Monday, March 3rd, 2014

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette ($49.00 for 0.40 oz.) consists of ten shades in the theme of all that is bold and colorful–you know, electric. It includes two previously-seen shades, Revolt and Chaos, while the other eight are new to the palette. Each shade is 0.04 oz., which is a little shy of full-sized eyeshadow (0.05 oz.), and it also includes a dual-ended brush.

In fine print on the back of the palette, which I didn’t even see until I was grabbing size information, is the following: “Warning: Slowburn, Savage, Jilted, and Urban are not intended for the immediate eye area.” It’s not surprising to see such a warning, given that neon pigments, generally, have not been tested or approved by FDA for use on the “immediate eye area.” If you are already sensitive to red or pink eyeshadows, you should definitely heed the warning, as they all have a pink/red tinge. Neon pigments are often approved in the EU and Canada but not in the U.S., though it could be another ingredient that isn’t approved for usage on the eye (will be curious if UK/Canadian palettes have the same warning on the back). As always, use at your own discretion and risk. I am not a cosmetic scientist or medical professional. I have shown all four of those shades applied as blushes–be careful with shades like Jilted and Urban, as that frosted finish coupled with the intense pigmentation means a little goes a long, long way.

Overall, the palette had good color payoff, soft and smooth textures, and long-wear. I liked the there were more matte shades paired with rather frosted/metallic shades, though I think one or two of the metallic finishes could have been softer frosts. The high frost/metallic finishes take more patience to blend with some of the matte shades, as the frostier shades have a denser, thicker feel, while the mattes are softer and thinner, so having a satin would work well in-between. The more matte shades perform fairly well even over bare skin, adhering for the most part and applying evenly without blending away, but they do perform their best over a primer for maximum vibrancy. The frosts did not need a primer (they were the same either way for me). I also wished there was a yellow or coral shade in the palette, as the majority of the colors are medium or dark, and it would have made for a better variety of colors.  All four shades indicated as not eye safe were prone to staining, with or without a primer underneath. The mattes lasted just over eight and a half hours on me before showing signs of fading, while the frosts/metallics lasted almost ten hours on me (they wore like iron). The brush seemed good – soft, easy to wash, didn’t take a long time to dry, no shedding.

Revolt is described as a “bright metallic silver shimmer with silver glitter.” It’s a brightened, light-medium silver with a metallic finish and silver micro-glitter. The pigmentation was slightly improved compared to when this was in the Anarchy palette, but it’s still not fully pigmented and has a fair amount of glitter. The problem with the glitter is that it just doesn’t bind with the rest of the powder, so it tends to fall out during application and whatever does end up on the lid does fall out later on. L’Oreal Silver Sky (757) (P, $7.99) is warmer. MAC Bleuluxe #1 (P) is lighter. MAC Virgin Silver (LE) is lighter. Bobbi Brown Tinsel (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Gonzo is described as a “bright turquoise matte with floating tonal pearl.” It’s a brightened, medium blue with soft, silver micro-shimmer over a matte base–it appears mostly matte applied. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was very soft, just a little powdery. NARS Solomon Islands (P, $25.00) is darker, cream. Wet ‘n’ Wild I’m Seeing Triples Crease (LE, $2.29) is darker, cooler-toned. Disney by Sephora Royal (LE) is a smidgen darker. NARS Mad Mad World #1 (P, $24.00) is totally matte. Milani Olympian Blue (P, $5.99) is darker. MAC Electric Eel (P, $15.00) is warmer. MAC Blue Candy (LE, $15.00) is lighter. Inglot #322 (P, $6.00) is darker, warmer. See comparison swatches.

Slowburn is described as a “bright red-orange matte with floating pearl.” It’s a vibrant, medium-dark orange with strong, red tones and a mostly matte finish. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was soft without being powdery. NARS Persia (P, $24.00) is darker, warmer, less red. MAC Orange (P, $15.00) is more orange. Inglot #123R Bottom (P, $6.00) is more muted, more orange. Sugarpill Love+ (P, $12.00) is cooler-toned, redder. Inglot #366 (P, $6.00) is darker, redder. See comparison swatches.

Savage is described as a “bright hot pink matte.” It’s a brightened, cool-toned, medium-dark magenta pink with a matte finish. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was soft and finely-milled, but it did sheer out a little when applied, so it needs to be gently patted on to maximize color payoff.  Milani Shocking Pink (P, $5.99) is cooler-toned, lighter. MAC Magenta Madness (LE, $21.00) is similar. Sugarpill Dollipop (P, $12.00) is a touch darker and less cool-toned. Make Up For Ever #75 (P, $20.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Fringe is described as a “bright metallic teal.” It’s a medium-dark, bluish-teal with a frosted, metallic finish. It had a really dense, buttery texture that was smooth and richly pigmented. Tarina Tarantino Ozma (LE) is bluer. Too Faced Sequin (LE, $16.00) is darker, greener. Fyrinnae Sleepy Hollow (P, $6.80) is darker. Disney by Sephora Caspian Sea (LE) is brighter, bluer. Urban Decay Deep End (P, $18.00) is bluer, darker. See comparison swatches.

