Thursday, February 6th, 2014

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo ($18.00 for 0.05 oz.) is split down the middle and features two shades from the brand’s permanent range. Like the other duo, the quality of this one is on par with the quality of the individual eyeshadows. If you love both shades and don’t think you’ll use up individual pans, this might be a good way to spend a little less. I tried blending the two shades together, and it was a very warm-toned, peach shade with hints of pink. Both wore well for eight hours before showing signs of fading.

X Eyeshadow is described as a “peach shimmer with gold shift.” It’s a warm-toned, pinky-peach with gold shimmer. This is a shade that turns more and more golden as it is blended and worked into the skin, because initially, it looks rather pink. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was soft and buttery. Dior Golden Flower #1 (LE) is warmer. Laura Mercier Guava (P, $22.00) is more matte, less shimmery. MAC Artistic License (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Dynamic Duo 1 #1 (LE, $15.00) is less frosted. See comparison swatches.

Half Baked Eyeshadow is described as a “golden bronze shimmer.” It’s a brightened, medium coppery orange with a frosted, metallic finish. It was intensely pigmented, and the texture was so soft and smooth that it almost felt like a cream eyeshadow. Tarina Tarantino Wonderful #3 (P) is darker, less metallic. Tarina Tarantino Amber (P) is darker, less metallic. MAC A Glimmer of Gold #3 (P, $21.00) is similar. MAC Exquisite Ego #2 (LE, $21.00) is also similar. Guerlain Crazy Paris #1 (LE) is more orange. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #10 (P, $9.99) is similar. MAC Creative Copper (P, $15.00) is a touch darker. LORAC Gold (P) is darker. theBalm Manic Maribel (LE, $16.00) is more muted. bareMinerals Bragging Rights (LE) is slightly more orange. bareMinerals Louder (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

X/Half Baked

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

X

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Half Baked

A

Product

10/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X Eyeshadow

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X Eyeshadow

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Half Baked Eyeshadow

Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow (Blended together)

The Dupe List: X

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Half Baked

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

76 thoughts on “Urban Decay X/Half Baked Eyeshadow Duo Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Ashley

    Oh my gosh these are gorgeous together!! I’m not sure I’m a fan of half-baked on its own, but they are both very pretty. I have the first Naked palette, and while it’s pretty, I’m finding I don’t use several of the shades often enough as they’re too bronzy for me. I think I need a a more neutral to cool-toned palette. Do you think Naked2 or Naked3 would be better, Christine?

    • Naked2 is cooler, though I wouldn’t say it’s that cool-toned. Naked3 has some cool-toned shades, but it’s a lighter palette overall, and though not “bronzy” at a glance, it gives off a warmer, more springy/summery vibe to me, so I don’t know if you’d like that.

    • As someone who also has a hard time with these super warm, bronze colors, I’d highly recommend Naked 2. I still can’t really pull off Half Baked or Chopper, but the rest of the colors are really lovely and don’t veer orange on me at all. While I really like Naked 3 in theory, a lot of the shades turn into a peachy-brown, old-bruise shade on me. And I wouldn’t even say I’m cool-toned.

    • Pami

      I have UD Naked, and sadly, it’s mostly too warm and/or glittery (fall out!) for me. I got it when it first came out, so Naked2 wasn’t around yet or I might have tried that one. I really wish they would come out with a cool to neutral toned Naked palette. Naked3 looks warm as well.

      I’ve been really happy with Too Faced Naked, and Boudoir Eyes Palettes. They are my HG palettes. TF Naked is too bulky for travel, so I’m so happy they added the much more travel friendly Boudoir Eyes.

  2. I can’t take all of the Half Baked anymore, UD.
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: Benefit Gimme Brow

  3. I really like X, but Half Baked again..? Everyone has that shade!

    • I think these are more for newer customers or those who might travel!

      • xamyx

        Or moms of small children, and have limited space to carry their *own* thinhs! I love this concept, and I don’t typically carry a purse, so my things go in the small pocket of a backpack that holds snacks & coloring books/crayons, so even if I have these shades, it could fit in a pocket if needed. I’m sure students will benefit as well; I wish we had something like this to touch up my makeup after a dance class!

  4. On my pale s kin MAC’s Mega Metal eyeshadow in Tweet Me is very similar but X is still my favourite shade. I hope these will come to Sephora as well. :)
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Rimmel Colour Rush Balm in 100 Give Me a Cuddle, 610 Sun-Kissed, and 600 On Fire: Swatches & Review

  5. I like the other duo better, but still, this is a lovely combo too. And I rarely finish eyeshadow, so getting the two shades in one pan is definitely a good deal.

  6. Ammara

    Can you list dupes for the shade created when they’re blended together?

  7. These are two of my absolute favorite shades for my pale, warm skin.
    Christina Recently Posted: Margarita Bloom Sample-Palooza

  8. Lauren

    Love the idea, own both shades. I have singles of X and I have half baked in 2 different palettes. I need to try these together.

  9. Wow these two shades look great blended together!

  10. It’s such a beautiful duo. Although I have 2 of the half baked eyeshadows, I’d buy this for ‘X’. A small and silly question? Does Urban decay sell ‘X” separately.

  11. Em

    Is X at all similar to Burnout from Naked 3?

  12. Brianna

    The color when the two are mixed together is gorgeous! Is it similar to Blaze? I’ve been thinking about getting Blaze or X but haven’t tried either one, and Half-Baked is just a little too yellow on me.

