Saturday, July 27th, 2013

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette ($46.00 for 0.50 oz.) includes ten eyeshadows, each full-sized at 0.05 oz. that are supposed to be “stunning, high-pigment shadows for rich color payoff.” If you love rich, jewel-toned hues and frosted, metallic finishes, this is a palette well worth checking out. Overall, it’s incredibly pigmented, and the textures are phenomenal–creamy, buttery, and so, so soft. There are a few shades that aren’t totally perfect, but they perform better when applied and aren’t really finicky to apply. When I wore the eyeshadows, they lasted nine hours on bare lids as well as nine hours over primer with no signs of fading or creasing.

Dainty is a pale, pink-beige with a matte finish. While the majority of the palette have very shimmery finishes, this shade is completely matte. It can actually be used to take down the shimmer of any other shade by lightly layering it on top. Marc Jacobs The Tease #3 is slightly shimmery. Dior Constellation #3 is more shimmery. theBalm Matt Chung is cooler-toned. Urban Decay Heartless is pinker. See comparison swatches.

Charming is a burgundy-brown with subtle, warm undertones and a matte finish. This shade was slightly dry and stiffer compared to other shades in the palette, so the resulting color payoff was decent but not as intense as the rest of the palette. When used with a fluffy brush, it does apply with heavier color and blends out fairly easily. bareMinerals Ensemble is browner, darker. MAC Rich Core is more shimmery. MAC Sketch is similar. Urban Decay Uncut is purpler, more shimmery. Marc Jacobs The Tease #7 is more shimmery, warmer. See comparison swatches.

Girly is a warm, coppery brown with a green duochrome. It had fantastic color payoff and a smooth, buttery texture. MAC Double Feature #5 #2 is darker. MAC Greenluxe #5 is darker, bluer. I would imagine this is similar, but warmer and more orange-toned, to shades like Too Faced’s Label Whore and MAC Club/Blue Brown pigment (I think Green Brown would be more similar). See comparison swatches.

Totally Fetch is a vibrant fuchsia with a cool undertone and a pearly finish. It had intense color payoff and a very smooth, even texture. Fyrinnae Superstar is brighter. Sugarpill Dollipop is matte. Urban Decay Junkshow is purpler. MAC Double Feature #7 #1 is purpler. See comparison swatches.

Miss Sparkles is a deep black with silver sparkle. It has fairly good color payoff and is buildable, so you can get a really intense, deep black if desired, but the texture itself is very soft and slightly powdery, though that means it is easy to blend out. MAC Smokeluxe #5 is darker. MAC Bleuluxe #5 is similar. NARS Arabian Nights #2 is darker. NARS Night Breed is similar. Illamasqua Zeitgeist is cooler-toned. Sugarpill Stella is more shimmery. See comparison swatches.

Ringleader is a warm, light-medium peach with a frosted finish. It had great color payoff and a smooth, buttery texture. theBalm Third Eye Blinded is less shimmery. Urban Decay Snatch has glitter. Le Metier de Beaute Nouvelle is slightly pinker. Inglot #397 is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Gangsta is a warm, bronzy brown with copper undertones and a frosted finish. It had nice pigmentation and a soft, buttery feel. Edward Bess Cosmic Bliss #4 is less warm. Giorgio Armani #10 #4 is less shimmery. Urban Decay Deeper is darker, browner. MAC Cognac is yellower. MAC Tempting is more golden, less orange. MAC Romp is yellower. See comparison swatches.

Instigator is a molten, yellow gold with a high-shine, metallic finish. The color payoff was rich and intense, and the texture was incredibly soft and buttery. Marc Jacobs The Starlet #5 is very similar. Sephora Girls Night Out is warmer. Urban Decay Spell #1 is similar, slightly darker. Urban Decay Stargazer is greener. Maybelline Bold Gold is a cream product, darker. bareMinerals Remix is lighter, more gold. See comparison swatches.

