Tuesday, February 18th, 2014

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad ($78.00 for 0.35 oz.) is a cool-toned palette that features shades of white, gray, silver, and bluish-gray. I feel like I’m in the minority, but generally, I’m not over-the-moon with the brand’s eyeshadow formula or their quads. I thought this review would be a nice companion to yesterday’s palette review to show that products can miss at any price point. Though every shade feels like silk and lightness, they don’t apply well. The texture just doesn’t seem to adhere well and each one yields a soft wash of color, and the darkest shade looked uneven and dry on my lid. I’ve been on-and-off testing Tom Ford’s eyeshadow primer, and so as this was under-performing on its own, I also wore it over that and was equally unimpressed. That dry, patchy application of the darkest shade didn’t improve at all over the brand’s primer, which did surprise me somewhat. Sometimes the glittery shade works well for me, other times they do result in fall out–this one had some fall out, but most of it occurs during application and only some occurs during wear (but enough to be noticeable). All four eyeshadows looked faded after seven hours of wear, and the frosted silver showed some creasing. I have loved some of Tom Ford’s quads, but I have also been burned by a few, and this one was a miss for me.

Ice Queen #1 is a brightened, neutral-to-cool white with a frosted, almost metallic, finish. This was the best-performing shade in the palette, as the texture was soft, smooth, and adhered to the lid. The color payoff was fairly good, but this is such a basic shade (so it’s good to have it somewhere ni your stash), there are a lot of dupes — see comparison swatches.

Ice Queen #2 is a sparkly, light-medium silver with a glittery, metallic finish. It had semi-sheer color payoff, but it’s best applied as a sheer wash as it gets chunky and clingy when layered. I would highly recommend applying your eye makeup first so that the glittery excess can be cleaned up prior to applying your base products. It did have some fall out during wear (beyond what occurred during application). Much like the previous shade, this, too, is a shade that has been done a lot in the beauty world — see comparison swatches.

Ice Queen #3 is a light-medium gray with a soft, pearly sheen. It had so-so color payoff, and I did not find it buildable on the lid. The texture is soft, finely-milled, and velvety. The finish of this shade made it difficult to dupe. Chanel Fascination #2 (P) is much lighter. Guerlain Les Gris #2 (P) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Ice Queen #4 is a muted, dark bluish-gray with a matte finish. The texture, while undeniably soft and silky, was quite powdery and chalky in application. It seemed to cling to the skin and apply unevenly–it looked dry and patchy on my eyelid, even when applied over primer. It was extremely difficult to blend, because the more I blended, the drier and more uneven it looked. NARS Mandchourie #2 (P, $24.00) is bluer. MAC Typographic (P, $15.00) is grayer. Guerlain Les Gris #1 (P) is darker. bareMinerals Amnesia (P) is darker. bareMinerals Maven (LE) is bluer. MAC Plumage (P, $15.00) is less gray. Inglot #389 (P, $6.00) is bluer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
palette

Ice Queen

D+

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

7/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Ice Queen #1

B-

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Ice Queen #2

C-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

6/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #1 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #1 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #2 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #2 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #3 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #3 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #4 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen #4 Eyeshadow

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad

Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad
Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad over Tom Ford Eye Primer
(with Sephora My Boyfriend’s Jeans Eyeliner)

The Dupe List: Ice Queen #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Ice Queen #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Ice Queen #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

69 thoughts on “Tom Ford Ice Queen Eyeshadow Quad Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Wow, this is hideously disappointing. A silvery, icy quad is nice in concept at least?

  2. A $78 eyeshadow quad better rate higher than for me to get it. Wow! how is that possible!

  3. For the price, this is INEXCUSABLE!!!
    Kayvid Recently Posted: DHC Cleansing Oil Review

  4. zainab

    I think this is one pitfall of pricing your brand’s offerings this high- I’d have to be absolutely stunned by this to even consider it, whereas even at MAC pricing I’d overlook some flaws if I really liked the look of a quad. As it is, I feel almost offended that whoever let this get through quality control thinks a consumer would spend that much money on something this sub par.

    • A lot of people really like Tom Ford’s quads and in general, I’m not a fan (there are some I like, though), so I don’t know – maybe it’s just me.

