined that I love every single shade in it and would use it to death; do I jump?
I’m sitting here on the rail, obviously!

Very true, Christine! It is. Their pulling this stunt 3 years running is rather insulting, but this particular one has deeper blush shades than years past. And both are gorgeous. But the more I ponder it, it is slowly becoming a pass. So far, I haven’t bought any HG powders, only tried them in-store.

Do it Nancy. I’m back to using the original edit palette daily and I’ve never stopped using the original trio palette. I use diffused light under my eyes and dim light on top of my blush. The bronzer, highlighter and blushes are all beautiful and I keep them in rotation.

I am not sure that my input will clarify anything for you Nancy but I do think the shades in the palette would be beautiful on you and the formula is really nice. I have three of the ambient l lighting blushes and finishing powders and my daughter has last Christmas’ palette and they are really gorgeous formulas. I know for me and my daughter, I doubt we would ever use the entire palette up. It takes such a little amount to get the desired effect. You should check them out when they land in stores. The good news last year was that it didn’t sell as well and wasn’t sold out until after the holidays.

Deborah S. , I will check this one out once I can get a gander at it. Will see if I love it just as much in person, and I’ve got a feeling I will! Although, I do have that inner turmoil over HG doing the terrible $ vs oz. yet again, so the jury is out.

I tend to carry makeup for a complete look around with me, which is enough separate products to be a pain if I’m trying to be quick but thorough. Having bronzer, highligher, finishing powder, and 2 choices of blush in one palette would likely be worth it to me. I already use the Hourglass ambient lighting powder trio and the blush trio for these things (my skin is pretty pale, so the darkest finishing powder in the trio works as a light bronzer for me), but I love those new blushes in that palette, and I tend to go for a stronger highlight than I used to. That plus having a real bronzer in that palette makes me very tempted.

But there’s no reason why this palette can’t be a fair reflection of the cost of the original products. If this was $55 for $55 of product, I’d say “Fine”. Even if it was $60, perhaps the convenience factor would balance out the slight extra cost. But, as Nancy said, they’ve done this 3 years in a row and every time, the price hike has been considerable (and it’s not like Hourglass is an inexpensive line to start with). It has tuned me entirely off the brand. It’s not like there aren’t dupes for these products and other companies (Z, MUFE, MAC and Inglot) have empty palettes into which we can fit the products of our choice so we can have everything in one place and at a fraction of this gouging.

Total grams of product doesn’t seem very relevant to me, personally, so while the cost issue seems odd, it doesn’t bother me. $80 for 6 high-end products all of which I’d use works for me! I can totally see why it would make it not worth it for a lot of folks, though!

It bothers me top. My initial reaction was to purchase it, but, my second reaction was to Google and see if they pulled the same crap again. I landed here and read the comments right away. So h*** no! I will be skipping it yet again. Besides, dim light again?! I so hope Hourglass chokes on this palette like they did last year. (Notice how last year’s palette was recently a Sephora point perk?) I have the trio of finishing powders and the blush trio from when they first had blushes. But this middle finger to the customers around the holidays really ticks me off. Shame on you HG!!!!!!!!

Don’t like the idea of paying $ 80 for $55 worth of products. I already have Diffused Light, which I like for setting the under eye area, and it’s one of the few powders our there that have a nice natural looking yellow base, without smelling like bananas, so I’m good!

I mean I got the similar one they released last year (or was it two years ago?) as a gift and it’s beautiful, but when you buy a palette you usually get more product for less money (not the other way around) or if not, the excuse is usually packaging. So… not packaging and not product… at almost 100 bucks, I’m not sure Hourglass is a big/famous/iconic enough brand to pull this off.

Hmm, pale, beige, more beige and light pink…. not hard to guess who their market demographic is, I suppose.

For $52, you could buy six pans of the Colourpop pressed highlighters and bronzers, plus a magnetic palette to put them in!

I’ve tried a couple of Hourglass products (hated the primer!) and they’re decent enough, but IMHO, just not worth the cash. Easy pass for me.

I purchased last holidays palette for my daughter and she really loves it. She has used it a lot and so I probably will pick this up for her this year. It is really pretty and the colors are a good choice I think. She has a light medium skin tone and I think these shades will work for her.

Ugh. I already have both Dim and Diffused Light (although Diffused is my favourite highlighter ever, so I’ll need to replace it sooner or later). That makes the value equation even worse for me… But the other shades, particularly Pure Effect, look lovely. I’ve managed to resist the previous two iterations of this, but this is the most tempting one yet…

These look so pretty but pricey and I am a bit interested in trying highlighters from CP. I Dream looks amazing on ya and such a pretty color..if I like I Crave…I may just have to get this one:). Really wish that holiday refill set had colors that weren’t so brown and plumy. True Love Means looks like be ok..but browns and mauves are just no gos.

I know I said I wouldn’t but I kinda want it. The other palette has lasted quite a long time still a lot left. Love having a variety but I use mood light the most and dim light when I want to look tan!

Most others have echoed my feelings about this rip off pricing yet again. For the past 2 years, these palettes have NOT sold out at my local Sephora locations and I was glad of that. But for one lipstick purchase, I have not bought anything from Hourglass in at least 4 years. Carolina said it well – 80 bucks for a plastic palette with 50 dollars worth of powder. Honestly, I think it’s disgraceful, whether or not you are prone to using things up entirely.

Enjoying this review to distract me from the hurricane Irma. Even though this is low value for the money I want it. Especially since I missed their blush palette the year before last . Mainly because I love Hourglass blushes and powders so much. I doubt if I’ll hit pan. But Hourglass could have did better for customers during the holidays!!

I’m glad to see ‘Pure Effect’ is included in this palette, but it needs to be a permanent full-size color, too. Even though I’m fair, none of the present blush colors are pigmented enough for me. I tried the magenta color, but had to return it. It just wasn’t enough and disappeared into nothingness on me. This color would fill a huge gap in the company’s offered range. But, in no way am I interested in buying this palette for the one blush that I’d love to have. As for dupes, I’m thinking Becca’s Camillia might be close enough (although I don’t trust my monitor very much).

This is beautiful! Christine, have you ever thought of using a deeper complexion model for some of your swatching? That would be so helpful for WOC who want to get a true idea of how this may look on us.

I already love this! definitely going to pick it up even with the product cost vs. quantity of product, really appreciate that information though! I bought the trio holiday blush set from Hourglass a few years ago and paid $60 for three blushes (Which I LOVE), so retail wise $80 for six shades in different formulas, bronzer, highlight, blush etc. seems worth it to me. Will have to look at it in person to make a final decision but I never buy their full size product and love that this palette has a nice range of their product line.

Ughhhh. This is the first time I’m actually tempted. It has everything in it I love and would want in a single palette. But I think it’s so lame about the pricing/product amnt. Kind of insulting. LOL I’m gonna have to sit on it and see just how much I am opposed to it on principle. Looks gorgeous on you!

Most of the products would get used. I really have an issue with the cost vs the amount but it’s rare I use something up. They appeal in the sense of getting a lot of tones/utility out of one palette. HMMMMM….

I don’t notice a difference in the side with the powder and without the powder. $80 when two of the powders seem to do nothing is way too much for me even if the blushes are really pretty.

I bought the first Xmas trio and used all it up within six months. I haven’t re-purchased any of the ambient powders since then. this summer I bought a blush which I love, but it doesn’t last as long as my Too Face blush.

This is the most appealing edition of HG holiday palettes so far, but its still a pass. It’s awful value for money (imo) and its also more than I need.
If Hourglass were to extend their customizable trio palette to all of their powders, I would totally go for that! I think having palette of 3 is more practical and more portable.

OMG-THIS!! I don’t know WHY they haven’t broken down and offered this form of personalization (I heard they do in their store w/just finishing powders.) Everybody that is a die-hard HG fan would be all over customizing a palette from ALL of their available offerings allowing choice based on their individual color needs &/or desired products. For instance, I would love the dim finishing powder, a blush & bronzer in their 3 pan but if they offered a 6 pan, I would add another blush, highlight and finishing powder. And I wouldn’t care about over-paying per ounce of product!

I had the one from two years ago and skipped last years. I used the one I had almost every day and hitted pan on both finishing powders and the bronzer, I used it for traveling, I also doubled the blushes and the bronzer as shadows so it covered almost everything I needed. This one is the prettier so far so I’m going to buy it because even if I know the price isn’t right, I can justify it because I really like them, enjoy them and use them a lot!!!

This made me really mad, even though I know it’s just makeup. I would love to purchase this palette, but at such a discrepancy between the amount of product you are getting for the high price point, I refuse to purchase this. If the palette just broke even on itself, I wouldn’t hesitate to get it but not at such an obvious cash grab.

Hey Loves!

My best friend ordered this for me as an early Christmas present. Thoughts on this palette for someone with fair/ivory skintone with cool undertones? Hoping for the best! Never have tried HG

I just went through my first Ambient Lighting Palette (the original) and am also almost out of my standalone Diffused Light. Everybody says they last forever but in my case I’ve gone through both the palette and the individual Diffused in under a year. I do use them everyday though, and all over the face in different ways. I considered not repurchasing, but there’s just something about these powders. However, I will be buying the original palette (which has been out of stock at my local Sephora for the past two weeks!) over this holiday palette because it’s such little product in the holiday palettes. It looks so much bigger in pictures but it’s actually really small, to the point that I don’t know how I would even fit my usual brushes into the individual pans. I also own Mood Light and Ethereal Light (standalones.) I’m not ready to give up my ALPs anytime soon 🙂

I do have a question though. How do the Ambient Lighting Powders (particularly Dim, Diffused and Ethereal) compare with NARS Light Reflecting Setting Powder (particularly the pressed version) as all over setting powders? Do you think any one of these is more “perfecting”? I’m kind of fascinated with HD powders and have owned a few loose versions (including the Eshiko,) but I find they all have looked soooo matte and powdery on me. I know that they can be very perfecting because when I swatch them on my hand, all of my lines and pores totally disappear where the swatch is! But on my face, the matte-ness and chalkiness only emphasizes lines and imperfections … So I guess I’m trying to find the most perfecting setting powder. I would love to hear about everyone’s favorite setting powders.

If you don't see your comment yet, it's still in our moderation queue. We try our best to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind. Thank you for your patience!