Chaos is described as a “bright blue matte with floating tonal pearl.” It’s a brightened, medium-dark cobalt blue with fine, iridescent shimmer over a matte base. Wet ‘n’ Wild I Don’t Do Camouflage #3 (LE, $2.29) is darker, more muted. MAC Heroine (LE, $15.00) is darker, purpler. MAC Cobalt (P, $15.00) is darker. Illamasqua Sadist (P) is more muted. Sugarpill Royal Sugar (P, $12.00) is very similar. Sugarpill Velocity (P, $12.00) is more matte. See comparison swatches.

Jilted is described as a “bright metallic fuchsia with blue shift.” It’s a brightened, medium-dark fuchsia-berry with a soft, frosted finish. It was incredibly pigmented, and the texture was soft, smooth, and buttery. Sugarpill Smitten (LE, $12.00) is lighter. Too Faced Bright Eyes (LE, $16.00) is lighter, warmer. Too Faced Totally Fetch (LE, $16.00) is a little lighter. Urban Decay Junkshow (LE, $18.00) is slightly more muted. Estee Lauder Violet Underground #1 (LE, $21.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Urban is described as a “bright metallic purple.” It’s a vibrant, medium purple with pinky-red undertones and a frosted finish. It had excellent color payoff, while the texture was buttery and smooth. Tarina Tarantino Violet Storm #5 (LE) is lighter. Urban Decay Freakshow (P, $18.00) is warmer, darker. Urban Decay Flash (P, $18.00) is lighter. MAC Push the Edge (P, $21.00) is slightly darker, warmer. Inglot #441 (P, $6.00) is lighter. Inglot #439 (P, $6.00) is slightly darker. See comparison swatches.

Freak is described as a “bright green with gold shift.” It’s a vibrant, light-medium, cool-toned green with a golden sheen, which gives it a mostly warm tone to it overall. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was soft and fairly smooth. Makeup Geek Appletini (P, $5.99) is darker, more muted. Fyrinnae Dragon’s Wing (P, $6.80) is darker. Disney by Sephora Atlantica (LE) is lighter. Illamasqua Possession (LE) is a cream product, less metallic. MAC Wondergrass (LE, $15.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Thrash is described as a “bright lime green matte with floating gold pearl.” It’s a light-medium, yellow-leaning chartreuse with a satin shimmer over a matte finish. It had fairly good colr payoff, but the texture is slightly powdery, even though it’s quite soft and finely-milled. MAC Chartreuse Bouquet (LE, $21.00) is more shimmery. NARS Rated R #1 (P, $24.00) is very similar. NARS Celebrate (P, $24.00) is less shimmery. MAC Bitter (P, $15.00) is lighter. Inglot #343 (P, $6.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
palette

Electric

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Revolt

C

Product

7/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Gonzo

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Revolt Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Revolt Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Gonzo Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Gonzo Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Slowburn Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Slowburn Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Savage Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Savage Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Fringe Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Fringe Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Chaos Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Chaos Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Jilted Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Jilted Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Urban Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Urban Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Freak Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Freak Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Thrash Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Thrash Pressed Pigment

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Double-Ended Brush

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Slowburn Pressed Pigment as Blush

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Savage Pressed Pigment as Blush

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Jilted Pressed Pigment as Blush

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Urban Pressed Pigment as Blush

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Pressed Pigments: Freak (lower lid), Fringe (middle of lid/crease), Chaos (above crease)

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Pressed Pigments: Freak (lower lid), Fringe (middle of lid/crease), Chaos (above crease)

According to the back of the palette, Slowburn, Savage, Jilted, and Urban are not safe for the immediate area. Using them on the eyes is at your own risk.

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Pressed Pigments: X (inner lid), Jilted (middle of lid), Urban (outer lid)

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Pressed Pigments: X (inner lid), Jilted (middle of lid), Urban (outer lid)

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Pressed Pigments: Savage (inner lid), Jilted (middle of lid), Urban (outer lid), Chaos (crease)

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette
Urban Decay Pressed Pigments: Savage (inner lid), Jilted (middle of lid), Urban (outer lid), Chaos (crease)

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Pressed Powder. On eyes: Urban Decay Mars Eyeliner. On lips: Urban Decay Anarchy Lipstick.

The Dupe List: Revolt

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Gonzo

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Slowburn

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

339 thoughts on “Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. The only two I REALLY care about are Gonzo and Slowburn, but overall, it’s a nice looking palette!
    Rikki Recently Posted: SHOW & TELL: Sugarpill Chromalust – Smitten

  2. oh wow.. what a burst of color! These look gorgeous and I love the colorful carton!
    Lisha Recently Posted: Maybelline Pink Alert lipstick POW 4 Review- The Best Coral Lipstick in India

  3. What do you think about the packaging and the brush? Are they sturdy? I don’t know why, but it looks a little cheap to me :( I could be totally wrong, of course.
    Daniel Recently Posted: remingtonwildone:

    sweetpotatocake:

    girlswillbeboys:

    queertoddl…

    • Thick plastic – sturdy in the sense that it’s not going to get crushed, but if you drop it from a fair height, there’s not a lot of cushion so things may shatter (true with any plastic compact vs. cardboard or more rubberized packaging). It didn’t feel cheap to me – had enough heft that it doesn’t feel so lightweight that you get that cheap feeling but not really heavy.

      The brush was good – nothing bad to say about it – but not something I found that useful for application personally.

  4. This is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! The looks you created are beautiful!

  5. I love this whole palette! I’ve been really excited to see your review for this..because I’ve really been wanting some bright colorful eyeshadows! Thx Christine!

