Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad Review & Swatches

01/13

Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose | Look Details
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose | Look Details
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose | Look Details
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose | Look Details
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose | Look Details
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose | Look Details
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad
Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad

Ritualistic Rose

Pat McGrath Ritualistic Rose Blitz Astral Eyeshadow Quad ($65.00 for 0.2 oz.) is a new, limited edition palette that features four shimmering shades: a light-medium gold, duochrome peach-pink, sparkling plum, and a soft bronze. All four shades had semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation, applied evenly, blended out without issue, and had good wear (around 10 hours!). Three of the four had a fair amount of sparkles but fallout was minimal during application and throughout wear.

Updated: As of October 18th, the Ritualistic Rose quad is now available for purchase at Sephora. I know many were waiting, so here’s your notification! 🙂

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Antique Gold 002 EYEdols Eyeshadow

Antique Gold 002

Antique Gold 002 is a light-medium gold with subtle, warm undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had nearly opaque pigmentation applied dry and full coverage applied with a dampened brush. The texture was dense, firmer in the pan but picked up well with a brush, and it softened slightly after two uses. The color applied evenly to bare skin and blended out nicely with very minimal fallout (applied with a dry brush). It wore well for 10 hours on me before creasing faintly and didn’t seem to have fallout during wear.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

01/03

Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Astral Rose Orchid EYEdols Eyeshadow

Astral Rose Orchid

Astral Rose Orchid is a brighter, warmer pink with a sparkling, pink-to-gold shifting duochrome finish. I found that it looked like a light-medium pink less than half of the time; most of the time, it was lighter, brighter, and more of peachy-gold with flecks of pink.

The texture was fairly smooth, but I could feel (by touch) how much sparkle was packed into the formula, but I was impressed by how well the sparkles and powder came together as it had minimal fallout during application–even with a dry brush–and how there didn’t seem to be additional fallout during blending, though there was some dispersion (more so than intended).

It had good pigmentation applied dry as well as with a dampened brush; I didn’t find that the dampened brush improved the underlying base color come through much but it helped with laying down a smoother, shinier layer of product overall. On me, the eyeshadow stayed on well for over 10 hours with very minimal fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/03

Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Rose Quartz 005 EYEdols Eyeshadow

Rose Quartz 005

Rose Quartz 005 is a medium, rosy plum with subtle, warm undertones and slightly cooler pink sparkle over a metallic finish. It had opaque pigmentation applied dry as well as with a dampened brush, though dampened application made the color appear darker, richer, and gave it a shinier finish.

The texture was fairly smooth, but there was a textural element there from the sparkles at the surface. It felt denser and more firmly-pressed in the pan, and it softened after the initial use, though I didn’t struggle to get coverage or work with it on first use but noticed more product picked up more readily on the second and third uses.

It applied evenly to bare skin and blended out nicely along the edges. I didn’t experience issues with fallout during the initial lay down of product onto my lid, and there seemed like a few stray sparkles that dropped during blending. It lasted nicely for 10 hours with slight fallout over time.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

01/03

Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow
Pat McGrath Beyond Bronze 003 EYEdols Eyeshadow

Beyond Bronze 003

Beyond Bronze 003 is a light-medium, golden bronze with muted, warm undertones and a lightly sparkled, pearly sheen. It was the least shimmery/metallic shade in the quad, but it definitely has a reflective finish to it and won’t give the depth of a true matte finish (even in a pinch) would.

The consistency was smooth to the touch, dense and almost cream-like but more firmly-pressed into the pan. It had rich color payoff that adhered evenly to bare skin and blended out with ease along the edge without losing its intensity. It wore well for 10 hours without fading or creasing on me.

Formula Overview

$25.00/0.04 oz. - $625.00 Per Ounce

Pat McGrath's eyeshadows are, generally, supposed to be "super-saturated" with "creamy, soft textures" and "extreme blendability and adherence without creasing." A lot of how well they perform (and to some degree, how they are supposed to be applied and marketed) depends on the type of shades, but by and large, the eyeshadows perform very much as they are described.

The brand released single eyeshadows in March 2019, and the shades have been consistent in quality, look, and feel. They are not removable, unfortunately, so one would have to depot like any other single eyeshadow--I tried using tweezers and lifting on several shades to no avail. The lids are held closed by a weak magnet, so I'm not sure they're as secure as most single eyeshadow compacts in my stash--I wish it really locked in, but there's definitely a magnet that pulls the lid down if it's within 2mm of the base.

The mattes are velvety, blendable, and dense without being thick or too heavy, and they have semi-opaque to opaque pigmentation where a little can go a long way with some of the deeper and richer hues. The satin and pearl finishes are smooth, lightly creamy, and firmer but not dense or thick with good pigmentation, blendability, and easy application. The more metallic finishes tend to be softer, creamy, and smooth with a bit more denseness and no powderiness. The sparkly/glittery shades are often designed to be applied wet for richer coverage or intensity, which has largely been my experience. Most of the shades last between eight and nine hours.

Browse all of our Pat McGrath EYEdols Eyeshadow swatches.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • Beauty BayFree tracked shipping on $50+ orders / free express shipping on $100+ orders, ends 12/31.
  • BeautylishFree shipping on $35+ orders, ends 12/31.
  • Bite Beauty50% off Amuse Bouche Lipsticks & Matte Creme Lip Crayons, while supplies last (shop here, also on sale at Sephora), ends 11/26. Our holiday gift guide is here! Spend $50+ and choose from 4 Lip Tins, ends 12/17.
  • Bloomingdale's$25 reward card for every $100 spend in beauty (for loyallists), ends 11/17.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

26 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This is soo gorgeous! I’m so excited to pair it with Iconic Illumination and see the looks I can create with them. I initially thought the color scheme something I might already have, but not with those reflects and shine. Thanks for a another amazing and prompt review Christine!

