Thursday, January 9th, 2014

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

L’Oreal’s adding six new shades to the Infallible range with their Butterfly collection. As far as I know, these are new and permanent. I know Ulta has them available online, too, if you haven’t had any luck finding them locally. L’Oreal touts these as having 24-hour wear that’s “waterproof, sweatproof, and crease-resistant.” The formula is supposed to be richly pigmented and velvety in feel. I’m not, and I don’t intend, to test these for 24-hours (it’s beyond the call of beauty blogging for me!), but I did test these three for sixteen hours. They look good after sixteen hours, though certainly a little faded with some very faint fall out. I didn’t experience creasing, but I have drier lids, so your mileage may vary if you have oilier lids and try wearing them for this long. They looked nearly the same after twelve hours as they did when I applied them, though. These three are very shimmery and sparkly, and I noticed the minor fall out at the nine hour mark, after that point, it steadily progressed but wasn’t too noticeable.

L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow ($7.99 for 0.12 oz.) is a light-medium pink with subtle warm, yellow undertones and a frosted, slightly metallic, finish. Applied dry, it is mostly opaque with a frosted finish, and then applied with a dampened brush, it’s more metallic and fully opaque. The texture was soft, blendable, and easy to use. MAC A Medley of Mauves #1 (P, $21.00) is very similar. Chanel Impulsion (93) (LE, $36.00) is a cream product, pinker. Tom Ford Beauty Seductive Rose #2 (P) is more metallic. Too Faced Marshmallow (LE) is darker. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Tease #5 (P) is a smidgen lighter. MAC Pinkluxe #2 (P) is pinker. MAC Cheryl Chic (LE, $15.00) is less frosted, slightly darker. MAC Love Power (LE, $18.50) is a cream product. Chanel Harmonie du Soir #4 is similar. (LE) See comparison swatches.

Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow ($7.99 for 0.12 oz.) is a fuchsia-plum with a shimmering, sparkling, and metallic finish. Applied dry, it was semi-opaque but still very metallic. Applied with a dampened brush, is was even more metallic but also had full color coverage. It was soft to the touch, applied evenly and blended well. MAC Stylishly Merry (LE, $19.50) is less metallic. Sugarpill Magentric (P, $12.00) is more fuchsia. See comparison swatches.

Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow ($7.99 for 0.12 oz.) is a deep, dark–but still vibrant–purple with a warm base but cooler shimmer and sparkle, so it read cooler-toned against my warmer complexion. It might be a bit of a chameleon and play differently depending on your undertones and the undertones of any products paired with it. Applied dry, it was mostly opaque but slightly stiff, so it didn’t go on as evenly as other shades. Applied with a dampened brush, it was intensely pigmented and much smoother. This color had a lot of depth and intensity, despite also being quite dark, which made it harder to dupe. Fyrinnae Because Cats (P, $6.80) is cooler-toned, lighter. Sleek MakeUP Bliss in Barcelona (LE, $9.99) is not as cool-toned, lighter. Urban Decay Voodoo (LE, $18.00) is lighter, more muted. Too Faced Badass (LE) is lighter. Urban Decay Half Truth (LE, $18.00) is more muted.MAC Starless Night (LE, $21.00) is less frosted, darker. L’Oreal Perpetual Purple (P, $7.99) is brighter, less cool-toned. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
product

Always Pearly Pink (756)

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Burst Into Bloom (759)

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Purple Priority (758)

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Burst Into Bloom (759) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Purple Priority (758) Infallible Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink (756) Infallible Eyeshadow

The Dupe List: Always Pearly Pink (756)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Burst Into Bloom (759)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Purple Priority (758)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

45 thoughts on “L’Oreal Always Pearly Pink, Burst Into Bloom, Priority Purple Infallible Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. These are all so gorgeous! I just bought a few of the neutral colors myself and love them. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. Burst into bloom is a thing of beauty!!
    Gemma Recently Posted: Best Of Spring Make Up Collections 2014

  3. I got Always Pearly Pink in my stocking for Christmas & it’s a very cute shade. But, for someone who isn’t that fond of purple shadow, I am loving Burst Into Bloom!

  4. Christine, I have dry eyelids too, and I was wondering what you use for an eyelid primer? I have been using Urban Decay’s Anti Aging Primer Potion because I read it’s better for dry lids.