  6. I’m so ready!! Now I just gotta decide if I wanna purchase it straight from the UD website or wait till it comes to sephora for the sake of free shipping haha.

    • Ooh, this is going to be right under their free shipping threshold (on UD).

    • UD tends to give free shipping with the purchase of their new products when they first launch (at least they did this with their Revolution lipsticks and the reformulated 24/7 liners)! I bet they’ll do that with this too.

  7. Catie

    Christine just to let you know I believe a couple of the pictures in the gloss overs are paired with the wrong product name. Specifically urban and revolt!

  8. Lovely palette but dont think id buy it as I tend to play safe with colours.

  9. I can safely say that I’d never use a single shade in this palette. Also, it’s strange that they’d let the one low performing shade pass through with all the rest. It seems like they were so close to perfection.
    Audrey Recently Posted: Shade Suggestions?! Help me complete my MAC palette!

  10. Katie

    when does this palette come out? any estimates?

  11. Avatar of Jennifer Jen

    This is going to to be a big pass for me sadly. No way I would be allowed to wear this at work. With weekend use only possibilities and 4 shadows that would be use at your own risk, I just can’t see the palate getting much use

  12. Xan

    Hearteyes. Oh mine.. I want this palette. J’adore the shades: Fringe, Jilted and Urban. Like the looks you made. Especially the one with Urban,Savage and Chaos.
    Love,

  13. Jenny

    Love the purple look you created with it. That alone almost convinces me I need this palette.

  14. Wow that’s bright! I’m a bit too far for most of those shades, but I love the look you did.
    Judith Recently Posted: Catrice camouflage cream review

  15. Christina

    I have been wanting a color exactly like Slowburn. And Chaos is also beautiful! This 2 colors have me sold! Do you know when this palette is going to be released?

  16. WOW these are so gorgeous! So pigmented and true to colour, but I’d expect no less from Urban Decay :)

  17. Lady

    Is it a limited edition? >_<

  18. Please excuse me while I hyperventilate a bit… I think I’m going to need a cup of tea and a lie down! :-D

    So , so, so excited for this, especially Thrash, Chaos, Fringe and Urban!!

    And you can get UD to NZ! :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Lipstick Tag… Rogue-Style!

  19. Avatar of strangelighting A Name

    Wow, Jilted is gorgeous! Urban too. I hope they release it on its own, or in another palette – this one’s a bit to “electric” for me.

    Btw, I think the picture for urban in the glossover section is wrong.

  20. Manon

    Really excited about this ! It will be a nice addition to my other colorful eyeshadows, even though a have a lot of them, I didn’t find any close dupe !
    I haven’t find the information in your review : Is it a limited edition palette ?

  21. This looks good! Except for Thrash because I’m not a big fan of lime green but overall, I might buy this one. Thanks for the swatches. :)
    Nikki Recently Posted: February 2014 Most Reached For Products

  22. Wooah that sure looks electric! I kinda like it… I’d love to experiment and play with all the colors, come up with some flashy looks :-)

  23. The lower-performing Revolt is not enough to stop me from getting this one. And it’s being released so soon! AHHHHHH! I know where my chic week dollars are going!

    • If that one wasn’t in this palette… as soon as I saw it, I was like, “NOOOOOOOOO! I didn’t like you before, I don’t think you’ve changed!”

      • It’s such a bummer that one of them has to be the downer shade, but at least I have a dupe for it already. OR at least something white/silvery that’ll sub in just fine, so I can avoid dealing with that darn microglitter!

  24. Let’s say bye-bye to 50 bucks… :-)

  25. Avatar of Kat Kat

    Oohh, that last look! It’s incredible, and it looks sooo perfect with your eyes!

    I can’t wait!

  26. June

    I don’t really see the point of an eyeshadow palette where 4 of them can’t be used for the eye…? Then use other colours or other pigments to make it usable????? i just don’t get it. otherwise, it’s very pretty and you look gorgeous with those neon brights!

    • Well, it’s a “Pressed Pigment Palette,” which I imagine is partially to distinguish it as an actual eyeshadow palette. No matter what they call it, though, it will be viewed as an eyeshadow palette and that is, ultimately, how most will use it, so I was surprised to see four of ten to come with a warning.

      • Flower

        I’m sorry, but can you elaborate on what the warning means. If it’s not intended for immediate eye use, where can you use it? I’m just a little confused. I wouldn’t wear it as a liner to line my lower lashes but I would like to either use it on my entire eyelid, or line the top of my lid.

  27. monisha

    this is a nice review…I was planning on buying the vice 2 palette,do u think i should get this one rather?

    • Vice 2 has a lot more eyeshadows, but it is more of a mix of shades. I think Vice 2 makes more sense for me, personally, but it’s more about which palette would you use more often!

  28. Martyisblue

    This is beautiful palette concerns the quality of UD and the bright colours we wanted! But is a way too bold for me! I could use some colours like Savage and Slowburn as blushes and i love the teal, the violet and the berry..but there are many i won’t wear..

  29. i like most of it colors but what i like the most are the amazing looks you created with these colors , and the lipstick color is gorgeous

  30. This palette’s packaging and shades are beautiful. But, sadly, no matter how much I love its looks, I just know I wouldn’t get much use out of this.

