Wednesday, December 11th, 2013

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette ($49.00 for 0.62 oz.) contains sixteen eyeshadows from pale beige to deep bronze, from matte to frost. The smaller eyeshadows are 0.03 oz. each, while the two larger ones are 0.10 oz. each. This palette will launch exclusively at Sephora on December 19th (though it is listed online now, but it is not in stock, and it was previously available for sale–I believe my mistake a couple of weeks ago). As far as I can tell, it’s permanent.  The entire palette smells like sweet cocoa when you open it. The quality varies from shade to shade, with some being beautifully rich in pigment and soft, buttery, and dense in texture, and then there are a couple of misses that are rather powdery, sheer, or a combination of the two. Overall, the palette is more of an adventure in darker, smokier neutrals with a couple of curve balls (pale pink, deep purple), so depending on your stash of neutral palettes, this may be superfluous.  Most of the eyeshadows wore well for around eight hours, with some of the powdery ones fading sooner.

One thing I wish Too Faced would change about how they do their palettes is either include truly, all-brand-new shades or not be afraid to include a shade from a previous release. I’d rather know it’s the same (or have it just be the same) than a 1/4 of a shade different with a new name. When you release large eyeshadow palettes frequently, I know you’re going to have a repeat; that’s okay! just tell us about it! We don’t want to see the same five shades regularly repeated, but it’s not a deal-breaker if a couple make a reappearance.

Gilded Ganache is a dark chocolate brown with warm, caramel undertones and a yellowed bronze shimmer. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft without being powdery. I had minor fall out when I wore this shade. Makeup Geek Utopia (P, $6.99) is more glittery. Too Faced Yule Log (LE) is very similar. MAC Brownluxe #4 (P) is more muted. Urban Decay Snakebite (LE, $18.00) is lighter. Chanel Topkapi #1 (LE) is not quite as warm-toned. See comparison swatches

White Chocolate is a warm-toned, pale beige with a matte finish. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was soft, blendable, but not powdery. There are so, so many shades just like this, including many by Too Faced as they’ve released their palettes. See comparison swatches.

Milk Chocolate is a medium-dark, subtly warm-toned brown with reddish-yellow undertones and a matte finish. It had nice pigmentation, applied smoothly, and was easy to blend out on the lid. Makeup Geek Frappe (P, $5.99) is warmer. Chanel Charming #2 (LE) is slightly cooler-toned. Too Faced Chocolate Milk (LE) is a touch lighter. Wet ‘n’ Wild To Muse and Carouse #2 (LE) Urban Decay Beware (LE, $18.00) theBalm Allegro (P, $16.00) MAC Moleskin (LE, $15.00) Inglot #357 (P, $6.00) See comparison swatches.

Black Forest Truffle is a burgundy-brown with burgundy and bronze sparkle and shimmer. It had a drier, slightly gritty, texture while the color payoff was semi-opaque. Makeup Geek Burlesque (P, $5.99) is lighter, warmer. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #7 (P, $9.99) is more metallic. Disney by Sephora Chateau (LE) is browner. theBalm Alice Copper (P, $16.00) is cooler-toned, brighter. Urban Decay Roach (P, $18.00) is very similar. Estee Lauder Violet Underground #2 (LE, $21.00) is richer. Le Metier de Beaute Bordeaux (P, $30.00) is slightly brighter, more metallic. See comparison swatches.

Triple Fudge is a deep, dark brown with subtle neutral-to-warm undertones and a matte finish. It had fairly good color payoff that’s more buildable when applied to the lid than it seems to appear initially. Laura Mercier Espresso (LE) is slightly cooler-toned. bareMinerals Boardroom (LE) is also a bit cooler-toned. Inglot #326 (P, $6.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Salted Caramel is a warm-toned, muted, medium orange with hints of brown and a matte finish. It had excellent color payoff, but the texture was so soft that it turned powdery. MAC Tete-a-Tint (P, $15.00) is darker, warmer. Makeup Geek Creme Brulee (P, $5.99) is similar. MAC Layin’ Low (P, $18.50) is lighter, cream product. MAC Soft Brown (P, $15.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Marzipan is a warm, peachy-orange with a frosted, slightly metallic, finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and fairly smooth. As a FYI, Too Faced included a shade called “Marzipan” in their Bon Bons palette, but this isn’t the same–the previously-released Marzipan was matte. bareMinerals Ball Gown (LE) is slightly lighter. Makeup Geek Cinderella (P, $5.99) is less frosted. MAC All That Glitters (P, $15.00) is more golden. See comparison swatches.

Semi-Sweet is a medium-dark brown with warm, reddish undertones and a matte finish. The texture was soft, but a little dry and a smidgen powdery, and the pigmentation reflected that as it was semi-opaque. Laura Mercier Truffle (P) is very similar. NARS Self Portrait 3 #1 (LE, $24.00) is darker. MAC Brown Script (P, $15.00) is redder in tone. Inglot #360 (P, $6.00) is similar. Inglot #357 (P, $6.00) is yellower in tone. See comparison swatches.

Strawberry Bon Bon is a cool-toned, light-medium pink with a matte finish. It was soft, blendable, and had good color payoff. NARS Bouthan #1 (P, $24.00) is lighter. Benefit Pause for Applause (P, $20.00) is slightly purpler. Benefit Pinky Swear (P, $20.00) is similar. Inglot #319 (P, $6.00) is brighter, cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Candied Violet is a smuted, smoky violet with cool undertones and multi-colored shimmer. It was very dry and stiff to work with, and the color payoff was sheer. It didn’t work better on the lid either–harder to blend and not buildable at all. Too Faced Jingle All the Way Eyeshadow #6 (LE) is brighter. Sleek MakeUP Romance in Rome (LE, $9.99) is cooler-toned. Urban Decay Voodoo (LE, $18.00) is also cooler-toned. theBalm Lavish Latoya (LE, $16.00) is similar. Urban Decay Half Truth (LE, $18.00) is darker, cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Amaretto is a warm-toned, medium-dark brown with reddish tones and a frosted sheen. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was soft and buttery to the touch. Clarins The Essentials #9 (LE) is very similar. Too Faced Brown Sugar (LE) is darker, less red-toned. MAC Her Cocoa #4 (LE, $15.00) is nearly identical. MAC Divine Decadence (LE, $15.00) is darker, richer. Disney by Sephora Chateau (LE) is less warm-toned. MAC Twinks (P, $15.00) is lighter, yellower in tone. MAC Sable (P, $15.00) is similar. Benefit Dandy Brandy (P, $18.00) is also similar. See comparison swatches.

Hazelnut is a medium-dark, golden bronze with a soft, frosted sheen. The texture was soft but slightly powdery, and it had good color payoff. Chanel Charming #3 (LE) is less frosted, slightly warmer-toned. MAC Her Cocoa #3 (LE, $15.00) is very similar. Illamasqua Dart (P) is a cream product, darker.Urban Decay Ambush (LE, $18.00) is more frosted. Edward Bess Cosmic Bliss #4 (P, $30.00) is similar. Dior Golden Savannah #2 (LE) is also similar.See comparison swatches.

Creme Brulee is a darkened gold with warm undertones and a rich, metallic finish. This shade had excellent pigmentation, and the texture was soft and buttery–one of the best shades in the palette. Maybelline Downtown Brown (P, $6.99) is less metallic. Benefit Thanks a Latte (P, $20.00) is more muted. See comparison swatches.

Haute Chocolate is a slightly muted, dark chocolate brown with warm, reddish undertones and a frosted finish. It had fantastic color payoff, and the texture was so rich and smooth. Too Faced Brown Sugar (LE) is similar, less metallic. theBalm B4 (LE, $16.00) is cooler-toned, less frosted. MAC Friendly (LE, $15.00) is warmer. Inglot #421 (P, $6.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Cherry Cordial is a warm-toned, plummy brown with flecks of sparkle over a matte base. It had semi-opaque color payoff, and the texture was a bit dry and powdery. bareMinerals Stiletto (LE) is darker. Laura Mercier Kir Royal (P) is similar. Too Faced Soiree (LE) is slightly darker. NARS New York (P, $24.00) is more muted, matte. See comparison swatches.

Champagne Truffle is a brightened, pink-tinged white with a golden sheen and metallic finish. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was fairly soft. Too Faced Coquet (LE) is very similar. Kat Von D Instaglam (LE) is also similar. Disney by Sephora Treasures Untold (LE) is also comparable. bareMinerals Glitterati (LE) is slightly pinker. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

palette

The Chocolate Bar

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Gilded Ganache

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

White Chocolate

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Gilded Ganache Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Gilded Ganache Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced White Chocolate Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced White Chocolate Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Milk Chocolate Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Milk Chocolate Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Black Forest Truffle Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Black Forest Truffle Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Triple Fudge Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Triple Fudge Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Salted Caramel Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Salted Caramel Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Marzipan Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Marzipan Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Semi-Sweet Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Semi-Sweet Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Strawberry Bon Bon Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Strawberry Bon Bon Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Candied Violet Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Candied Violet Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Amaretto Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Amaretto Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Hazelnut Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Hazelnut Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Creme Brulee Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Creme Brulee Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Haute Chocolate Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Haute Chocolate Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Cherry Cordial Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Cherry Cordial Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Champagne Truffle Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Champagne Truffle Eyeshadow

Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette
Too Faced Eyeshadows: Champagne Truffle (inner lid), Candied Violet (middle of lid), Black
Forest Truffle (outer lid), Hazelnut (crease), Triple Fudge (crease), White Chocolate (brow)

The Dupe List: Gilded Ganache

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: White Chocolate

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Milk Chocolate

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

133 thoughts on “Too Faced The Chocolate Bar Eye Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. I love the packaging!

  2. Eeeppp…you’re fabulous!!!!! I so want this palette. The choclate smell thing is rather freaky, but I still want it baaaad.

  3. Avatar of Denise Denise

    I was sitting on my $20 Sephora VIB gift card with the intent of using it for this palette. But after reading your review ( and the release coming 3 days after the GC expires), I think I’ll pass! Or at least until it goes on sale in the future, like the Too Faced Loves Sephora palette did.

    • layla

      12/12/13…update..I actually was told by sephora that “only ” the palette is gonna be pushed back for jan 9th…..so..the other items in the collection will be aval. 12/13. So i was bummed cause i wanted to use my sephora coupon also..But i had signed up for Too Faced .com and they emailed ppl that joined the site and today i was able to purchase this and now..its has sold out temp. on too faced site…so i cant wait for mine! sephora is late with theirs i was told. so keep eyes out for it! :)

  4. I wish the packaging of the actual product was like the packaging of the box. :(
    Rikki Recently Posted: My Favourite Cream & Powder Pink Blush Combination: Make Up For Ever & Buxom!

  5. Varika

    I just love the left half of this palette! It makes me really want this palette! Does anyone know of any other smaller palettes that include those types of colors? And I agree, I wish the packaging was the actual pink patterned paper case/box of the palette instead of the chocolate bar look.

    • Maybe something like LORAC Pro? As it has a fair amount of mattes.

      • Varika

        Haha that’s pretty funny because I just bought the Pro Palette recently…guess I’m attracted to the same types of shades

    • I think the left side looks kind of like a combination of the Too Faced Natural at Night palette and the Too Faced Natural Eye palette color scheme wise. Natural at Night is much more sultry with dark warm neutrals and Natural Eye is a bit more natural and suited for people who want simple day time looks. I’m trying to decide if I want the Natural at Night palette or this one, but this seems like a better deal (and the smell is so addictive…). The two palettes I mentioned before are $36 and much smaller.

  6. Varika

    Also, Christine, what is the actual rating? I am a bit confused because it says B+, but if you scroll through the gloss overs, it says A for “The Chocolate Bar”.

  7. Avatar of Heather Heather

    This palette as a whole looks very pretty. [: The candied violet shade in it though seems to perform a lot like the dark purple shade in the Urban Decay Vice 2 palette… can’t think of the name of that shade right now. :/

  8. Wow I am totally lemming this now! Not surpsied that Candied Violet was a poor performer, although I doubt that will deter a lot of people from this palette. It felt a little oddly placed in this assortment, anyway.
    Lauren Recently Posted: My MAC/Benefit Neutrals Palette

  9. I really like the whole chocolate theme :-) The shades all look pretty nice too. Not too crazy about the chocolatey smell though. Don’t get me wrong, I love the smell of chocolate, but not in beauty products.

