Thursday, September 15th, 2011


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter

MAC Art of Powder: In the Abstract Highlighter

MAC In the Abstract Highlighter ($38.00 for 0.31 oz.) is the last of three limited edition specially designed compacts from the Art of Powder Collection, which launches on September 29th, 2011 (North America) and October 2011 (International, at select locations). Like the other products, there is a good amount in the palette.

MAC describes the highlighter as a “soft pink base with yellow gold lines and lavender and mid-tone pink dots.” It’s mostly a very pale, barely-there pink-beige, especially once you’ve worn away the gold, which does not go all the way through. I have a video review we’ll have up later today, which will show that with more detail (along with the other two products). By just using a small eyeshadow brush, I was able to brush the gold away shortly–it’s thinner than the pink striping on the Optical Bronzer but has more of an effect on the product until it’s worn away.

You might find it works better as a finishing powder or an all-over highlighter because of its subtlety. It has a finely-milled texture that’s soft and silky against the skin. It wore for around eight hours on my cheek before it seemed to fade a bit. With the gold lines intact, it works nicely as a glowy highlighter on cheeks, and the warm gold shimmer translates more into a lovely sheen that’s not too much at all (and does not emphasize pores or imperfections on the skin). Once it is gone, it’s more like a finishing powder – the slightest sheen that’s barely visible. It has more of matte appearance at that point, which is why it can work as a finishing powder–at least on light to medium skin tones.

The Glossover

LE
product

In the Abstract

B
It's a soft, subtle highlighter--seems like a running theme in the collection--best suited for paler complexions. It worked well as a highlighter with the gold shimmer/lines but it seems to lose a lot of the sheen once that disappears.

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!

See more photos & swatches!


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter


MAC In the Abstract Highlighter

Product & Review FAQ

Where can I purchase In the Abstract? How much is it?

MAC Cosmetics on September 29th, 2011; $38.

Is it limited edition?

Yes.

Any dupes?

As a finishing powder, it's more similar to Guerlain's Pressed Meteorites but much more matte.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

35 thoughts on “MAC In the Abstract Highlighter Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Brandi G.

    This collection is super disappointing!

  2. It’s pretty, but not $38.00 pretty, imo. This whole collection seems like a bit of a waste really, definitely a skip!

  3. Christina

    Hi Christine,
    Sorry if you’ve already answered this somewhere, but I can’t seem to find the answer.

    What is that gorgeous colour you’re wearing on your lips? :)

  4. Violet

    This actually looks pretty nice.

  5. sara

    I wounder what this would look like on fair skin? Maybe it would have more impact and do it’s job better. It looks pretty in the pan but doesn’t seem to show up much on Christine.

  6. angie

    what is on your lips? it’s a gorgeous shade, it makes you glow!

  7. lucy

    these powders are nice to look at but too gimmicky for the price tag x

  8. Aww…this has such a cute design! :)

  9. Verna

    I really like it that mac is changing their game!!

  10. grace

    you look super gorgeous in the last photo!! the higlighter looks pretty but not enough to justify for me to buy it.
    x x

  11. Mariella

    Glad I’ll be able to pass on so much in this collection.

  12. Dana

    It’s sad that you’re always gouging out products to check on overspray when it should state in the product description if a color is an overspray or not. I really wish there where more stringent advertising requirements for beauty and cosmetic products.

  13. Marci

    looks beautiful on your face! I’m pale but too old to pull that off. My wallet is safe.

  14. Nella

    And if you want your face to look like a baby’s poop just dig into some of that mustard color and whoila! How ugly the whole collection is…

  15. Melody

    Wow. I can’t see it at all. I bet it would still show up too pink on my yellow tones though.

  16. BiancaCA

    Your eyebrows look awesome! Did you reshape them?

  17. Amy

    hey christine, do you think this would compliment yellow undertones?

  18. Kristy

    cute! it looks like a pop tart

  19. Emily

    I can’t even see it in the swatch

    • Christine O

      I was thinking the exact same thing Emily. Why does this product do that doesn’t even show up on my skin? It looks too pretty for a blotting powder and that is what I want in a blotting powder. Something that completely blends into my skin.

  20. It sure looks pretty in the pan but not worth $38. The gloss looks gorgeous on you!

  21. mumtaza

    this is the type of thing i’ll try and catch at the CCO.

  22. you REALLY look amazing with the highlighter on!!!