Monday, January 27th, 2014

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Rouge Volupte Lipsticks

After discovering that one of the most popular posts (in the top twenty) from last year was my review of YSL’s Rouge Voluptes from 2008 (!), I wanted to go back and bring the post up-to-date. Luckily, all but one shade of Rouge Volupte that I’ve reviewed previously is still available. I’ve always dreamed of being able to redo swatches from years ago, and though time will not permit me to do such things in general, it seems like it makes sense to update posts that are still popular, even after six years!

Rouge Volupte is still one of the more popular lipstick formulas on the market, and it’s a range that YSL has continued to expand and release additional shades for since it initially launched. (And fun tidbit, they haven’t changed price at all in six years.) The formula is very creamy with a high degree of slip, is medium-weight and slightly thick compared to the average lipstick, and is typically opaque on lips. Because of their creaminess, full color coverage is possible in one stroke with many shades. The finish is glossy and shiny, which gives lips a smoother appearance. One of the primary traits of the formula is that lips look drenched in color and very, very smooth–almost plumper. The formula is moderately hydrating, and the wear time is about average, but it can depend on the shade.

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick ($34.00 for 0.12 oz.) is described as a “creamy neutral beige.” It’s a pinky-beige with warm undertones and a soft shine. It had mostly opaque color coverage and lasts three and a half hours on me. Too Faced Taffy (P, $21.00) is warmer. MAC Pret-a-Pretty (LE, $16.00) is lighter, less glossy. Urban Decay Native (P, $22.00) is darker, pinker. Revlon Pink Lemonade (P, $7.49) is sheerer. Tom Ford Beauty Blush Nude (P, $49.00) is more beige, less pink. MAC 3N (LE, $16.00) is more beige, darker. Buxom Nudist (P, $21.00) is less pink. See comparison swatches.

Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick ($34.00 for 0.12 oz.) is described as a “light creamy pink.” It’s a light-medium pink with subtle warm undertones and a creamy, glossy finish. It had mostly opaque pigmentation, and it lasted for three hours on me. This one can take some patience to get even, as the thicker formula makes it easy for the color to overlap onto itself and show lines. MAC Vivid Image (LE, $16.00) is less glossy. Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Femme (P, $18.00) is slightly darker. See comparison swatches.

Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick ($34.00 for 0.12 oz.) is described as a “vibrant pink.” It’s a light-medium, blue-based pink with cool undertones and a luminous shine. It had rich, opaque color coverage, and it applied evenly and smoothly. It wore well for four hours. NARS Villa Lante (LE, $25.00) is less blue-based, more muted. NARS Goodbye Emmanuelle (LE, $26.00) is darker. MAC Steady Going (LE, $16.00) is more matte. MAC Playtime (LE, $16.00) is darker. Maybelline Pink Pop (P, $7.49) is not as glossy but very similar in color. MAC Divine Choice (P, $22.00) is sheerer. MAC Naughty Saute (LE, $16.00) is cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Just as an FYI, YSL’s own e-commerce website seems to have the largest selection of shades.

The Glossover

P
product

Nude Beige (1)

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Lingerie Pink (7)

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Fetish Pink (8)

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Nude Beige (1) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Lingerie Pink (7) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick
YSL Fetish Pink (8) Rouge Volupte Lipstick

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Kevyn Aucoin The Celestial Liquid Highlighter (mixed with foundation), Urban Decay Naked Loose Finishing Powder, Hourglass Radiant Magenta / Diffused Heat Ambient Lighting Blush.

The Dupe List: Nude Beige (1)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Lingerie Pink (7)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Fetish Pink (8)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

93 thoughts on “YSL Nude Beige, Lingerie Pink, Fetish Pink Rouge Volupte Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. While these shades will never suit me, I must say that I really like your look in the first full face shot, Christine. :)

  2. These do seem to give a lot of pigment for such a glossy-looking finish. But I’ve never really gotten into these, despite all the hype. Just don’t seem that unique or spectacular for the price
    Catherine Recently Posted: OSMIA ORGANICS Perfume Oils

  3. These are beautiful! It’s rare for colours like this to apply so nicely. Nude Beige looking amazing!! I have to check it out in person :D

  4. Avatar of Emily Emily

    Hey Christine there has been a lot of speculation that these were being all discontinued have you heard that at all?

  5. Nude Beige is an amazing nude for your skin tone, Christine!

  6. Avatar of Laura Laura_Lou

    I dont know why but looking at the main picture I thought they’d be sheer. Would prefer them if they were to be honest.

  7. I haven’t found a shade I love in the Rouge Volupte range despite hitting the counter twice a year. I’m loving Fetish Pink on you – I daresay my medium skintones will wash out all three, though :(
    Renu Recently Posted: I have been shortlisted for a national-level blogging award in the beauty and makeup category!

    • I have heard from others that the Rouge Volupte range is not a flattering color range for all. I think some of their LE shades tend to be more flattering – some of the original line has a starkness to it.

  8. I’m not sure why, but the one of these that I tried dried my lips out terribly and bled like crazy. I still have it, but I can’t wear it. I see how lovely they look on you and others and I’m jealous!
    Kate Recently Posted: making faces :: what bunnies do

  9. Zoe

    super curious what the old swatches looked like!

    also can’t believe these are still the same price, that’s awesome.

  10. Avatar of Karla Karla

    I like all three but ferish pink (8) looks gorgeous on you!

  11. Oh, how I wish these worked for me. They do look so beautiful but the formula is terrible. I bought a few of these and tried so hard to make them work, but couldn’t keep the color from sliding off my lips. A real mess.

  12. Avatar of liz liz

    WOAH so pigmented!! for some reason I was expecting sheer when I looked at the tube. these are so lovely.

  13. I really love the first one on you! It looks so natural.
    Audrey Recently Posted: Quick Review: New Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes

  14. Just beautiful! I haven’t seen the original post but am so glad to see this one. I just started buying (after not for many years) the brand. These are all lovely!

    • What have been your favorite YSL products?

      • My old favorites are a powdered compact of three kohl’s…I think…much of the writing is faded. It’s a light aqua, black/brown and ghostly grey and a very neutral Rouge Pur lipstick in 66. I hoard the eye shadow I love it so much and its lasted very well!
        I recently started buying the brand again and love two of the new Ltd Rouge Volupte lipsticks in 32 and 33. I bought the flower crush eye shadow palette and really like it a lot…but it is a little sheer…though it works great with the two bright lipsticks. And I bought a Pure Chromatics eye shadow compact in number 9 which is perfect. Anything I should absolutely check out (not that I need any more makeup….)?

  15. I have lost the count how many times i saw your YSL post ( the old one) … my godddd you will kill me for that you know :D
    and seriously the “Y” in my life is because of you :D like the “3 G’s”
    forbidden burgundy to start with :D that was my first rouge volupte and all thanks to your love for the lipstick :D

    plsss try no 11 dear .. and give it A ++++++
    Rashmi Recently Posted: LOTUS HERBALS Purestay Long Lasting Blusher Dawn Glow # 605 : FOTD

  16. Sarah M

    I like that, for pale-ish colours, these aren’t “ghostly” looking. (Does that even make sense?) :)

  17. I love this formula. I don’t remember the number, but I have the berry pink, plum purple and the coral pink. The coral pink is my all time favorite coral. I searched high and low to find a coral that worked on my NC45 skin and this is the best one for me. It looks scary bright in the tube and has a lovely sheerness that packs the perfect amount of pigment.

  18. I love Fetish Pink! Great shade for spring!

  19. Ohhh, I can’t wait to see some of the darker shades reviewed!

  20. I makes sense that this line is popular as YSL lipstick are higher end i people need a nudge to splurge one them. ;)
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Rimmel Colour Rush Balm in 100 Give Me a Cuddle, 610 Sun-Kissed, and 600 On Fire: Swatches & Review

  21. These look so wonderfully creamy! Given that I’m kind of a lipstick girl, and that YSL is my new HG brand for many things (my poor wallet :- P) I wonder why I haven’t tried any of these yet…

    The first one in particular looks really nice on you, Christine!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Eyeing up the Diamonds – KIKO Make Up Milano Glitter Eyeliner in 01 Multicolour

  22. I want all of these! I love Rouge Volupte lipsticks, and they are the example of something I buy because I’m weak for the packaging! ;)

  23. Oh these are way more pigmented than I thought! The colors are not really my cup of tea, to be honest, but Fetish Pink looks kinda cute on you.

  24. Avatar of Cat Cat

    Will you be reviewing YSL Peach Passion Rouge Volupte Lipstick? It looked wonderful in the photos from the other day….

  25. Avatar of furandlace furandlace

    I never liked these or bought them. I tried them a few times and for me they’re just too thick and slippery. I feel like there was a ton of product sitting on my lips. I also found that they bleed and dry out my lips terribly.

  26. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    Ooh, I like the look of those pinks. I’ve been told to stay away from the darker shades in the line but that the nudes were excellent. For somebody cool-toned, would you recommend Nude Beige or Lingerie Pink more? Warmer pinks tend to turn slightly orange on me if they aren’t neutral enough, but I really love me some nudes.

  27. These look amazing! I like how the Nude Beige looks!
    Lupe Recently Posted: My Lipstick and Lip Gloss Collection

  28. Avatar of Kari kari

    so glad you’re re-doing these! i just bought my first [very high end/luxury] product a couple weeks ago and it was rouge volupte #9 and i am absolutely in love. it’s going to be my “special occasion” color :’D all the other colors are too light for me, and i’m very fair might i say, even though they are gorgeous and i prefer darker colors. i wish sephora would carry some of their darker colors- the one berry they did have, i think its #12, is too purple for me :[ i would love to look at #18 or #22 in person lol

  29. Wow I want all of those shades.
    Gemma Recently Posted: Good Friends, Good Books And A Sleepy Conscience

  30. Laura

    I have Nude Beige. I love it! Its the perfect dramatic nude if that makes any sense.

  31. Avatar of kris kitkatNEF

    I loove YSL Lips!! There is definitely a difference in formula than others..#1 is my Fav!,#7 looked so white-pink on me,it went bak!

  32. Avatar of An An

    Fetish Pink looks gorgeous!!!!
    I have Maybelline’s Pink Pop, but Fetish Pink looks more pigmented and creamy! *o*

  33. Avatar of firebird Gen

    I want to love these. I don’t think there’s a prettier lipstick to pull out of a purse or to display on your vanity. But I echo the experiences of many others: I found the lasting power significantly below average, some shades did bleed (and this has never happened to me before with any lip products!), and after a while they became drying… :( I don’t know why this is, but it’s making me unhappy.

  34. These look nice and creamy but none of the shades would suit me.

  35. Avatar of Rae Rae

    Oh, wow — good on YSL for not having raised the price on these at all! I can’t say I’ve ever paid these much mind, but I *have* loved all of the YSL lip products I’ve tried so far. Perhaps I’ll have to give the original Rouge Voluptes a chance, too ;)
    Rae Recently Posted: Osmia Organics Honey-Myrrh Lip Repair review, photos | The one winter lip balm you absolutely need to own

  36. Pretty shades! but all 3 will wash me out. nevertheless I love the YSl rouge volupte range :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette Review, Swatches

  37. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    I love the first 2, and I don’t have any nudes that look so “rich”, but after my horrible experiencemwith YSL lip products as a teen, I’m far too paranoid to try again… I’ve never had an adverse reaction, of any degree, with any other lip product, but YSL just made my lips literally split & peel.

  38. I like Fetish Pink on you. This is one of my favorite lipsticks! I own about 5 of them including hot pink ,light pink,coral, and burgundy colors. They are are the ones I reach for if my lips are a little dry as I find them moisturizing. I love YSL makeup!

  39. Avatar of lisette Lisette

    Hi Christine!! I really want Fetish Pink, but it looks a little similar to Mac’s Pink Nouveau which I already own. Are they really similar in color, or do they differ?? Thank you!