Monday, September 9th, 2013

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

This is part two of my review of the Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette ($59.00 for 20 x 0.03 oz. / 0.60 oz.).  Please see part one for the first ten shades.

Radar is described as a “metallic brown shimmer with iridescent micro-glitter.” It’s a warm-toned, medium-dark brown with a golden bronze shimmer/sheen and warm, orange undertones. It has a frosted, metallic finish, and it had a really crazy texture. The texture felt creamy and more like a cream eyeshadow than a powder one. It really held together very well–like a cream–and I didn’t have any fall out with this shade, despite it being more sparkly. It had rich color payoff, too. Bobbi Brown Golden Bronze is less frosted. Marc Jacobs The Starlet #3 is darker. MAC Brownluxe #4 is darker. Edward Bess Cosmic Bliss #4 is warmer. Le Metier de Beaute Autumn Rust is less frosted. Bobbi Brown Bronze is more golden. Urban Decay Nevermind is less warm-toned. bareMinerals Cognac is very similar. See comparison swatches.

Damaged is described as a “bright metallic emerald shimmer.” It’s a deep forest green with cool undertones over a dirty khaki/olive base. It had a soft, frosted finish and a slightly metallic sheen. The color payoff was nice, and it applied very smoothly. Sephora Walk on the Wild Side is less frosted, lighter. MAC Dark Indulgence is darker. OCC Poison is darker, blacker. Make Up For Ever #80 is less frosted. Inglot #414 is more metallic. See comparison swatches.

Voodoo is described as a “metallic purple shimmer with iridescent purple micro-glitter.” It’s a medium-dark cool-toned purple with a frosted finish. It had decent color payoff, but the texture was slightly dry and a smidgen powdery, so it didn’t apply as intensely as other shades did. Too Faced Badass is darker, cooler-toned. theBalm Lavish Latoya is warmer. Urban Decay Half Truth is darker. Urban Decay ACDC is warmer. Milani Purr-fect Purple is similar. MAC Grand Galaxy is also similar. See comparison swatches.

Betrayal is described as a “bright purple satin with blue shift.” It’s a light-medium lavender with pink undertones and a bluish-violet sheen. It had more of a pearly, metallic finish. The color payoff was decent to good, but there was some sheerness, and the texture wasn’t as buttery or as smooth as other shades. L’Oreal With a Twist is darker. Make Up For Ever #54 is similar but a cream product. Urban Decay Grifter is slightly pinker and has glitter. NARS Marie-Galante #1 is similar. See comparison swatches.

Derailed is described as a “medium metallic taupey-brown shimmer.” It’s a medium-dark, warm-toned taupe–a mix of brown and gray–with a frosted, metallic sheen. It had incredibly rich color payoff with a buttery, smooth, silky texture that made it a dream to apply. Marc Jacobs The Starlet #7 is similar, less metallic. theBalm Selfish is less metallic. Urban Decay Pistol is more satiny, darker. Urban Decay Mushroom is cooler-toned, grayer. See comparison swatches.

Dope is described as a “warm champagne satin.” It’s a pinky-peach with a satiny sheen and warm undertones. It had excellent pigmentation, and the texture was soft and buttery. I used this shade mixed with Habit for highlighting for each combination of eyeshadows I was testing for this palette. MAC Easy Gesture is lighter. Wet ‘n’ Wild Newport Nights #2 is darker, less shimmery. MAC Orb is less shimmery. MAC A Natural FLirt is lighter. Le Metier de Beaute Nouvelle is less pink. See comparison swatches.

Toxic is described as a “metallic copper-pink shimmer with tonal micro-glitter.” It’s a muted, coppery brown with subtle pink tones and copper micro-glitter. The texture was somewhat dry, though the color payoff was decent. I did have some fall out occur when wearing this shade. LORAC Garnet is darker, less shimmery. Disney Trust Me is more matte. NARS California is darker, less shimmery. MAC Magnetic Attraction is warmer. MAC Mythical is less sparkly. See comparison swatches.

