ColourPop Making Mauves Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

1 of 9
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette
Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette

Making Mauves

Colour Pop Making Mauves 9-Pan Pressed Powder Palette ($12.00 for 0.36 oz.) is a new, mauve-themed eyeshadow palette that included a mix of mattes and shimmers. The palette came together cohesively, and the majority of the shades had good pigmentation, applied easily, and lasted for eight hours with a few shades needing to be built up or were somewhat powdery. Those who tend to get along with ColourPop’s eyeshadows shouldn’t be disappointed.

Note, A La Mode contains plastic (PET) glitter as the second ingredient for the shade.

Making Mauves

PPermanent. $12.00.
B+
B+
8.5
Product
9.5
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
89%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop R and R Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop R and R Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop R and R Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop R and R Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop R and R Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop R and R Pressed Powder Shadow

R and R

R and R is a light-medium pink with warm undertones and a matte finish. The consistency was smooth, velvety, and substantial with light powderiness, but it adhered well to bare skin without fallout and wasn’t prone to sheering out too readily. It had rich color coverage that stayed on nicely for eight hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

R and R

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
1 of 2
Colour Pop Solitaire Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solitaire Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solitaire Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solitaire Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solitaire Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Solitaire Pressed Powder Shadow

Solitaire

Soltaire is a muted, light-medium brown with warm, rosy undertones and a matte finish. It was richly pigmented with a smooth, velvety texture that had a light powderiness in the pan but seemed to apply quite well without fallout. The eyeshadow blended out easily along the edges and lasted well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Solitaire

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
A
A
9.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
94%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop Big Moves Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Moves Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Moves Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Moves Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Moves Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Moves Pressed Powder Shadow

Big Moves

Big Moves is a light mauve with cool undertones and a matte finish. It had nearly opaque color payoff that was buildable to full coverage with a second layer. The texture was soft, smooth, and not too powdery nor too firmly pressed into the pan. It applied evenly to bare skin and blended out well along the edges. This shade stayed on nicely for eight hours before showing signs of fading.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Big Moves

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
1 of 3
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Bicoastal Pressed Powder Shadow

Bicoastal

Bicoastal is a light-medium peach with warm, orange undertones and flecks of pink sparkle. It had semi-opaque color coverage with a slightly looser, more powdery consistency that worked better with a fingertip or a dampened brush than a dry brush. When I used a dampened brush, I could get nearly opaque coverage that went on more smoothly. It wore well for seven and a half hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Bicoastal

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
B-
B-
7.5
Product
9
Pigmentation
7.5
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
81%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 3
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter
Colour Pop A La Mode Pressed Glitter

A La Mode

A La Mode is a medium-dark pink with warm undertones and a sparkling finish. The texture felt lightly creamy, more emollient with a moderate density but could be pushed slightly around the pain without being powdery. It had good color coverage in a single layer, which applied best with fingertips to get a more even lay down of product and to minimize fallout. It stayed on well for eight hours on me with slight fallout over time.

Also, it’s not marked as a Pressed Glitter, but plastic glitter was the second ingredient in this shade.

Ingredients

A La Mode:Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Acrylate Copolymers, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Myristate, Synthetic Beeswax, Chlorphenesin, Dehydroacetic Acid, Tin Oxide, Carmine (Ci 75470), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

NOTICE: All products categorized under "Glitter" contain Polyethylene Terephthalate, also known as plastic or PET glitter, and it is typically cosmetic grade glitter. Inclusion of this ingredient sometimes carries a warning (in the US) that the product is "not intended for use in the immediate eye area." This ingredient has not been approved for usage on the eyes per the FDA. In recent years, some brands are including this product in their eyeshadows without any warning or callout and effectively marketing them as eyeshadows or including a symbol of an "eye" which suggests eye usage. Via CosIng for EU, PET glitter is permitted without any restrictions or limitations. For an in-depth look at whether cosmetic grade glitter is safe, please view this post.