People have been questioning the issue if why so much gold. It’s because its a holiday collection. During the holidays, they feel the need to add something with a rich, goldish color or silver.

Last years holiday release, i dont recall seeing anything gold, really. They had dark star and the purple palette but the other was bronzy. I’m not a gold person at all… the Natasha Denona Gold palette makes me cringe as does the mini but i can deal with these as they are the special formulas. If Pat released a special formula palette full of golds, i would still buy it because if you are a Pat McGrath fan, you know those are priceless. We live for the special formulas.

The name of the collection is Opulence. What is more decadent and opulent than gold with a purple duo chrome and a pink shift? Thats Pat! Ahead of the game and thats why we call her aunty.

I feel like Pat McGrath puts a gold in every palette she makes. I try not to buy palettes with golds, because I have too many golds for someone who doesn’t really like the color, so I want her to branch out a bit! I really like how Subversive (the mini colorful $28 palette) looks, but there’s a gold in that too!

That first world problem aside, this is a very pretty palette. The gold does go with the rest of the shades, and Rose Quartz is such a beautiful raspberry. I definitely need to look into dupes for that one!

I totally agree with you, Julie! Gold is lovely but with three quads, why another gold? I feel like a iridescent lavender or deep plum would have been lovely in this palette.

That would have been incredible! I’m not familiar at all with brand analytics, but I would guess that the people most likely to buy Pat McGrath palettes are people who already own her palettes, so I feel like branching into shades she hasn’t done before would make a lot of sense. And I’m always down for iridescent lavenders!

Totally agree about the gold. Enough already! It’s in every PM palette I own and it doesn’t even look good on me. Including it all the time seems lazy to me. Including the unnecessary gold, I’ve got dupes for two others so this palette is an easy pass for me.

I only own 1 Pat McGrath palette (one of the smaller ones) and it has THREE variations on “gold”. All 3 are very lovely but 3 in one smaller palette??? And then to put more iterations of the same shade in every palette – as you say, it would be nice if she’d branch out a bit more.

Those 2 rosy shades are so sumptuous and I already know what magic they’d do with blue-green eyes, that this quad is quite the temptation. Only thing is, the other 2 shades are fairly basic. I’d have loved a bright white gold with a pink shift and a deep maroon satin finish shade instead of another gold and a brown that many of us probably already have in our stash a few times over. Not sure if I’m buying it or not, yet.

I am ridiculously excited about this one. It’s rather nice every once in awhile to indulge in makeup because it’s been awhile since I actually felt giddy about something. Should be here in a couple of days.

I do like this palette, but again wonder why the bronze shade is included, as there are so many PMG dupes of this colour residing in a lot of her palettes. It’s more that for those who love the rose tones get shades that are unique to this quad.
A stunning eye look Christine too.

I just got mine and had an extremely similar experience for all shades. Just like you, a lot of flecks everywhere during application with a dry brush. Fewer if applied with the finger. For me though, Astral Rose Orchid looked so gold that it almost looked like the gold shade in the palette, Antique Gold 002 (but much more sparkling). I put one shade on each lid and was struck by the similarity.
Overall, all shades are beautiful and remind me how much I love Pat’s shadows. They play well with her MTHRSHP palette colors too.

Yeah, that’s why the actual gold is even more redundant in the palette because Astral Rose Orchid looks peachy-gold a good deal of the time – definitely a shade that looks more different to someone looking at you than you looking at yourself, though.

Thanks for the review Christine! I was really looking forward to this one since it could look great with my green(mostly)/brown hazel eyes
I only have metalmorphosis from Pat McGrath and surprisingly enough no dupes of any of the four shades! So if it does get to Sephora this one will be mine! (Living outside the US and depending on a friend to ship things to her that I get when we see each other, I limit myself to one retailer where I can concentrate all my perks)

It’s online at Sephora now, can’t wait for the VIB sale!! 🙂
Would you say that if I buy this then it would be redundant to buy the Eye Ecstasy Sublime mini palette? I had it in my basket but it looks very similar to Rose Blitz!

I am very happy I splurged on this quad. The photos do it no justice; Astral Rose Orchid alone is so special to me that it makes the whole splurge worth it.

I am absolutely LIVING for Pat McGrath’s glittery vision. Her shadows are just so wonderful that they elevate my mood when I use them.

I love all things Pat McGrath. But I love sparkle glitter and gold. This is a must buy for me. I love the lighter more neutral colors. I understand some feel the gold is redundant but not for those of use who can’t get enough of golds and bronze shades. I would like the white golds and pink white gold shifts .. but I’m just happy to have a pink palette finally

Unfortunately, most of her golds are straight up golds. It would be nice to get some duochrome shifts on the golds if she’s going to be that repetitive.
Natasha Denona has a similar issue with gold, having dedicated an entire palette to this color. She has a couple of very unique golds, though. There’s a white gold in the Tropic palette that reminds me of the Colourpop super shock formula that’s spectacular. The white gold in the Mothership VI palette is a bit like it but more glitzy. Then there’s a green gold in the Metropolis palette that has a pink/peach flip that’s breathtaking. And the green gold in the Gold palette, oh my. All of these are best applied with finger. Something about the heat or maybe patting motion of the finger brings out the bling and full color range.
But I agree – too many golds that translate the same on my eyelid in her palettes.
And having said all that, this palette is worth it just for the astral pink orchid and bronze shades. They are absolutely beautiful and unique. If you like pink or bronze, get this on the VIB sale 🙂

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!