Badass is a medium-dark blue with violet and a frosted, slightly metallic, finish. It had fairly good color payoff, but it was more buildable when I was applying it than it seemed initially. The texture was very soft and blendable. NARS Kamchatka is matte. Tom Ford Cobalt Rush #2 is bluer. Le Metier de Beaute Sapphire is darker. MAC Thru the Night is darker, bluer. MAC Naval Blue is very similar. MAC Blue Storm is darker, bolder. See comparison swatches.

Jailbird is a cool-toned, metallic silver. The texture was incredibly butter and smooth, and the color payoff was amazing. MAC Silver Sleet is similar, slightly darker. MAC Warm Thunder is darker, less metallic. MAC Tundra is similar. Marc Jacobs The Starlet #6 is lighter. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Pretty Rebel

A
If you love rich, jewel-toned hues and frosted, metallic finishes, this is a palette well worth checking out. Overall, it's incredibly pigmented, and the textures are phenomenal--creamy, buttery, and so, so soft. There are a few shades that aren't totally perfect, but they perform better when applied and aren't really finicky to apply.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Dainty

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Charming

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Dainty Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Dainty Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Charming Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Charming Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Girly Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Girly Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Totally Fetch Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Totally Fetch Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Miss Sparkles Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Miss Sparkles Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Ringleader Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Ringleader Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Gangsta Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Gangsta Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Instigator Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Instigator Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Badass Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Badass Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Jailbird Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Jailbird Eyeshadow

Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette
Too Faced Eyeshadows: Instigator (inner lid), Gangsta (middle of lid), Girly (outer lid),
Charming (crease), Dainty (brow bone), Badass (lash line)

The Dupe List: Dainty

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Charming

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Girly

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

43 thoughts on “Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Ordered this yesterday and after this review I can’t wait to get it, iiih! :D

  2. Is this permanent or limited edition? I can’t believe this is so pretty! I’ve never been impressed with Too Faced before, but this might change things.

  3. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Mariella Mariella

    Coincidentally, I looked at this in-store at Sephora yesterday. I’m a real fan of TF’s palettes but to be honest, there was nothing in this one for me and the fuchsia shadow – well, those are always a real turn off for me since I have several already that I don’t use and if I needed a fuchsia shadow for any reason, I’m well-supplied with them already. The shades I really liked are ones I already have dupes for in almost embarrassing profusion!

    • Amalia

      You can use your fuchsia eyeshadow mixing it : with light beige for cheek bone highligters or cream products for the same effect, or crush it and mix with clear or colored nail polish. Hope I have given you some inspiration for playing

  4. I REALLY want this palette! I keep coming back to check out your swatches again! haha

  5. What a gorgeous palette! Girly is such an awesome color, as is Instigator and Gangsta! Definitely checking this out for sure!

  6. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Andie Andie

    Pretty…but super dupable. Makes this an easy *pass* for me

  7. This is awesome. A couple of great neutrals, a couple of great metallics, a couple of great unusual colors. Yay, must have.

  8. Brian McDowell

    Never been a fan of Too-Faced….something always seems a little ‘off’ about their products…but I have to admit, this pallette design I think is kinda genius. Just looking at the colors, I can picture 7 or 8 or more different makeup looks easily. A lot of times I look at a pallette and think “What were they thinking?” but I really like how versatile this is. Mattes and shimmers, neutrals and brights, nudes and metallics.

    If I didn’t alrerady have dupes for all of these colors and was just starting out, I’d snatch this up in a heartbeat! Thanks for the review Christine.

  9. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carrie Carrie

    I actually was iffy on buying this but I saw so many reviews raving about it. When I got it, I was so impressed! I haven’t stopped using it since I got it!

    • What are some combos you’ve liked so far?

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carrie Carrie

        Personal favorite combo is using Dainty all over, Jailbird on the lid and inner eye, Charming in the crease, and Miss Sparkles to line. After messing around though, I found that using Totally Fetch in the inner lid with Miss Sparkles on the outer (blended in the middle) along with on the lower lash line and Jailbird in the crease looks fantastic! Sort of a brighter smoky eye, I wanna say.

  10. Such a gorgeous selection of shades. They’re unique while still being very wearable. And sounds like the quality is great, as I’ve come to expect from Too Faced shadows

  11. I just want the top row..anyone want the bottom? JK

  12. I was looking at this one while shopping in Sephora yesterday (as well as a few others), and I wasn’t quite sure whether to buy it or not. The swatches helped, and it’s going on my ‘To Get’ list. :)

  13. I saw this in Sephora and immediately fell in love with it. I love Too Faced’s shadows; I think they are fairly underrated.

  14. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Elise ProperIntro

    Looks nice, too bad I already have so many UD palettes and 2 from theBalm that I already have dupes of the palete…I guess I’m missing out on this!

  15. Monica!

    O wow, really loving this one! I have been passing on TF palettes, mainly because of the chunky glitter on many of the eyeshadows that is so uncomfortable and messy… but this one seems very nice, I don’t care I have *ahem* more that too many dupes of some of the colors

  16. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rad Rad

    Oh this is beautiful – top of my wishlist. The quality looks great. I like how they’ve finally made a palette to suit all skin colours too.

  17. I was hoping that this would be a great palette, simply because I LOVED the marketing of it. Come payday, this will be MINE!

  18. Gemma

    I have bought this already. it is smooth and pigmentef,,nice palette,,,gold case is nice too!

  19. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rebecca Rebecca

    I saw this at Ulta and I had 20% off and didn’t get it and I really regret it. All the colors are beautiful.

  20. thepaigest

    I have to say I’ve taking a vacation from Too Faced but I’m feeling what they are selling here!! Love the names. Who ever came up with them high five! That’s totally fetch lol

  21. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cat Cat G

    I’ve never tried Too Faced eyeshadows but this review makes them sound great! I find the color selection on this palette interesting,a nice mix of neutrals and pops of color.

  22. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Barma BB

    I love Too Faced!

  23. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

    Gorgeous palette! Too many dark and warm shades for me to fully utilize it, but I can see a bold eye fan having a lot of fun with this. :)

  24. Dangit! I had convinced myself I didn’t need this, but your review is changing my mind!

  25. Christine, is there enough similarity between Instigator and shades like UD’s Blitz or MAC’s Old Gold to make them redundant?

  26. I love Too Faced’s eyeshadow palettes and this one looks great. I hope it will be released here soon..

  27. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Elizabeth Elizabeth

    I’m just curious do you think this compares to the Vice palette UD did?

  28. The shades are so gorgeous, but they’re all easily dupeable. I think I’ll pass on this one!

  29. I can’t wait to get my hands on this pallet!!! Love the look of Girly, Fetch, Jailbird and Badass!!!

  30. Audrey

    I actually exchanged my Marc Jacobs The Tease palette for this one due to your wonderful, thorough reviews. I think I offended the Sephora SA lol. “This is the first time I’ve ever seen someone return a Marc Jacobs palette!” Rather odd comment since the collection hasn’t officially launched yet. Of COURSE I’d be first person then!

  31. wow that totally fetch color is really bold!

  32. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rebecca Rebecca

    I REALLY want this palette! I’m a teenager though so it is hard to bring myself to spend that kind of money. The only high end palette I have is the Naked palette, which was a gift from my best friend. I would definitely use this palette if I got it though. Should I go for it? This would be a lot easier if it wasn’t limited edition!

    • The quality is great, and you get a good amount of product for your money. If you like the texture of UD eyeshadows, you’ll like the texture of TF. At least these are all brighter pops of color, so it doesn’t overlap with your Naked palette!

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rebecca Rebecca

        Thanks Christine! I do really love urban decay eyeshadows, and I think I’m gonna give this palette a try.

  33. I love the colors but I hate there’s only one matte! I wish companies would start incorporating more matte shadows into palettes. I hate using glitter in my crease lol. Girly and Totally Fetch are calling my name though. They’re so pretty!