Thursday, November 21st, 2013

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette ($52.00 for 0.60 oz.) includes twelve eyeshadows, each 0.05 oz. (equivalent of a full-sized eyeshadow), in hues of pink and brown. It also includes a dual-ended eye brush, and a week’s worth of samples of each of their primers. The case is a rose gold metal with “waves” indented across the exterior.  Overall, it’s a really lovely palette filled with eyeshadows that are highly pigmented, soft, blendable, and easy to use.  With ten of the twelve, they wore well for just over eight hours without fading or creasing.  Darkside was my favorite shade, as it was somewhat unusual, and it wasn’t too frosted.  Dust was the worst performer, which isn’t unexpected, as it has a fair amount of glitter, which makes the texture less smooth and results in fall out during wear.  Trick had minor fall out during wear, but it applied better and had more color payoff.

It is now available at urbandecay.com! :)

Comparisons to Naked 1 and Naked 2 can be found here!

Strange is described as a “pale neutral pink matte-satin.” It’s a pale, neutral-to-warm white-pink with a satin matte finish. It had really good color payoff, and the texture was soft and finely-milled–a very, very smidgen powdery if I’m being nitpicky as a little goes a long way. Too Faced Powdered Sugar (LE) is similar. Tom Ford Beauty In the Pink #1 (LE) is similar. LORAC Light Pink (P) is pinker. MAC Pen ‘n’ Pink (P, $15.00) is darker. Chanel Variation #1 (P) is cooler-toned. Chanel Premier Regard #2 (P) is pinker. Benefit Pinky Swear (P, $20.00) is darker. bareMinerals Giddy (P) is darker. Inglot #356 (P, $6.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Dust is described as a “pale metallic pink shimmer with iridescent micro-glitter.” It’s a light-medium pink with warm undertones and a white and gold micro-glitter. The texture is a little powdery and glittery, so it feels looser; it’s a shade I would apply with a dampened brush to minimize fall out and to help it apply more smoothly. I had noticeable fall out with this shade. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #12 (P, $9.99) is darker. Chanel Pink Lagoon (LE, $34.00) is warmer, cream product. Urban Decay Scratch (P, $18.00) is darker. MAC Rose Light (LE, $32.50) is more metallic. bareMinerals Page Six (P) is less glittery. See comparison swatches.

Burnout is described as a “light pinky-peach satin.” It’s a rosy, medium peach with a pearly finish. It had really nice color payoff, and the texture was soft, smooth, and not at all powdery. Laura Mercier Primrose (P) is similar. Laura Mercier Guava (P) is pinker, less frosted. Tarina Tarantino Tiny Pansie (LE) is warmer. Tom Ford Beauty In the Pink #2 (LE) is similar. Too Faced Ringleader (LE) is similar. theBalm Third Eye Blinded (P, $16.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Limit is described as a “light dusty rose matte.” It’s a mauve-y, medium pink with neutral-to-cool undertones and a matte finish. It had nice pigmentation, and the texture was soft, blendable, and smooth. It was slightly powdery. NARS Douce France #2 (LE, $24.00) is rosier. Le Metier de Beaute Icon (LE, $30.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Buzz is described as a “metallic rose shimmer with silver micro-glitter.” It’s a warm, coppered rose with a frosted, metallic sheen. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was soft, buttery, and smooth. Urban Decay Scratch (P, $18.00) is less metallic, slightly less warm-toned. Chanel Abstraction (LE, $36.00) is a cream product. Inglot #399 (P, $6.00) is darker, less warm-toned. See comparison swatches.

Trick is described as a “light metallic pinky-copper shimmer with tonal micro-sparkle.” It’s a medium copper with brownish tones and a gold sparkles over a frost finish. It had good pigmentation, and the texture though sparkly, was soft and buttery and applied smoothly overall. Dior Meteore (661) (P, $30.00) is a cream product. LORAC Garnet (P) is less frosted, darker. Guerlain Cuivre Ora (LE, $35.00) is more orange. theBalm Racy Kacy (P, $16.00) is darker. NARS California (P, $24.00) is darker, less sparkly. MAC Star Myth (LE, $15.00) is similar, less sparkly. MAC Mythical (LE, $15.00) is rosier. bareMinerals Imagine (P) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Nooner is described as a “medium pinky-brown matte.” It’s a medium-dark, rosy plum with neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It was nicely pigmented, and the texture was soft, finely-milled, and blendable. It was very, very lightly powdery. LORAC Mauve (P) is purpler. Chanel Hasard (99) (P, $28.50) is grayer. NARS Charade #1 (P, $24.00) is shimmery. NARS New York (P, $24.00) is darker, redder. Guerlain Boulevard du Montparnasse #5 (LE) is shimmery. Le Metier de Beaute Icon (LE, $30.00) is cooler-toned. Inglot #344 (P, $6.00) is browner. See comparison swatches.