A La Mode

PiPPermanent in Palette.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8
Longevity
4.5
Application
84%
Total
1 of 3
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Mauve on Up Pressed Powder Shadow

Mauve on Up

Mauve on Up is a muted, medium plum with strong, warm undertones and a bright, sparkling finish. It had rich pigmentation that applied well to bare skin with a smooth, creamy consistency that had moderate slip but felt more powder-like as soon as it came into contact with my skin. There was a bit of fallout over an nine-hour period before it also started to fade.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Mauve on Up

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
A
A
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9.5
Texture
9
Longevity
5
Application
94%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!
1 of 2
Colour Pop Tongue Tied Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Tongue Tied Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Tongue Tied Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Tongue Tied Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Tongue Tied Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Tongue Tied Pressed Powder Shadow

Tongue Tied

Tongue Tied is a light brown with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish with faint sparkle strewn throughout. The texture was smooth, velvety, and dense without being too powdery nor too thick, so it applied evenly and blended out nicely along the edges. There were a few stray sparkles that dropped below my lid, though most of them seemed to get lost on the way to my eye! It wore well for eight hours before fading visibly.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Tongue Tied

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
A-
A-
9
Product
10
Pigmentation
9
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
92%
Total
1 of 2
Colour Pop Marquee Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Marquee Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Marquee Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Marquee Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Marquee Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Marquee Pressed Powder Shadow

Marquee

Marquee is a deep plum with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. It had good pigmentation that was buildable to full coverage with a second layer. The texture was somewhat powdery, so I’d be careful to tap off excess prior to applying it to the lid area to avoid some fallout, but the eyeshadow was blendable. It lasted well for eight hours before fading noticeably.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Marquee

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
B
B
8
Product
9
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
4.5
Application
86%
Total
1 of 2
Colour Pop Big Fig Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Fig Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Fig Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Fig Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Fig Pressed Powder Shadow
Colour Pop Big Fig Pressed Powder Shadow

Big Fig

Big Fig is a medium-dark mauve with moderate, warm undertones and a matte finish. The eyeshadow had excellent color payoff in a single layer, which applied evenly to bare skin and blended out well without sheering out too readily. The texture was somewhat powdery, but it had minimal fallout during application. It stayed on nicely for eight hours before fading a bit.

FURTHER READING: Formula Overview for details on general performance and characteristics (like scent).

Formula Overview

$4.50/0.05 oz. - $90.00 Per Ounce

The new Pressed Powder Shadow formula is supposed to be “highly pigmented” with an “ultra-velvety and silky” texture that is “long-wearing” and “adheres easily to the eyes.” Most of the shades have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation that applies well to bare skin, blends out without issue, and lasts for seven to eight hours.

The matte eyeshadows tend to be a little more powdery, though soft and finely-milled, in the pan, while the shimmers have a creamier, dense consistency. Occasionally, the more sparkly or metallic shades apply better with fingertips or a dampened brush.

Browse all of our Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow swatches.

Big Fig

PiPPermanent in Palette. $4.50.
A-
A-
8.5
Product
10
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
8.5
Longevity
5
Application
90%
Total
About Reviewer
Review FAQ
Reviewer

Christine Mielke is the editor-in-chief and has been reviewing products for over 14 years.

She has normal-to-dry skin with occasional dryness on cheeks and nose. She has a light plus skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones (view her foundation matches here).

Learn more about her review process here.

Explore Temptalia

We're here to help you make better beauty purchases that you'll enjoy and love! We recommend signing up to take advantage of personalized features like tracking products you own, viewing dupes that you already have, and more!

Here are some useful resources for you:

Compare Any Two

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

26 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

Gorgeous palette!

Christine— you may have answered this already so I apologize, but after your glitter eye incident, do you apply/remove products you review that contain glitter differently? I feel like glitter is so pesky that no matter how careful we are a piece might still get in our eyes.

Well, I didn’t realize this had glitter until I wrote this review – so long after I wore it on my eyes already! I am, generally, not wearing larger particle glitter at all on eyes, and for finer stuff, it depends on the formula. I didn’t feel comfortable with ABH’s more recent pressed glitters as they had very little adhesion on their own.

