Thursday, February 6th, 2014

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo ($18.00 for 0.05 oz.) is split down the middle and features two shades from the brand’s permanent range. Many will be familiar with both shades, so this review is more to confirm that the quality of the individual eyeshadows is still present in the duo form. Having the two in the same pan does make mixing the two easier, if that’s something that appeals to you, and the color the two create is a warm-toned, medium taupe. I get about eight hours of wear before I see slight fading with both shades.

Sin Eyeshadow is described as a “champagne shimmer.” It’s a warm, champagne beige with a frosted, metallic finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and smooth. Too Faced Marzipan (P, $16.00) Too Faced Cheers! (LE, $16.00) is darker. Tom Ford Beauty In the Pink #2 (LE) is lighter. theBalm Stubborn (P, $16.00) is slightly pinker, less frosted. theBalm Third Eye Blinded (P, $16.00) is pinker, less frosted. Le Metier de Beaute Nouvelle (LE, $30.00) is lighter. bareMinerals Custom Made (LE) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Mushroom Eyeshadow is described as a “warm gray shimmer.” It’s a dark taupe with almost neutral undertones (runs warm against my skin tone, most of the time) with a frosted finish. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was very soft but a little powdery. bareMinerals Pewter (LE, $14.00) is lighter. Urban Decay Nameless (LE, $18.00) is browner. Urban Decay Vaporize (LE, $18.00) is warmer, lighter, more glittery. Dior Aventure (081) (P, $30.00) is a cream product. Urban Decay Armor (LE, $18.00) is darker. MAC Satin Taupe (P, $15.00) is browner. Giorgio Armani #4 (P, $33.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Sin/Mushroom

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Sin

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Mushroom

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Mushroom Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Mushroom Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo
Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow (Blended together)

The Dupe List: Sin

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Mushroom

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

45 thoughts on “Urban Decay Sin/Mushroom Eyeshadow Duo Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. I think these are a great idea, and those are two of my favorite shades from UD, but I already have them both.

    • These feel like a way to introduce someone to UD at a lower price (and not a full palette cost!).

      • If I was new to UD I would definitely buy these.

        • Avatar of Amy xamyx

          I think many forget that there are those who don’t own massive collections, and those who aren’t long-time or everyday makeup users, and while these may have no place in our lives, there is still a massive untapped market.

          if possible, financially/availability, I do want to grab this one. I have Sin, as well as several similar shades, and I have Mushroom as well; however, having the 2 together in such a small vessel will make it possible to always have on-hand in a small makeup bag, instead of 2 palettes.

          • Carrie

            The only problem I see with the whole “to introduce people to the brand” notion is that you can ONLY get them on UD’s website. Newcomers might be more likely to buy from Sephora/Ulta, especially since they may not even know these exist!

  2. I once got a sampler card with these two colors and they work really well together. This is such a good idea; too bad I already have Sin in the Naked palette! Although this would be good for traveling…
    Shani Recently Posted: Best Red Lipsticks for Valentine’s Day (and Every Day)

  3. I like Mushroom and don’t own it, but want to own it, but I don’t need Sin since I still have a large amount of it in my NAKED palette so I’d rather just get the single shadow of Mushroom.
    Rikki Recently Posted: beautyblender demonstration and review | closed captioned

  4. These two shades are my absolute favourite eyeshadows for everyday wear! It’s a perfect duo for day time and evening looks in my opinion :) So glad to see UD came out with these – hope that they will become permanent!
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Haul | Post-Holiday January (Bargain) Buys.

  5. Oooh didn’t expect to like this duo this much, lovely!

  6. Sara

    I really like the color they make together! I have Sin in my Naked palette and Mushroom in the Mariposa palette, so I’ll have to give them a try together. And pair it with my favorite Mushroom eyeliner of course :)

  7. Avatar of Lauren Lauren

    Love the idea, wish they had gone with different shades. I already have a single of Mushroom and I have sin in my Naked1 palette.

  8. I think this is a very handy idea for traveling!

  9. Even though these are pretty warm, I really want to swatch them. I don’t know if I can make them work, but dang nabbit, I’m gonna try!

  10. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    So excited about this release! I’ve been meaning to get Mushroom, and Sin is a long-standing favorite – I hit pan on both the Naked and Ammo palette for that shade! It’ll be good to have a backup. :)

  11. Ami

    I got this duo in the Sephora Favorites Super Stars set and really like it – nice every day soft smokey eye for work paired with the 24/7 liner in Mushroom.

  12. I love these two shades and I’m really glad UD decided to package them together. When I first got into makeup a couple of years ago I bought a ton of palettes and gift sets from different brands so I could get a feel for the different colors, textures, and longevity of the different brands for less than regular retail. Now that I know why I like I’m looking to streamline my collection. So the notion of being able to buy one product that has two of my favorite shades is fantastic. It’s one shadow to depot (and I depot everything I can) and one shadow to put into my travel pallet so it’s saving me space and time. I wish more companies would create shadow duos of popular shades.

    • I like smaller sizes myself, since I know that it’s going to be next to impossible to finish one full sized eyeshadow! Even when I had a very limited collection, it took AGES to even dent some.

  13. I have both of these shadows already and love them both so this is such a great idea for a pairing for anyone who doesn’t have these. Two great shades!

  14. breyerchic04

    Sometimes for work I need to go from unmade up to professional in just a few minutes so I keep a bag with a few basics, this would be perfect for that because it’s just one single but it has two colors that work well together for a subtle or slightly more madeup look.

  15. I Don’t have these colours yet and since I only have the Oz palettes, I think this will go in a shopping bag soon. They can be depotted and fit perfectly into my Mac palette along with my oz shadows. Thanks Christine. This is awesome.

  16. I love this combo – it seems like such a versatile pair of shades! I also love Urban Decay eyeshadow, and I have both these shades, but I don’t think I’ve ever worn them together…

    *goes off to experiment*…
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Would you Rather…? Tag!

  17. Avatar of Eliza Eliza

    This is my favorite eyeshadow combination of all times. I got the duo a while ago in one of Sephora’s kits (it’s the same size as Christine’s sample) and have been using it all the time since. I usually find that huge eye palettes are too much fuss (which makes me a complete outcast on this blot, I imagine ;)) and this is just perfect for so many day/night looks. I really hope UD makes it a permanent addition to their line.

    • You know, I love palettes, but I don’t reach for them all the time. I don’t think I would necessarily reach for pre-made palettes over time, either, if I was a normal person (not a blogger!). I use them for travel, but I’d be more likely to just pull from giant freestyle palettes like MAC, Inglot, etc. on a day-to-day basis. I’d probably just use new pre-made palettes initially, when they were new and sexy, but less so a year later.

  18. Avatar of Emi Emi

    I love the blended color! I have both of these I think (in palettes) so I’ll have to try them layered.
    Emi Recently Posted: Sally Girl Mini Nail Polish New Shades Swatches & Review

  19. Fantastic idea! I think these shadows work perfectly together. I actually like the duo for travel. I always hit pan with Sin, so it won’t be a problem having more.

  20. Susana

    This is perfect! Sin and Mushroom are my two favorite UD shadows for everyday wear, and I use them together a lot. The duo seems like a great idea for traveling, I’ll definitely consider getting it!