Monday, September 30th, 2013

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette ($42.50 for 1.21 oz.) includes sixteen eyeshadows and three lip/cheek stains. The nice thing that theBalm does with their palettes is that there are two flaps, so you can keep the cream products protected from any excess dust and powder from the eyeshadows. The palette is slim with little wasted space, and it is housed in thick cardboard packaging. The eyeshadows wore between seven and nine hours on me, with the shades that were particularly powdery wearing shorter. To be fair, the majority of shades that felt somewhat powdery were also very soft, fairly pigmented, and the powderiness wasn’t a major issue, but it was something I noticed as a point of difference compared to past palettes that has more buttery, denser textures. Overall, all the products had good to great color payoffs with a couple slightly weaker, with some eyeshadows having drier, powdery textures and others had very soft, buttery finishes. The lip/cheek products can be drying on lips without a little balm beforehand, but they wear well on cheeks.

A4 is a teal and violet-shimmered gray-black with a satin finish. The shimmer isn’t noticeable once applied–there’s a soft sheen to the color, but it loses dimension when applied. The texture was slightly dry, though it wasn’t a stiff kind of dryness. Urban Decay Rdemption is lighter. Marc Jacobs The Mod #2 is similar. MAC Jade’s Fortune has a stronger sheen. See comparison swatches.

B4 is a dark brown with neutral-warm undertones and a pearly sheen. It had good pigmentation but was a little powdery. Chanel Seduction #4 is warmer. Le Metier de Beaute Autumn Rust has a stronger sheen. MAC Constructivist is a cream product. MAC Carbonized is darker. Dior Fairy Golds #5 has a stronger sheen. Bobbi Brown Cocoa Berry is darker. See comparison swatches.

C4 is a medium-dark, orange-toned brown with silver sparkle. This shade had so-so color payoff and felt very dusty and a little dry–not stiff, just dry. Disney Bazaar is yellower. MAC One to Watch is lighter. MAC Exposed is similar. Guerlain Turandot #2 is rosier. See comparison swatches.

D4 is a medium-dark green with warm, brown undertones and a smattering of fine olive shimmer. It had decent pigmentation but was somewhat powdery. Dior Bonne Etoile #1 is more frosted. theBalm Lead Zeppelin is similar. Urban Decay Cobra is darker. See comparison swatches.

A3 is a bright, silver-shot white with a frosted, slightly metallic, finish. It had fantastic color payoff, and the texture was soft and buttery. Disney Midnight Hour is less cool-toned. Disney Your Voice is similar. theBalm Sassy is whiter. theBalm Metal-ica is similar. Maybelline Too Cool is a cream product. MAC Flawless Figure is similar. bareMinerals Cheers is similar. See comparison swatches.

B3 is a gray-ish mauve with a matte finish. It had decent color payoff, but the texture was somewhat powdery, which made it sheerer. MAC Fashion Fix is browner. bareMinerals Rowdy is grayer. MAC Bruised Sky is more satiny. Inglot #358 is similar. See comparison swatches.

C3 is a light-medium, yellow-toned brown with neutral-warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was nicely balanced between soft and blendable without being powdery. NARS Yamal is similar. theBalm Allegro is more orange. MAC Wedge is darker. MAC Soba is also darker. bareMinerals Namaste is darker. See comparison swatches.

D3 is a light-medium beige-gold with a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation and a soft, smooth texture. Urban Decay Echo Beach is darker. Dior Night Gold #5 is warmer. Chanel Convoitise is yellower. MAC Greenluxe #2 is lighter. bareMinerals Kudos is more beige. See comparison swatches.

A2 is a medium-dark purple with cool, pink undertones and a frosted finish. The color payoff was somewhat weak here, though the texture was good. Urban Decay Betrayal is lighter. Maybelline Potent Purple is less pink. Illamasqua Trance is similar. Dior Lilas Mitzah is brighter. Urban Decay Omen is cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

B2 is a sea-foam green with cool, bluish undertones and a frosted finish. This shade had a soft, drier texture that also gave it sheerer color payoff. It almost felt more like a shade you would layer over other shades. CoverGirl Turquoise Glow is similar. MAC Sky Blue is bluer. Lancome Fashion Forward is lighter. See comparison swatches.