      • Avatar of Karen Karen

        No it’s not just you. There are a few others not overly impressed with all the TF quads. This one in particular was singled out for quality pretty much getting similar ratings all around. I’m actually surprised you didn’t rate it lower after reading some other reviews.

        • Hmm, I only read rave reviews for this one, though I know I didn’t read every single review written on it!

          • Avatar of Karen Karen

            The only thing I can tell you is that it was just random blogs I picked out in a search when I saw it was available after the holidays. Reading your review about the sheerness, the chunky glitter, so so color payoff was deja vu. Or maybe I just dreamed it, lol!

  5. At $90 Canadian, Tom has to do a WHOLE lot better than a D+ to get my loonies and twonies! If I want a mediocre quality grey-toned palette, I can turn to Maybelline!

  6. Pretty pathetic quality for that price tag :)

  7. Stacey

    I own other quads by Tom Ford. But not this one becuz it just doesn’t look unique.

    • What are your favorites, Stacey?

      • Stacey

        I like the Emerald Lust (which by the way that collection along with Enchanted is now is Asia). I put Mac Satin Taupe and line Sapphire over it. Glitter is my middle name. I have Golden Mink, Titanium Smoke and Orchid Haze. I don’t use them all the time, but that is what I tested and bought. Aside note, I actually like Sonia Kushnik glitter shadow.
        This one you tested just looks awful. The matte black in Titanium Smoke is nice….

        • Emerald Lust and Enchanted are my personal favorites, but the formula is totally different from the one used in the rest of the quads (so it’s not surprising that though I LOVE those, I’m not sold on the others). I have Orchid Haze, and I might have Titanium Smoke (I can’t remember). Orchid Haze is okay; for the price, I need near-perfection, so it leaves me less enthused, but it’s a nice color combo!

          • Gladys L.

            This new launch of LE release of Emerald Lust and Enchanted has storage issue. Japan counters didn’t realize it, and HK counters need to delay the release date to gain some time in drying up the damp e/s…

  8. You might be in the minority but it’s a welcome minority! Haha! This is why I don’t have many of these and don’t review them! Cheers! :) xo

    • I find them hit or miss… sometimes they’re really nice, and they all FEEL nice initially but too powdery or a lack of binding… something. The ones I liked best were the LE summer ones that had a totally different formula.

  9. Not to keen on this palette. I love a really good silver eye-shadow with the right amount of pigmentation but these look a bit chalky and flat to me. For the price they definitely shouldn’t be!

  10. Wow. That’s a super shame! It looks great in the palette, and I love the name, but oof, those swatches are just sad.
    Kitsch Recently Posted: Swatchfest: Stila In The Garden Palette

  11. These colors aren’t really something I go for often, but I still can’t believe the bad rating haha.

  12. Ack! This isn’t something I’d expect from Tom Ford. :( I wish the eyeshadow quads were as consistent as the blushes and lipsticks.

  13. It has pretty colours! Shame about the meh grade.
    Rikki Recently Posted: MAKEUP 101: Concealers

  14. I agree with something you said earlier Christine, I think this palette needed more color variety and that at this price point it needs to be near perfect.

    Will you also be doing a review of Sahara Haze? I think the product photos are gorgeous but I am hesitant about buying it too because I’m not too over the moon about TF’s eyeshadow formula either (though his lipsticks are another story! I LOVE those!!)

  15. Avatar of Andie Andie

    $78 for 4 under performing eyeshadows? No thank you. I would definitely be returning this.

  16. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    I find it oddly gratifying when these “luxury” brands fall flat. It simply proves that lower-end products are just as good, and sometimes better. I just picked up NARS Paris & Namibia, and if I add any random shimmery white, I can recreate the basic look, and save $20-even using “pricier” products. I think it’s pure arrogance with a lot of these brands when it comes to pricing, and the fact that so many believe more expensive equals higher quality.

  17. This always makes me a little mad. At that price point I feel like those eye shadows should apply themselves! What a shame, I’m always on the lookout for more cool-toned products since I’m so very very cool toned. I think I might snag that eyeliner though…it’s gorgeous!
    Christine Recently Posted: Etsy Corner: PurplecatCreatives Sugar Scrub – Gossamer

  18. wow… this doesn’t look any better than the $4 Wet n Wild palette “I am his Breezy?” (I think that’s the name) LOL
    Only that for $78 I wouldn’t have expected such horrible results.
    BTW, I love your eyeliner Christine!

