Friday, September 16th, 2011

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Fall Colour: Chromagraphic Pencils

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils ($15.00 for 0.04 oz.) are part of the MAC Fall Colour Collection, which debuts in North America on September 29th, 2011 and will roll out internationall in October. Though there is a full range available at PRO stores permanently, we’ll see a limited launch of four shades roll out to all MAC locations, including: Basic Red (primary red), Process Magenta (matte magenta), Hi-Def Cyan (cyan blue), and Rich Purple (dense purple).

I’m a HUGE! fan of the Chromagraphic Pencils! I reviewed them all here when they first debuted at PRO stores in May 2010. They do come with safety recommendations, and for the sake of ease, I’ll repeat the warnings for the four shades featured in this collection.

  • Basic Red is an orange-toned red with good color payoff in a single pass. It is not to be used in the eye area or inner rim of the eye.
  • Process Magenta is a bright, medium-dark fuchsia pink. It has nice color payoff in a single pass. It is not to be used in the eye area or inner rim of the eye.
  • Hi-Def Cyan is a brightened medium-dark sky blue–not quite as bright as true cyan, I’d say. It has great glide and color in one stroke. It is not to be used on the inner rim of the eye.
  • Rich Purple is a medium-dark purple with red undertones. It’s kind of the bum of all the Chromagraphic Pencils; it has a glossier finish and goes on rather unevenly. It is not to be used on the inner rim of the eye (oops–I did this earlier!).

The reason I like the Chromagraphic Pencils so much is they wear well on the water line (though only a few are safe for that area, like Black Black and the flesh-toned shades) in addition to the lash line. They’re creamy enough to glide on effortlessly and the majority of the shades deposit solid color in one pass.

The Glossover

product

MAC Fall Colour: Chromagraphic Pencils Swatches, Photos, Reviews

A
Creamy, pigmented (well, not Rich Purple, which will take a couple of passes to get solid color out of), and long-wearing -- hard not to like these!

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Basic Red Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Process Magenta Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Hi-Def Cyan Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Rich Purple Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Fall Colour: Chromagraphic Pencils

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils ($15.00 for 0.04 oz.) are part of the MAC Fall Colour Collection, which debuts in North America on September 29th, 2011 and will roll out internationall in October. Though there is a full range available at PRO stores permanently, we’ll see a limited launch of four shades roll out to all MAC locations, including: Basic Red (primary red), Process Magenta (matte magenta), Hi-Def Cyan (cyan blue), and Rich Purple (dense purple).

I’m a HUGE! fan of the Chromagraphic Pencils! I reviewed them all here when they first debuted at PRO stores in May 2010. They do come with safety recommendations, and for the sake of ease, I’ll repeat the warnings for the four shades featured in this collection.

Basic Red is an orange-toned red with good color payoff in a single pass. It is not to be used in the eye area or inner rim of the eye.
Process Magenta is a bright, medium-dark fuchsia pink. It has nice color payoff in a single pass. It is not to be used in the eye area or inner rim of the eye.
Hi-Def Cyan is a brightened medium-dark sky blue–not quite as bright as true cyan, I’d say. It has great glide and color in one stroke. It is not to be used on the inner rim of the eye.
Rich Purple is a medium-dark purple with red undertones. It’s kind of the bum of all the Chromagraphic Pencils; it has a glossier finish and goes on rather unevenly. It is not to be used on the inner rim of the eye (oops–I did this earlier!).

The reason I like the Chromagraphic Pencils so much is they wear well on the water line (though only a few are safe for that area, like Black Black and the flesh-toned shades) in addition to the lash line. They’re creamy enough to glide on effortlessly and the majority of the shades deposit solid color in one pass.

The Glossover

product

MAC Fall Colour: Chromagraphic Pencils Swatches, Photos, Reviews

A
Creamy, pigmented (well, not Rich Purple, which will take a couple of passes to get solid color out of), and long-wearing -- hard not to like these!

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Chromagraphic Pencils: Basic Red, Process Magenta, Hi-Def Cyan, Rich Purple

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Basic Red Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Process Magenta Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Hi-Def Cyan Chromagraphic Pencil

MAC Chromagraphic Pencils
MAC Rich Purple Chromagraphic Pencil

Product & Review FAQ

Where can I purchase it? How much is it?

MAC Cosmetics on September 29th, $15.

Is it limited edition?