C2 is a medium-dark blue-based teal with a mostly matte finish–there are a few bits of bluish shimmer, but they are so minimal that they really aren’t visible. It had good color payoff, but the texture was a little powdery. Maybelline Never Fade Jade is shimmery. MAC Dynamic Duo 3 #2 is a touch darker. Inglot #338 is a little brighter. See comparison swatches.

D2 is a light peach with subtle beige undertones and a frosted sheen. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and buttery. LORAC Nude is lighter. theBalm Stubborn is a touch darker. theBalm Third Eye Blinded is also a bit darker. Urban Decay Sellout is similar. MAC A Natural FLirt is pinker. Dior Fairy Golds #1 is lighter. bareMinerals Custom Made is similar. Inglot #397 is a touch darker. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Balm Voyage

B+

Overall, all the products had good to great color payoffs with a couple slightly weaker, with some eyeshadows having drier, powdery textures and others had very soft, buttery finishes. The lip/cheek products can be drying on lips without a little balm beforehand, but they wear well on cheeks.

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

A4

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

B4

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette
theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm A4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm A4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm B4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm B4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm C4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm C4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm D4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm D4 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm A3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm A3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm B3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm B3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm C3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm C3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm D3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm D3 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm A2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm A2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm B2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm B2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm C2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm C2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm D2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm D2 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: A2 (inner lid), B2 (middle of lid), C2 (outer lid/crease), B1/C1 (brow bone)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: C1 (inner lid), D3 (middle of lid), D4 (outer lid), B4 (crease), B1/C1 (brow bone)

The Dupe List: A4

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: B4

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: C4

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

30 thoughts on “theBalm Balm Voyage Makeup Palette Review, Photos, Swatches (Part 1)

  1. Avatar of Vanda Vanda

    Beautiful colours! But the names are boring ;)

    • Named after seats – like rows and seats of a plane :) They could have definitely named everything after places or cities, but I thought the naming after seats was clever – it took me a second to get it!

  2. I love the packaging, but after reading your review, it seems like the formula for the shadows are more similar to those in Nudetude than those in Balm Jovi palette. Am I right? And for the cream products, well I hope for powder formula instead! Nice review, but I think I will skip on this palette–it’s all about neutral all over again.

  3. I love the look you’ve done with B2, A2 and C2 – they’re all colours I don’t have, as also B3. Definitely going to get this palette, and I can’t wait for your lip colour swatches!

  4. Great shades! I just wish the quality was a teenie tiny bit better.

  5. I’m on the fence with this one. I like most of the shades, but I know I would never get any use from te blues and purples in here. Love the packaging, though.

  6. I doubt I’ll buy this palette – I’ve got dupes of all the shades I really like – but I have to say that TheBalm is just so clever with their names – “Balm Voyage”, “Balm Jovi”, “Balmbini” (to say nothing of some of the puns on names in the Balm Jovi palette). I just get a chuckle when I see what they’ve come up with!

    • Though I can hear that the shade names are boring for this palette, I thought it was clever because my first thought was, “Ugh, why didn’t they give the eyeshadows names? Oh…… they did.” LOL!

      • I know – these particular shadow names aren’t as “catchy” but in general….it’s like OPI – it must be such fun to be involved in thinking up the names. The Balm and the Beautiful palette (again, amusing name) never came to Canada but there too, the names were just witty and fun – The Evil Twin, The Guy Who Died But Really Didn’t, The Coma Patient. Anyone who ever watched All My Children or One Life to Live or so many of the other soaps that used to be insanely popular will remember multiple plots involving all these things!

