Anastasia Brown & Plum Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

Custom

Anastasia Custom Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a medium-dark taupe with warmer undertones and a frosted finish. It had good color payoff with a soft, blendable texture that was somewhat dusty. The eyeshadow had a tendency to sheer out to semi-opaque coverage without a primer underneath to help it adhere to the lid better. It lasted for just over seven and a half hours on me.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Editor’s Note: I’ve previously reviewed all of these shades when they appeared in palettes. During the brand’s Black Friday sale, I picked up the permanent, single pans of all of the palette shades to see if there were any differences/improvements.


Dusty Rose

Anastasia Dusty Rose Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a soft, medium mauve with neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage with a lightly dusty texture that was soft and blendable but had some fallout initially. As an all-over lid color, it really needed primer to perform well, but as a less intense transition shade, it worked fine without primer. This shade lasted for seven and a half hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Ingredients

DIMETHICONE, BORON NITRIDE, NYLON-12, POLYMETHYLSILSESQUIOXANE, ZEA MAYS (CORN) STARCH, ZINC STEARATE, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, SILICA, VINYL DIMETHICONE/METHICONE SILSESQUIOXANE CROSSPOLYMER, ZINC MYRISTATE, GLYCERIN, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, ISOPENTYLDIOL, LAUROYL LYSINE, PHENOXYETHANOL, POLYSILICONE-11, TOCOPHEROL, MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR (+/-): MICA, CARMINE (CI 75470), ULTRAMARINES (CI 77007), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891)

Sangria

Anastasia Sangria Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a medium-dark reddish plum with warm undertones and a pearly sheen. It had good color payoff with a soft, smooth consistency that wasn’t too firm or too soft in the pan. The eyeshadow did not sheer out on the lid, but the edges were easily diffused for a blended look. I noticed fading after eight hours of wear.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Deep Plum

Anastasia Deep Plum Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a deep reddish brown with warm undertones and a matte finish. While very soft to the touch, it kicked up a ton of excess powder as well, so it was a messier shade to work with. I would recommend lightly patting the surface with the brush, then pushing it into the skin. After getting the initial coverage down, use a clean brush to blend the edges. It wore well for eight hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Glisten

Anastasia Glisten Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a medium-dark copper with warm, brown undertones and a frosted finish. It had opaque color payoff with a soft, lightly dusty texture that applied fairly well to bare skin, but there was some sheering out of the color without a primer. The eyeshadow was blendable, though, and lasted for seven hours on me.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Topaz

Anastasia Topaz Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a medium, golden brown with warm undertones and a soft, frosted finish. The eyeshadow had opaque color payoff with a smooth, lightly dusty texture that applied well and did not sheer out too readily. It lasted for eight hours on me before fading.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Truffle

Anastasia Truffle Eyeshadow ($12.00 for 0.059 oz.) is a dark brown with warm, reddish undertones and a satin sheen. The pigmentation was fully opaque, while the texture was firmer in the pan but still was fairly blendable. It had a tendency to take on a stronger sheen over bare skin than it did over a primer (sort of like a matte eyeshadow sometimes can darken or have a semi-matte finish on normal-to-oily skin). The color started to fade after eight hours on me.

Formula Overview

$12.00/0.06 oz. - $200.00 Per Ounce

Anastasia Eyeshadow is supposed to be a “finely-milled, highly-pigmented” powder eyeshadow. There are several different finishes, and the performance can be better or worse depending on the finish, though it also ranges from shade to shade. On average, the formula is semi-opaque to opaque, lightly dusty to buttery, wears seven to nine hours, and is fairly blendable. The Metallic and Titanium finishes seem to be the best-performing to me, but there are some really standout mattes and shimmers as well. I have not tried the sparkle, satin, or velvet finishes as extensively as the other finishes, personally.

Browse all of our Anastasia Eyeshadow swatches.

Anastasia Custom Eyeshadow

Anastasia Custom Eyeshadow

Anastasia Custom Eyeshadow

Anastasia Custom Eyeshadow

Anastasia Custom Eyeshadow

Anastasia Dusty Rose Eyeshadow

Anastasia Dusty Rose Eyeshadow

Anastasia Dusty Rose Eyeshadow

Anastasia Dusty Rose Eyeshadow

Anastasia Dusty Rose Eyeshadow

Anastasia Sangria Eyeshadow

Anastasia Sangria Eyeshadow

Anastasia Sangria Eyeshadow

Anastasia Sangria Eyeshadow

Anastasia Sangria Eyeshadow

Anastasia Deep Plum Eyeshadow

Anastasia Deep Plum Eyeshadow

Anastasia Deep Plum Eyeshadow

Anastasia Deep Plum Eyeshadow

Anastasia Deep Plum Eyeshadow

Anastasia Glisten Eyeshadow

Anastasia Glisten Eyeshadow

Anastasia Glisten Eyeshadow

Anastasia Glisten Eyeshadow

Anastasia Glisten Eyeshadow

Anastasia Topaz Eyeshadow

Anastasia Topaz Eyeshadow

Anastasia Topaz Eyeshadow

Anastasia Topaz Eyeshadow

Anastasia Truffle Eyeshadow

Anastasia Truffle Eyeshadow

Anastasia Truffle Eyeshadow

Anastasia Truffle Eyeshadow

Anastasia Truffle Eyeshadow

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Product Availability

Anastasia Eyeshadow $12.00/0.06 OZ.
When you purchase through our links above, you help support Temptalia. Thank You!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

18 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

IDK, I was pretty happy with the ABH shadows I initially got earlier this year (which incl Sangria and Truffle), so during their big 60% off sale, I ordered more shades, all rated A/B+ here. I must’ve got a bad batch because mine had about 25-50% less pigment than your swatches, ended up returning 4 out of 6, including the free empty palette. Fortunately, the return shipping back was less than $3, but it was a bit of a hassle re-packing everything and taking it to post office to weigh and get correct postage amount. If they have another big 60% off sale, I will try more shades, but if it’s only 20 or 25% off, I prefer to buy from Sephora or Ulta during their sale, as it’s easier to return or exchange in store.

Again, really gorgeous neutral shades that can be worn to work and for evenings as well. The quality was pretty good, but you know, I think I like the Coloured Raine ones better and they are less expensive as well.

Some are far nicer than others in this batch, that’s for sure. Yet I don’t see anything truly bad or unusable either. My only issue is that I have dupes galore! Ah, the life of a makeup addict…especially eyeshadows. ?

Dusty Rose is one I picked up in the sale. Several of the shades I wanted to get sold out too quickly, even after the restock, but I was able to choose 12 shades that you rated in the A-B range.

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!