Saturday, March 1st, 2014

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans

#19 is a medium-dark, gray-brown with a golden, frosted sheen. It’s almost too warm to really be considered a taupe. It had fairly good color payoff, and the texture was soft and smooth. It wore well for eight hours before starting to fade. Makeup Geek Moondust (P, $5.99) is darker. MAC Silver Dawn (LE, $19.50) is darker, less metallic. bareMinerals Cheers (V2) (LE) is slightly grayer. Urban Decay Vaporize (LE, $18.00) is darker, cooler-toned. Urban Decay Derailed (LE, $18.00) is darker, cooler-toned. bareMinerals Magnetism (P) is slightly darker. See comparison swatches.

#20 is a medium-dark, smoky mauve with a pearly sheen. It had decent pigmentation, but it was a little powdery. It wore well for seven hours before showing signs of fading. theBalm A1 (LE, $16.00) is very similar but seems a little brighter. Disney by Sephora Carpet (LE) is darker. MAC Tendersmoke (LE, $15.00) is darker. bareMinerals Romp (P) is much darker, cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

#21 is a medium-dark, coppery orange with a frosted sheen. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and smooth. The color wore well for eight hours before starting to fade. Tarina Tarantino Wonderful #3 (P) is darker. MAC A Glimmer of Gold #3 (P, $21.00) is brighter, more metallic. Too Faced Jingle All the Way Eyeshadow #7 (LE, $16.00) is similar. Clarins The Essentials #6 (LE) is darker. LORAC Gold (P) is darker, warmer. theBalm Manic Maribel (LE, $16.00) is similar. Urban Decay Penny Lane (LE, $18.00) is very similar. Urban Decay Chopper (P, $18.00) is slightly darker. bareMinerals Bragging Rights (LE) is slightly brighter. See comparison swatches.

#22 is a brightened, white with subtle warm undertones and a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation but was a little powdery. This shade lasted eight hours before beginning to show signs of wear. It’s a more basic shade, so there are a lot of similar shades — see comparison swatches.

#23 is a muted, bluish-teal with a frosted finish. It had fairly good color payoff, but the texture could have been smoother. It lasted for seven hours when I tested it. NARS China Seas #1 (P, $24.00) is very similar. Makeup Geek Mermaid (P, $5.99) is also very similar. NARS Bavaria (P, $24.00) is lighter. Urban Decay Deep End (P, $18.00) is darker. Inglot #413 (P, $6.00) is more metallic. See comparison swatches.

#24 is a light-medium, warm-toned beige with a matte finish. It had excellent pigmentation, and the texture was really soft and finely-milled; a smidgen powdery but very blendable. It wore well for seven and a half hours on me. Tarte Sand Out from the Crowd (LE) is very similar. Too Faced White Chocolate (P, $16.00) is less warm-toned. theBalm B1 (LE, $16.00) is very similar. Urban Decay Bleach (LE, $18.00) is similar. MAC Brule (P, $15.00) is not as beige. See comparison swatches.

There are forty-four shades of eyeshadows available in pan-form from theBalm, which launched at the beginning of this year. They can be purchased at their San Francisco store or by calling 415-817-1800. Each eyeshadow pan is available for $6.50 and comes in a cardboard sleeve. The 9-pan palette is $8.00, while the 16-pan palette is $10. If you fill either the 9- or 16-pan palette up at the time of purchase, they will run you $44.00 (normally, $66.50) and $64.00 (normally, $114.00) respectively. Each palette is made out of thick cardboard–same as theBalm’s eyeshadow palettes have been in the past–and come with full-sized mirrors on the top flap. For more information about sizes, the palettes, and a general overview of the custom palette/eyeshadow pan system, please read this post. You can view swatches all of them in the Swatch Gallery here or view photos and swatches on theBalm’s Eyeshadow Single product page.