    • Hi Melinda!

      Mine are normal-to-dry (just to be specific), but sometimes, depending on what makeup I’ve worn or *how* much makeup I’ve worn, they can get a little dry and flakey. My go-to primer is NARS Smudgeproof. I’ve tried UD’s Anti-Aging, but I don’t use primer that often (since almost every brand claims long-wear on their eye products) and never used it long enough to confirm or deny any long-term benefits. UD’s regular formula does crease on me after 7-9 hours, so it’s not my go-to. (Though their Eden one lasts longer on me!)

      • Ok, thank you for that reply! It’s the first primer i’ve used (besides Mac Painterly) and I like it. However, I’ll keep Nars in mind for next time! I’ve read all good things about it.

  5. I got Burst Into Bloom, the silver one and the grayish/green (can’t remember the names off the top of my head). I love purples and it’s definitely a unique one for me. I searched everywhere for these in Virginia where I live and couldn’t find them. I was on a business trip in Florida this past week and finally found them in a CVS. Even Walgreen’s didn’t have them, and they usually have the new stuff pretty quick.

  6. Sara

    I’ve been using Fyrinnae’s Pixie Epoxy over primer with my eye shadow applications the last week and it’s amazing how well the eyeshadow stays put! I took my makeup off last night at 11pm before bed and it looked like I had just applied it! So that’s a solid 16 hours of wear. I don’t buy into the claims so much of long wearing eyeshadow since I always use primer (and now Pixie Epoxy too!)

  7. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    I spotted these at City Target in Westwood (near UCLA, for anyone in the Los Angeles area!), and picked up these, and the green (Gilded Envy, I think?). Initially, I was only going to go with the pink & purple, due to budget, but my daughter really wanted me to get Burst Into Bloom, and I figured if I was going over, I may as well buy a fourth, LOL.

    I thought BIB would be too similar to others in my stash, but the finish really sets it apart. Besides, it’s the “Color of the Year”, so why not?

  8. Burst into Bloom is right up my alley for spring!

  9. My sister would love the first one, and I’m pretty sure I need the others in my life because OMG PURPLE!!!! :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Treasures from Waters Deep – A Glittering Gradient with OPI Eurso Euro and Last Friday Night

  10. I think they’ve come out with some really pretty colors! I picked up the pink one, but I like the look of both purples. I love the Infallible shadows.
    Erin Recently Posted: L’Oreal Brow Stylist custom brow shaping pencils

    • Me too! They’re a really nice formula. I mean, they don’t wear 24 hours and so they usually don’t get full marks here, but I DO really like them, lol!

  11. Strange how I don’t wear purple eyeshadow more often when there are such gorgeous shades out there. Particularly loving Purple Priority *_*

  12. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rachel Rachel P.

    I am really liking that Always Pearly Pink shade! So pretty.

  13. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of kellly kellly

    Those colors are so pretty! I’m wondering if I can wear the pink (i’m allergic to something in most pink colors). I’ve been searching for these in my area. I definitely want to buy the gold. I may try the pink, too, and see what happens. . . . .Xp

  14. Burst Into Bloom and Purple Priority are really nice. Burst Into Bloom looks a bit burgundy to me, I was expecting the color to appear deeper.
    Kiara Recently Posted: MAC Tempting Eyeshadow | Review and Swatch

  15. Cammie

    Wow, Pearly Pink looks so gorgeous in the pot. But the swatch looks like such a light color that I don’t think I’ll end up getting it.

  16. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Michelle Michelle

    Thanks for the review, swatches and eye look, Christine! I must have Purple Priority – it’s STUNNING!

  17. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Christine Christine

    The last two are gorgeous, especially Burst Into Bloom. I have to hunt these down :)

  18. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Michele Queentutt

    I picked up the “Burst Into Bloom” yesterday at Ulta. I thought it would be a great shade for Spring/Summer as this years Pantone color is “Radiant Orchid”. It appears pretty darn orchid in person. It’s a great shade.

  19. Purple Priority is a really pretty shade. :)

  20. Wow, they all look amazing!

  21. I’m crushing so hard on Purple Priority right now but I’d probably use it more like a liner or a small pop color on a smokey eye. I’m not on my mac but on my old laptop and I think it’s skewing the colors because the first one looks straight up lavender, the second like Mac Cranberry, and this one looks almost navy!