Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette ($59.00 for 0.06 oz.) is a pastel-hued palette that contains four shades described as, “pearl violet,” “jade green,” “sheer gold,” and “greige.” The palette is designed to add luminosity to the eye.

The first shade is a light-medium lilac purple with a white frosted finish. It has good color payoff, and the texture is fairly soft, though a wee bit powdery. OCC Datura is lighter and more iridescent. theBalm Curtain Call is very similar. MAC Light Violet is also similar, but it has a very different finish.

Below, there is a very, very pale mint green with subtle golden shimmer-sheen–this shade looks more white than it does green on me. This shade was a little sheer and powdery. Lancome Fashion Forward is very, very similar, but it is a little more green and has a smoother, finer texture.

The third shade is a medium-dark gold with strong orange undertones and a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation and applied fairly smoothly. MAC Barefoot is less metallic and a smidgen darker. MAC Sweet & Sour is lighter, yellower. Dior Couture Gold is less orange. Inglot #404 is darker, more molten gold. Milani Drenched in Gold is a touch lighter.

The very last shade is a soft, taupe brown with a subtle golden sheen. It’s almost pewter-like, but I think it lacks some of the gold/warmth of pewter. MAC Modern Pewter is darker and more golden. Dior Garden Roses is darker. MAC Palladium is similar but more metallic. Wet ‘n’ Wild Dancing in the Clouds is darker, more golden.

On lighter complexions, I think this is a solid palette, but on my medium coloring, the colors seem to get lost.  I think nearly all the shades could stand to be a little softer, finer–Giorgio Armani typically has some incredibly soft eyeshadows, but these were a bit dry and powdery.  I’m always taken aback by how little each palette contains (only 0.06 oz.–and most full-sized single eyeshadows are 0.05 oz.!), even though the wells seem large. One of these days, I’m going to have to go digging so I can see how deep each pan goes.

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

B
8
Product
8.5
Pigmentation
8.5
Texture
9
Longevity
4
Application
84%
Total
We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

We hope you'll consider supporting Temptalia by shopping through our links below. Thanks!

About the Reviewer

Reviewer

Christine has normal-to-dry skin with areas of dryness (cheeks, nose, and under the eyes). She has a light-medium skintone with subtle, warmer yellow undertones. Her best foundation matches include: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea in Light-Medium Neutral (best match), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Desert Beige 2N1, Giorgio Armani Maestro Glow in 4.0, Hourglass Warm Ivory Vanish Seamless Finish, Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous in Dusk, MAC NC20/NC25, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Liquid in Y305 (140). For more matches, please read our full Foundation FAQ. For more information on our review process, please read our Review FAQ.

Compare Any Two Swatches

Curious how two shades compare to each other? Type in the shades below to get instant side-by-side swatches!

11 Comments

Comments that do not adhere to our comment policy may be removed. Discussion and debate are highly encouraged but we expect community members to participate respectfully. Please keep discussion on-topic, and if you have general feedback, a product review request, an off-topic question, or need technical support, please contact us!

Please help us streamline the comments' section and be more efficient: double-check the post above for more basic information like pricing, availability, and so on to make sure your question wasn't answered already. Comments alerting us to typos or small errors in the post are appreciated (!) but will typically be removed after errors are fixed (unless a response is needed).

We appreciate enthusiasm for new releases but ask readers to please hold questions regarding if/when a review will be posted as we can't commit to or guarantee product reviews. We don't want to set expectations and then disappoint readers as even products that are swatched don't always end up being reviewed due to time constraints and changes in priorities! Thank you for understanding!

Comments on this post are closed.

It seems as if there were at least one “deeper” shade in these quads, they would be more universal. I’m fairly light and very neutral, but I can’t pull off a quad of pastels, either. I don’t typically get excited for Spring (and sometimes Summer) collections, from*any* brand because this is what I’ve come to expect.

I don’t know if it’s your complexion…I’m pale enough for that not to be the case, but when you get too light, colors start to look too frosty and samey, especially if they’re all in a palette together.  I think that’s the case with these.  The only colors I’d probably wear are the purple and greige, and only as highlights, not as a full lid color.

I cant believe that people still continue to spend such an outrageous amount of $ on .06 ounces of product. Ridiculous! Some people have more money than sense

I’m actually a fan of that lilac, but the quad as a whole and at that price? No thanks. Maybe I’ll try and hunt down a dupe.

Oh my gosh, that lilac shade is to-die-for!!! As are all the colors in this palette. I still don’t own any Giorgio Armani quads, mainly because you get such a measly amount of product. I don’t mind paying more for good quality shadows–but 0.06 oz. is a bit ridiculous if you ask me. Hourglass duos are pricey but at least they make it worth your while

We try to approve comments within 24 hours (and reply to them within 72 hours) but can sometimes get behind and appreciate your patience! 🙂 If you have general feedback, product review requests, off-topic questions, or need technical support, please contact us directly. Thank you for your patience!