    • I think this palette is best used with *other* palettes or standalone eyeshadows you already have. It can be used just on its own (you’ll need a highlighter though!), but it’s more versatile if you start adding other things into it.

  31. Sarah B

    Really excited for this palette! I am all about my brights, Sugarpill is my life! So its exciting to see other brands doing bright colorful eyeshadow as well. My only gripe is the brush. The only brush from UD I’ve ever liked (that was included with a palette; I love my optical blurring brush!) was the one that was included with the very first Naked, I believe it was called Good Karma? This brush looks just as dissapointing as the ones in the last two Naked palettes, I almost wish the slot wasn’t there. It just takes away from the look of the packaging imo. But, I never have liked double ended brushes, either.

    • You could put an eyeliner into the slot instead – not sure a full-sized one would fit, but if you have any of the travel-sized ones from sets, that might fit!

  32. Sasha

    Honestly, i’m not impressed about this palette at all

  33. It’s disappointing that they can’t make them all eye safe, but other companies can make similar shades that are eye safe. Whereas before I was pretty much ready to buy it I”m definitely going to wait a bit and see how I feel.

  34. Jane

    I don’t wear color-color, but I can appreciate how pretty this is. I’d love a dining room the same color as Thrash, though!

    • I would need to see this dining room you envision, lol! It is not looking as lovely in my mind as it no doubt is looking in yours! Any reference or inspiration pics?

  35. The palette is gorgeous, but I was actually going to pass on it… that is until I saw the eye looks you created. Wow! Urban Decay could use your looks to sell tons of that palette. Absolutely fab!

  36. Big surprise – UGH from me as these are so not colours I wear at all. Fringe is probably the only colour I’d use and I’ve got lots of other similar shadows. For those who love colour, though, and wear shades like pink and orange on their eyes, I can see that this would be a very exciting and fun palette.

  37. I really like Slowburn, it’s such a bright and gorgeous shade. I wish I can find a lipstick version of it. :D

  38. Emily

    This just looks like they used every shade in the sleek acid palette as inspiration. Seeing as I already have that one, I don’t see the point of buying this one. Sad.

    • There’s definitely some overlap, though the Acid palette doesn’t have any teal, dark blue, dark purple, or medium blue (they have black, white, medium green, neon green, and two more muted blues relative to the rest of the palette). I actually thought that they weren’t that similar! I think Jilted and Savage are the two that really overlap.

      • Emily

        I’ll have to wait until it’s in-store then! Then I can see it in person. Crossing my fingers that I don’t already have every color, because I’d be nice to have them all in one place in a palette! Thank you for your help.

    • Avatar of Wwendy Wwendalynne

      agree! The acid palette is phenomenal too. I do not need this for the very same reason.

  39. I don’t typically go for bight colors anymore, but this palette is really pretty! And I like how you used some of the shades as blushes. That makes it seem more worth it.

  40. The shade Urban has the wrong image on Glossover. ;)

    Slowburn is such a cool (hot) orange red. I hope to pick this up once/if it launches at Sephora. (UD.com only ships in the US)
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Dare to Compare: Maybelline Color Show Crayon Kohl Liner in 420 Barely Beige V.S. MAC Chromagraphic Pencil in NC15/NW20

  41. Danni

    Jilted is gorgeous!!!!!!

  42. I wonder what’s in the dark shades that makes them unsafe for the eye area, when UD had produced many purple’s and bright pinks that are eye safe prior to this. This is gorgeous, but I might just pick up a handful of dupes in a Z palette instead so I can actually wear them.

  43. Avatar of Nida Nida

    Hi. I read somewhere that theres a warning printed on the back side of the pallette that we cant use slowburn, urban, savage and jilted in the eye area. So there are 4 unusable colors :(

    • Hi Nida,

      Please read my post above – paragraph two.

    • Avatar of kellly kellly

      ok so what are EYE COLORS doing in a pallette with a warning not to use them on your EYES. What am I missing here???

      • Hi Kelly,

        Four shades are not intended for use on the immediate eye area – the rest are. Hope that helps!

      • Avatar of Maggie Maggie

        What you’re missing is the marketing and labeling. They’re calling this a palette made up of “pressed pigments.” They’re not calling all these colors “EYEshadows.” The only time the word “eye” is mentioned is in the warning.

        • In the press release, they do mention how “traditional eyeshadow formulas wouldn’t cut it.” The second thing is they’ve included a double-ended brush – all designed for eyeshadow/eyeliner/smudging application, so they’re doing a whole lot that does say, “Use this on your eyes!”

  44. Avatar of Rebecca Rebecca

    SO LOVELY. Is this palette permanent or limited edition? And when will it be available? (Sorry if you answered these questions, I did look.)

  45. Kris

    Yeah, I’m gonna need this.

  46. Carrie

    This is being filed under “Gotta Have It” for me! This was everything I was hoping it would be and more, but sidenote, in the Glossover swatches, for Urban, I think you have the pan picture for Revolt? Because it doesn’t match up with the palette. Thought I’d point that out :D

  47. I’m a bit unimpressed that they decided to make a few of these without going through the trouble to get them FDA approved. I’m Canadian and I’ll be sure to check out what the packaging actually says here, the reality is that people are going to wear these on their eyes. Urban Decay shouldn’t be putting something important like that in small font on the back of their product. I feel like they should’ve gone to the effort to ensure that these were all eye safe. I mean Inglot’s 382 (matte red) is eye safe and allowed to be sold in the US, so why can’t UD get in on that?