Liar is described as a “medium metallic mauve shimmer.” It’s a medium brown with subtle warm undertones and a slightly gray-ish cast on top. It had a very frosted, almost metallic, finish. The texture was incredibly soft, leaning towards a little powdery, but very pigmented. Laura Mercier Bamboo (P) is less frosted, yellower in tone. Too Faced Crisp Apple Strudel (LE) is more golden. MAC Her Cocoa #4 (LE, $15.00) is darker. LORAC Pewter (P) is darker.MAC Smokeluxe #3 (P) is similar. Disney by Sephora Chateau (LE) is similar. Tom Ford Beauty Platinum (LE, $40.00) is a cream product. See comparison swatches.

Factory is described as a “pinky-brown satin.” It’s a medium-dark brown with warm, reddish undertones and a soft, pearled finish. It had nice pigmentation, and the texture was soft, finely-milled, and blendable. Dior Golden Flower #5 (LE) is warmer. Chanel Seduction #4 (LE) is slightly darker. MAC Constructivist (P, $18.50) is a cream product. Disney by Sephora Chateau (LE) is redder-toned. Urban Decay West (LE, $18.00) is darker. NARS Flowers 3 #4 (LE, $24.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Mugshot is described as a “metallic taupe shimmer with slight pink shift.” It’s a medium-dark, warm-toned taupe with a frosted, metallic finish. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was soft and buttery. Illamasqua Acute (P) is a cream product. Urban Decay Stray Dog (LE, $18.00) is less metallic.Urban Decay Lost (LE, $18.00) is slightly darker. Urban Decay Rehab (LE, $20.00) is a cream product. Chanel Raffinement #1 (P) is less metallic. See comparison swatches.

Darkside is described as a “deep taupe-mauve satin.” It’s a cool-toned, purpled taupe with a pearled finish. It had nice pigmentation, and the texture was soft, finely-milled, and easy to blend on the lid. Too Faced Bluff (LE) is lighter, more metallic. MAC Graphic Style (LE, $15.00) is grayer. Clinique Lavish Lilac (P, $16.00) is a cream product, lighter. MAC Black Slip (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Moth Brown (LE, $15.00) is grayer. MAC Round Midnight (LE, $21.00) is darker. MAC Stolen Moment (LE, $21.00) is very similar. See comparison swatches.

Blackheart is described as a “smoky black matte with rosy red micro-sparkle.” It’s a deep, blackened burgundy with warm, reddish-brown undertones and ruby red micro-shimmer. MAC Magic Moor (LE, $15.00) is more frosted, lighter. Bobbi Brown Rich Chocolate (LE, $29.00) is totally matte. MAC Brownluxe #5 (P) is browner. MAC Graphology (P, $15.00) is totally matte. Giorgio Armani #2 (P, $33.00) is brighter, more shimmery. See comparison swatches.

By the by, I also thought that three shades in this replicated Tom Ford’s In the Pink trio surprisingly well — Strange, Burnout, and Trick (mix in Dust with Trick to get even closer).

The Glossover

P
palette

Naked3

A

Overall, it's a really lovely palette filled with eyeshadows that are highly pigmented, soft, blendable, and easy to use. With ten of the twelve, they wore well for just over eight hours without fading or creasing. Darkside was my favorite shade, as it was somewhat unusual, and it wasn't too frosted.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Strange

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Dust

C

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

7/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Strange Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Strange Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Dust Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Dust Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Burnout Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Burnout Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Limit Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Limit Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Buzz Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Buzz Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Trick Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Trick Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Nooner Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Nooner Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Liar Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Liar Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Factory Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Factory Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Mugshot Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Mugshot Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Darkside Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Darkside Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Blackheart Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Blackheart Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadow: Dust (inner lid), Burnout (middle of lid), Liar (outer lid),
Nooner (crease) Stranger (brow bone)

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadow: Dust (inner lid), Burnout (middle of lid), Liar (outer lid),
Nooner (crease) Stranger (brow bone)

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadow: Trick (inner lid), Mugshot (middle of lid), Factory (outer lid),
Darkside (crease), Stranger (brow bone)

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadow: Trick (inner lid), Mugshot (middle of lid), Factory (outer lid),
Darkside (crease), Stranger (brow bone)

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadow: Trick (inner lid), Liar (middle of lid), Mugshot (outer lid),
Darkside (crease), Nooner (crease), Strange (brow bone)

Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadow: Trick (inner lid), Liar (middle of lid), Mugshot (outer lid),
Darkside (crease), Nooner (crease), Strange (brow bone)

The Dupe List: Strange

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Dust

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Burnout

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

329 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Well, I’ll be damned. It actually looks really nice and I do like it more than the original.
    Rikki Recently Posted: DEMO & REVIEW: Benefit ‘Hello Flawless!’ Oxygen Wow Liquid Foundation | closed captioned

  2. Pretty… but I’m not sold on it. Considering how little I’ve used my Naked 2 compare to the original Naked, I’m worried this one would just fall by the wayside.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kristina Kris

      I thought I was the only one! I bought into the hype with Naked 2 and I’ve barely used it. Gonna think very carefully before another one of those purchases.

