Wednesday, October 9th, 2013

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad ($78.00 for 0.35 oz.) is a pink and purple themed palette. Tom Ford’s eyeshadows have four finishes: “sheer sparkle, satin, shimmer, and matte.” They’re supposed to “offer a spectrum of intensity and effects” with “excellent adhesion.” Overall, it’s a good quad, though not without its imperfections. The sparkly shade does produce some fall out during wear, though it’s minimal, it’s something to note. The lightest shade is on the sheerer side, which may be right up your alley if you intend to use it as a highlight shade, but for those who wanted something more opaque, it will be a let down. The colors go well together, and it’s certainly a very a harmonious set of shades.

Lavender Lust #1 is a pinky lavender with white sparkle. It had fairly good color payoff, and the texture was soft, finely-milled, and smooth. This shade wore well (no fading or creasing) for nine hours but had some slight fall out over time. CoverGirl Blazing Purple (340) (P, $4.99) is a bit darker, less sparkly. L’Oreal With a Twist (LE, $7.99) is darker, purpler. Urban Decay Grifter (P, $18.00) is darker. Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 #1 (LE) is cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Lavender Lust #2 is a medium-dark, smoky purple with subtle, warm undertones and a pearly sheen. It had very nice pigmentation and applied smoothly and evenly. It wore well without fading or creasing for nine hours. Urban Decay Voodoo (LE, $18.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Black Grape (P, $21.00) is more sparkly. Dior Constellation (864) #4 (LE) is similar, less metallic. theBalm Lavish Latoya (LE, $16.00) is darker, cooler-toned. Urban Decay ACDC (P, $18.00) is slightly darker. See comparison swatches.

Lavender Lust #3 is a pale, lavender-tinted white with a pink iridescent sheen. It was semi-opaque in pigmentation, though the texture was incredibly soft and finely-milled. I checked it a few times, as it’s such a light shade that it can be hard to tell opacity against my skin tone, but it’s more opaque than sheer–there’s some translucency there, though. It seemed like it might be a satin finish. It wore well for almost eight hours but looked somewhat faded after nine hours of wear. Fyrinnae Unicorn (P, $8.25) is cooler-toned, lighter. MAC Digit (P, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Ready to Party (LE, $21.00) is more metallic. MAC Triple Impact (LE, $21.00) is more metallic, less pink. Guerlain Attrape-Coeur #1 (LE) is similar. Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Datura (P, $14.00) is purpler. See comparison swatches.

Lavender Lust #4 is a dark, red-toned purple with violet and plum shimmer. It had a satiny finish, and it had decent color payoff, but the texture was noticeably drier than the other three shades–soft but dry. It’s a shade that I’d probably use damp more often than not. With a fluffy crease brush, the dryness wasn’t noticeable during application. Urban Decay Tornado (LE, $18.00) is darker. Le Metier de Beaute Matte Plum (LE, $30.00) is similar. MAC Highly Charged (LE, $18.50) is a cream product. MAC Grape (LE, $32.50) is brighter, warmer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
palette

Lavender Lust

B+

The sparkly shade does produce some fall out during wear, though it's minimal, it's something to note. The lightest shade is slightly sheer, which may be right up your alley if you intend to use it as a highlight shade, but for those who wanted something more opaque, it will be a let down.

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Lavender Lust #1

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Lavender Lust #2

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #1 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #1 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #2 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #2 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #3 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #3 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #4 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust #4 Eye Color

Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad
Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad

The Dupe List: Lavender Lust #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Lavender Lust #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Lavender Lust #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

38 thoughts on “Tom Ford Lavender Lust Eye Color Quad Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Liking only the darkest purple shade from the quad.. rest of the shades are quite sheer.. :)

  2. I think Tom Ford does the best quads EVER, but I remember I almost hated Golden Mink when I tested it out last year, seeing that so many raves about it. I just have Cognac Sable cause in my country it’s almost 100$ and I don’t have a regular income to purchase these amounted products, but I am sooo iin love with it that it seems enough on its own :)
    I really wanted to get Cobalt Rush and Violet Dusk but those and Burnished Amber are discontinued I guess. I became sad especially about the disappearance of Cobalt Rush. I hope I get to find one when the time really comes! lol Cause now it seems like all his quads are cool toned and carry mostly greys and purples, which I don’t like that much.

  3. I love this quad (: these colors work well together

  4. I really like the look you have created with it, so I am willing to let that one little con slip :-)

  5. I was hoping for the price that this quad would have had a higher rating.

  6. Liz

    L’oreal used to have a palette called Lavender Smokes, which was quite similar. I’m not sure if they still make it.

    • Kati

      I was just thinking of that palette. I’m pretty sure I have it in my makeup bag somewhere.

      • Avatar of Amy xamyx

        I just pulled mine out to compare. I’d say the TF is on the “pinker” side, but they are quite similar (especially the darkest & lightest shades).

        These are totally “my” colors, and as a result, I’m quite certain I could dupe this quad at 90+% accuracy. Besides, at nearly $80, I don’t find the effort to trek to a TF counter worth it. If I’m going to lay out the cash, the least a brand can do. Do is make their products accessible.

  7. Beautiful palette and they eyeshadows are so pigmented!

  8. Sooooooo pretty but I’ve heard mixed things about the pigmentation and the quads are a bit too expensive to get it wrong, so I’m still on the fence with these. Xx

  9. heavenleiblu

    *Sees price, closes tab* LOL

  10. Avatar of Pami Pami

    I love the variety of textures and tones, great for a quad, plus I’m always drawn to purples and pinks. It will be hard not to splurge on this beauty! :) On the other hand, most of his quads are stunning…sigh…

  11. Avatar of Terri Terri

    The colors are so lovely to look at in the pan. I love pinks/purples but at that price? Yeah, it should be perfect. Still it’s pretty!!

  12. stacey

    Glitter is my middle name. I thought i would like this one and the other one, but I bought Orchid Haze instead. It is a warmer version of Enchanted. The glitter is almost clear. I am not usually a matte person. Hopefully Tom Ford will send Orchid Haze for Christine to review.

  13. Beautiful Product! I love the way number #4 is popping out in the swatches here.

  14. Beautiful eye look you’ve done, don’t love the palette itself, but you made it work so weel! :)

  15. This is such a pretty quad but sooo pricey! I think the NARS fairy kiss palette has some similar shades so maybe I’ll go with that. Thanks for the review!

  16. Avatar of beka Beka

    What are you wearing on your lower lash/waterline? It’s the best part of the look!

  17. Just bought eye color similar to this one. I really love making myself pretty all the time because I am comfortable doing it. I also get attention when I apply it on my eyes.

  18. I don’t own any Tom Ford quads (or any other TF makeup in general), but I was starting to toy with the thought of getting Lavender Lust. I must say, I’m relieved that it’s not all that great lol. I understand it’s a lot of product, but I just can’t get myself to jump from $60 (Dior, Chanel, Guerlain) to $78 for an eyeshadow quad, considering that I’ll never use them up before they get too old… Phew!