NARS Hot Tropic Lip Gloss Set Review & Swatches

01/04

NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set
NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set

Hot Tropic

NARS Hot Tropic 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set ($39.00 for 0.72 oz.) includes four, full-sized glosses with three being more cream-like in finish and one having moderate pearl. All four were sheerer in coverage, applied decently, and were comfortable to wear, though they tended to wear two to three hours. NARS’ gloss formula is supposed to have a “sheer intensity,” so the sheerness was as expected.

01/06

NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss
NARS Tua Motu Lip Gloss

Tua Motu

Tua Motu is light-medium, rosy beige with subtle, warm undertones and warmer, fine gold pearl. It had sheer pigmentation in a single layer, which applied evenly and didn’t emphasize my lip lines. The pearl distributed somewhat evenly, but it could have spread out better overall. The consistency was smooth, lightweight, and comfortable to wear over the two hours it lasted for, though it was lightly moisturizing while worn.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.18 oz. - $144.44 Per Ounce

When NARS launched their reformulation of the Lip Gloss range, the coverage was described as "sheer shine to bold luster," but as of February 2019, the brand simply describes the coverage as "sheer intensity." That's not really accurate, as the range does, actually, range from sheer to more opaque--it greatly depended on the shade. The formula is also supposed to be "smooth" and "nourishing." Some shades applied evenly, while others pulled into lip lines or looked streaky. The consistency was thinner, lightly tacky (with some additional tackiness developing over time), but it was comfortable and lightly hydrating over time. I wish the applicator pulled more product out per application, which would make it a bit easier to spread the product out overall.

There did not seem to be any taste or scent to the formula.

Browse all of our NARS Lip Gloss swatches.

01/06

NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss
NARS Marquesas Lip Gloss

Marquesas

Marquesas is a soft, light-medium pink with warm undertones and a cream finish. It had semi-sheer color payoff that applied somewhat evenly, but there was noticeable product that sank into my lip lines. The milkier quality of the color and finish made it prone to accentuating any unevenness of my natural lip color, too. The texture was spreadable, lightweight, and just a touch tacky. It stayed on well for two and a half hours and felt lightly moisturizing over time.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.18 oz. - $144.44 Per Ounce

When NARS launched their reformulation of the Lip Gloss range, the coverage was described as "sheer shine to bold luster," but as of February 2019, the brand simply describes the coverage as "sheer intensity." That's not really accurate, as the range does, actually, range from sheer to more opaque--it greatly depended on the shade. The formula is also supposed to be "smooth" and "nourishing." Some shades applied evenly, while others pulled into lip lines or looked streaky. The consistency was thinner, lightly tacky (with some additional tackiness developing over time), but it was comfortable and lightly hydrating over time. I wish the applicator pulled more product out per application, which would make it a bit easier to spread the product out overall.

There did not seem to be any taste or scent to the formula.

Browse all of our NARS Lip Gloss swatches.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

01/06

NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss
NARS Huahine Lip Gloss

Huahine

Huahine is a medium coral-red with a cream finish. It had semi-sheer color coverage that applied fairly evenly but did seem to “spider” across my lip lines/lip texture a bit. The consistency was lightweight, thin, and spreadable, though the applicator pulls less product than the average doe-foot applicator, which can make it necessary to get two or three pulls to cover my lips entirely. It wore well for three hours and was lightly hydrating.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.18 oz. - $144.44 Per Ounce

When NARS launched their reformulation of the Lip Gloss range, the coverage was described as "sheer shine to bold luster," but as of February 2019, the brand simply describes the coverage as "sheer intensity." That's not really accurate, as the range does, actually, range from sheer to more opaque--it greatly depended on the shade. The formula is also supposed to be "smooth" and "nourishing." Some shades applied evenly, while others pulled into lip lines or looked streaky. The consistency was thinner, lightly tacky (with some additional tackiness developing over time), but it was comfortable and lightly hydrating over time. I wish the applicator pulled more product out per application, which would make it a bit easier to spread the product out overall.

There did not seem to be any taste or scent to the formula.

Browse all of our NARS Lip Gloss swatches.

01/06

NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss
NARS Tetiaroa Lip Gloss

Tetiaroa

Tetiaroa is a light-medium, bubblegum pink with cool, blue undertones and a cream finish. The texture was lightweight, smooth, and spreadable without being too tacky. It had sheer to semi-sheer pigmentation that applied unevenly, and there was slight product that gathered in my lip lines. This shade lasted nicely for two and a half hours on me but felt hydrating while worn.

Formula Overview

$26.00/0.18 oz. - $144.44 Per Ounce

When NARS launched their reformulation of the Lip Gloss range, the coverage was described as "sheer shine to bold luster," but as of February 2019, the brand simply describes the coverage as "sheer intensity." That's not really accurate, as the range does, actually, range from sheer to more opaque--it greatly depended on the shade. The formula is also supposed to be "smooth" and "nourishing." Some shades applied evenly, while others pulled into lip lines or looked streaky. The consistency was thinner, lightly tacky (with some additional tackiness developing over time), but it was comfortable and lightly hydrating over time. I wish the applicator pulled more product out per application, which would make it a bit easier to spread the product out overall.

There did not seem to be any taste or scent to the formula.

Browse all of our NARS Lip Gloss swatches.

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

NARS 4-Piece Lip Gloss Set $39.00/0.72 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

2 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!