Christine,
I didn’t realize this had glitter until I read your review, so a big thank you! This aggravates me…I feel like CP is being shady about their ingredients in the eye palettes. Ultimately it’s up to the consumer to do their homework but CP isn’t making it easy! I like CP but I’m at the point where I won’t buy a palette with pressed glitter in it period. I’m not willing to risk the health of my eyes.

Fenty, MAC, Marc Jacobs, NARS, UD, etc. have and do use PET glitter in products for eyes (without any warning!), so it really seems like it might be a particle size thing more than anything else re: whether disclosure happens or not 🙁

Mauves are my favorites and I love this palette. However, because I love mauves so much, I have a lot of them and can pretty easily dupe this palette. So I’ll just admire from afar.

It’a a pretty palette, but I wish they would make a mauve palette with more cool to neutral mauves instead of mostly warm toned.

I SO agree!!! What is it with everything being warm toned lately? (forever, lol) It seems like if it isn’t blue or green, it’s warm toned! Bah!

Weirdly, A La Mode doesn’t look in the least bit “glittery” in the swatch. It must be very fine milled. Not sure how I feel about that, really. Overall, I really do love this palette a lot! But would probably feel safer with the one by CT for green eyes instead.

I was wondering if some of the tones in this would be dupes for the Divine Rose palette, and there is certainly some borderline dupes here. If I didn’t already have Divine Rose, I might’ve just gotten this and some other shadows to dupe the metallics.

Hah! You just described 8 of the 9 shadows with “warm undertones” for a palette influencers are raving about as “cool-toned” – as if “not having actual oranges and reds” makes something cool. Takeaway: Colourpop still sucks at cool-toned palettes. Thanks for saving me 12 bucks, Christine. 😀

Like Fame. Cooler than Fortune, but only a couple of shades were truly cool. It was as if they took coolish shades and tweaked them warmer. My preference for mauve, especially in lipstick, leans gray.

A very pretty set of mauves, but I find that CP has too many mattes in it for my liking and the shimmery shades are either poorly done or have plastic glitter in them.
Gorgeous eye look Christine.

I was pretty curious with this one but I seriously do not want plastic ingredients in cosmetics. Pass. I’m thankful for dupes though.

I almost skipped over thiss review as I am mentally if not physically overloaded on red leaning palettes. I find this to be a cool leaning red, mauve palette. An oxymoron, I know. I loved your application and the palette in general.

It’s so disappointing how warm this palette turned out to be. Mauve is a specific color, named after the pale purple flower. The Mauve On Top shadow is very pretty, but it’s rose gold at best. Bicoastal is champagne. And two of the mattes are orangey browns. 🙁

The real mauve star imo is the Bloomer SSS. That one is beautiful, and actually mauve.

I really want this palette as all but one shade really impressed me! It’ll be pretty for spring and softer looks which I’m into lately.

Christine!! I know that I’ve probably asked you this before, but PLEASE tell me what highlighter you’re wearing in the ‘about the reviewer’ pic… I’m obsessed with it! ?

This is a lovely palette but I am so angry at this sneaky plastic business!! It’s making me not want to buy colourpop anymore.

So is ColourPop no longer labeling their pressed glitters as such and instead leaving consumers to scan ingredients lists for polyethylene tetraphthalate if they want to avoid potentially dangerous plastics in their eyeshadows?

I know many other companies don’t openly disclose it either, and so CP was getting a disproportionate amount of flack because they did, but the solution we wanted was for them to stop including them in eyeshadow palettes or come up with an eye-safe, biodegradable formulation. Instead they’ve decided to go the shady route, because they know they can get away with it. Sigh.

I own and love this palette. I have fair skin with a slight yellow undertone and all of the looks I’ve made so far look neutral to cool toned on me. I’ve been waiting for an affordable brand to come out with a grey-ish purple palette and this has fit the bill for me. R and R and Big Moves make great all-over transition shades and the sparkle shades are stunning on the lid.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!