      • It’s so easy to but into the hype though! The packaging is lovely and there’s no doubt the colours are beautiful too. But at some point… it’s too much!

      • Chelsea

        I did the same, glad I’m not alone. I preferred Naked 1 vs 2. Though Naked 3 does look better than 2. 1 felt more pigmented due to the shades. I wish it would get rereleased in the tin case like 2 and 3, so I could more easily bring it everywhere.

        • Alia

          Agree….Naked 1 was the best

          • Nariss

            I own Naked 1 and some others from Urban Decay, been trying many brands but always come back to Naked 1. a friend got 2 and I had tried them which I didn’t like it at all, but with this 3!!! I’m really looking forward to have it in hand.

            • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Olivia Olivia

              I actually perfer the naked 1 packaging. The tin cases feel too heavy for me. Thats the reason I sold off my naked 2. and barely touch my “build your own palettes” …. =\ I like the lighter, easier ( in my opinion ) to open packaging.

      • Julia

        I actually prefered Naked 2 – the first one is a little too warm toned for me. But this looks lovely too….tempting!

    • And I’m just the opposite. While I love the original Naked palette and will always continue to use it, Naked2 works much better for my colouring and doesn’t have the fallout that Sidecar (in 1) has (and I wish it didn’t – I love that shade but not the shower of sparkles!). I have room for another one in my collection and all 3 will get used, though it goes without saying that some shades in all the palettes and, most likely, Naked2, will be more used than others.

      • Amanda

        I agree! Although I have Naked1 (which at the time was the only one to purchase, obviously), I was anticipating the release of the Naked2 palette MUCH MORE! The colors work better with my skin tone and hair color. I feel like I can take just the Naked2 palette with me somewhere, and not need any other eye shadows to complete my look. The colors in Naked3 are neutral, but they definitely spiced things up by adding pink hues to the color selection, while having a decent range of light and dark shades. I didn’t purchase the Naked Basics palette because the majority of the colors were all light – this confuses me. I will get Naked3 even though I have the first two, but I think Naked2 will still be my go-to palette of the bunch.

    • Nana

      I agree with Chelle. I have not used my original and Naked 2 enough to justify buying another one.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Lene Jess

      you took the words right out of my mouth. I bought naked 2 and have never used it. what a waste. :( I won’t be getting the naked 3 either.

  3. Carrie

    Oh, boy. I really didn’t think I’d be interested, since I already have the first two palettes, but this one is so lovely. All those pretty shades of pink, purple and brown!

  4. Gina

    Beautiful! Will you say this one leans more pink/purple or brown? More of cool tone or warm tone?

    • To me, this palette is pink and brown and leans warm!

      • Gina

        Thank you for the response. I just got LM Artist and Lorac Pro because of your positive review, do you think I need this one? I don’t have any UD palette. Or I can wait a bit, I only have 2 eyes anyway, how many eye shadows do I need, right? But this is such a pretty palette!

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of kimberly Kica

        This was the exact same thing I was wondering. Thanks for the response.

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of divinem1 (Melissa) divinem1 (Melissa)

        I’m really surprised to get your read on this, Christine. My first impression looking at the colors are that they lean cool, especially the darker ones. Well, I’ll give it a whirl and see. I can always return if it doesn’t work out for me.

        I like the looks you did with this palette. :)

        • Some of the colors are cooler, but it read warmer overall on me! Like Dust, Burnout, Buzz, Trick, and Liar are all quite warm, then Factory and Mugshot are more neutral (though warm on me). Even though Darkside is cooler, it still has a warmer, brownish-plum base when sheered out – same with Blackheart!

  5. So WHEN can I get this exactly?

  6. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Callie Callie

    I think it’ll pair beautifully with the 2nd palette. Can’t wait!

  7. Elena

    I love Naked 1 and only use 2 or 3 colors from Naked 2. Not sure how some of these colors will look on darker toned people. The colors are really beautiful but really undecided, I dont want to buy another palette just for it to sit.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of desiqtie Gabby

      I feel the same way – I love my Naked 1 but I’ve held off buying Naked 2 because my sister, who is the same darker skintone as me & has both – almost never uses Naked 2.