  13. Is it just me or is the mixed shade a dead ringer for one of the colors in the N3 palette?

  14. Amanda R

    Half-baked is pretty, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t understand the logic behind including it in a duo like this. It’s like Nars putting Orgasm and Laguna in their most recent face palette even though anyone who has any interest in the brand likely already owns them. Half-baked is already in Naked 1 and Naked 2, and it seems that any fan of UD probably has at least one of them already. Perhaps this is just meant to be marketed to people who are new to the brand as you suggest, Christine. Still, it’s a disappointment for me!

    • My hope is they’re seeing how much interest is in the duos before making more with different shades, though I wouldn’t be surprised if they stuck to most popular shades. (Also why we see repeats of the same 3-5 shades over and over in a lot of palettes!) UD seems to be more inclined to listen to customers, though, as more palettes have new/exclusive shades.

      • xamyx

        All brands have to try to pull in new customers. If not, then those of us withmassive hoards, who can’t even get through what we have…, will eventially not buy as much, and sales will drop, driving prices up, sales to drop more, etc… Using the NARS Laguna/Orgasm as an example, while many of us who love NARS own these, or even those who dom’t want them, they are best-selling cult-classics. They also a flatter a very broad range, and are not specific to any season, while being always on trend. By putting them in nearly every palette, they can reach out to a wider range of new consumers, while counting on us long-time users to buy other shades on their own, which is better for sales. I don’t think any brands are doing it to irritate loyal customers, and I’d rather see a brand focus on the classics instead of releasing non-stop LE, sub-par products that can’t be replaced should one finish it, or it gets lost/damaged.

        • Except with NARS, they already have the duos of Laguna/Orgasm (both in regular AND mini size) permanently available, so there’s really no need to throw them into palette after palette, IMO!

          • xamyx

            However, not every counter/store carries the same products. I’ve never seen any duos at Nordstrom, and not every Sephora carries them year-round.

            NARS also markets the palettes for “gifting”, so it only makes sense to include shades that are the most universally flattering (no shade in any product will span 100% of skintones). I guess they figure these are foundation pieces to build upon, and as people become loyal to the brand, they won’t mind buying separate pieces to build their collections. I have no palettes because my pet peeve is there are typically only 1 shade of a duo, and I just end up buying that, LOL. Also, the palettes are too large to fit with my other products…

  15. Half-Baked is probably one of my most-used shades! This is a nice little duo to throw in your makeup/travel bag.

  16. OK, at first I wasn’t sure, but these beautiful swatches convinced me! And I don’t own any UD single shadows, so I personally LOVE these little combos they put out

  17. They’re so pretty blended together!
    Jade Recently Posted: Nude & Glitter Nails

  18. The two of them blended together form such a pretty rose gold shade…wonder if there are any dupes out there for that color?
    Kayvid Recently Posted: DHC Cleansing Oil Review

  19. Dorothy

    Hi Christine, how would you say this compares to NARS Alhambra duo eyeshadow?

  20. Janice

    Its beautiful! How would you compare this to mac’s expensive pink? Would it be worth it to buy both?

  21. Love, love love! I will have to pick this up, I think.
    Rachel Recently Posted: New Spoonflower fabric design – Moth and cherry blossoms

  22. I never really thought of combining both colours to make a new eyeshadow shade, but that looks great! Looks a little like “Sin” from the picture!
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Haul | Post-Holiday January (Bargain) Buys.

  23. Marguerite

    I have so much love for Half Baked that mine is getting low in my Naked palette. It’s the perfect colour for me! I would buy this and it would be great to travel with.

  24. CatG

    I wish to see a look created with just this!! Beautiful colors, though at this point I have three half-baked…

  25. The 2 blended together remind me of MAC Expensive Pink!
    Ankita Recently Posted: L’Oreal Paris Rouge Caresse Lipstick (202) Impulsive Fuchsia : Review, Swatch, FOTD

  26. auroragyps

    I kind of wish they’d put Last Call with X (of which look amazing together) instead of Half Baked. Yeah, Last Call is in a lot of palettes, but not as many as Half Baked I don’t think. Plus, the golden pink & plummy color wouldn’t be as close in color, so you could get more looks with just the two colors.

  27. My two favorite UD shades! Luckily I already have both, so no temptation to buy the double.

  28. This is such a princess combo for me :-) I really hope Urban Decay expand their range of these shadow duos, as I think the idea is actually really nice.

    Although I suppose that will depend on these two selling well…fingers crossed!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Would you Rather…? Tag!

  29. I did not think about mixing them. They look beautiful together! I seem to be one of the few people who doesn’t get tired of Half-Baked, it’s such a beautiful fuss-free all-over-the lid colour for lazy days. And X is just <3

    • I always forget that, too, but on the occasions that I am not necessarily photographing a look, I find myself often mixing shades here and there. I do it a lot of highlighters!

  30. artemis

    I liked them more when they were used separately :D a bit of blending where they meet would be nice, but not all the way as they lose their personality(especially the rose gold one)

    • I like ‘em any way you want to spin ‘em! They work well alone or together, I think! So it’s nice that you can easily wear them separately, slightly blended, or fully blended!

  31. Giliann

    How does X compare to Satin Sheets by Too Faced?

  32. R Gilmour

    Hi Christine, was wondering if you could recommend a dupe for UD Half baked that is less shimmery and more matt, and as close to the colour of Hlaf baked as possible? Being over 40 I find lately that my signs of ageing around the eyes seems to be enhanced by the level of shimmer of HB but I love the colour so much. I found the dupes you recommended above still quite shimmery and not as good a colour. Any thoughts? Thanks