Habit is described as a “light nude matte.” It’s a light beige with subtle warm undertones and a matte finish. It is very similar to my skin tone, so it doesn’t show up that well against my arm, unfortunately! The texture is soft, buttery, and very creamy (though it’s a powder). It blends well against the skin and didn’t look chalky. Wet ‘n’ Wild Hard Being the It Girl #3 is yellower. Wet ‘n’ Wild Newport Nights #1 is lighter. Urban Decay Broken is more shimmery, lighter. Urban Decay Walk of Shame is lighter. NARS Biarritz is similar. MAC Bisque is also similar. Inglot #390 is slightly cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Ambush is described as a “metallic brown satin.” It’s a medium-dark bronze with warm, reddish-copper undertones and a metallic sheen. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was soft, buttery, and blendable. Bobbi Brown Bronze is more golden. Urban Decay Deeper is darker. MAC Woodwinked is similar. Inglot #422 is darker. Make Up For Ever #12 is more copper-colored and is a cream product. See comparison swatches.

Rewind is described as a “medium brown matte.” It’s a medium-dark, neutral brown with very subtle gray-ish tones with a matte finish. It had fantastic pigmentation and a soft, smooth, and buttery texture–but it wasn’t powdery. Urban Decay Secret Service is darker/ MAC Omega is similar, slightly yellower in tone. bareMinerals Namaste is warmer. Bobbi Brown Slate is slightly pink-tinged. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Vice 2

A-

Overall, it's a nice palette with several really lovely shades with excellent pigmentation, soft and smooth textures, and that wear well without fading or creasing over eight hours (without a primer). There are a few misses in regards to color payoff, and some shades have drier or powdery textures. Shades like Lovesick, Prank,and Toxic were misses for me, as they were dry, powdery, and not as pigmented or as easy to blend as other shades in the palette. Shades like Madness, Strike, Derailed, Dope, Habit, Ambush, and Rewind were easy to work with, nicely pigmented, and had great textures. A lot of shades had either micro-glitter (6) or micro-sparkle (3), and I didn't notice glitter/sparkle in half of them. I only saw noticeable fall out with a few shades but nothing was too problematic, actually (I was surprised).

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Radar

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Damaged

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Radar Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Radar Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Damaged Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Damaged Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Voodoo Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Voodoo Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Betrayal Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Betrayal Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Derailed Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Derailed Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Dope Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Dope Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Toxic Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Toxic Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Habit Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Habit Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Ambush Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Ambush Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Rewind Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Rewind Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Strike (inner lid), Stash (middle of lid), Derailed (outer lid), Poison (crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Dope (inner lid), Habit (middle of lid), Rewind (outer lid), Smokeout (crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Coax (inner lid), Betrayal (middle of lid), Voodoo (outer lid/crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Coax (inner lid), Betrayal (middle of lid), Voodoo (outer lid/crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Toxic (inner lid), Radar (middle of lid), Ambush (outer lid), Derailed (crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Toxic (inner lid), Radar (middle of lid), Ambush (outer lid), Derailed (crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Shellshock (inner lid), Betrayal (middle of lid), Voodoo (outer lid), Prank (outer crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Habit (inner lid), Toxic (middle of lid), Ambush (outer lid), Smokeout (outer crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Habit (inner lid), Toxic (middle of lid), Ambush (outer lid), Smokeout (outer crease)

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Betrayal (inner lid), Shellshock (middle of lid), Madness (outer lid), Prank (outer crease) [over NYX Milk]

Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette
Urban Decay Eyeshadows: Betrayal (inner lid), Shellshock (middle of lid), Madness (outer lid), Prank (outer crease) [over NYX Milk]

The Dupe List: Radar

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Damaged

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Voodoo

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

71 thoughts on “Urban Decay Vice 2 Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches (Part 2)

  1. I only really want this half of the palette and not the other half!

  2. kisha

    i shall add this to my now vintage VICE palette lol. how does Betrayal compare to MAC beautiful iris? and how much different is this palette vs the first one?

  3. Avatar of Brigitte Brigitte

    omg love it!! want it gotta have it!

  4. Avatar of Ivana Ivana

    Too bad that Derailed and Smoke Out aren´t available as single eyeshadows… The palette looks tempting, but I won´t buy it because I know that won´t use most of the other colors. What a pity.

  5. zainab

    Radar looks so weird in the pan. I must own this, damn you UD!

  6. Sarah

    I also agree on only wanting half, or maybe 1/3 (the purples, blues and the green color look lovely!)

    I might be in the minority here, but I kinda wish makeup companies wouldn’t always feel compelled to balance out palettes with neutrals. Because at this point, I have about a gazillion neutrals, lots of repeating colors among them, because I buy the palettes just for the interesting brights and colors they come with.

    I’d be thrilled for a company to release a palette with only bright, neutral colors that isn’t built-your-own (which can get so expensive, especially for UD. One of their empty 4-pan palettes with 4 new eyeshadows costs $10 + ($18 x 4) = $82!

    • Sarah

      Er, meant *with only bright, unique colors. NOT neutrals! lol.

    • olivia

      Haha I feel the exact opposite. I already have a bunch of UD brights that I never use (middle row of 15th anniversary palette, I’m looking at you…) and I need another bright pink, blue, or purple eyeshadow like a hole in the head. However, there are enough beautiful neutrals to make this palette worth it for me :)

    • I agree with Sarah, though, because there are LOTS of palettes out there that are just neutrals. I would like if these were just brights, that you could supplement with the Naked/Nude/Natural palette of your choice. Personally, I wish makeup companies would be banned from putting white and black shadows into palettes, because I think I have literally 15-20 white eyeshadows, and more than 30 black ones. Even if I used these shades regularly (which I don’t), It would take me YEARS to get through them all.

    • Genevieve

      I want nothing but brights too. There’s a million companies making neutral palettes, and it was their gorgeous brights that made me fall in love with Urban Decay.

  7. Dina Jawad

    What is the glitter liner you used for underneath your eyes?

  8. This palette looks so pretty, but I have the Vice palette from last year and I hardly ever use it. So I think I’m going to resist this one.

  9. You know what I’m liking this one more then the original Vice palette in terms of both shades and formulas.

  10. This is gorgeous but I like some shades better than others. Can you purchase these shades individually?

  11. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    As with the Naked palettes, I think I would get more use out of the second one, LOL. This, and the new Kat von D palette will be coming home with me ASAP!

  12. Emily

    I feel like i have these colors already… But I want it… AGH.

  13. Emily

    Personally I wish that UD would release a palette of 20 matte vibrant colors. That would be amazing.

  14. How does the green compare to UD Loaded?

  15. I just want Damaged. O_O

  16. Miss Molly

    Your shots of the individual pans look amazing!

  17. Ah this palette is super gorgeous but like vice 1 I feel like I’m going to pass. I have a lot of similar colours- and the colours that I am without dupes for are colours I simply do not find myself drawn to. I do like the deep jewel tones and the darker feel of this palette but I’m simply not sold. However I’d love them to make betrayal a permanent thing because hellooooooo gorgeous- but I think I’ll survive with fishnet and omen.

  18. marjorie

    Hi Christine ! How is the fall out with the 17 shades in this palette? If their are any fall-out , because I know UD has been working on improving that problem. I know you mentioned in your review that “Radar” (My FAV by the way !) Is creamy with no fallout which is great! and ironic being that it looks like Radar is the chunkiest shadow :P

    Also do you know of any where or any site that I can still buy the UD vice (first palette) from? I missed out on it and have regretted it so much ! THANK YOU!

    • Hi Marjorie,

      I noted fall out issues in the individual shades :) The only ones that were potentially problematic were some of the micro-glitter shades but overall there was little fall out. A quick way to look at it is check longevity scores – a good UD shadow is around 9 points, but usually where UD under-performs is fall out and that’ll drop the score.

      I don’t know of one for Vice!

  19. Holly

    How similar is Betrayal to Urban Decay Omen?

  20. I so want this. I get a lot of use out of my Vice palette and this one is gorgeous too.

  21. beck

    The packaging is incredible! please tell me
    its not cardboard haha. So who thinks
    this years color selection is better
    than last years Vice pallete?
    Or do you like this years colors better?
    I passed on last years because
    I simply have so many shadows its
    hard to keep track.But this
    is gorgeous!! A+++ UD!!

  22. I know I don’t need to buy this, but I know I will be buying this! Hopefully with a FF discount or VIB discount!

  23. These colors look MUCH better than the shades reviewed in part one

  24. Amanda

    When I saw this on UD’s website I got really excited and looked up swatches online and I ended up here. I have to say after reading this review and looking at the swatches I am disappointed and most likely will not buy this palette. I have the Vice palette from last year and I love it. I use it a lot, but this one just seems like everything is duplicated…Stash looks a lot like jagged even though stash has olive in it and jagged has black in it, Damaged looks similar to Junkie even though junkie is more blue and damaged is more green. Not into the neutrals. To me they’re all the same in the palettes. Habit looks just like Anonymous, Toxic and Dope look just like Freebird, Derailed is a brown version of Armor, and so on. You get it. UD is notorious for repeating shades…

  25. Avatar of Sandy Sandy

    Hi, Christine! I scrolled through everyone’s comments to see if anyone had asked if this palette leaned cooler or warmer – but it seems no one has! Cool-toned colors look much better on me, so it’s always a bit of a concern with a palette, especially a big one; the 15th Anniversary palette is so warm-toned that I almost never use it. What are your thoughts on the tone of Vice 2?

    Thanks!

  26. Allie

    I’ve never been adventurous with my makeup. But after seeing all the UD holiday products, I think that’s going to change! I bought black market, vice 2, ocho loco 2, and shattered face case. Oh yea, I also bought them each in separate orders because I would buy one thing and later decide I need another! I’m addicted!!

  27. Julia

    This palette is so pretty! I’m really thinking about getting this but I am not quite 100% sure it’s worth it. I’m a girl that sticks to neutrals & I rarely do color. I never got the first Vice palette. Do y’all think its worth it? I already have the two Naked palettes, The Oz palette they came out with, & Lorac Pro.

    • Frannie Urrutia

      I have all those palettes too, but I was still super pleased with Vice 2 :) I usually am more conservative with my makeup too and use a lot of neutrals. For that reason, I don’t use my original Vice palette very often. But I know I will use Vice 2 waaaaay more often! It has such a good mix of neutrals and more adventurous—but still easily wearable—colors. I think it is a great palette to slowly transition you into trying more adventurous looks! I have used it every day since I bought it, and I’m not having any trouble using any of the colors, and iI definitely don’t look like a drag queen, lol

  28. Avatar of Nicole Nicole

    I like this palette much more than the original vice. I had that one and sold it because I just didn’t wear it. I love the mix of nuetrals and jewel tones! I think this palette is much more wearable than the first one. When I heard the palette was Vice 2, I thought it was an easy pass. I ended up buying it today! I also think the packaging is alot better on this one. The rubberized packaging on the first one was a nightmare to clean!

  29. Allie

    My palette came today!! My favorite color is derailed! It’s so beautiful in person!!

  30. i’m surprised you didn’t compare betrayal to ud omen, i find they’re near identical. omen is maybe a smidge lighter.

  31. Kimy H.

    I just ordered this from sephora after reading your review and I’m excited :D! It’s my first full on colored eyeshadow palette. I figured having some color in my eyeshadow stash wouldn’t hurt. Of course the neutrals in this palette are always welcomed in my book. The only thing that made me think twice about buying it was the price tag D: but when you break down the overall value that made it easier to fork over the cash :> Thanks for the review christine<3!

  32. Christine, is Betrayal at all similar to MAC’s Stars ‘n Rockets?

  33. What are the glitter liners on the bottom two pictures??

  34. Jenny

    I read through your review twice and have finally convinced myself to buy this palette. I looked at a lot off other reviews but your website has the best photos of them all and I loved all the eyelooks you did at the end. Please come those coming!! It really shows what we can do with the palette.

    • Enjoy your palette, Jenny!! Share any combos you try & love ;)

      • Jenny

        I really like the eye looks that you did and tried to copy some of them. Your eye looks look really opaque but even with primer, I feel like I’m not getting the same intensity as you. I tried the Coax. Betrayal, and Voodoo combo with the UD Primer Potion. How did you apply them to get that nice of a color?

  35. What is the glitter liner on the look with Betrayal, Shellshock, Madness, and Prank? It’s GORGEOUS!

  36. Avatar of Catriona Aubri

    Christine, how does Damaged compare to Sugarpill’s Subterranean of the Cold Chemistry palette?

  37. Sarah

    Hello!
    Thanks for the detailed review, it’s been extremely helpful for a girl looking to purchase online. My predicament is though, that I’m debating between the Vice 2 pallet and Kat Von D’s spellbound book. Hope you can help me out with which one to go for!
    Thanks,
    Sarah

  38. Camila

    Hi Christine! Which palette do you like better, the Kat Von D Spellbinding or the UD Vice 2?

    • I’m a bigger fan of buttery/dense eyeshadows, so I prefer UD’s formula over Kat Von D’s (in general)! I don’t think you can go wrong with either.