Hourglass I Wish, One Day, The First Time Confession Lipsticks Reviews, Photos, Swatches

I Wish

Hourglass I Wish Confession Lipstick ($34.00 for 0.03 oz.) is a light peach with warm undertones and a cream finish. It had nearly opaque pigmentaiton in a single layer that applied evenly and smoothly across the lips without dragging. The texture was very lightweight but was thicker than the average lipstick, and I did have a bit of color that pulled into my lip lines with this particular shade. It wore well for four hours and was lightly moisturizing.

The formula is supposed to have “creamy, saturated, longwearing color with a satin finish.” It’s a light-medium thick formula that was typically opaque with a lightly creamy texture that glided on without tugging but did not slide around while worn. The majority of shades had a natural to satin finish, and they lasted anywhere from four to seven hours with light hydration. The best performing shades were light to dark while the lightest and deepest shades weren’t quite as consistent.

The lipstick can be purchased with the full pcakaging/applicator for $34 or as a refill-only for $22. The refill packaging is substantial enough that it is usable on its own, as there’s a detachable base that the refillable cap clicks onto (with an audible click), but they are very slim–and that’s not a surprise given they only contain 0.03 oz. making them one of the smaller lipsticks on the market. Slim lipsticks typically contain around 0.07 oz. of product and are usually smaller than the average standard lipstick tube (which tends to be between 0.10 and 0.12 oz.).

Formula Overview

$34.00/0.03 oz. - $1133.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "creamy, saturated, longwearing color with a satin finish." It's a light-medium thick formula that was typically opaque with a lightly creamy texture that glided on without tugging but did not slide around while worn. The majority of shades had a natural to satin finish, and they lasted anywhere from four to seven hours with light hydration. The best performing shades were light to dark while the lightest and deepest shades weren't quite as consistent.

The lipstick can be purchased with the full packaging/applicator for $34 or as a refill-only for $22. The refill packaging is substantial enough that it is usable on its own, as there's a detachable base that the refillable cap clicks onto (with an audible click), but they are very slim--and that's not a surprise given they only contain 0.03 oz. making them one of the smaller lipsticks on the market. Slim lipsticks typically contain around 0.07 oz. of product and are usually smaller than the average standard lipstick tube (which tends to be between 0.10 and 0.12 oz.).

Browse all of our Hourglass Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick swatches.

Ingredients

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Price Comparisons

Compared to more standard-sized tubes:

  • Hourglass Confesssion Lipstick (with packaging) | $1,133.00/oz. ($34.00/0.03 oz.)
  • Serge Lutens Lipstick | $937.50/oz. ($75.00/0.08 oz.)
  • Hourglass Confesssion Lipstick (refill) | $733.33/oz. ($22.00/0.03 oz.)
  • Christian Louboutin Velvet Matte | $671.64/oz. ($90.00/0.134 oz.)
  • Tom Ford Lip Color | $540.00/oz. ($54.00/0.10 oz.)
  • Guerlain Rouge G | $466.67/oz. ($56.00 for 0.12 oz.)
  • Givenchy Le Rouge | $300.00/oz. ($36.00/0.12 oz.)
  • YSL Rouge Pur Couture | $284.62/oz. ($37.00/0.13 oz.)
  • Pat McGrath MatteTrance | $271.43/oz. ($38.00/0.14 oz.)
  • Hourglass Femme Rouge Velvet Creme Lipstick | $250.00/oz. ($30.00/0.12 oz.)

Compared to more slim-style tubes:

  • Hourglass Confesssion Lipstick (with packaging) | $1,133.00/oz. ($34.00/0.03 oz.)
  • Chanel Le Crayon Rouge de Couleur | $925.00/oz. ($37.00/0.04 oz.)
  • Cle de Peau Lip Luminizer (with packaging) | $857.14/oz. ($55.00/0.07 oz.)
  • Hourglass Confesssion Lipstick (refill) | $733.33/oz. ($22.00/0.03 oz.)
  • Surrat Lipslique | $680.00/oz. ($34.00/0.05 oz.)
  • Givenchy Le Rouge-a-Porter | $514.29/oz. ($36.00/0.07 oz.)
  • Cle de Peau Lip Luminizer (refill) | $500.00/oz. ($35.00/0.07 oz.)
  • Burberry Burberry Kisses Sheer | $485.71/oz. ($34.00/0.07 oz.)
  • Surratt Prismatique | $437.50/oz. ($36.00/0.08 oz.)
  • NARS Pure Matte | $400.00/oz. ($28.00/0.07 oz.)
  • Guerlain La Petite Robe Noire | $355.56/oz. ($32.00/0.09 oz.)
  • Hourglass GIRL Lip Stylo | $355.56/oz. ($32.00/0.09 oz.)

