Guerlain Gold Palette (Holiday 2017) Review, Photos, Swatches

01/09

Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette | Look Details
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette | Look Details
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette
Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette

Gold Palette

Guerlain Gold Palette Holiday 2017 Palette ($80.00 for 0.50 oz.) is a new, limited edition eye and cheek palette that contains six eyeshadows and two blushes. Per the brand, the eyeshadows can be used dry for a “natural finish” or wet for a “lustrous result.” The brand specifically mentioned that “the golden shadow can be applied alone or as a topcoat.” They did not call out any of the other eyeshadows, and there was another exceptionally sheer shade (golden beige). The two matte shades did not work well damp (seemed to darken the pan permanently), so I would only advise using the shimmery shades with a dampened brush unless dampening the brush after picking up the powder. The blushes need to have their oversprays removed or else they feel gritty; the underlying powders were fine after that. It’s not the worst palette I’ve tested, and if you’re someone who uses your shimmery eyeshadows damp already, then it might work well for you. If you prefer using your eyeshadows dry, then this one was a real mess to use and wear.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Guerlain Gold Palette #1 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #1 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #1 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #1 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #1 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #1 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow

Gold Palette #1

Gold Palette #1 is a dark brown with neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It had a soft, velvety texture that had some powderiness in the pan but did not look dry on the lid, though it did sheer out a bit in practice. The eyeshadow was blendable and lasted for seven hours on me.

01/02

Guerlain Gold Palette #2 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #2 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #2 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #2 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #2 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #2 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow

Gold Palette #2

Gold Palette #2 is a soft, very light taupe with neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation with a soft, lightly powdery texture that felt smooth to the touch and blended out easily. It wore well for seven hours on me before fading.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Guerlain Gold Palette #3 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #3 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #3 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #3 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #3 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #3 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow

Gold Palette #3

Gold Palette #3 is a sparkling, medium gold with warm, orange undertones and a metallic finish. Applied dry, it had sheer coverage with a chunky texture that had tons of fallout, while applied damp, it had more opaque coverage and held together better. There was still a bit of fallout during dampened application, but it lasted a lot better–seven hours–while dry application constantly dropped product throughout a five-hour wear time.

01/02

Guerlain Gold Palette #4 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #4 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #4 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #4 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #4 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #4 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow

Gold Palette #4

Gold Palette #4 is a sheer, golden beige with warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic sheen. It was somewhat buildable from sheer to medium coverage applied dry, but it was much more opaque, smoother, and easier to work with using a dampened brush as it was just too loose otherwise. It lasted for seven hours damp, three hours dry (lots of fallout!).

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/02

Guerlain Gold Palette #5 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #5 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #5 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #5 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #5 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #5 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow

Gold Palette #5

Gold Palette #5 is a medium-dark, coppery brown with warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had opaque color payoff both wet and dry, but the dampened application yielded a smoother, more fallout-resistant application and wear. The eyesahdow stayed on well for six hours dry and seven and a half hours damp.

01/02

Guerlain Gold Palette #6 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #6 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #6 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #6 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #6 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow
Guerlain Gold Palette #6 Holiday 2017 Eyeshadow

Gold Palette #6

Gold Palette #6 is a deep brown with warm undertones and a metallic sheen. It had excellent pigmentation both wet and dry with the dampened application making it appear slightly deeper and more metallic. The texture was soft, blendable, and easy to work with. It wore well for eight hours both dry and damp on me.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #7 Holiday 2017 Blush

Gold Palette #7

Gold Palette #7 is a medium pink-coral with warm undertones and a fine gold sparkle. It had medium, buildable coverage with a powdery texture that was prone to sheering out. It was fairly blendable, but it will tend to work better on less-dry skin types as I felt like it could exacerbate the dryness on my cheeks otherwise. This shade wore well for seven hours before fading noticeably.

01/03

Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush
Guerlain Gold Palette #8 Holiday 2017 Blush

Gold Palette #8

Gold Palette #8 is a pale peachy-pink with soft, warm undertones and a matte finsh. The consistency was soft to the touch but moderately powdery, so there was a lot of excess product kicked up in the pan. It had a better texture than the other blush, though, as there was more substance to it and it did not sheer out as quickly. This shade lasted for seven hours on me.

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • Neiman Marcus
    • Enjoy $50 off $200 off your regular price purchase with code NMCIRCLE, ends 10/20.
    • Free shipping + free returns every day, ends 12/31.
    • 15% off your first order when you sign up to receive Neiman Marcus emails, exclusions apply, ends 8/30.
    • Get 15% off your first order when you sign up for emails, ends 8/30.
  • NordstromCurrent gifts with purchases viewable here, ends 12/31.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

21 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

I’m skipping on this one as I already have enough glittery shades here that usually only require Nyx Glitter Primer or a a brush dampened slightly with my e.l.f. Mist & Set. It DID produce a lovely golden eye look, though, so it’s not a horrible palette, really.

Maybe for Holiday 2018, Guerlain can surprise us by going back to their formulations circa Turandot. I’m not sure how their shadows went from awesome to meh. 🙁
(Am I crazy? I could swear they used to excel at shadows in addition to their skin and lip products.}

Bought it and returned it! A+ for packaging & design, but the pigmentation just isn’t there. They are so sheer compared to my Natasha Denona, ABH & Pat McGrath palettes, had to return it!

Oy, vey! If I didn’t get Petrouschka, named after my beloved malamute (lol), certainly not springing for this. It seems the only G that is safe, sight unseen these days is lipwear. Even bronzer and meteorites need to be checked, though for color, not poor formula. There is a fair consistency to the holiday seasonal disappointment with Guerlain, at least palettes. I’ll stick to the scents, although every true fragrantista says none are the same after the oakmoss controversy.

Meh. I’ll stick with my BH Cosmetics Carli Bybel Deluxe palette for a fraction of the cost and a ton more product that’s much better quality.

It certainly looks divine but it should be better for the price point…

I had this in my cart buy was unsure, thanks for the review. Im glad i didnt pull the trigger, Also what lipstick are you wearing? Its beautiful on you!

I was convinced Turnandot would move to perm, I was shocked it was discontinued so quickly.

I was so interested in the Gold Palette in photos looked amazing, but now. Its a no.

Shame about the poor review because I really liked the look of this palette 🙁 But at this price point, there’s not a chance I’ll buy it. NEXT! 😉

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!