      Based on the swatches, I like about half the colors of Naked 3 but I’m really uncertain if this would work on me + I wonder if it’s even worth it considering it could potentially just sit.

      • Nikki M

        I was thinking the same thing. These colors look very light and I’m not sure they’d work for my dark complexion. I have both Naked 1 and 2. I use Naked 1 more than 2. I purchased Naked Basics, but returned it within days as I didn’t like any of the colors in that one. I’m starting to get over the UD palette hype. Too many pale frosted colors. Too much chunky glitter.

  8. Yeah way to cool tone pink/mauves for me but I’m sure for those that find the Naked and Naked 2 to warm will love it.
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar All-Star Mini x 4 Set and Mini x 12 Set: Swatches & Review

  9. Stephanie Alipio

    Damn, I think I like this D:< even better than the original, which I have! Do you know if they plan on releasing some of the shades in little pans? I would definitely buy Blackside or Darkside as a pan!

    • Given that UD does this across palettes, it’s possible you’ll see some shades added to the permanent range, but it’s hard to say which ones or when. I doubt they’ll add anything individually for awhile, though!

  10. Grace

    I’m so excited about this palette. It seems like the colors are in the coppery family which I think looks awesome with my blue eyes, so I can’t wait to try this!

  11. Carrie

    I was hoping that this would be a truly cool leaning palette (for once!). I’ll have to swatch in store since that doesn’t seem to be the case :/

  12. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    The only shades I’m not completely sold on are Trick & Buzz, but the rest are simply stunning. If this is due out in late November, the stores near me will likely get them in-store in December, which is actuallybbetter for me.

  13. Luisa

    Is it coming with any travel size, like naked 1 and 2?
    Thank you!!!

  14. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Andie Andie

    I was expecting…just…more. I do like how the majority of the shades are lighter. My N4 skin definitely lends itself to lighter eyeshadows. I cannot wear dark eyeshadows to work everyday.I was just about to buy Naked 2 (I already own Naked 1) when I heard about this palette. Overall, I think this palette would suit me better. I’m just a little unsure about how cool-toned everything is. I might need to see this palette before I commit.

  15. Christina

    Hi Christine, I just bought the Laura Mercier Artist Pro palette during VIB– it has a lot of pinky peaches and rose toned colors. For you, how do the two palettes compare, color and texture wise? I don’t think I would need both right? And would you say UD Naked 3’s shimmers have more of a frosted or metallic finish than the LM’s shimmers? Thanks for all you do! :)

    • This palette is more shimmery/frosted overall, and it is a lot warmer – the Laura Mercier is cooler-toned, has more mattes, and more plum/purple (this is more pink and brown).

  16. I am definitely getting this! I also go for these sort of shades!

  17. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Vanda Vanda

    Have been waiting all day for this! Thanks for the review! And now I can confirm that I need this. Well…’need’ is not exactly the right word here ;)

  18. It actually looks like a palette I could wear. My hesitation with Naked 1 and Naked 2 are that browns tend to go muddy on me, without a lot of effort. It looks like with all the pinks I could pull this off. I’m not crazy about all the frosty finishes though. Thanks for the amazing swatches :)
    Phyrra Recently Posted: Saucebox Cosmetics Forbidden Fruits Palette Review

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Christina Christina

      Same here! I look tired with brown eyeshadows on, probably because of my yellow-olive complexion, and I’m extremely fair. I’ll definitely be checking this out!

  19. Laurie

    Hmmmm…. I love the naked 2 palette since I use basically all cool tone eyeshadows everyday. This looks quite pink and warm so no thanks UD :)

  20. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of LaWanda LaWanda Hankins

    Kinda reminds me of the LORAC Unzipped palette. In person is it different enough to have both?

    • Sorry, I don’t think I have that palette!

    • Robin

      Hi,

      I have the Unzipped and I feel it’s more copper/bronzey colors than this palette. This has a lot more pink in it than Unzipped.

      Hope this helps!

      • Marina

        What Robin said! I do also want to add that the Unzipped has shimmery gold and rose gold colors as well as burgandy browns, so the shades are similar to the ones in the Naked 3, leaning a tad more red (from the burgandy). I’m not sure about exact dupes between the two palettes, but they do look fairly similar. I personally think the shades in Unzipped will be more complementary to brown eyes (which is what I have) than the Naked 3, and it also has more mattes, so I’ll be skipping on the new UD palette, but they both look beautiful. I own the Unzipped and it’s a favorite of mine, but if you like rosey golds and deep browns, you probably won’t need both palettes.

  21. This looks…pretty. I skipped out on the first two NAKED palettes (or well, I got the NAKED 1 and then returned it) because as a WOC they didn’t appeal to me. Really light browns on a dark brown don’t go to well (in my opinion). But this looks like it will be a lot of fun! Or at least I hope so.