These are permanent at PRO stores on ly.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

34 thoughts on “MAC Fall Colour: Chromagraphic Pencils Swatches, Photos, Reviews

  1. I wish they had included the black one with this release, instead of Feline Eye Kohl. I find the kohl pencils aren’t very good for the waterline, but I have worn hi def cyan in the waterline (naughty!), and it lasted FOREVER!

    Can’t wait to see the rest of the reviews of this collection, especially the pigments!

  2. Avatar of Ana Ana G.

    Ok, love the colors but if they are not safe for the eye area, what are they used for?

  3. Jennifer

    Do you know if the red/fuchsia ones can be used on lips? :)

  4. Courtney

    Man, I wish the green pencil had been included…but I’m just being lazy for not going to the Pro Store.

  5. Devi

    OH, so you can only get these at PRO stores… I was wondering why I never saw Chromagraphic Pencils on the MAC website.

    Eh, pass though, I like the colors, but I wouldn’t wear any. Glad the quality is good though!

  6. Avatar of Krystal Krystal

    Do you know why some of these are not safe for the eye area/inner rim?

    • No, MAC does not give out specific reasons. There is likely some ingredient in that particular shade that is not approved for usage in a particular area because it’s irritating, causes a reaction, etc.

  7. lulu6832

    this is kind of a silly question….but where do you use these if they aren’t for the eye area?

    • You can use them anywhere on the body, especially for body art. Because this type of pencil has precautions, is most likely why it’s a pro only product. (Same with Chromacakes, the neon pigments, etc.)

      I have used these around my eyes without problems, but definitely be careful. You may be sensitive to an ingredient in them.

      The red and magenta would make fabulous lip liners. The purple and blue are safe to use on the eye, just not on the inner rim.

  8. Lisa

    Meh. They really need to re-release the flesh-toned ones.

  9. Lorraine ER

    That’s too bad about the pink and red not being suitable for eye use. I’ve been looking for a good hot pink and/or red liquid liner
    or one of the smooth formulation (like ud 24/7) pencil liners of either color.

  10. Ashley

    Okay, so red and pink are for the lips…the blue / purple is for the eyes but not inner rim. I like the cyan, but I don’t like that you can’t use it on the inner rim. Do you know why we can’t? Just curious.

    To be quite honest, the red would appeal to me if you could use it in the eye area…I love red / burgundy toned liner!

  11. Michelle

    Why can’t any of them be used on the inner rim?

  12. Avatar of Mervat Love pEace and Mac

    My rich purple is smooth, my Black Black is my go to black.

  13. It always irritates me that so many of these aren’t eyesafe.

  14. Avatar of artemis artemis

    too bad they can’t be worn on the waterline…i depend on black pencil on waterline and i’ve been wanting a blue one so much! i love magenta too

  15. Sarah

    I don’t get why they would use the red on the tear-duct area of the promo pic if its not “eye safe.” Thats misleading and I was so excited. Maybe its not SO bad…

  16. Avatar of caitlin Cait

    Have you yourself ever used the Red Chromographic pencil on your lips? Does it wear well on its own? Is it good as a liner? This is the perfect red I think for me, a lot lighter than Russian Red.

    Also, I am only 20 I have full lips and can usually get away with not wearing a liner. When I wear Guerlain Champs Elysees without a liner it lasts until I take it off and there is no bleeding, however, with MAC Russian Red it wears for 3-4 hours and starts to bleed a little :c I am hoping this would be a good liner to prevent that~

    • Hi Cait,

      Yes, it wears eight hours or longer on me – have no problems with it as a liner, and it has a nice creaminess to it so it doesn’t pull and drag like some lip liners can.

      You might also want to consider patting concealer around the edge of the lips (not on the lips but on the skin) or an invisible lip pencil (Cargo Reversible or the new MUFE one–haven’t tried it but MUFe is good overall so hopefully it’s good!), since either of those would be more multi-tasking than the pencil alone.

      Also, Basic Red is more of an orange-red while Russian Red is a blue-based red!

  17. Marci

    Cyan is beautiful. My MAC store has a recording when you call. I’m trying to see if they have it.

  18. Stephy

    Hey Christine…Could you tell me a good red lipstick that can pair up well with that red lip liner? Thanks!!

  19. Avatar of Glenda Glenda

    Okay this may be a silly question, but what is the difference between the inner rim and water line? I bough the Cyan and I would really like to use it this summer as an eyeliner!