One Day

Hourglass One Day Confession Lipstick ($34.00 for 0.03 oz.) is a soft, medium pink with subtle, warm undertones and a natural sheen. It had good color coverage that spread evenly across the lips and applied comfortably as it did not tug. The consistency was lightly creamy, thicker but felt quite lightweight once on, and did not slide around. There was a very subtle amount of color in my deeper lip lines, but it was not noticeable from a normal viewing distance. This shade lasted for four hours on me and was hydrating.

Formula Overview

$34.00/0.03 oz. - $1133.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "creamy, saturated, longwearing color with a satin finish." It's a light-medium thick formula that was typically opaque with a lightly creamy texture that glided on without tugging but did not slide around while worn. The majority of shades had a natural to satin finish, and they lasted anywhere from four to seven hours with light hydration. The best performing shades were light to dark while the lightest and deepest shades weren't quite as consistent.

The lipstick can be purchased with the full packaging/applicator for $34 or as a refill-only for $22. The refill packaging is substantial enough that it is usable on its own, as there's a detachable base that the refillable cap clicks onto (with an audible click), but they are very slim--and that's not a surprise given they only contain 0.03 oz. making them one of the smaller lipsticks on the market. Slim lipsticks typically contain around 0.07 oz. of product and are usually smaller than the average standard lipstick tube (which tends to be between 0.10 and 0.12 oz.).

Browse all of our Hourglass Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick swatches.

Ingredients

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

The First Time

Hourglass The First Time Confession Lipstick ($34.00 for 0.03 oz.) is a soft, light-medium coral with warm, orange undertones and a cream finish. It had good pigmentation, though it was just shy of opaque coverage. The lipstick felt smooth with a light creaminess as it applied to the lips–just enough creaminess that it did not drag or tug on my lips but still adhered evenly and stayed in place over time. It lasted for four and a half hours and was lightly moisturizing while worn.

Formula Overview

$34.00/0.03 oz. - $1133.33 Per Ounce

The formula is supposed to have "creamy, saturated, longwearing color with a satin finish." It's a light-medium thick formula that was typically opaque with a lightly creamy texture that glided on without tugging but did not slide around while worn. The majority of shades had a natural to satin finish, and they lasted anywhere from four to seven hours with light hydration. The best performing shades were light to dark while the lightest and deepest shades weren't quite as consistent.

The lipstick can be purchased with the full packaging/applicator for $34 or as a refill-only for $22. The refill packaging is substantial enough that it is usable on its own, as there's a detachable base that the refillable cap clicks onto (with an audible click), but they are very slim--and that's not a surprise given they only contain 0.03 oz. making them one of the smaller lipsticks on the market. Slim lipsticks typically contain around 0.07 oz. of product and are usually smaller than the average standard lipstick tube (which tends to be between 0.10 and 0.12 oz.).

Browse all of our Hourglass Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick swatches.

Ingredients

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Hourglass I Wish Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass I Wish Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass I Wish Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass I Wish Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass I Wish Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass I Wish Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass One Day Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass One Day Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass One Day Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass One Day Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass One Day Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass One Day Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass The First Time Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass The First Time Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass The First Time Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass The First Time Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass The First Time Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Hourglass The First Time Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Lipstick

Where to Buy

Current Sales & Deals

  • BeautylishFree shipping on $35+ orders, ends 12/31.
  • Nordstrom
    • Up to 40% off during Nordstrom's fall sale (shop here), ends 11/18.
    • Bonus Note offer! Get $30 on $150+, $60 on $300+, $125 on $500+ purchase (details here), ends 11/19.
    • Current gifts with purchases viewable here, ends 12/31.
  • SephoraMost current list of available codes for samples here, ends 12/31.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Makeup Look

On face:
  • Dior Star Foundation
  • Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder
  • Hourglass Euphoric Fusion Ambient Strobe Lighting Blush
On eyes:
  • Anastasia Modern Renaissance Palette
  • Anastasia Sunset Eyeshadow
  • Anastasia Ballet Eyeshadow
  • Anastasia Gemstone Eyeshadow
  • Urban Decay Perversion Eyeliner

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

26 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

The price per ounce breakdown is so incredibly helpful, Christine. I’m not even going to ‘look’ at the shades in this range because the grab is far too rude for my pocketbook. I know Hourglass typically comes out with quality products, but this goes well above and beyond greed and it’s a total turn off. Not dissin’ people who want to buy or love the product.

It’s just an odd move, I think, because typically the packaging is where a lot of the per-unit cost goes – like they could fill to 0.07 oz. and it would be very marginal cost vs. upgrading packaging. The formula has been lovely, but like you, the quantity relative to price being so out of sync with standard sits in the back of my head.

Yes! Thank you. I will look at these and think, “Do I really want to get this over a Rouge G or a Surratt or something I really love?” The answer is no. This was one of the most helpful breakdowns you’ve ever shown.

Because I was curious, I wanted to look up what the price of an ounce of gold was. At the moment: $1,256.75 per ounce. There is some perspective on that lipstick, Hourglass!

I completely agree with you Wendy! Thank you so much for the price breakdown Christine. I too won’t even both look at these lipsticks!

Sadly this knowledge will stay with me beyond these lipsticks to,the detriment of Hourglass. I love the brand but next time I consider one of their products I will remeber this and it might well make me walk way without making a purchase. Have Hourglass considered this?

I agree with you, Katie. This + their holiday palettes that actually offer less value for money is giving me a sour taste about the brand.

This price comparison info is interesting. These HGs are up there, even with just a refill. The extra take away from this is what a small amount of product is actually in the tube. Always wanted to try a Lutens, but omg! price. Not only that, but I suspect the stock of old, bec of lowered turn over r/t high price.

I couldn’t think of any lipstick that was more expensive!

ColourPop’s Lippie Stix have a pretty small amount of product (I’m remembering 0.038? or something like that), but they’re also $5. They are not the most budget-friendly lipstick by the ounce but $5 is budget-friendly. At $34, you have so many options for high-end, high-quality lipsticks with 2-4x the amount of product, so it stands out like a sore thumb.

Nice looking products but as others, I’m a no-go because of the price. Having the new Cle de Peau lipstick prices in mind since that discussion was just last week, comparing the two Hourglass is much more expensive than even those. ( $34.00 for 0.03 oz v $65.00 for 0.14 oz). A lesson to me to do such math from now on. Money saved … except now the CdP tempts, looks less daunting :-).

I think it’s one of those things where it can matter to a point – if you never, ever finish a lipstick, you certainly don’t need 0.15 oz. with a $45 price tag when 0.10 oz and a $35 price tag will do, you know? But this is so small compared to standard!

I really don’t remember the last time I ever felt sooo relieved that none of the shades reviewed even appeal to me at all! Thank goodness, because I have zero intention of buying even 1 of these Confession Lipsticks. If I love even 1 or 2, I’ll check for its respective dupes.

Yikes, that price list makes me not want to spend more than $5 on a lipstick!!! Well, at $1,133 per oz, this Hourglass lipstick + packaging is worth more than the current price of gold, which is only $1,264 per oz !! Would’ve been nice if they added some real gold shimmer to the product, and some gold flakes to the packaging! I’m wondering if Hourglass is trying to pull another fast one on us, like those $80 Ambient powder kits that only contain like $50 worth of product

I think ColourPop’s are a little more than Hourglass but run smaller than you’d expect – but you know, that’s $5!

So strange that the Besame ones contain the same – these are definitely larger in physical size, but they were visually a lot smaller than other lipsticks, too! I don’t think that you’d be done with an Hourglass in a few uses – it’s pigmented and dense enough that I’m sure there are plenty of uses in a single lipstick still.

I saw these in-store today and was a bit stunned by the size. Value/price ration is massive consideration here and wow – the pricing of this range is just out of whack and the formula is dupeable enough that I don’t think it’d be something I’d be shopping for soon!

Thanks for the price per ounce comparison. This makes Christian Louboutin seem like a deal. I was wondering if you found it awkward to use with the addition of the gold tip?

By the way, your eyeshadow today is very pretty.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!