    I’m hoping that Sephora get’s this in time for the $20 off of $50 sale in December.

  22. I really hope we can get this in England soon! I’m hoping for December:)

  23. rachael

    I completely passed on the Naked 2 but this one… I really like! Going on my xmas list!

  24. Finally, I will be adding a naked palette to my collection… neither of the first two did much for me since I have TONNES of neutral shades all on their own… but this is SO down my alley. Lots of taupe and dusty rose? Yes please.

  25. Hm, the lighter shades I probably wouldn’t use (pinky shades don’t suit me) but I just adore Mugshot, Blackheart, and Darkside so much. Wish I could combine those with my favorite half of Naked1! Still want this though.

  26. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Lia Lia

    Love the palette, but I’m not so sure about the packaging choice with the waves… in the picture it kind of looks like the clear plastic sticker that comes on top of the mirrors in some palettes, but poorly put on. I’m super stoked for this though, especially buzz!

  27. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Elena PianoGirl1985

    Man, UD is killing it with their Naked palettes. They should just finish making the single eyeshadows and make a fortune on these things! I guess this is going on my Christmas wish list! Darn you UD… ;)

  28. I’m thinking very seriously about purchasing this pallette because the shades look wearable and beautiful. Besides, I’m a big fan of the original palette which has rescued me in more than one ocasion.
    Thanks for the review

  29. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Andrea Andrea Marie

    damn, I was hoping I wouldn’t like this but I reeeeally do.
    I should probably pass on this, considering I already have the first two.
    but it’s super pretty, & I’m really happy they didn’t repeat any of the shades from the other naked palettes.
    I’ll most likely end up getting it.

  30. not a big fan of neutrals but this is in wish list just for the name sake :)
    i skipped N1 ( the original one ) and N2 am not using much
    am more inclined towards smoked palette :D
    still your review convinced me to pick this up :)
    truly appreciate every moment you spent
    Rashmi Recently Posted: Estee Lauder Pure Color Blush NAUGHTY : Review and FOTD

  31. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of virginie virginie

    I never bothered to buy a Naked palette, but I think it’s time! Like those colors better…..

  32. Sophia

    I think I like this more than the 1&2.Rosie shades are my thing. Can’t wait to try it!

  33. OMG I am drooling :) the shades are so feminine and pretty

  34. Crystal

    OMG your liner tho!! The looks are gorgeous (thank you so much for that) but your liner is what really completes them. Would you mind sharing what you used?

  35. Stephanie

    You know, my big beef with this is the packaging! The colors look stunning and I’ll definitely will pick it up BUT I have and hate naked 2 bc the packaging was soooo bad and hard to open. Mine actually had all loose shadow pans that eventually all fell out and shattered 2 shadows not long after I bought it :( I would HATE for that to happen to this one too!

  36. I’m not sure if I should get this since there are so many similar shades to the first two palettes (which I have). I do love Darkside and Blackheart, though! I should really work on practicing my eye makeup skills more often so I could put all these lovely palettes to use.

    PS: Who am I kidding? There’s a 95% chance I’m going to buy this as soon as I get the chance to. :roll:
    Erika Recently Posted: FOTD Flashback: MAC Angel and Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Amused (21/09/2013)

  37. Amazing swatches Christine! Thank you for this blog post! ^_^ X

  38. I had high hopes for this, but another WARM palette? Seriously UD??? How about a Naked 4 palette with cool-neutral shadows, a couple more matte shades and most importantly a medium-dark MATTE shade.

  39. This palette is a must-have!

  40. Katie

    I don’t want to want this, because I swore I wouldn’t buy any more UD stuff ever again. But oh man it’s pretty. I’m super super pale and cool-toned so I think it might look kind of awesome on me. Everyone tell me how much I don’t need it.

  41. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Alice Alice Bassi

    Hi Christine!
    How would you compare Strange to Yogurt by MAC?
    Nooner and Limit should be perfect paired with Stormy Pink paint pot by MAC! :) Lovely!
    Do you have any idea about the release date and the price? I live in Italy! :)
    And, finally: I’m NW10 with black hair and deep brown eyes; do you think this palette could work on me? I already have Naked 1 and Naked 2 and I love Naked 2 the most, in addiction to that I love pinks, mauves, greys… ok, what am I asking for? I LOVE NAKED 3! And I’ll get it… no matter what XD

    • Yogurt is paler and more matte :) Cooler-toned!

      I think Sephora France started telling people January, so I would expect around then for Europe in general!

      • Perfect, I was born on January 31st so N3 could become a perfect birthday gift :)
        I would love to see more cool shades, but I love this palette anyway :) thank you!