The Glossover

P
product

#19

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

#20

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

#21

A

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans — #19-16

theBalm Eyeshadow Pans
theBalm Eyeshadow Pans — #17-25

theBalm #19 Eyeshadow
theBalm #19 Eyeshadow

theBalm #19 Eyeshadow
theBalm #19 Eyeshadow

theBalm #19 Eyeshadow
theBalm #19 Eyeshadow

theBalm #20 Eyeshadow
theBalm #20 Eyeshadow

theBalm #20 Eyeshadow
theBalm #20 Eyeshadow

theBalm #20 Eyeshadow
theBalm #20 Eyeshadow

theBalm #21 Eyeshadow
theBalm #21 Eyeshadow

theBalm #21 Eyeshadow
theBalm #21 Eyeshadow

theBalm #21 Eyeshadow
theBalm #21 Eyeshadow

theBalm #22 Eyeshadow
theBalm #22 Eyeshadow

theBalm #22 Eyeshadow
theBalm #22 Eyeshadow

theBalm #22 Eyeshadow
theBalm #22 Eyeshadow

theBalm #23 Eyeshadow
theBalm #23 Eyeshadow

theBalm #23 Eyeshadow
theBalm #23 Eyeshadow

theBalm #23 Eyeshadow
theBalm #23 Eyeshadow

theBalm #23 Eyeshadow
theBalm #24 Eyeshadow

theBalm #23 Eyeshadow
theBalm #24 Eyeshadow

theBalm #23 Eyeshadow
theBalm #24 Eyeshadow

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #12 (inner lid), #16 (middle of lid), #3 (outer lid), #18 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #12 (inner lid), #16 (middle of lid), #3 (outer lid), #18 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #40 (inner lid), #42 (middle of lid), #28 (outer lid), #38 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #40 (inner lid), #42 (middle of lid), #28 (outer lid), #38 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #7 (inner lid), #4 (middle of lid), #2 (outer lid), #15 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #7 (inner lid), #4 (middle of lid), #2 (outer lid), #15 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #21 (inner lid), #6 (middle of lid), #13 (outer lid), #1 (crease), #24 (brow bone)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #21 (inner lid), #6 (middle of lid), #13 (outer lid), #1 (crease), #24 (brow bone)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #11 (inner lid), #23 (middle of lid), #5 (outer lid), #9 (crease)

theBalm Eyeshadow
theBalm Eyeshadows: #11 (inner lid), #23 (middle of lid), #5 (outer lid), #9 (crease)

The Dupe List: #19

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: #20

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: #21

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

23 thoughts on “theBalm #19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. These are lovely, especially the first 2 but, big surprise – I’ve got dupes, even of 23 so I can console myself. (thank goodness for your dupes, Christine!)

  2. #23 is really pretty!!

  3. I really like #20
    Erin Recently Posted: Trendy Sweatshirts For Men!

  4. I love the shades 20 and 23, I’m a sucker for any cool tone muted shade actually. Too bad they don’t perform as well as some of the other shades!
    Judith Recently Posted: MAC sculpting powder pro palette review in sculpt

  5. Ah 19 and 21! Loved the looks christine!
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Eyeshadow X15 Warm Neutral Palette Review, Swatches

  6. Avatar of Cat Cat

    So glad to see you keep reviewing all these theBalm eyeshadows! It will make it easy to choose the best one’s out for my ultimate theBalm palette :)

  7. Avatar of Jackie jackie

    Can you make a list of top shadows from this collection? I think it would be helpful if you can maybe suggest a basic 9 pan palette that would be optimal and then people would have at least a base and could change things based on your reviews/color preferences. 44 shades released at once is a little overwhelming and it’s not like I can go to the store (east coast life probs) and swatch compare and build.

    • Hi Jackie,

      I haven’t finished reviewing them yet, but I will be doing a round-up once I am done – you just gotta give me sometime to work through the reviews :)

  8. I really like this particular ‘set’ of these eyeshadows! The colours are a good mix of pretty and functional :-) Of course, I’m glad to see that the blue one preformed decently!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Which Ones are Poisonous Again? A Toxically Cute Toadstool Manicure from Ooly the Ranger

  9. Was really excited about #20 (this colour is such a staple for me), but the colour payoff looks so disappointing! MUG’s Twilight looks so much more pigmented than this!
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Review | Make Up For Ever HD Cream Blush.

  10. I love the balm, but sadly none of these really stood out to me except for 24. Ill definetly have to get that one

  11. #24 looks like it would be great to have as a highlight/browbone/blending shade. However, for the price, I might stick with Wet ‘n’ Wild Brulee.