  19. This looked nice in the full face picture yesterday (with the use glossy stain, I believe), but up close is a different story! It looks no better than the $5 wet n wild one from the other day. Since I would waste $5 on that, I certainly wouldn’t spend 80 on this one.

  20. Avatar of karen kjhemeon

    OMG!!!! Even if this gets remaindered at CCS (TF is Lauder family, right?) I wouldn’t touch it with the proverbial 10′ pole. Even though all the shades live on my side of the street. Light grays, definite yupper! This is definitely a superb example of why we need you, Christine. I would have bought this, at least at discount, without a second thought. Thanks for saving the wallet! It’s no big surprise, when a WNW palette falls short, but there’s NO EXCUSE for this palette being so dreadful, esp. at the price.

  21. Damn, this looked so lovely in theory! Thanks for saving me money!
    Erin Recently Posted: Perforated Shoes for Spring/Summer 2014

  22. Julie

    It’s kind of a relief that you gave it such a poor review–I’m such a sucker for silver & gray shadows! Save me some money!! I have the Flashback duo from bareMinerals that I got for$10 on Black Friday from Sephora–looks like it’s a higher quality, lower priced, near-perfect dupe for the right side of this quad!!

  23. Denise

    I’ve gotta say I like how you’ve applied it Christine but just looking at that quad on its own makes me want to slash my wrists – the colours are so depressing!! Will be giving that one a miss, especially with a D+ rating. What a pity as I quite like some of his products….

  24. Oh my!At $3.99 I may not care much but at $78 I definitely do!!!
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Lorac Pro Palette Review, Swatches

  25. I’m glad you’re not a fan of these shadows, actually! It’s nice to know that I’m not crazy when I swatch their shadows and feel disappointed. Shame, because some of their quads (like this) look like gorgeous staples in the pan.
    Nicole Isabella Recently Posted: Quickie: Jam Alert

    • It’s weird, because they usually feel really soft and velvety, though that can sometimes translate to powdery (even just feeling them), but it’s the actual application/performance that really surprises me. You’d think they’d be foolproof but they feel like an uphill climb!

  26. Avatar of Leslie Leslie

    There is absolutely no excuse, whatsoever, for a product of any sort, at this price point, to be this insanely horrible. 99 cent shadow at Sally’s looks better than this mess. SHAME!

  27. Avatar of Urfa StrangeOne

    I always feel sad when I see an expensive dud because amidst all those who can afford expensive brands there has to be one person who saved up money to splurge on a treat for themselves and this is what they get.

  28. Gladys L.

    TF quads do not receive the same rave from few bloggers/ youtubers also, but I am still interested in future ones if it has no glitter shade (unique but messy in handling/ removal) and no grayish tone. I don’t know how to describe my feelings, but the colors in most quads are has a grayish touch and dull?

    I absolutely agrees that the texture is dreamy, but sometimes I just feel that texture doesn’t translate to a easily build-able intensity if I use more…again, another clueless point I can’t explain. As for the price, YSL, D&G, CDP, etc, have e/s price go too high up to catch that price level.

    I went to a counter to test the primer, it feels ordinary on the back of my hand, but many blog posts go crazy for it and claim that the powder and cream formula is amazing…I can’t understand my personal experience and just wonder if TF MA that accidentally drop some powder into the cream pot or the cream can dry rather quickly…

    • Gladys L.

      Regarding Ice Queen, I wish the silvery/ gray/ white colors can go a bit more different from each other…but the liner shade is interesting, and the whole quad is better than the older blue quad removed in color arrangement.

    • I understand your meaning, Gladys – a lot of the quads have a muted quality to them, so they’re softer, less intense. I’m exactly with you; the texture feels so amazing, but it doesn’t seem to work as well when you actually apply.

      • Gladys L.

        Thx Christine.

        I always wonder what factories are in connection with TF, you know, they still have other excellent products, like the face primer, lipsticks, blush, etc.

        As TF is under the Estee Lauder group, I do hope brands like MAC/ Estee Lauder can improve likewise, I assume TF doesn’t have a specific research lab…

  29. Ack! TRUE WORDS, Christine! I’ve seen swatches of these and I’m just like.. NO. How can TF mess this one up.
    Shari Recently Posted: Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation