Thursday, December 19th, 2013

MAC Magnetic Nude Lipglasses
MAC Magnetic Nude Lipglasses

Launching December 26th, MAC’s Magnetic Nude collection includes five limited edition shades of MAC Lipglass ($15.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.), with one repromote (A Quiet Roar). Lipglass is a thicker, tacky formula that is vanilla-scented but has no discernible taste. It’s strongest point is the variety in color and finish, and then its wear time tends to be longer, due to the sticky consistency. Hell Bound wore the longest at four and a half hours, while the two sheerer glosses wore for less than three hours. I find Lipglasses slightly drying on the whole, which was the case with A Quiet Roar and Overspiced. The other three shades were neither drying nor hydrating.

A Quiet Roar is described as a “creamy off-white.” It’s a pale, milky white gold with white and pale gold shimmer. It has semi-sheer color coverage and noticeably lightens the lip color while adding glossiness and shimmer. Because it is milky and light, it can be difficult to apply it evenly (or keep it looking even once applied). The consistency was fairly thick, even for Lipglass. It wore well for two and a half hours on me. MAC Boundless Beige (P, $19.50) is sheerer. MAC Girl on Board (LE, $15.00) is slightly whiter. MAC Little Rock (LE, $20.00) is sheerer. Bobbi Brown Bare Sparkle (P, $24.00) is also sheerer. See comparison swatches.

Hell Bound is described as a “brick red with gold pearl.” It’s a warm-toned, medium-dark red with copper-orange shimmer. It had semi-opaque color coverage, and it applied evenly overall. The consistency seemed slightly thinner and less tacky than other Lipglasses. When I tested it, the color lasted for four and a half hours. I did notice a little bit of the texture of the sparkle after three and a half hours of wearing the gloss. MAC Mango Sheen (LE, $19.00) is sheerer. MAC Driven by Love (P, $19.50) is cooler-toned, less shimmery. MAC Restless (LE, $15.00) is slightly darker, browner. L’Oreal Sparkle Frenzy (LE, $9.99) is redder. Hourglass Siren (P, $28.00) is more metallic. See comparison swatches.

Oh My Darling is described as a “pale yellow pink.” It’s a pale, pinky-beige with warm undertones and multi-colored shimmer–I saw bits of green and gold in there. Applied, it had semi-sheer coverage and what was most noticeable was how shimmery it was. The gloss seemed to lighten my natural lip color slightly, but the effect was largely sparkly. It lasted two and a half hours on me. The multi-colored nature of the sparkle seemed almost holographic, and so I didn’t feel like I came up with any truly comparable shades, but you can see some other sheer, sparkly shades I pulled: See comparison swatches.

Overspiced is described as a “dirty muted coral.” It’s a warm-toned, light-medium peach with a hint of beige and a cream finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage, but it was a thicker, slightly goopy, gloss that settled into lip lines and was troublesome during application. The color just didn’t want to apply or blend or move and look even. It wore well for three and a half hours on me. Maybelline Nude Illusion (060) (P, $8.99) is very similar. MAC Fashion Punch (LE, $15.00) is less glossy. MAC Ready or Not (P, $19.50) is much lighter. MAC Peachstock (LE, $15.00) is also a lot lighter. MAC Myth (LE, $15.00) is lighter. Chanel Genie (P, $32.00) is slightly pink-tinged. See comparison swatches.

Steel Kiss is described as a “dirty mauve with green pearl.” Swatched, it is a taupe-shimmered, muted dark brown with subtle warm, caramel undertones. It has multi-colored, fine shimmer–very much to the tune of Oh My Darling. Applied, they do look different, as Steel Kiss gives lips a warmer, browner appearance–slightly darkening–with plenty of shimmer. It wore well for almost three hours. As with Oh My Darling, I didn’t feel like shades I thought of were similar enough, as they were less dimensional, but here were the ones I considered: see comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
product

A Quiet Roar

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Hell Bound

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Oh My Darling

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass
MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass

MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass
MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass

MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass
MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass

MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass
MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass

MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass
MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass

MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass
MAC A Quiet Roar Lipglass

MAC Hell Bound Lipglass
MAC Hell Bound Lipglass

MAC Hell Bound Lipglass
MAC Hell Bound Lipglass

MAC Hell Bound Lipglass
MAC Hell Bound Lipglass

MAC Hell Bound Lipglass
MAC Hell Bound Lipglass

MAC Hell Bound Lipglass
MAC Hell Bound Lipglass

MAC Hell Bound Lipglass
MAC Hell Bound Lipglass

MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass
MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass

MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass
MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass

MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass
MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass

MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass
MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass

MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass
MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass

MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass
MAC Oh My Darling Lipglass

MAC Overspiced Lipglass
MAC Overspiced Lipglass

MAC Overspiced Lipglass
MAC Overspiced Lipglass

MAC Overspiced Lipglass
MAC Overspiced Lipglass

MAC Overspiced Lipglass
MAC Overspiced Lipglass

MAC Overspiced Lipglass
MAC Overspiced Lipglass

MAC Overspiced Lipglass
MAC Overspiced Lipglass

MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass
MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass

MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass
MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass

MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass
MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass

MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass
MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass

MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass
MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass

MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass
MAC Steel Kiss Lipglass

The Dupe List: A Quiet Roar

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Hell Bound

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Oh My Darling

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

46 thoughts on “MAC Magnetic Nude Lipglasses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Ok I kinda LOVE Hell Bound! Think I may snag that too!

    Christine, THANK you for all of your hard work! It’s so nice to be able to contemplate & weigh up what I’d like to buy without the insane “quick before it sells out!!!” pressure. I’m sure it’s nice for you too!!

    • I’m just happy that I will not be faced with the choice of barreling through what we refer to as a “MAC DAY!” on either Christmas Eve/Day or New Year’s Eve/Day (it’s usually one of those holidays for the 12/26 launches they have!). I do remember one year canceling all NYE plans in lieu of reviewing MAC collections, which did feel like a low point in my blogging “career” of sorts. You know, that moment where you’ve taken things too far? LOL!

      • I suspected that may be the case! That is dedication LOL! I’m really glad for you, I hope you have a good Christmas and a happy new year with your loved ones, Christine :D

  2. Temptalia once again pulls out all the stops and quickly gathers these swatches for us! Thank you!!

    I like A quiet roar, but lipgloss in these nude shades..yeah, I have loads of them :) Hell Bound looks really pretty on you, Christine.

  3. Avatar of Pamela Pam

    you are truly gorgeous. your skin is crazy nice…. i have been looking at your website for a few months now. I have a question, you post 2 pictures of the lipgloss/lipstick close up and i have been trying to figure out the differentce, are the picture to show 1 first and 2 coats ssecond? or maybe to show wear after time? let me know. just curious.

    • Hi Pam,

      One is with direct light (the first, which you’ll notice is always brighter and clearer), and the other is shot with indirect light (to mimic what it might look like in the “shade” or less bright light).

  4. Sorry for being random but I am from Malaysia and will be going to Dallas for a conference and holiday in January. I have accumulated more than 12 of MAC Limited Edition empties i.e Wonder Woman mascaras, To The Beach lippie bullets, etc. and wonder if I can B2M these in the US? MAC stores in Malaysia stopped taking LE empties since 2011 or so…how frustrating. Hope I can get some clarification. Thanks!

  5. Really dislike the name but must have Hell Bound!

  6. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    Hell Bound and Steel Kiss are gorgeous. I suspect I could dupe Hell Bound by mixing two glosses I already own, but Steel Kiss is very prettily unique! :)

  7. Hell Bound is gorgeous! :)

  8. Avatar of Sana Sana

    Hell Bound is GORGEOUS, but I can’t justify buying it because I hardly ever wear lipgloss. Thanks for the review though!

  9. I really love the Overspiced and Oh my Darling on you!!! AND I WANT THEM! Sucks that all MAC collections are sent to this part of the world after almost 2 months of the official launch date. Bummer!
    Nariné
    narine Recently Posted: Garden of Eden, a new i-Divine palette form Sleek makeup

  10. Cindy

    I, like everyone else, am in love with Hell Bound. I think I have to have it, it looks so beautiful on you!

  11. Chelsea

    I really wish Oh My Darling wasn’t so glittery.
    I’m really trying to find my perfect nude lipstick or lipgloss and I’ve yet to find it. I was so hoping one of these would be close to what I was looking for!

  12. shelley

    Christine….first off I must say thank you and applaud you for all the hard work you put in to get all this posted for us beauty junkies. You have the patience of a saint because there is no way I could do all that you do. I love makeup but not enough to blog about it daily. :) The only one that I won’t take home with me is Hell Bound. I have spring 2014 heavy on my mind so I’ve been leaning more on lighter shades that could work with new eye palettes….heavy on shimmering taupes, rose golds. I can’t wait to see these beauties in person.

  13. nubian_queen15

    Hi Christine. Thanks for all your hard work. I was wondering. How similar is Hellbound to Liqueur lipglass ( Indulge collection ). I really love it, and I’m so tempted to buy it, but looking at your lip swatches, they seem very similar.

  14. Jill

    Love, love, love Steel Kiss and Hell Bound.

    Christine, I just had to say that the natural makeup with the luminous skin and glossy lips is absolutely stunning on you!

  15. Thanks for the swatches–Hell Bound is gorgeous, and so is your hair in these shots!

  16. I want Oh My Darling and Steel Kiss right now! I guess I have to wait until next week :)
    StylishlySocial Recently Posted: Natu Hair Products Giveaway!!

  17. MAC Hell Bound looks gorgeous <3 loved it very much on you dear <3

  18. Avatar of Heather Heather

    Hell Bound is gorgeous!! So I assume Mac must get pretty scary for these day after Christmas collections then? My mac is actually a counter inside of Macy’s, but if it’s going to be bad then I’ll probably just order from the mac website instead.=/

  19. dayna

    OMG, Hell Bound looks beautiful! Definitely the best lip glass out of all of them in my opinion.

  20. Hell Bound is really pretty but I want Steel Kiss most. Something about the description of the shimmer makes me think of (and really wish I had a tube of :c) Evolution Revolution…

  21. The shimmer in Hell Bound is really amazing!

  22. Ashley

    Hi Christine!
    How does A Quiet Roar compare to Almondine?

    Wonderful swatches as always! Xo

  23. Avatar of Michaela Michaela jacobson

    I am in love with Hellbound!! I bet it would look pretty over an oxblood color lipstick!

  24. Avatar of Georgiana Georgiana

    They’re all really original colours for lipgloss, but I think that MAC just haven’t quite nailed it; original, but sort of unflattering colours, and did they even look at ‘Overspiced’? That formula is horrible! By the way, your hair looks really amazing in these photos! Especially in the ‘Hellbound’ shot :)