Thursday, August 15th, 2013

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette ($60.00) is described as “deep black/brown, light charcoal, and silver lead.” It’s a limited edition palette that contains three eyeshadows; mine came in sample packaging (no official labels or boxes), so I’m not sure of the amount of product in each, but the pans don’t look small. Tom Ford’s fall collection has started popping up at local counters but not yet online, though I’m sure it will be soon as the official launch is September. This is a nice, fairly neutral palette–except it does have a sparkly kick–that I could see some using near-daily and really enjoying. For others, it’s too basic, and I’m sure many of us have similar shades in our stashes.

I was actually quite surprised (pleasantly!) that the sparkly shade didn’t have as much fall out as I’ve seen with other Tom Ford palettes (there is some, but I’d describe it as minor–room for improvement, not disastrous). I wore all three shades together, and I didn’t have any issues with the colors fading or creasing over an eight-hour period (no primer) but some faint signs of fading as we neared nine hours (and then it continued to fade).  Tom Ford actually released an eye primer with this collection (I don’t have it), but I’m certainly curious how it would perform with his sparkly shades (it purports to deliver 15-hour wear). The texture of the palette is incredible, as the two less shimmery shades were unbelievably silky, and then the sparkly shade felt more like a cream than a powder.

She Wolf #1 is a dark brown with neutral to cool undertones. It has a matte finish, and it had good color payoff. The texture was very, very soft–incredibly finely-milled, and you don’t need a lot of pressure to get product on the brush. If you use a lot of pressure, it can get a little powdery. Dior Night Golds #3 is sparkly. bareMInerals Apropos is cooler-toned. MAC Showstopper is similar. LORAC Espresso is slightly darker. bareMinerals Boardroom is a touch warmer. theBalm Matt Ramirez is similar. See comparison swatches.

She Wolf #2 is a dark, gray-tinged brown with reddish-orange tones. It appears to be warm-toned, but the surface has a gray cast to it. It had great color payoff, and the texture felt silky-smooth! Urban Decay Barlust is darker. MAC Aloha is lighter. Guerlain Turandot #4 is warmer. See comparison swatches.

She Wolf #3 is a sparkly, medium brown with slight yellow undertones. It feels almost wet in the pan, and it yields good color payoff (surprisingly!) that was both color and sparkle. Applied, there was some fall out (and I patted it on with a flat, firm brush–MAC’s 242) during application, but very minimal additional fall out while worn. I noticed a few sparkles after eight hours of wear, but the majority had somehow managed to stick to the lid. (I have always had fairly bad luck with Tom Ford’s sparkly shades.)   Disney Sultana is less sparkly. MAC Romantico is darker, warmer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

She Wolf

A-

This is a nice, fairly neutral palette--except it does have a sparkly kick--that I could see some using near-daily and really enjoying. For others, it's too basic, and I'm sure many of us have similar shades in our stashes. I was actually quite surprised (pleasantly!) that the sparkly shade didn't have as much fall out as I've dealt with in other Tom Ford palettes.

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

She Wolf #1

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

She Wolf #2

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf #1 Ombre Eye Color

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf #1 Ombre Eye Color

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf #2 Ombre Eye Color

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf #2 Ombre Eye Color

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf #3 Ombre Eye Color

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf #3 Ombre Eye Color

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette
Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette

The Dupe List: She Wolf #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: She Wolf #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: She Wolf #3

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

57 thoughts on “Tom Ford She Wolf Ombre Eye Color Trio Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Stephanie

    This is sooo pretty!!

  2. this is such a pretty palette.

  3. This is subtle gorgeousness.. I love this palette, but do I really need more neutrals. ◔◡◔

  4. Alexis

    I’m sure I have something like this somewhere but I feel that I absolutely need this.

  5. Liz

    Very pretty. I won’t buy it, but it looks really nice.

  6. Rebecca

    I’ve only seen Tom Ford and Sonia Kashuk do the sparkle shadows in every palette.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

      The first thing that came to mind when I saw the glitter swatch was the Sonia Kashuk line (although the Tom Ford is probably a bit more pigmented).

  7. Lauren

    This is GORGEOUS! I wish I had the skin tone to pull it off. I’m pretty darn pale, though, so I don’t think I could pull off such dark shades, even though the rest of my coloring is similar to yours, Christine!

  8. I don’t care if I already have colors like it. I still want it :)

  9. HI Christine,

    I’m surprised by how much I like the Tom Ford She Wolf palette! The colors are really great renditions on basic shades!

  10. Although it’s kind of basic (two of the shades, at least), it looks like it would be the kind of thing I’d use all the time. That first shade looks like how I wanted Showstopper to look in terms of payoff, but I’ve never had it be quite that good.