  42. Wow – this is the first Naked palette that I want to get! :)

  43. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Karla Karla

    Hi christine, How good is the dual ended brush to apply and blend the eyeshadows??

    • It feels just like their full-sized ones, so if you like those, you’ll be good here! I don’t love Urban Decay’s brushes for eyeshadow application as much as a lot of my other brushes, but they’re good brushes.

  44. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kelsey Kelsey

    Looks so much like the Lorac Unzipped palette!

  45. renu

    Like Blackheart most of all, fabulous to see swatches so fast but not getting any more makeup for 6 months, let’s see how long I can keep resolved!

  46. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of J-Boogie J-Boogie

    This is TOTALLY up my alley! I loved N1, I have N2 but don’t use it quite as much, but this….THIS! It’s so feminine because it leans pink. I love it. Can’t wait! :)

  47. I’m so excited!! I mentioned your blog and review on my blog :)

  48. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Lauren Lauren

    I’ve been hesitant to buy Naked 1, Naked 2, and Naked Basics. I think I might go for this one.

  49. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Ann Ann

    I thought I would be all on this, but I am just kinda “eh”. Oh well. Money saved.

  50. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Crystal Crystal

    It really blows my mind how detail oriented you are with this blog. You review every single detail, every single time & I never have any questions afterwards…never. :)

  51. Angelica

    Hi Christine,

    I’m so excited for this palette to come out – do you know whether it’ll be part of the permanent collection?

  52. I know there are lots of similarities among the three Naked palettes (I already have 1 and 2) but you’re bound to get that with neutral collections. I’m such a pushover for neutrals so I know I will be picking this up as soon as I get a chance. It may not be all that exciting but to a neutral-lover like me, it actually IS very exciting and I’d sooner shell out for this than for Naked Basics.

  53. Deb

    I’m so appreciative of you getting this up in a nano-second. Thank you so much!

  54. Charlotte

    Can’t wait to get this, pink shades suit me far better than the browns. I’m having a mini heart attack right now!

  55. LOLLIE

    PLEASE MAKE AN ALL MATTE PALETTE I WOULD DIE! <3

  56. Thanks for the review! I don’t have either of the first two palettes but this one has sparked my interest. I have to think about it…

  57. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kimberly Kim

    I think this is pretty! When I first looked at the palette I thought the colors were almost invisible. Lol! But then your swatches helped a lot. How on Earth did you get this from UD to review so quick.Nice work Christine!

  58. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Sasha Sasha

    Oh! A Naked palette I may actually use and love! I ended up swapping away my Naked 2 palette because the only shade I really used was Tease, this one has two variations of it and a LMDB Nouvelle Vague feel at a more affordable price point, awesome!!!

    Maybe I’ll have to give the palettes a chance again and try this, buy an individual tease and get Naked Basics. There goes all my Christmas money…

  59. Love the look of this one. I really enjoy my UD “original Naked”, but I think that I might get even more use out of this.

  60. shelley

    So on the fence about this one as my skintone is a NC45. I think this would look great on the fair skin beauties. But I will definitely gift one to a good friend of mine who will love this palette.

  61. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rosie Rosie Posie

    I really, really love this. I love the warm pink tones and gorgeous taupe-y mauves, so gorgeous! That being said, I already have LORAC Unzipped, so I don’t know if I could actually justify getting this as well. Siggggh.

  62. I loveeee the pink theme! I think the Rose Gold and overall shade selection is absolutely perfect! I think I liked this much more than the originals!
    Stephanie @ Fantasia Beauty Blog Recently Posted: Review | Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation.

  63. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Corliss Corliss

    I have Naked 1 & 2 and never use either of them so I don’t know about Naked 3. It might just be a waste of money.

  64. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Sam Sam

    Its too bad none of the Naked Palettes have dark brown mattes

  65. Agnes

    Hi Christine, is it worth buying if I have Naked 1 and Naked 2 ?
    Thanks in advance for your answer !

    • I would look at the shades in N3 and consider how many you’d reach for/use often – if it’s more than say five or six, then it’s probably worth buying for you!

  66. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

    This palette definitely looks more fair-skin friendly than the first two; this being said, I’m frustrated to see that the palette still leans warm. I was geared up to jump all over this palette, but now I’m going to have to give it some serious thought before buying it. Trick and Buzz are shades likely to sit untouched in the pan the for the entirety of the time I own it, and with the number of neutrals I already own, two out of twelve is a strike against it.

    I hate to say it, but I feel ready to give up on the UD Naked line and just stick to the occasional single. :-/ What’s the point of buying palettes if they aren’t willing to produce shades flattering to my skin tone?

    • Carrie

      My thoughts exactly. It’s puzzles me too because their other palettes have a better mix of cool toned colors. It’s like they just refuse to go there with their neutrals. :-/

    • Esme

      I feel the same way! I would love it if Urban Decay produced a neutral palette specifically for cool-toned people–I know Naked2 was supposed to be that palette, but I’m still hesitating on buying it because I know some of the shades will be unwearable. But the fact is that there are simply more warm-toned than cool-toned people in the world, so I suppose it makes sense that the Naked palettes lean warm.

  67. Shayla

    Is the naked 3 palette available in store now?? I really need to go buy this :P

  68. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Ashlee Ashlee

    Oh my… I just-
    Oh dear god. This is beautiful.
    One question though, you mentioned that Buzz has a frosted finish. Does this mean that you can’t detect any glitter during application? I’m REALLY not a fan of glitter since most of the time it ends up in my contacts, am I gonna have this problem with this eyeshadow?

  69. Jess

    When is it coming out?

  70. embeast

    Now THIS is the Naked palette I’ve been waiting for. I have the first 2, and Basics, but only use a few shades from each. But this one? My pale skin, red hair and green eyes need this in our life right now. I’m drooling over some of those rosy shades….

  71. This reminds me of Naked 2 a lot. I think I need to see it in person to decide if I want it.

  72. Emily

    COME ON UD… We want an ALL MATTE palette already. I bought into the hype for a while but now i am stuck with all these shimmery colors that just look muddy when you try to blend them. I do believe their matte shadows are some of the best. I wish they would release an all matte naked palette bigger than naked basics.

  73. This looks absolutely lovely. I don’t have any other of the Naked palettes, although I had considered getting Naked 2 or Naked basics, but I definitely see myself using the shadows in this more often.

    Onto the Christmas List it goes.

  74. I hesitated on picking up 1 and 2, but I think I’m going to go ahead and buy this one! I can’t resist a rose gold palette :)

  75. Oh CRAP! I don’t own any of the Naked Palettes, and this one may have to be my first! It’s flipping gorgeous! :)

  76. Anna N

    Looks nice! I wish they would dedicate a whole palette with purple tones for color lovers. The vice palettes just seem like a hodge podge of colors.

  77. I was sure I was the only person in the world who wasn’t so excited about NAKED3 coming. Reason comments, I’m not alone in being terribly impressed! The packaging is nice, but only a few shades actually speak to me. Thanks for the swatches/review though, Christine! Dust reminds me a little of NYX’s eyeshadow also called Dust or Fairy Dust. It’s a pink, glittery/shimmery shade too.

  78. Bina

    Are there any sparkly eyeshadows that you can think of that do not have crazy fallout?

  79. Do they have less fallout than other UD shadows?

    • Addressed fall out in the review above :) but here it is copied and pasted for your convenience: “Dust was the worst performer, which isn’t unexpected, as it has a fair amount of glitter, which makes the texture less smooth and results in fall out during wear. Trick had minor fall out during wear, but it applied better and had more color payoff.”

  80. You know what, I wasn’t particularly interested (if at all) in the Naked 3 palette prior to its release, but it actually does look very nice!
    I especially love the second look you created, Christine.

  81. syd

    This looks really pretty but rosy pinks… actually anything red toned looks terrible on me (I’m fair/cool with brown eyes and brown hair), I’ll be sitting this one out. Also wish there were more mattes!

  82. Valerie

    Thank you very much for this review!
    I will buy the palette, as soon as I find a seller who ships it internationally.
    The color are, what I was searching for since a few months – a palette of rosy-based, versatile nuances in different finishes… and the quality seems to be worth the price. So I’m in love and because I didn’t got one of the both first Nakeds, I could justify the buying! :D

  83. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Anna Anna

    This looks beautiful, but I just caved and bought Naked 1. I don’t have many eyeshadows or even neutrals though, so I might get this one

  84. I really wanted to love this palette but it looks very similar to the other two. I own both Naked 1 and 2 and i like them but i don’t use them as much as i wish i did. The FALLOUT is just too much than I’m comfortable with especially when I’m in a hurry! I hate the glitter all over my cheeks. Can you comment on how the fallout in this palette compares to the fall out in the first two?
    The fallout and the rosy pink tones are the only things that are holding me back from getting this. Not sure how the rosy colors would look on my dark brown hair/eyes and light olive (about NC20) skin tone.

    • Hi Karen!

      Mentioned this in the post – here it is copied and pasted: “Dust was the worst performer, which isn’t unexpected, as it has a fair amount of glitter, which makes the texture less smooth and results in fall out during wear. Trick had minor fall out during wear, but it applied better and had more color payoff.”

      • zainab

        And it’s named ‘Dust’. I seem to remember ‘Prank’ in Vice2 being fallout-ville too. I figure UD knows.

  85. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Alyssa alyssa897

    I am in love with this palette. <3 I adore pinks and to have an entire neutral palette based on pinks is like a dream come true! I just purchased Naked 1 and Naked 2 with the VIB sale at Sephora last weekend and I only had a few chances to play around with them so far, but so far I am in love with both! I'm really surprised that so many people seem to strongly prefer one over the other. I must be the odd one out because I love them both. I plan on getting Naked Basics soon. I will definitely be getting this palette as soon as it is released inside Sephora stores. (I want the beauty insider points!) I am really happy UD decided to go with the packaging of the Naked 2 as I love that packaging and the Naked 1 packaging. Naked 1 is so flimsy and I hate the feel of velvet. Doesn't affect my love of the shades at all though. Kinda weird that samples of all their primer potions are included. o.O I would have preferred an exclusive eyeliner, and not a black.

    And now I am sitting here daydreaming about Naked 4 being an all matte palette (with 12 shadows) and a Naked 5 with purples and a Naked 6 with greens….oh, lord. *drools*

  86. Ann

    I want it, but like the other reviewers I never reach for naked 2 because I’m always going for the original. I may pass because it would just sit unused.

  87. Thank you for this and the comparison review! I am totally excited about this palette and the colors Buzz and Blackheart – just GORGEOUS!
    However I am not liking the ‘skrink wrapped’ or ‘warped’ look of the packaging… oh well.
    I am glad this will be part of their permanent line as I just dropped quite a bit of $$ at the VIB sale, so I will be getting this palette next spring. Unless of course I get a really nice Christmas bonus! :D

    Afterthought: I wish Blackheart had been made into a duotone… a “smoky black matte with rosy red shift” – would have totally stolen the show!!!

  88. zainab

    This is nice, and my collector-ism may kick in at some point, but I’m pretty confident I’ve got the best of the three in Naked2.

  89. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Shell Cayleigh

    Christine, I’m so impressed you have the swatches and comparisons between the palettes to boot so quickly! Seeing them all together in your other post really cements the fact that I want this one in my brain. = )

    It seems like I’m in the minority based on the comments, but I own both N1 and N2 and reach for them both on a regular basis, even though I feel like the N2 leans a bit cool for me. So as a neutral lover, this palette really appeals to me, and I love how the rose/pink theme shines through. To me this palette is *SO* different from the other two in every way other than being “neutral” colors. Cannot wait for it to release into Sephora where I can spend the gift card my hubby got me for our anniversary! I think this one will get more use than the other two combined for me. = )

    • My pleasure, Cayleigh! :)

      I love both N1 and N2 myself – would easily use and wear them all the time if you know, I could, but I’m sure you’re not alone or else they wouldn’t keep putting them out!

  90. Kristy

    Hmmm. I’m wondering if all these medium blushy pinks and browns are going to make my brown eyes look tired. Well, there’s a 99% chance I’m going to buy it anyway!

  91. This is really disappointing. Dust, Burnout, and Buzz all look basically the same, and a few of the other colors look like one another as well…seems like a bunch of repeats. Not worth it in my opinion. I don’t own Naked 1 or 2 because I think I’m just not a neutral palette person, I need some variety!

  92. Wow. I am certainly, without doubt, definitely purchasing this palette as soon as it’s available. The hues are just so romantic and rosy — “Buzz” and “Nooner” are especially darling! Thank you for such a prompt and thorough review Christine — I’ve only recently discovered your blog, but have quickly come to depend on your reviews and swatches as a valuable resource in my makeup endeavors.

  93. I am totally drawn to pink & brown/neutral palettes, so this is definitely my cup of tea – I’m adding it to my wishlist!

  94. Adriana M

    With both of the the other “nakeds” I was like, “where the frig is the pink”? Well, now I have my answer.. Here goes more money out the pocket.

  95. I did not want to fall for another UD eyeshadow palette (how many can I possibly own), but lemming = created. But seriously, I like the rose gold theme – its too pretty!!

  96. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Nella SSLILAC

    OMG……OMG…TO EACH THEIR OWN BUT DAMN….THOSE ARE SOME HOTTTT COLORS. I ALMOST PEED MYSELF LOOKING AT IT. I WOULD NOT COMPARE THIS TO THE 1ST OR 2ND ONE BECAUSE OBVIOUSLY FROM TONES TO FINISH ALL 3 PALLETTES ARE DIFFERENT AND BEAUTIFUL IN THEIR OWN WAY.
    I JUST CAN’T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON IT!!!

  97. Liz

    I really like the looks that you created. I’m going to have to pass personally. I have Naked 1 and I still like it. The colors in this palette just don’t appeal to me.

  98. II LOVE IIT ALREADY!!!