  7. Danielle

    Yay! I was looking forward to these swatches. Christine, your description says good color payoff, but C3 looks a bit sheer. Is it just because it’s not much deeper than your skin tone?

  8. This is a difficult one for me! When I first saw the palette, I wasn’t really impressed or super excited about it. Now that I’ve seen the swatches I really think I like it, but I feel like I already own most of these shadow colors. Hm.
    I really love the first look you put together, and holy amazing eyes, Batman! I never noticed that gorgeous celestial pattern you have in your irises! (Is that a weird comment? I didn’t want it to come off weird. XD)

    • I think if you have a lot of eyeshadows, period, or even several theBalm palettes that at some point, you are going to see you have more shades that are similar (and this would be true with any brand’s palette!).

      Thank you! It’s not :) I have been told they look like DNA, tree roots, and leopard print!

  9. I’m slightly disappoint as they do some great matte shades (Meet Matte Nude). But owning sand depotting (if I depot them I use them more often. ;) ) the Shady lady pallets, and the Balm and the Beautiful one i got a goo range of shades from the brand already so I’m not as tempted. But I love that they are doing these holiday sets!

    • I feel ya! Once you have a few palettes, they become less need-to-have. Same with Urban Decay (or even MAC after you’ve collected for awhile!).

      • Avatar of AS AS1929

        Yup, I have no need to buy another eyeshadow for the rest of my life. But that doesn’t mean I don’t like to enjoy them vicariously through the reviews. :D

  10. One of the biggest annoyances I have with theBalm’s packaging is that I feel like the swatches of the shades on the packaging are never true to colour… The entire 2 row is so different it’s like they’re not even trying. I noticed it first with Nude Tude and it’s been bothering me a lot.

    I mean, I have reasonable expectations that the colour in print is never going to look like the actual colour, but A2, B2, C2 are so different they’re not even in the same colour/hue family. I got some tiny UD Revolution lipstick samples and I compared the actual colour in the sample bubble to the one they printed in the Catwalk sampler, and they are really close.

    It’s so disappointing to me that theBalm would rather instagram filter their swatches than actually have them true to colour… seems really really misleading.

  11. I’m loving the look of this. Was worried that there wouldn’t be enough lighter neutral colors for inner corner, but I’m glad to see there’s a few in there.

  12. I think I’ll be getting one of these for Christmas!

  13. Federica

    Hi Christine! Would you recommend this palette for a “voyage”? I love all the colors in this palette and it’s nice to have some nice colors as blue,teal,violet while traveling but I don’t want to buy the wrong product and then regret it for the rest of the trip! I always bring with me neutrals (beige,brown,black) but this time I would like a change =)

  14. Emma

    I know another pretty accurate dupe for A2: essence’s 3D eyeshadow in ‘irresistible purr-ple.’ The swatches that can be found on the internet are often not very true to the actual color, it’s less blue in person. It probably looks so blue because of all the blue glitter, which A2 also seems to have. At $3.49 the essence eyeshadow is a lot cheaper!

  15. Karin Ho

    This comment is 3 months late… we always get products 3 months after launch. I just saw this Balm Voyage at my makeup store. It is USD 58 here. After 10% xmas discount it is now at 52.50, we get a free Balm lipstain with it.

    Lucky for me, I saw the Voyage AFTER I purchased TOO FACED Fav Things or else I would have to buy both!

    What are the sizes of the voyage shadow?

    • Karin Ho

      Ok, checked the eyeshadows…they look full size at 1.77 gm each and the cheek stain are 2 gm each. The colors are nice but too common. Dont like the airplane seats names that much. City names would be cooler. I have a models prefer palette (drugstore) that actually name all their shadows after cities like NY, HK, LV, MC, etc. I am a Balm Fan, this palette is better value than Shady Lady but nothing compared with Too Faced Fav Things, huge 73 gm size for only USD4 more! I prefer an all dry palette compared with a mixed eventhough there are flaps to cover the stains. I tend to think cheek stains dry up fast packed in palettes.