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Liz Liz

    Absolutely lovely. Gotta love a gorgeous neutrals palette.

  12. Brian McDowell

    Loving the idea of a taupe with a warm base…so many look awful on peach/yellow based skin tones like mine (and yours!)!

    Christine, the photo of that glitter shadow is too beautiful for words… It looked amazing on you too. Thank you for sharing!

  13. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Arlene Arlene

    I want this! It’s so gorgeous.

  14. Nice, neutral shades, but shades I already have.
    I love your eye look too. ^^

  15. Maxim

    Looks like perfection.

    I was wondering – do you happen to know if it’s similar at all to the Tom Ford Silvered Topaz quad? I have that one, and I can’t help but think that the two are similar (hence, not sure if to get another one :D)

    Thanks!

  16. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Malia Malia

    Beautiful ! Just beautiful.

  17. Where can you find Tom Ford products? I’ve never seen them in Canada but I’m going to NYC next week, does like saks or barneys carry it?

  18. Love the colours, but love the name of the palette more LOL

  19. The Clarins quad last Holiday Season (2012/13) had a gold shadow that seems very much like the texture and your description of the texture/application of #3 in this trio, Christine, except that it was very GOLD (and gorgeous). I’m loving the look of this trio but – big shocker – I have dupes of the other 2 shades in it (several dupes, and #1 and 2 look very much like colours in the Guerlain Les Fumes quad (which I absolutely love).

  20. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Mahnaz Mahnaz

    Hi Christine,

    Do you have any idea which websites are selling these palettes? I have looked on every website that I can think of, but cannot find it anywhere. :( Thanks.

  21. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Linda Linda

    I’m already a sucker for neutrals, but the name of this palette has pushed it onto my “must buy” list. :) Now I can’t get that Shakira song out of my head!

    Theeeere’s a sheee-wolf in the closet, oooopen up and seeet it free (aaauuuuuu)….

  22. Very pretty but not sure if justifiable considering I have many similar colors waiting to even be used!

  23. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Mariam Mariam

    I told u not to :(

  24. taryn pearson

    Do you know when it will be launched and where it can be purchased? Thanks :)

  25. This seriously looks amazing!!!

  26. TLC

    This is a beautiful palette. I usually do not like a neutral look, but I could see myself using this product.

  27. Really pretty .. but seems like I have much of the same or similar colors already.

    Monica.

  28. This is so fab shade 3 is so unusual, don’t know many like it!

  29. Tori

    I was worried about the sparkly shade because the beautiful bronzy shadow in Cognac Sable didn’t apply as I would have liked it to but now that I’ve been reassured, I’m probably going to get both quads (plus the primer and the eyeliner). Don’t know if this is the right thing to be saying but thanks, Christine! ;)

  30. Courtney K

    I really like this..but I can’t justify $60 for it. :(

  31. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Susan Susan Dowman Nevling

    I have to have this but it’s not for sale anywhere I looked online. Please let us know if you learn of it’s availability. Thanks Christine!

  32. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Anna Anna

    Sadly no where ships to Canada. :( Bergdorf Goodman doesn’t ship cosmetics to Canada, neither does Saks and Neiman Marcus. AWH :(

  33. Lori

    Are thy the same quality as the Tom Ford and are there any similar colors” in quads ? Thx

    • Hi Lori,

      I don’t have many of the quads, so I don’t know if there is any overlap. I think this is better than the quads, but I wasn’t a huge fan of his quads (except for a couple of the LE ones!).

  34. Amalia

    I love your eye looks, they are always an inspiration . Big hugs from Paros Greece!

  35. This is absolutely stunning! I can’t quite come to grips with the $60 price tag, but maybe I’ll ask for it for a birthday present! :) Thanks for the great review and comparisons!

  36. I am really drawn to this palette! Very subtle, elegant, and somehow a little magical.

  37. Caroline

    This is lovely!! And since I celebrate a milestone birthday this year, I might just treat myself *rubs hands gleefully*

  38. Alicia

    I just love TF eyeshadows! They told me at the counter to use your finger and press on the glitter (I’m sure you already know this lol) so I never have much fallout…and my eyes never get irritated(super sensitive eyes). Will you be doing a seductive rose quad review?? Thanx for the awesome reviews!!

  39. giovanna

    I think this is a review for ‘In the Pink’…not ‘She Wolf.’ I may be mistaken, but looking at other swatches I thought ‘She Wolf’ was the darker of the two limited edition trios. Not a huge deal but you may want to rename the post.

    I do love this look though and was tempted to buy ‘She Wolf’ but seeing how great this looks on your skin tone (mine is similar) I may have to buy ‘In the Pink’ instead!