    The other thing, and this is so minor really, but I really wish they’d designed the actual eyeshadows to be the longer strips like the Naked palettes. I really love the look of that and had hoped to see that in a vibrant palette.

    It’s beautiful and I do prefer colourful eyeshadows, but I think this is a pass for me.

    (As others have said, the looks you’ve created as absolutely stunning though. I always love when you combine pink, purple and yellow/gold.)
    Chelle Recently Posted: February 2014 Favourites

    • It’s entirely possible that there’s a clearer, more obvious disclaimer on the exterior box and/or an insert that comes with it – I just received the physical palette but no exterior packaging, ingredient lists, etc. I hope that is the case, though, because from the press release, it sounded like an eyeshadow palette. I used this multiple times (obviously!) without knowing!

      • It’s possible, but also rather unlikely. Like any company, they put the disclaimer there to protect themselves, but they’re not going to emblazon it on the front of their packaging because it will steer a lot of customers away.

        I’m honestly not bothered about the eye safe bit about the palette. Chances are you’re not going to have a bad reaction to it (or anyone really), it’s just the principle of it. They could’ve gone to the effort to ensure these were eye safe, they didn’t, but they’re still trying to pass it off as an eye palette (even if it is labelled pressed pigments). No one would buy a palette like this hoping to use it on their cheeks!
        Chelle Recently Posted: February 2014 Favourites

        • I know that MAC used to include an insert, then included it on the box packaging, and I think now it’s on the box and on the pigment jar itself… but I’m not 100% sure. Inserts were annoying, because you’d lose them, exterior box was still not great since that gets tossed almost immediately, so I guess on the packaging itself is better than the other two, but I hope there is more emphasis somewhere in the process so everyone knows what they’re getting themselves into at least. I absolutely agree that this looks, feels, and will be viewed as an eyeshadow palette, no matter what is disclosed or warned about.

    • Oh gosh, this exactly. I was so excited when I saw the palette because the Nakeds have been SUCH A SNOOZE to me (I first fell in love with Urban Decay for being so weird. Nudes are NOT weird.) I do agree that the strip layout is so much better than the circle pots.
      But seriously? Not eye-safe?! Whyyyy.

    • Go figure, my 3 favourite colours from the palette aren’t eye safe. PASS.

    • Ammara

      They’re probably in the circular format because they’re labelled as “pressed pigments” and the rectangular pans wouldn’t allow a blush brush to fit in, although I do agree most people aren’t going to be using these as blushes anyway. They’re too… bright as blushes.

  48. When I first heard of it, I wasn’t too excited. But then I saw the swatches and now I am thinking it’s a good brights palette for my pro kit. :) In other news, you’re such a pretty lady, Christine!

  49. Ms. Heathen

    Finally! I love neutrals as much as the next girl but I’ve been dying for a palette like this. I’m a bit of a cheapskate, and I wish instead of a brush they’d put in one of those fantastic 24/7 liners. I have tons of brushes but only one of their eyeliners. Oh well, can’t please everyone.

  50. Oh wow! What a palette! The colours are not really me, but I can see this being a popular one for many when it is released. For $49, it isn’t such a bad price considering the 10 eyeshadows – works out quite nicely in terms of cost per eyeshadow :P
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Review | Make Up For Ever HD Cream Blush.

  51. I think it’s great that UD is releasing this palette because I know a lot of people are going to love it. For me, I’m going to pass because I know I will *NEVER* use it…and I have the Fun, Feminine and Dangerous palette from UD and so I think I have my bright and bold colors covered. I don’t use that much, but I know I have it and I know if I ever want some bold and bright colors I can turn to those. Also, I got them on sale for $16 a piece. :) Now, if this palette were to ever go on sale (probably for 25% off or more I might consider picking it up.

    BTW is this palette permanent or limited edition?

  52. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    Overall, I like the palette, but I’m mostly interested in the brush, LOL! The colors are all very nice, but I’d definitely need a neutral companion palette to use with it. I’m also a bit disappointed that out of 10 shades *4* aren’t “eye-safe”… The shade I was most interested is Urban, so that’s a huge letdown. At least I have several of the dupes listed!

  53. Some of these are great, esp fringe, jilted, and urban!
    Erin Recently Posted: Petite & Plus Size: Exclusive Sweatshirts

  54. The colors are just so bright and beautiful! I’m a little leery about the “not safe” shades though. Hopefully it’s like the Sleek Acid palettes and everything will be fine. I really want it for my kit but I’m not trying to put anyone’s eyes out lol
    fancie Recently Posted: Anastasia Beverly Hills Ebony Dipbrow Pomade Review + Look of the Night

  55. pAMSY

    I’m not really a bright eye shadow kinda girl so I’m still on the fence about getting this, though it could make some cute summer/spring looks. I think out of all the colors Fringe and Urban are two colors that look the most interesting to me, I can see myself doing separate looks with those.

    • I think something to consider with this palette is that it feels like a, “Here’s every bright we could throw at you,” (though obviously it’s not EVERY shade of bright neon available) rather than a really cohesive palette that you could travel with and wear exclusively–you can definitely wear them together without adding to it, but I think you’ll get a lot more versatility if you incorporate other eyeshadows you own! :)

      • pAMSY

        That’s true! If I do get this I’d probably only use one of these colors at a time with other eye shadows I have.