  10. Manderlay

    Naked 3 or Chocolate Bar? This is the question…

    • I find the quality of N3 to be much, much better personally so that’s where I’d go, but IMO, the shades and composition are quite different.

    • Alia

      This one…pick this one…i hated the Naked 3 palette and returned it!

    • layla

      GET BOTH! i feel naked 3 is more shimmer and this is simple and more matte with those smoked browns….i think if u use the nyx white base…this palette will perform great…plus some ppl forget to tap off excess and apply too much shadow like 5 colors together…well heck after all that….u “will ” have poor performance etc. .

  11. Gilded Ganache is beautiful! Love the gold shimmer! Haute Chocolate, Black Forest Truffle, Hazelnut, and Cherry Cordial are also really pretty!
    Kiara Recently Posted: Holiday Gold and Burgundy Eyeshadow Tutorial!

  12. Allison

    Ugh, the “Candied Violet” shade is so disappointing! Love the concept, but I’m not sure if I’ll be picking this one up,

  13. Tigress

    This is so damn adorable. I have dupes for every shade but I really like this palette.

  14. Avatar of Elizabeth Lizzi

    I already have Naked 1 & 2 and the Shadow Bon Bon palette. Not to mention, my Sephora is holding Naked 3 (which I only really want because of the pink tones) for me until Friday. I think I’ll have to say no to this one. I want it for the sake of makeup hoarding but all the neutral style palette are starting to get very redundant.

  15. Christina D.

    I’ve been wanting this palette since I first read about it, and because Too Faced is one of my favorite brands (my second favorite, actually, right after Urban Decay). But now I’m thinking that maybe I’ll wait to see it in person since Candied Violet was such a weak performer and that’s the shade I like the look of best. D’ya think it could be that you just got a dud, Christine? The rest of the colors swatched beautifully but then again, you always do great swatches.

    But (sigh) I know that I will cave at some point and add this, yet another eyeshadow palette, to my collection.

    • Hey Christina,

      Purple eyeshadows, generally, are harder to make amazing (for whatever reason, probably relating to pigments used) than say a brown eyeshadow (like how many bad bronze eyeshadows have you seen??). If you use a white base, maybe use it with a damp brush, it might perform OK.

  16. I really wanted this to be my first Too Faced purchase but all the shades that were making me want it perform a little iffy, looking at those swatches! And most of the rest of the palette I have similar shades for… What a bummer. I guess I’ll hope I can snatch up the A Few Of My Favourite Things palette instead.

    I have to say, I don’t mind Too Faced renaming shades because they go with a theme and it’s always adorable.
    Nicole Isabella Recently Posted: The Friday Five: Things I Want To Find In My Stocking

  17. I have to say I’m a little relieved this didn’t review better. I just caved and ordered Naked 3 on monday, and then I saw the first picture in this set and had a moment of “oh no, I bought the wrong palette!” This one is so very cute, and the golds look gorgeous

  18. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    Oh look, another neutral palette that’s too warm for me. 9_9 The packaging is a bit twee, but it looks like a cute palette for someone who enjoys their neutrals.

  19. Alia

    OOOH i LOVE this! I have to have this….LOL

  20. The packaging is too cute!
    fancie Recently Posted: Urban Decay Naked 3 Is Here!

  21. I want this palette so bad! I specifically haven’t bought UD’s Naked 3 palette yet, so that I could afford this beauty! Too Faced are really upping their game lately!

  22. Avatar of kris kitkat98

    I must have this! Even tho my 3rd Naked palette jus came today,,this is such a cute concept and all the colors are gorgeous! But i read else where it wasnt coming out until Spring..? But guel i will be on it the 19th! Thanks hun!;)

  23. Ehhhh, I am up to my eyes in neutrals now with all 3 Naked palettes. Also, the Too Faced bronzer with cocoa powder in it broke me out like craaaaaaazy (still seeing the scars since I’m a picker), so I’m loathe to try these.

  24. Avatar of Tory Tory C.

    I feel like this palette has a mix of shades from all 3 Naked palettes. I don’t own any of the Naked palettes and definitely can’t afford all 3 at this point. Thoughts about this being a replacement for those?

    • I’m not sold on the quality of this palette, to be honest.

      • Well this comment sold me on NOT buying it. I love the idea of it – I think it’s beautiful, I’m sure I’d love the smell, and I just WANT to love it – but in reality, I’ve got too many neutrals as it is, and I’d probably be buying it just for the cuteness factor. These companies really know how to hook us with their packaging don’t they?!

  25. SummerFabulous

    As much as I own every “neutral” eye shadow palette out there, something about it just smelling like chocolate, all the more makes me want to buy it!.. I love the bronzer I own that does…. I”m on the fence, since it’s permanent I may wait a bit, but eventually I’ll cave im sure! xo

  26. Sigh, if only Gilded Ganache were available as a single shade . . .

  27. i always get interested in palettes, but truly, there are only a few shadows that i’m interested in, which is most of the unique shimmery/glittery shades… i rarely can justify buying palette after palette =/ except UD and Kat von D just sucker me right in.. they always make my favorite things.

  28. The case of the palette looks so adorable! I’d get one of these. Hopefully they are available in different colors. :)

  29. Avatar of Shanti Shanti

    I love the packaging and the idea of scented shadows… so kitschy and cute. Even though I have plenty shadows like this I need this lol.

  30. Avatar of Jennifer Jen

    Wow, this is the first I’ve seen of this and it looks super tempting! xo

  31. beck

    I don’t need i but I want it!
    I am a sucker for that chocolate
    bar motif & chocolate scent!
    Kudos Too Faced!! I am usualy not
    interested in their products..

  32. Avatar of Leslie Leslie

    My Too Faced Shadows are among the most used in my stash. I need this.

  33. Avatar of Joyce JJ

    I really wanted this palette but may be not so much now. I don’t own any neutral palette and thought this might be my first. May be I will go for naked 1 or I saw somewhere there will be a set of all three naked palettes. Don’t think I need 3 naked palettes though and I am not that into pinkish tone. I only own one higher end palette so far, a Laura mercier holiday palette from 2 or 3 years ago. I am not impressed by it. Not sure if I got a bad one but all the shadows don’t show up well, nothing like the swatches I saw online. I use it because I paid for it but I don’t like it. I am happy with my Japanese “drugstore” palettes though, very pretty/shiny and so sleek and travel friendly. Sorry I went off topic. Thanks for the review Christine!

  34. Really cute, but it sounds like they haven’t improved their eyeshadow formulas much :(

  35. I love this!! All the shades are right up my alley, smokey brown eyes suit me to a tee! I also love the fact that they made the highlight shades big, I go through highlighters quickly so I love that detail. The purple is undoubtedly disappointing, but all the shades I’d use frequently look stunning. I may actually buy this one!

  36. This pallet looks divine! I think it looks even better than Urban Decay Naked 1, 2,3… The only thing I really don`t like are 2 big shadows, they are just too big I don`t get it.

  37. A B+ would normally deter me from getting a palette…..but I’m a real sucker for neutral/brown palettes. :D

  38. I love the colors in this, but it’s quite frosty for my taste. The packaging is adorable though!
    Judith Recently Posted: Skin care routine essentials

  39. Love this! Candied Violet is the only sort of wildcard shade in here for me. But otherwise, I may be picking this up soon!

  40. Michelle

    i love the packaging! Christine you think this is similar to Lorac pro palette? which one you prefer?
    thanks!

  41. Roxie

    Love the whole colors! I think I prefer to take it first than UD3. Love the browns!

  42. Avatar of Olivia Olivia

    Too bad at this point I have about 500 browns/gold/bronze colors…. or I would totally get this.

  43. Avatar of Rachel rachel

    yeah, i have naked basics, naked 1, naked 2, naked 3, the kat von d saint palette of neutrals, the lorac pro, the laura mercier artist one (though it’s very plum-y).. but I NEED THIS!!!!

  44. zFashionizta

    Its on the too faced website now, the entire collection.
    mmm….chocolate with no calories!

    I ordered it as well that the limited edition Candy Bar pop out pallete and the new brow lift pencil.
    I used code: PRETTY20 and saved 20%!

  45. Mariela B

    Please do a video on this!!!

  46. This one looks very wearable, but seems I can dupe it with my current collection, so I guess it’s better for someone who’s getting into makeup.

  47. Karin Ho

    Gonna skip this one as I think too many colors are similar to their Xmas Fav Things Palette. Who gonna know if I wear a slightly lighter or darker chocolate?

  48. Avatar of Elena Elena

    I can’t wait for this… Wonder what the release date for Europe is

  49. Ericka

    So I got this palette and I love it. I admit that I was disappointed in the candied violet shade until I spoke to a mua rep for too faced and she told me that the candied violet shade is suppose to act like a overlay shadow much like the shade party time from the a few of my favorite things palette… It still probably won’t get much use even though I am obsessed with glitter on the lid, but it my disappointment level go down

  50. Brenda

    Will this item be exclusive to señora or will it be available to ulta as well?

  51. Avatar of Karen Karen

    This is now available on Sephora web site!

  52. Laura

    How does Crème Brulee compare to UD Half Baked?

  53. The creme brulee is gorgeous! Love it.

  54. Avatar of Emily Emily

    Did this ever release in the sephora store ?

  55. Avatar of Denise Denise

    Is this palette comparable to the Naked 1 palette? I am on the fence with this one! Or are there other similar palettes that perform better?

  56. Would you say this palette is comparable to the Naked 1 at all? I am on the fence about this product (I have my Ulta F&F discount!). Would you recommend it overall?

  57. Too bad we can’t have it here in France (except on command with some help)
    The colors looks pretty fine for everyday/evening look **

    • Jessica

      mais elle va être dispo en France vers mi-février (et si tu es parisienne y’en a déjà au Sephora des Champs) :)))

  58. Avatar of Ana Ana

    Well I’ve made up my mind about this palette! After weeks of obsessing over this palette you’ve helped me. If I’m gonna pay $50 bucks of my hard earned money it better be close to perfect and be everything a high end palette should be. Thanks for the honest review Christine!

  59. Avatar of Ammara Ammara

    What’s on your lower lid?

  60. Marzipan is a repeat shadow.It was also in Too Faced Bon Bon shadow palette holiday 2012

  61. Avatar of Stephanie Elena lena

    i never understand why certain shades are trouble for others and good for the other half it seems so weird…i own this palette and candied violet performs fine for me but other shades that everyone else find amazing i find them difficult to work with…it seems so odd lol i always wondered why this happens.

  62. Kirstin

    I have to say I fell in love with the colors after seeing this the second time around.
    I have been looking for a brown palette. I have the Lorac Pro and Unzipped, as well as the Naked 2&3.
    I am neutral to cool toned and I know this palette is warm toned overall, like you stated, but do you think this would still look okay on cool toned skin (/neutral)? It seems many colors are a bit cooler.

    I really need some browns and this palette has some great light colors, especially some matte ones that I think would be perfect for the crease. I also use a light hand with dark and really warm tones.

    Any palettes that consist of matte colors great for the crease and shimmers that anyone would suggest for me instead of this one? Right now I’m set on this one but always open to suggestions.
    Thanks for the help!!

    • I think this palette would still work on cooler-toned skin – how do you like N2 on you? I think if N2 works for you, this should be no problem.

      • Kirstin

        I’m not gunna lie. I got the N2 and N3 at the same time just recently for my birthday. I was so excited for the pink shades that I have used the N3 so much and haven’t even touched my N2!! Crazy I know, but I don’t wear makeup every day.

        I’ll definitely give the N2 a go a few times before I invest in this one. I’m also going to swatch it again. I have liked my Lorac Unzipped and it’s definitely warm toned so I think this one could work well for me. Finding a brown palette with good mattes, especially for crease shades is hard!! (Even thought i have the lorac pro). I prefer palettes over buying individual shadows because it’s a better value and easier for me to take out a palette or 2 than a bunch of individuals. I am worried about your opinion on the quality thought. We’ll see how it goes! At least I can say I have a gift card so it won’t be a loss of precious cash, otherwise I couldn’t get it right now.

        Thanks for responding!

  63. Kirstin

    Over-commenting possibly, and I never comment. But I wanted to thank you for your wonderful reviews. I always come here first to check out a product, and enjoy them most. I see the hard work and time you out into them.

    Thanks again
    Kirstin

  64. CatWink

    Dear Christine, hi girls,
    Can someone compare this palette to the Naked ones? I have UD Naked 1 and 3 and Naked Basics, and though I’m tempted, I can’t make myself buy it. I am not able to see the palette in person – I have to order it online. It has some nice matte shades and a few colorful neutrals, but since I have 3 neutral palettes I feel like this one is too similar to 1+Basics that I can’t justify the purchase. Though, if someone has both ( Chocolate Bar & Naked 1, 2, and/or Basics), can you compare it: is it worth having? How much are the colors similar? I don’t understand why are there only review comparisons “Chocolate bar vs. Naked 3″ when Naked 3 is really pink while CB is brown-er? It would be nice if there was a Chocolate bar vs. UD Naked line comparison…. Thanks, it would mean a lot.

    • If you have all three Naked palettes, you’re pretty much covered when it comes to neutrals. Any shades that might overlap would be mentioned under dupes by shade, so you might look for any Urban Decay dupes listed in the review and see if you have those :)

  65. Chocolate bar colors make for great eye makeup shades, pretty!
    doris Recently Posted: Eyes Lips Face Cosmetics Haul

  66. Best palette EVER! Colors are beautiful and extremely versatile. I am not finding any of the shades powdery at all. Hated Naked 3 palette… This one wins hands down

  67. finally someone who agrees with me, i did a review on the chocolate bar palette and i found candied violet to be a really bad eyeshadow while everyone raved about it, i thought it was just my batch until you had the same problem.

  68. Tara

    I was debating this palette. I really loved it and knew I’d use it a lot but…I have tons of neutral palettes in my stash already. I really adore Too Faced palettes though, especially the ones in metal tins. They are just so charming and their eye shadows are beautiful! When I saw the HSN promo to get the palette AND a full sized TFSI for $29 with free shipping I caved immediately, lol. I’m super excited to get it! Thanks for the wonderful review and photos! <3

  69. Avatar of Elisa Elisa M

    Please help me! I’m so in love with this pallete but I also want to buy the LORAC Pro Palette since a long time! Between these two palettes, which one would you choose?

    • What I would do is go through each palette and tick off how many shades you’d use OFTEN! and which ones you might like but know you wouldn’t use very much. Whichever has more, I’d go that way! They’re both nice palettes.

  70. Angele

    I bought this on Thursday with my 15% off VIb coupon. I’m still on the fence the color payoff from the swatches aren’t convincing me. I guess we shall see

  71. Nina

    I have debating on getting this for SO LONG! I am still iffy about getting it….. Anyone have any idea when it might go on sale??

    • It’s permanent, so you’ll probably only see it on sale if there’s a % off at the retailer.

    • I just bought it today for 20% off at the toofaced site. You do have to get $50.00 product to get free shipping but you will get 20% off of that too. I bought the chocolate bar and the candy bar pallette for $54 total. Use coupon code PRETTY20

  72. Been trying to convince myself that I don’t need this but I need a reward for a really tough couple of weeks and I’ve decided I’m kind of in love. Got some discounts and savings lined up for when I finish a big research paper, yay, initiative! :)

    Anyways, Christine, do you think Naked2′s Bootycall is in any way similar to Champagne Truffle? I’m glad for the large pan of that color, but I’m probably the minority who would have rather had a good matte brown in the place of White Chocolate, or maybe two other smaller colors.

  73. I’ve also tested palettes Naked 1 & 2 and am starting warming up to the #3 :)

  74. heysalm

    Hi! I’ve never bought any of those expensive eyeshadow palette. And ive also got too many choices. Please help me what to get. Which one’s better and worth it; Naked, N2, N3, Lorac Pro or this?? Thanks!

    • I like N1 the most myself, but it really depends on your skin tone, what kind of looks you go for (lighter, darker, mix), and whether you like really shimmery shades as well. LORAC is the most well balanced.

  75. Nita

    How does the shade Creme Brûlée compare to Urban Decay Half Baked? Thanks in advance :)

  76. Dani

    For once I have to disagree on the quality of this palette. I almost always agree with you on reviews but this palette is fab. It should of at least got an A or A- still love your reviews and swatches! Also I’m completely a neutral or cool and I find the shades more neutral then warm.

    • Maybe yours is better :) The palette is nice, but I know that once I start breaking it down shade-by-shade, while I might think, “This is pretty nice!” the numbers end up telling a different story when they’re averaged out!