  56. Marina

    Hi Christine ! First time commenting on your website, I’m a little
    Intimidated. I live in France and would love to know if there’s any
    international releasing date on this palette ?
    Thanks for being such an amazing beauty investigator !!!
    Kisses from France !

  57. Hmmmm I can’t decide whether I actually want this palette. It’s very blue and green heavy to me, which are colors I don’t wear, I have Revolt in the Anarchy palette (and I have Shellshock in the Vice 2, which is really the better version of that anyway), and the colors I am interested in are not completely eye-safe! I think I’m just going to look for dupes of Jilted and Urban.

    On a side note, Christine, are you going to review the LE version of Gash that UD just announced for the Revolution line?

  58. Sarah

    Sigh. I SO love the idea of a colorful palette (esp. by UD), but most of these colors are too wacky for me. I just would not use most of them.

    I would love to see a “wearable colors” palette. Not one that is mostly neutrals with a few colors thrown in- a palette of ALL colors, but the colors are not lime greens or reds.

    Drugstore makeup does this very well – it’s very easy to find, say, a Maybelline eyeshadow palette of just a spectrum of wearable purples, turquoises, or blues – but the quality is usually bad (either hard and chalky or soft, but so soft and powdery that the color just blends away). I would LOVE to see a drugstore style color spectrum with high-end quality.

    • You wouldn’t say that Urban Decay’s many other eyeshadow palettes fit that bill? Like Vice, Vice 2, BoS, etc.? Or maybe the Fun palette?

      • Sarah

        Those do have good colors! It’s just that usually at least 1/2 the shadows are neutrals and I really don’t use many neutrals or want to feel like I have to buy a ton of them just to own a good number of colors at a reasonable value.

        I love UD shadows, and I’ve filled up almost 2 of the 4-empty-pan palettes with all colors (1 purple palette and 1 turquoise/blue palette). But that is dang expensive! Lol. Shadows are almost $20 each and the empty palette is $10 so to fill up 1 is almost $90.

        I guess what I mean is that I would love an ALL color palette where I’m getting a good value (price per oz) proposition where the colors are “wearable” and not bright neon limes and reds. I’ve seen fantastic all-color palettes at the drugstore but quality is not there :( Maybe I am being too picky, lol.

  59. Avatar of Lauren Lauren

    Beautiful, but SO not me at this point in my life. I have some gorgeous bright eyeshadows (e.g., UD 15 anniversary palette) and really only use neutrals (browns, bronzes, plums, pinks, taupes). If I were 10 years younger. OK, who am I kidding, maybe 15 or 20 years younger (in high school or college), I’d want this.

  60. I commented on your photo on instagram but I will say this on here as well!
    Recently, I purchased the Heartbreaker, Sweetheart, and Burning Heart palettes from Sugarpill… probably a little over a week ago. I’m so sad that UD is about to release this palette full of beautiful, vibrant colors because a lot of the shades that I have from Sugarpill are soooomewhat similar. Freak, urban, jilted, and fringe are so nice but if I purchase them separately (or dupes around the same price range) they’ll add up to be more or less the same price as the palette itself! Agh, so torn! Thank you for this lovely review :)

  61. Definitely picking up that palette! I don’t know how available it will be early on but I’ve had a hard time snagging the Sugarpill pressed palette so maybe this will soothe that want a bit.
    Stephanie Louise Recently Posted: February 2014 Beauty Lust List + Update featuring Makeup Geek, NYX, & Blogger Enablers!

  62. LC

    That shade used as blush is Bozo the Clown–like. I will be passing on this one.

    • You can always use it with a lighter hand or not use it as a blush if desired!

    • From what I understand Christine tends to apply blushes a bit heavier than necessary to allow the colour to show through better in the pictures, it may not be how you would apply it personally but i appreciate it a lot because it really allows me to see the differences in shades that might not show through if it were applied as just a wash of colour. No need to leave negative comments, if it’s not for you it’s not for you :) I personally love it!

      Thanks for all the hard work, Christine!

  63. Yup, I’m going to have to order this. Your swatches sealed the deal – soooo pretty! I’m a sucker for bright colors! :D
    Rachel Recently Posted: Back to blonde – with Manic Panic Virgin Snow toner!

  64. Carrie

    Gorgeous! I’m glad there is less overlap with my Sugarpill collection than expected. I’m tempted by this!

  65. I really thought I would be more excited about this. Considering few shades are not eye safe, I am not sure! But pretty shades though!
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Eyeshadow X15 Warm Neutral Palette Review, Swatches

  66. I so need this palette in my life:) The colors are amazing for spring or anytime you feel like adding a pop of color to your look. I agree with the author that a coral hue would have made this palette even better. Can’t wait to try it!
    Awesome review btw!

  67. Jenny Cupcakes

    Me: Urban Decay is coming out with a new palette.
    BF: Oh yeah?
    Me: Yeah. (shows him) Normally I love bright colours but I am so not crazy about this one. I don’t think I’m going to get it.
    BF: THANK GOD! (wink)

    If they make Urban and Jilted in singles though… bye bye money.

  68. Avatar of Kristy Jay

    Love the purple and pink look you did. Just wondering if they felt ok like normal shadows or did they burn your eyes at all. I was looking forward to this as I am sooooooo over the nude themes but I’m not happy with the warning.

    • Hi Jay,

      I did not have any problems with wearing them personally, but you’ll have to use them at your own discretion! I do not have any known sensitivity to pinks, reds, or purple eyeshadows (ones that are marketed as safe on the market), but there are some readers who have trouble with these (even though they’re safe).

  69. Jessica

    I love the look of this palette. But I would have appreciated more matte colors and maybe a yellow. Also 4 out of the 10 colors aren’t recommended for the eye area! Crazy right considering it looks like an eyeshadow palette to me! Maybe I’ll pick up some colors if they decide to make singles. Thanks for the review Christine:)

  70. Avatar of Shars Shars

    Ahhhh… I just died and went to electric heaven. They remind me of Sugarpill quality brightness but at a more affordable price to have them all in one palette. My performing arts side is just jumping for joy!! I’m really glad they made this permanent as well. I’m going to wait for the next UD friend’s and family sale or the upcoming Sephora chic week to cash in. Hopefully the first batch of stock don’t run out before then haha.

    And thanks again for your always awesome and detailed reviews!!!

  71. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    I’m a neutrals girl, so this is a pass for me, but I’m glad to see them release something closer to the original intent of the brand. Also, Chaos needs to become a single ASAP.

  72. The looks you did are absolutely beautiful! Need to think about this palette. Hard to justify it as a “need” (or maybe not…).
    In the third paragraph you say that you wish the palette had a yellow or coral as many of the shades are darker. But it does have a yellow (and an orange…but that isn’t coral). Not sure you meant to write that so figured I’d point it out…not as criticism but rather in recognition that you get more done in a day than any of us could hope to do…and this point might need clarification.
    meganlisa Recently Posted: Urban Decay NAked Lip Gloss in Beso, Liar, Naked and Nooner…Reviewed, On and Swatched

    • Hi Megan,

      Yellow as in… sunshine, bright yellow – there’s a chartreuse (Thrash), which is more green than a true yellow, and a darker orange (Slowburn) – as this palette could benefit from a couple of light shades in contrast to the medium and dark colors in it. I don’t personally consider Thrash to be a yellow! Hope that helps!

  73. Avatar of fabiola fabiola

    That is a beautiful palette, too bad a don’t wear does colors, I am more of a neutral kind of person, at least on my eyes. I have some mac eyeshadows in bright colors and I never wear them, like colour added from shop mac, is just sitting there.

  74. Emily

    Well we finally got our vibrant shades from urban decay So I won’t complain.. BUT… I kind of wish they set up the palette with their pop out eye shadows. That would have been cool. I also feel the colors are predominantly cool toned. I will still be getting it eventually because i love bright shadows! That purple is gorgeous!!

  75. Let

    Eh, pass for me. I’m interested in Gonzo, Savage, and Fringe, but I already have several (eye-safe) dupes for them and most of the colors in the palette.

  76. Avatar of GloriaKate GloriaKate

    Ehhh…. Sorry UD, but I own Sugarpill’s entire collection of eyeshadows. I don’t feel like any of these colors are uinique. I also feel like the colors were chosen at random and could be a little more coordinating. When I heard that they were releasing a palette of brights I had kind of hoped it would look similar to the naked palettes, with a dozen well coordinated brights, mattes and shimmers, tints and shades. Oh well.

  77. Avatar of Cat Cat

    I would buy it if they were all eye-safe and I guess that was just a fault on my part to assume this was an eyeshadow palette. I’m just not the sort of person that would take out a palette and use pressed pigments for blush, especially in such vibrant shades, it would be hard for me to apply the right amount versus the blushes I already own and love. I am surprised that a brand like Urban Decay couldn’t make neons that were eye-safe when other companies can though.
    I’ll pass but this review was very informative and I love the swatches and the final eye look.

    • Technically, the information that Urban Decay released officially was none (other than confirming it existed and the name), but even in the press release (previous post), there’s nothing that really indicates that anyone should be concerned or that it really isn’t an eyeshadow palette. They have it called “Pressed Pigment,” which may be a tip off, but at the same time, they mentioned how that’s the only way they could get the colors to work right, and they even mention that “traditional eyeshadow formulas just wouldn’t cut it” (so then it sounded like a special eyeshadow formula!). It also looks just like their many eyeshadow palettes they’ve released in the pan (most like their 6-pans), and it even includes two shades (Revolt and Chaos) that were released previously as eyeshadows.

      I know certain shades of MUFE eyeshadows are marketed as blushes rather than eyeshadows as a result, and a few aren’t available through Sephora or possibly not in the U.S. MAC’s neon pigments, for example, are all filled with safety warnings as well. Most of the neon pigments are not approved for use on the immediate area, so if a brand is actually use those specific ingredients, then I’m not sure how they’re getting around it! It’s been a long-standing issue since they’re approved in the EU and Canada but not here.

  78. Which is better ud electric palette or sugar pill 4 eyeshadow palettes? I am really confused which one to buy and what to leave :(

  79. Urban, Jilted, and Slowburn… HELLO. I gotta say though, I’m not as stoked with this palette as I expected to be. Gonzo, Savage, and Fringe seem so dupable, and I don’t need YET ANOTHER fallout riddled silver. Plus, there’s only like 4 true electric colours in there. The packaging is gorgeous though.

  80. Funny, I wish I could just buy the second row of shades. The ones on the top row are nice, but I really love those last five. I like the fact that Jilted really does look like an eye shadow version of the lipstick.
    Kate Recently Posted: the difference engine

  81. Avatar of Ayesha Ayesha

    Such beautiful shades! I’m so torn as to whether or not I should buy this palette when it’s released. The disclaimer makes me a little nervous about using the four shades, but they’re all so lovely….
    Do you think these would stain, even with shadow primer and a base?

  82. Avatar of Elizabeth Lizzi

    Hmmm… I want to hoard this for my collection, but I fear I would rarely use it. However, my 13-year-old sister is going through that bright neon clothes and stuff fad right now, I swear its return of the 80′s, I’ll end up getting her one.

  83. Ashley

    I want this palette just because it’s beautiful and it would be good to have for costume/Halloween make up. So basically it’s handy to have for “just in case”. Plus, you could make these colours wearable. Use as eyeliner or paired with more neutral shades. Smoke some of them out.

    Do you think these would be good wet?

  84. One thing I will make sure ….
    ifffffffff I ever get preggers which I wantttt desperately … m gonna hang your pictures all around my room :)

    Do I need to say anything else :)
    the looks … fotd n palette … what not to love in this post ?

  85. Avatar of Olivia Olivia

    When is it being released?

  86. THAT green gosh, it is exactly what my dream green looks like – SO, SO PRETTY! Otherwise, I don’t care for the rest of the palette much. Too much colour I’d never use, but it is visually appealing :)
    Shivani Recently Posted: MAC Viva Glam Rihanna | Frosted red for all your glamorous needs!

  87. PSA: Jilted, Urban, Slowburn and Savage are not eye-safe…
    Kayvid Recently Posted: Garnier New Hair Products

  88. Darn, I was kinda low-key hoping this palette would be a flop so I wouldn’t have to spend more money on makeup…But this will be mine! Jilted and Urban look AWESOME.

  89. Avatar of Ziska ziska

    This UD palette looks very similar to me, to the sugarpill pro palette soon to be released. Does anyone think so too…..and Christine which would ypu rather buy as a customer, the sugarpill or the UD? I been waiting for that palette to be released

    • The thing is I don’t love all mattes, and I tend to gravitate towards shimmers/frosts, so as a result of that, I’d go UD. UD is also cheaper I believe than the Sugarpill Pro Palette (even though Sugarpill’s eyeshadows are huge). I think both are great palettes, as both brands have high quality eyeshadows, and it would come down to more of a personal preference – do you want all mattes or more shimmer? All of Sugarpill’s pressed eyeshadows are eye safe, which is a worthwhile consideration.

      • Avatar of Ziska ziska

        Well, for me personally I love shimmer and frost as you do, I have shimmer palettes and a huge one from BH cosmetics. However, I am looking to diversify my palettes coz am sure I can mix matte with shimmer. But I like the shimmer ones in the UD palette. Your swatches are awesome as usual. I will think about getting the UD later since its permanent

  90. Avatar of Quinctia Quinctia

    Yeah, I’m gonna need to get this. Slightly disappointed about yet another brush, though. I’m building up quite the collection of UD double-ended brushes I don’t use.

    • No love for double-ended brushes or don’t like Urban Decay’s brushes?

      I like longer handles, and I don’t like double-ended ones myself so I never use the double-ended ones they include.

      • Avatar of Quinctia Quinctia

        None of the brushes so far have had ideal shapes for me, in terms of how I apply. Also, I don’t want to say I hate ALL synthetic bristles, but I’m not a fan of the ones in the UD shadow brushes I’ve had so far.

        Double-ended is a bit inconvenient to store outside of a palette, as I use a little brush roll.

        I was totally going to give away the Vice 2 brush to my sister, but they had to go and put Vice 2 on it, so I kind of want to keep it in the palette.

  91. Meeeh, too bright for me.

  92. Zainab

    This is nice, bit all four of the colours I was really interested in are not eyesafe… I think I might just get the Sugarpill Burning Heart palette instead. I always wish I was someone who’d wear super bright colours enough to justify a $49 palette, but I think deep down it’s just not me. Ah well, money saved that I can spend on UD Naked 3.

  93. I really wasn’t feeling the pictures of the shadows in the pans. I already have several bright color palettes already, and the picture of the Electric palette wasn’t moving me. But the swatches are gorgeous (especially the shimmery colors, all my brights are matte). I think I’m going to resist it for now, but I’ll probably cave when there’s a decent sale at Sephora…

  94. This is such a nobrainer for me. I need this in my life.

  95. Miss J

    This is an easy pass for me considering the shadows that are most interesting aren’t for eyes! I’m not buying for one shadow, so pass.

  96. I completely agree – a yellow would have rounded this palette off nicely. You win some, you lose some.

  97. Avatar of Monica Monica

    Is Fringe similar to MAC Parrot? Looking at swatches it reminds me of that color

  98. So excited to own this! Im gonna reccomend it to all my raver friends who i know will be all over it. Also, can i just take a moment to squeal over the fact that THERE IS A COLOUR NAMED THRASH?!! There is a color of my favourite music genre so excited!! Now i gotta pair that up with the metal-ica color from the balm’s balm jovi palette so i could be wearing thrash metal (: